Re: Local Govt Election 2016 Thread

Postby sMASH » November 29th, 2016, 9:24 pm

Kamla say they win, so they win.

Re: RE: Re: Local Govt Election 2016 Thread

Postby sMASH » November 29th, 2016, 9:26 pm

boxy wrote:Pictures of this man

We don't have a pic, but a name... Tyler durden.

Postby The_Honourable » November 29th, 2016, 10:30 pm

Study this clip was back in 2013 during the then LGE. Any change?

Postby shogun » November 30th, 2016, 12:09 am

^Good find

Ralph is on point. Most voters are being manipulated by politicians and not the other way around. They've for the most part, successfully divided and conquered the dumbed down the electorate, on both sides. So consumed by race talk/innuendo, name calling and gutter politics, that nothing of importance changes. Perfect environment for corruption the continue

Postby desifemlove » November 30th, 2016, 1:44 am

what's the point of local government? why not run everything from central government? how many small countries have local government? its only needed in large countries.

Postby De Dragon » November 30th, 2016, 5:28 am

cherrypopper wrote:Ok .... I realized that most unc people don't care to vote. .( talking about my unc friends)

Whereas a pnm will wake up from a coma to stain that finger. .

If there was a 100 % voter turn out in any election what would really be the political result today.

Yet it appears that the UNC won the popular vote, (for whatever that is worth).

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2016, 7:26 am

The role of a councillor in a local government, I find to be needless. Most of the works a councillor does is easily done by the regional corporations. The councillor is really just a on-call representative to call whenever u want to feel attention for a problem, in this day and age.

These times, an area manager or superintendent is more suitable title for the requirements for the position we have use for.... if at all.

Up to me, get rid of the councillor, and leave it up to the corporations... because in my area, that is the body that does all the work.

Postby dougla_boy » November 30th, 2016, 8:23 am

dude2014 wrote:And yes the younger gen did not care to vote, they are the new geh meh ah hand out crew.
Why take charge of your future when your parents are killing themselves to provide for you?
How many of them can even use a broom, coceyea or otherwise?

PNM focused on de youths, the vote should advise all political parties that their are older people who working hard and the Great VAT betrayal, no GATE over 50 years, we want the PNM in opposition.

The UNC is more serious about Local Government Reform

The UNC eh serious about sh!t !!! STOP with this UNC/PNM/NAR/MSJ/NJACK nonsense...time to start voting on performance! at the end of the day, is we, the people, who vote them there...and we, the people, still have the power to get rid of them! i dunno why allyuh have that tribal mentality still in this day and age.....

Postby RBphoto » November 30th, 2016, 9:02 am

Redman wrote:
RBphoto wrote:People don't understand the importance of local government elections. I voted for a guy who I can call when the street light is broken, to get truck-borne water supply when there is a shortage and really helps with the development of the community infrastructure and activities for the youth. He just happened to be on a UNC ticket and I believed that he earned a half hour out of my life to be able to continue his good work. No amount of PNM music truck or pre-recorded Kamla messages affected my choice.

Well.we.had the opposite experience...and the unc called...having gotten our home number and names from a call we made to the regional county council for them to come and spray during the Zika issue.

They never came.....but used the number for political purposes.
Not to do their basic jobs.

A low voter turn out is due to LAZY VOTERS.

We should be adding other issues to the ballot paper in order to get public feedback on issues.

We already go through the cost of local and gen election s....if we add 5 to each ballot we will have 5x the feedback in order to be able to base public policy ......on public opinion...God forbid.

Well I am sorry to say that I have had the opposite experience with my counselor. That is really low behavior. I always called him on his cell phone which he gives out to people in the area freely so I guess I did not get on any UNC database.

Postby eliteauto » November 30th, 2016, 9:15 am

sMASH wrote:The role of a councillor in a local government, I find to be needless. Most of the works a councillor does is easily done by the regional corporations. The councillor is really just a on-call representative to call whenever u want to feel attention for a problem, in this day and age.

These times, an area manager or superintendent is more suitable title for the requirements for the position we have use for.... if at all.

Up to me, get rid of the councillor, and leave it up to the corporations... because in my area, that is the body that does all the work.

Tell that to Terry Rondon who is using a pirogue to visit residents in Matelot owing to landslides, blown off rooves, flooding and impassable roads currently

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2016, 9:47 am

Hats off to that guy for fulfilling his role as the people elected him to do.

If all were like him, could have left the system as is.

In our area with the day of serous flood a couple months ago, when the councillor came odpm handled most of the work that was required.
He didn't even go to some plaCes to even show face.
The thing is, the affected people got help that we would have expected the councillor to play a role in.
And we definitely sure he didn't play a back state role, because when he walked the area for elections, when asked why he didn't show up in some areas, that was the first instance of of him knowing about those persons being affected.

