KFC El Dorado robbed $12,000+ cash, Bandits caught

Re: KFC El Dorado robbed $12,000+ cash, Bandits caught

Postby Slartibartfast » December 13th, 2016, 9:28 pm

Deleted. Computer mess up and I lost what I wrote.
Last edited by Slartibartfast on December 13th, 2016, 9:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 13th, 2016, 9:30 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Police only forgot to shoot and kill...daz all..

Kalisnakov wrote:Good job but would rather dem DEAD!!!
Set ah dam parasite....

MaxPower wrote:I wished they were shot and killed...and wen mammy come...run she mc

And people still don't understand why criminals so heartless? They are just a subset of our society. If circumstances were correct to turn any of you into a criminal I'm sure you all would be just as bad using the "dem doh give a f*ck bout we so why we gonna give a f*ck bout dem" reasoning.

Once again, I am not defending the actions of the criminals. What they did was wrong. The TTPS deserves only congratulations for their swift action.

My point some highfalutin (lovin that word btw) tuners need to step of their moral high horse and realise that they just as bad as the criminals that they look down on. Being exposed to better circumstances does not make you a better person and circumstances seem to be all that separate you from the "heartless" criminals as your sentiments imply desires as equally vile as theirs.

Sidenote... anyone else notice the bandit that stop for dinner one time? Kill two birds with one stone :lol:

Sorry but you are very wrong. What are the circumstances that could cause a person to become a criminal?

Poverty?

Not an excuse for crime. I grew up in Belmont among all the bandits and drug pushers. Didn't become a criminal. Likewise many other people. Right now in our society too many people committing crime and using every single excuse in the book. Wrong is wrong no matter white collar or blue. They should have been executed...

I'm curious.... what do you think causes a person to become a criminal?

Btw, I agree, crime is crime and there is no excuse for it. I am merely looking for an explanation/ cause for it. (Example, if I say I crashed into the back of your car because I was driving too fast it explains why I crashed into you without implying that I was right in the situation or giving any excuse.)
Last edited by Slartibartfast on December 13th, 2016, 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 13th, 2016, 9:31 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Police only forgot to shoot and kill...daz all..

Kalisnakov wrote:Good job but would rather dem DEAD!!!
Set ah dam parasite....

MaxPower wrote:I wished they were shot and killed...and wen mammy come...run she mc

And people still don't understand why criminals so heartless? They are just a subset of our society. If circumstances were correct to turn any of you into a criminal I'm sure you all would be just as bad using the "dem doh give a f*ck bout we so why we gonna give a f*ck bout dem" reasoning.

Once again, I am not defending the actions of the criminals. What they did was wrong. The TTPS deserves only congratulations for their swift action.

My point some highfalutin (lovin that word btw) tuners need to step of their moral high horse and realise that they just as bad as the criminals that they look down on. Being exposed to better circumstances does not make you a better person and circumstances seem to be all that separate you from the "heartless" criminals as your sentiments imply desires as equally vile as theirs.

Sidenote... anyone else notice the bandit that stop for dinner one time? Kill two birds with one stone :lol:

Sorry but you are very wrong. What are the circumstances that could cause a person to become a criminal?

Poverty?

Not an excuse for crime. I grew up in Belmont among all the bandits and drug pushers. Didn't become a criminal. Likewise many other people. Right now in our society too many people committing crime and using every single excuse in the book. Wrong is wrong no matter white collar or blue. They should have been executed...

I would faster say culture. Look at the crime hotspots...

Postby Slartibartfast » December 13th, 2016, 9:37 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

I would faster say culture. Look at the crime hotspots...

I agree with you. Culture seems to be a part of what creates criminals. I also think it is partially the reason why our criminals are so heartless.

Follow up question.... what about our culture do you think causes a person to become a criminal?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 13th, 2016, 9:47 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:How much years behind bars are they going to get for this?

Just curious as to what would make young people do something as dotish as this only to spend the best part of their life in a cage

I stand corrected but I think once persons are held with a weapon they have to wait four months in prison before bail is granted to them..

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 13th, 2016, 9:49 pm

Can't say definitively but the lack of punishment or consequence for crime certainly contributes. Some years there was a story where a man killed his neighbor because as he said 'they stop hanging'.
The idea that anything can be acquired without working for it is also a factor.

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2016, 9:59 pm

Lack of self esteem is a major contributor, it magnifies the divide between the haves and have nots
Causes action past the tipping point

Just like up when we see chirren of "contractors" literally getting away with murder
And wonder how come they so lucky whilst we regular folk kvetching we tail
we accept it as a norm but there will always be some tipping point

Postby Slartibartfast » December 13th, 2016, 10:30 pm

toyota2nr wrote:Can't say definitively but the lack of punishment or consequence for crime certainly contributes. Some years there was a story where a man killed his neighbor because as he said 'they stop hanging'.
The idea that anything can be acquired without working for it is also a factor.