Day to day, regional corporations could sort out those issues, and in emergency situations, other bodies, or roles could come into effect, as the odpm usually does.

The system can be re organized in a way to be a little more effective.

Postby Redman » November 30th, 2016, 12:46 pm

RBphoto wrote:
Redman wrote:
RBphoto wrote:People don't understand the importance of local government elections. I voted for a guy who I can call when the street light is broken, to get truck-borne water supply when there is a shortage and really helps with the development of the community infrastructure and activities for the youth. He just happened to be on a UNC ticket and I believed that he earned a half hour out of my life to be able to continue his good work. No amount of PNM music truck or pre-recorded Kamla messages affected my choice.

Well.we.had the opposite experience...and the unc called...having gotten our home number and names from a call we made to the regional county council for them to come and spray during the Zika issue.

They never came.....but used the number for political purposes.
Not to do their basic jobs.

A low voter turn out is due to LAZY VOTERS.

We should be adding other issues to the ballot paper in order to get public feedback on issues.

We already go through the cost of local and gen election s....if we add 5 to each ballot we will have 5x the feedback in order to be able to base public policy ......on public opinion...God forbid.

Well I am sorry to say that I have had the opposite experience with my counselor. That is really low behavior. I always called him on his cell phone which he gives out to people in the area freely so I guess I did not get on any UNC database.

well you is a sawateee you have direct line an ting

:D :D
when yuh good yuh good

Postby Redman » November 30th, 2016, 12:50 pm

a councillor showing up to hand shyte out isnt what we need...we need a system that works.

People call -they get an answer and a response.

everything done in Palmiste was done in the last 6 months...Hall cut some grass on the side of the road and before the cut grass change color he put up a sign taking cudos.....smh.

and His biggest poster is up on the corner of Bennet road....almost over the doubles man Left shoulder......with the NO VENDING sign on the man Right Shoulder :?

EXCEPT for the Palmiste Park maintenance...who ever handling that doing a boss job years now...and its an all female group too-so its nice to gape every morning

Postby eliteauto » November 30th, 2016, 1:48 pm

sMASH I agree with you there are duplication of duties, local government can be streamlined to be a much better and efficient model

Postby De Dragon » December 1st, 2016, 2:03 am

eliteauto wrote:
sMASH wrote:The role of a councillor in a local government, I find to be needless. Most of the works a councillor does is easily done by the regional corporations. The councillor is really just a on-call representative to call whenever u want to feel attention for a problem, in this day and age.

Tell that to Terry Rondon who is using a pirogue to visit residents in Matelot owing to landslides, blown off rooves, flooding and impassable roads currently

The Express did one of those Local Gov't profiles on him recently and I'm unsure as to why there seem to be almost opposing opinions about his performance. On one hand he is like you say, on the other, the typical invisible councillor. The fact that he couldn't win Sangre Grande outright is also adding to the confusion. Is what he is doing now part of electioneering now that that corporation is in doubt?

Postby eliteauto » December 1st, 2016, 5:11 am

Can't say, I've heard good and bad things about him myself. But you can't please everyone especially in politics. Not winning Grande outright isn't necessarily an indictment of him, its a diverse area with both parties having a foothold

Postby sMASH » December 1st, 2016, 5:37 am

Can't be every where all the time, But at least try to be where ur needed.

And whether is electioneering or not, I'm sure the matelot people welcome his assistance.

Postby De Dragon » December 1st, 2016, 6:41 am

sMASH wrote:Can't be every where all the time, But at least try to be where ur needed.

And whether is electioneering or not, I'm sure the matelot people welcome his assistance.

I generally find that you have to live in your councillor's arse to get anything done. Worse yet if you're in a less populated street like my own where the number of votes is lower.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2016, 1:14 pm

With a 20% voter turnout you would think final results would be out sooner!!

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » December 2nd, 2016, 2:44 am

dougla_boy wrote:
dude2014 wrote:And yes the younger gen did not care to vote, they are the new geh meh ah hand out crew.
Why take charge of your future when your parents are killing themselves to provide for you?
How many of them can even use a broom, coceyea or otherwise?

PNM focused on de youths, the vote should advise all political parties that their are older people who working hard and the Great VAT betrayal, no GATE over 50 years, we want the PNM in opposition.

The UNC is more serious about Local Government Reform

The UNC eh serious about sh!t !!! STOP with this UNC/PNM/NAR/MSJ/NJACK nonsense...time to start voting on performance! at the end of the day, is we, the people, who vote them there...and we, the people, still have the power to get rid of them! i dunno why allyuh have that tribal mentality still in this day and age.....