Lack of punishment definitely exacerbates the problem but I don't think lack of punishment creates criminals. It definitely seems like the reason why they so boldface now though.

The idea of instant gratification however seems like a much better answer. I have no evidence showing that answer as correct but I agree that it makes sense as a contributing factor to the creation of criminals. Instant gratification also seems like a societal problem. How do those ideas get instilled into the criminals minds.

There will also be other contributing factors but to keep things simple I'm only discussing the ones you mention. The type of reasoning you are showing here is the type of reasoning that would need to be used to approach dealing with crime. Beating up a criminal is also about instant gratification and does nothing to curb crime IMO. The root causes need to be identified and tackled at the source. It won't be easy and it won't be quick but it's the only thing that will have a lasting effect.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 13th, 2016, 10:38 pm

pugboy wrote:Lack of self esteem is a major contributor, it magnifies the divide between the haves and have nots
Causes action past the tipping point

Just like up when we see chirren of "contractors" literally getting away with murder
And wonder how come they so lucky whilst we regular folk kvetching we tail
we accept it as a norm but there will always be some tipping point

That divide is also a factor. Now who can do more between closing the divide between us small men and those big boy contractors? Would it be on them to come down to our level since they have the power to do it whereas I have no power to be a big boy in the dance just so?

Similarly, if there is a divide between us and the (future) criminals "below" us then we are the ones with more power to close that divide.

I don't want to defend criminals or criminal acts but I would like to prevent the creation of new criminals wherever possible and (best case scenario) be able to rehabilitate some that not too far gone.

Even if our choices are half chance they are still half free will and if you do the crime you must be held accountable.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » December 14th, 2016, 1:52 am

why didn't they just kill 4 of them one time

cypher

Postby cypher » December 14th, 2016, 5:18 am

Eldo kfc has an unarmed guard

Postby 88sins » December 14th, 2016, 11:35 am

Slartibartfast wrote:I'm curious.... what do you think causes a person to become a criminal?

Btw, I agree, crime is crime and there is no excuse for it. I am merely looking for an explanation/ cause for it.

I go help you out, allow me to quote the words of Neo to the Architect-"the problem is choice"

Violent criminal activity isn't caused by poverty, circumstance, drug abuse, physical abuse, not having an xbox, rain falling & it wet, or any other jackass excuse some fool would try to convince ppl of as the reason or cause for it.

Persons commit robbery, rape, murder, arson, or any other criminal act for one simple reason, that's because they actively choose to because they believe they will benefit from it at that point in time & the potential gains outweigh the potential risks from their perspective. & that same criminal, sooner or later, may well choose to become a lawful citizen (even to the point where they do their best to hide their earlier history of criminal activity) for whatever reason, because they see it would be beneficial to them to do so at that point in time. Simple as that. They chose to be criminals, so they are criminals. Notice, they hardly ever choose to shoot or rob their own immediate family, or take this dotishness & go around persons they know for a fact will end their life without a second's worth of hesitation or remorse. This isn't an accident either, its just another choice they decided to make.

now, why they possess such poor decision making skills is another thing entirely. Could be from lack of education, a mental deficit of some sort, clouded judgment caused by long term endurance of stressful circumstances, etc , could be any of a multitude of factors. But just remember this. We all got to live with the consequences of the choices we make & don't make till the day we die. no exceptions.

Postby teems1 » December 14th, 2016, 11:50 am

Blue collar crime pays. It's as simple as that.

It's easier to deal drugs, steal and rob from innocent persons/businesses than work/study hard and contribute to society.

Postby Spitfir3 » December 14th, 2016, 12:13 pm

hopefully the victims get their stuff back

Postby Slartibartfast » December 14th, 2016, 1:12 pm

88sins wrote:Violent criminal activity isn't caused by poverty, circumstance, drug abuse, physical abuse, not having an xbox, rain falling & it wet, or any other jackass excuse some fool would try to convince ppl of as the reason or cause for it.

Persons commit robbery, rape, murder, arson, or any other criminal act for one simple reason, that's because they actively choose to because they believe they will benefit from it at that point in time & the potential gains outweigh the potential risks
I agree but I will like to add that the choices are relative to a degree.

$12,000 vs. no money is a much better relative potential gain than $112,000 vs. $100,000
i.e. If you have more, you are not as easily tempted. General guideline and not a rule. This is the reason people though Jack Warner could be trusted and look how that turned out.

1 Year in jail (crowded and hostile environment but a roof over your head and food being provided) vs. 1 more year of the same hostile environment at home and in the community where food not guaranteed for the next day and people always looking down on you cuz you don't have as much as them

is not as bad a relative risk as

1 Year in jail vs. 1 year spent working and gaining more experience in a job that pays well that you are satisfied with and with a good woman to go home to.

I agree that one chooses to become a criminal. However, don't think that you and them face the same difficulties when making the choice. Personally, my choice was easy because I grew up in a stable home with loving and intelligent parents. But that's no achievement of my own.

You like sci-fi so what about quote from Dr. Alfred Lanning from iRobot
"You must ask the right questions"

What makes the potential relative gain of crime greater and how can you reduce it? Eg. Drugs pay because demand is high and supply is low. Supply is low because drugs are illegal. Legalise drugs and monitor them so that it's not longer as lucrative to get into the business. Also, there is no reason for the business to have a criminal element to it. You therefore increase supply with the same demand therefore reducing the potential gain.
What makes the relative potential risks less and how do you prevent it? Some youth don't fear jail because their home and society is not much better. That is a tough one to fix but I don't think it's a coincidence that crime hot spots tend to be poorer areas, do you? Why don youths from Valsyn choose to rob a kfc?

I agree that criminals need to pay for the wrong that they did. However, I don't believe that blind punishment is the answer. What about hard labour where their pay goes as compensation to the victims while they receive council to make them come out as less of a criminal than what they went in as?

Postby 88sins » December 14th, 2016, 2:10 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I agree that criminals need to pay for the wrong that they did. However, I don't believe that blind punishment is the answer. What about hard labour where their pay goes as compensation to the victims while they receive council to make them come out as less of a criminal than what they went in as?

I've been advocating this for years, specifically in instances of murder cases. A victims loved one is gone, often times that loved one was the breadwinner of the family, that death now leaves them with an emotional & financial loss. Put the convicted murderer to work at hard labor in the private and public sector, let them earn a wage, then deduct what small $$ is needed to feed & clothe them, the rest goes to the family of the deceased until the victims youngest offspring reaches 18 years. After that, hang them in the square. The only real issue with working them to compensate for their misdeeds is that with our dysfunctional court systems, the victims kids have a good chance of turning 18 before the accused is convicted

Slartibartfast wrote:I agree that one chooses to become a criminal. However, don't think that you and them face the same difficulties when making the choice.

sonnyjim, there ain't no difficulties in making the choice to go either route. there are no gray areas, is either you decide to do or decide to not do. & take my word for it, I know PLENTY people that didn't have it easy as a youth, from the ages of 6 years to 25 years old & I talkin about ppl with no food, no clothes & some of them, nowhere to live, staying by a friend or distant relative. & they still didn't end up a pest like them.

Slartibartfast wrote:What makes the potential relative gain of crime greater and how can you reduce it?

What makes them perceive the potential gain as greater than the risks is that they have realized there's a very high probability they'll get away with it due to low detection & apprehension & conviction rates & absolutely zero resistance from your victims. If you want to change that, then theres a few ways t go about it. The main methods being either arm all potential victims or allow them to arm themselves, this is the easiest thing to do. The next way about it is that the TTPS & the judicial system & the prison system & the population at large needs to come together to address the issue. This one ain't so easy.

I'm not advocating punishment alone. There needs to be an option for providing rehabilitation for first time & nonviolent offenders & repeat offenders to a degree. as well as teaching them skills that would help them avoid choosing a life of criminal activity.
I also believe that punishment isn't an effective deterrent if it can't be seen by those you'd like it to deter. So, if a prisoner is to get strokes, he could get them in the square just as well as the prison yard. If he's to be hung, nuff trees in the square to do it from.

Postby De Dragon » December 14th, 2016, 5:11 pm

All this philosophical debate about causes of crime are pointless, when said crimes cannot be detected and prosecuted in reasonable time frame. There will always be crime, and the reasons will always be as varied as possible. There is the thrill seeker who will steal/rob for the rush. There is the rapist who will do it for the power over the victim. No matter what the reasoning, crime must be deterred by efficient policing and judicial systems. To "justify" why crimes occur will never singularly yield the magic bullet that some here seek.

Postby desifemlove » December 14th, 2016, 9:47 pm

no, but to solve any problem, one has to see the root. It's not poverty,since many people grow up poor and don't turn into criminals, but it's an elementary and necessary step to solve the issue. How T&T's society and culture is structured lends to crime. it's unpopular to say, but carnival/rum and roti lifestyle of wildness, sloth, licence, and ignorance creates it (largely, not exclusively).

Postby desifemlove » December 14th, 2016, 9:50 pm

and why ent people like Professor Deosaran making a document outlining HOW crime SHOULD be dealt with? Ent he a "globally respected criminologist"? the criminology fraternity should be coming together to use their expertise to provide solutions, and lobby government.

if top psychiatrists like those from UWI can for mental health issues, or top tech people can for their industry, or lawyers for legal issues, then criminologists need to. They should be at the forefront, they have the expertise.

Postby 88sins » December 15th, 2016, 12:11 am

desifemlove wrote:
if top psychiatrists like those from UWI can for mental health issues, or top tech people can for their industry, or lawyers for legal issues, then criminologists need to. They should be at the forefront, they have the expertise.

Psychiatrists, deal with the mentally I'll routinely, techies use technology hourly, lawyers go to court or prepare legal documents frequently.

How often & which one of them theorists posing as criminologists gonna go spend a day in a police station detention cell with a violent offender or interview & assess remand yard residents to compile the necessary data? You volunteering to ask the questions and take the notes for them? Because I could tell you that none of them gonna do that often enough or for long enough to gather any usable information.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: KFC El Dorado robbed $12,000+ cash, Bandits caught

Postby bluesclues » December 15th, 2016, 4:17 am

desifemlove wrote:

Psychiatrists, deal with the mentally I'll routinely, techies use technology hourly, lawyers go to court or prepare legal documents frequently.

How often & which one of them theorists posing as criminologists gonna go spend a day in a police station detention cell with a violent offender or interview & assess remand yard residents to compile the necessary data? You volunteering to ask the questions and take the notes for them? Because I could tell you that none of them gonna do that often enough or for long enough to gather any usable information.

And i have been doing it for years.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 15th, 2016, 5:43 am

[/quote]

Btw, I agree, crime is crime and there is no excuse for it. I am merely looking for an explanation/ cause for it. (Example, if I say I crashed into the back of your car because I was driving too fast it explains why I crashed into you without implying that I was right in the situation or giving any excuse.)[/quote]

Being born a ni**a is what makes a person a criminal.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 15th, 2016, 6:06 am

screwbash wrote:Being born a ni**a is what makes a person a criminal.

What is a ni**a?

judej08

Postby judej08 » December 15th, 2016, 8:15 am

At the end of the day no criminologist or scholar could pin point the reason someone turns to crime . You can interview every criminal and they would tell you the same thing " It have no work out here" there are many criminals who have come from middle class families because of the influence and culture "now is not long time" timed are changing the more we feel we know is the more we don't . Race has nothing to do with crime as there are African criminals there are indo criminals put a gun in anyone of their hands and you won't believe the kind of power they feel they have because of it ..because having a gun = having money

Postby desifemlove » December 15th, 2016, 9:04 am

desifemlove wrote:

criminologists don't interview people. they use surveys, and many other techniques. I'd argue if they are not looking for ways to solve this, when they have the expertise, they are part of the problem.

Postby 88sins » December 15th, 2016, 10:12 am

desifemlove wrote:criminologists don't interview people. they use surveys, and many other techniques. I'd argue if they are not looking for ways to solve this, when they have the expertise, they are part of the problem.

lol, you really make me laugh there. idk where you get that info, but if it works for you feel free to keep believing it.
In many developed countries, quite often criminologists & criminological psychologists are seated on parole boards, interview newly sentenced & transfered convicts to better asses how to manage them during the duration of their sentence, review internal systems of corrections facilities, their practices & employees at the workplace to find flaws or solutions to issues, & many other duties that can only be accomplished by them being in the actual presence of an inmate or prison.

LOCAL criminologists rely heavily on data from surveys & statistics, that they usually do not collect themselves or oversee the collection of. Oft times the data they use is usually somewhat outdated to be of any significant value relevant to the current situation.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 15th, 2016, 10:54 am

Supply of drugs low? Hahaha hahaha haha haha aha. beyotch please marijuana and cocaine plentiful in supply. Ten years ago by me had one drug block. Today there's four. All in sync when raids are going to happen.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 15th, 2016, 11:15 am

Slartibartfast wrote:I agree that criminals need to pay for the wrong that they did. However, I don't believe that blind punishment is the answer. What about hard labour where their pay goes as compensation to the victims while they receive council to make them come out as less of a criminal than what they went in as?

I've been advocating this for years, specifically in instances of murder cases. A victims loved one is gone, often times that loved one was the breadwinner of the family, that death now leaves them with an emotional & financial loss. Put the convicted murderer to work at hard labor in the private and public sector, let them earn a wage, then deduct what small $$ is needed to feed & clothe them, the rest goes to the family of the deceased until the victims youngest offspring reaches 18 years. After that, hang them in the square. The only real issue with working them to compensate for their misdeeds is that with our dysfunctional court systems, the victims kids have a good chance of turning 18 before the accused is convicted

Slartibartfast wrote:I agree that one chooses to become a criminal. However, don't think that you and them face the same difficulties when making the choice.

sonnyjim, there ain't no difficulties in making the choice to go either route. there are no gray areas, is either you decide to do or decide to not do. & take my word for it, I know PLENTY people that didn't have it easy as a youth, from the ages of 6 years to 25 years old & I talkin about ppl with no food, no clothes & some of them, nowhere to live, staying by a friend or distant relative. & they still didn't end up a pest like them.

Slartibartfast wrote:What makes the potential relative gain of crime greater and how can you reduce it?

What makes them perceive the potential gain as greater than the risks is that they have realized there's a very high probability they'll get away with it due to low detection & apprehension & conviction rates & absolutely zero resistance from your victims. If you want to change that, then theres a few ways t go about it. The main methods being either arm all potential victims or allow them to arm themselves, this is the easiest thing to do. The next way about it is that the TTPS & the judicial system & the prison system & the population at large needs to come together to address the issue. This one ain't so easy.

I'm not advocating punishment alone. There needs to be an option for providing rehabilitation for first time & nonviolent offenders & repeat offenders to a degree. as well as teaching them skills that would help them avoid choosing a life of criminal activity.
I also believe that punishment isn't an effective deterrent if it can't be seen by those you'd like it to deter. So, if a prisoner is to get strokes, he could get them in the square just as well as the prison yard. If he's to be hung, nuff trees in the square to do it from.

1. Mostly agree. I rather the death penalty be used as only a last resort and only if the person cannot be rehabilitated. However, I think that the criminal's death should give their life no fame or perceived glory. The US partially blames the public focus on serial killers for in rise in frequency of serial killings. I think it would be best to be done on a fixed schedule. Like on day every 2 years or something so they person just becomes another name on a list on a public website database that no one need look at. I also think it should be done humanely because the point of it isn't for our own gratification or pleasure viewing and we should not resort to the same hostility that we are punishing them for. Personally, my favourite method is hypoxia. Easy to set up, cheap to use, painless to them and not traumatic to the executioner. My personal views and it's understandable if others have different preferences. I also don't think life in prison makes sense. It's like the most expensive death sentence and uses up resources that can be used elsewhere unless they are being kept until further notice on the progress of their rehabilitation.

2. Anecdotes are nice but offer nothing to work with. I'm talking about finding possible underlying trends and trying to change it at the source. A noticeable trend is that poorer areas have more crime and richer areas do not. I never said everybody in poor areas were criminals.

3. Criminals do attack people to acquire their firearm. There is also nothing stopping them from changing their strategy to shoot you dead from behind instead of confronting you. I would like to see the trends regarding gun ownership and occurrence rates of different kinds of crimes though. That would offer better insight that our assumptions. I agree with everything else though.

4. I'm not for the punishment. I think it dehumanising and to do it publicly will just be embarassing for them and has the potential to make them and/or their loved ones hold animosity towards those involved in their punishment. We are not talking about children here. We are talking about adults that can be reasoned with. If they can't be reasoned with then they cannot be rehabilitated and should not be released until they are ready to reason.

I understand the frustration with crime. I am frustrated as well and I'm sure everyone has fanticized about going full "Dexter" on these criminals at least once, including me. However, trying to end a circle of violence with violence has the potential to go very wrong. People also need to see that there won't be one solution. So many things are contributing factors and need to change from the top come down. The way politicians get away with crap, the corruption in our protective services. our attitudes to eachother, our attitude towards our environment, the way parents bring up their children and the example they set, the low detection and conviction rate of criminals, the broken judicial system, the way money let's you live by a different set of rules etc. etc. etc and the list goes on.

We need to be willing to look at ourselves and realise that we are part of the problem as well and are therefore are need to be willing to change to form part of the solution along with all the other things mentioned. Us changing alone won't do anything but the effects of those things changing would be a lot less if we remain the same.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » December 15th, 2016, 11:52 am

Sad part is these fellas would be released in 3-6 months with a slap on the wrist.

Look at how jokey the sentence is for someone who takes a Innocent life

http://www.thepettyroom.com/police-iden ... -disguise/

Spent 8 years waiting for a sentence, ended up with 4 years but at least justice at the end of it all.