How many of you have spent time in Local Govt as I have, from the ground up?
Have any one made a ten days in a County Council? They are now Regional Corporation.
Remember when the Mayaro/Manzanilla Road got destroyed?
Dr. Rambachan did a great job in restoring same. That is performance.
Terry is touting his boss tag line, Local Government Reform would have helped.
Listen to him good, he cannot articulate anything, and yes I meet him all the time.
Have we established how many roofs that got blown off was up to building code?

The Regional Corporation is not the only one responsible for the country.
There are reports of un-regulated developments which would have caused some of the landslides.
What is The Minister of Planning and by extension T&CPD doing about same?
Better tribal and educated as to how things are and how they are to be done.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » December 2nd, 2016, 2:54 am

Now that I have answered that.
What is Local Government Reform?
How is it going to give me, the burgess more power?
Local Govt reform has been taking place slowly but surely.

Do you know that a lot of Corporation cleaned open lot and never collected a cent? Contrary to law.
File a FOI form, attend a Statutory Meeting, get CMOH, T&CPD and the rest of them to do their jobs.
We in Local Govt has been doing ours.

Oh! For those who nah seeing meh Councillor, try making it to a Statutory meeting .......

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 2nd, 2016, 6:49 am

“We got it and as soon as we got it, we made that advice available to the public.” Saying the UNC reacted as expected, Rowley declared, “The fact of the matter is that under law, we retain the chairmanship and control of the Sangre Grande Corporation, not by any favour and not by any coalition.” The Prime Minister reiterated, “The law provides for us to remain there and we sought legal advice before we spoke and that’s how the PNM conducts its business.” Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister Stuart Young said the ability of incumbent chairman Terry Rondon to remain in office is contained in the provisions of the Municipal Corporations Act and in other pieces of subsidiary legislation. Section 15 (2) of that Act allows a mayor or chairman to remain in office unless he resigns, ceases to be qualified, becomes disqualified or is removed from office in accordance with the Act. Saying the PNM and the UNC each have four councillors (and each have two aldermen) in the corporation (for a total of six votes each), Rowley said Rondon will remain as chairman and has a casting vote in terms of the corporation running its business. He explained that the last time he checked, “seven is more than six.” PM HITS MEDIA Explaining his response on Monday to a reporter’s question about an alleged 17 percent voter turnout, Rowley said, “My reaction was to the misinformation that was being peddled and it was aggravating to me.” While he retained confidence in the media to do its job, the Prime Minister was concerned that segments of the media were misled by, “people who did not want to face another defeat “, who, “organised themselves to feed misinformation to those who were informing the public.” Saying certain sections of the media and certain analysts did not have credible data to assess the voter turnout, Rowley said, “Our (PNM) information is that in many areas, the turnout was as high as 40 odd percent.

The rules are clear according to the pm that the incumbent holds on to power. So panday was a skunt and say let robbie screw him again and put mannin into govt and why young and he daddy ( scotia is clearly PNM an i going to not support them) and rowlee open they cyat then an say let panday remain pm an the UNC in govt. Panday was really a skunt and it good they trow him out. Robbie was ah nex arse and shoulda dead during 1990 and save d country all the presha it in now. He is one man dat destroy trinidad by introducing VAT and putting mannin on govt based on moral and spritual values, daz y both ah dem dead like dog but idk wah panday waiting around 4, like he hoping to out live kamla and rowlee and become pm again.

Postby Morpheus » December 2nd, 2016, 6:58 am

Calm down babash...

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » December 2nd, 2016, 8:02 am

Yea boy, man real upset.

Like the passion though, channel it positively

Postby De Dragon » December 2nd, 2016, 8:05 am

screwbash wrote:
“We got it and as soon as we got it, we made that advice available to the public.” Saying the UNC reacted as expected, Rowley declared, “The fact of the matter is that under law, we retain the chairmanship and control of the Sangre Grande Corporation, not by any favour and not by any coalition.” The Prime Minister reiterated, “The law provides for us to remain there and we sought legal advice before we spoke and that’s how the PNM conducts its business.” Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister Stuart Young said the ability of incumbent chairman Terry Rondon to remain in office is contained in the provisions of the Municipal Corporations Act and in other pieces of subsidiary legislation. Section 15 (2) of that Act allows a mayor or chairman to remain in office unless he resigns, ceases to be qualified, becomes disqualified or is removed from office in accordance with the Act. Saying the PNM and the UNC each have four councillors (and each have two aldermen) in the corporation (for a total of six votes each), Rowley said Rondon will remain as chairman and has a casting vote in terms of the corporation running its business. He explained that the last time he checked, “seven is more than six.” PM HITS MEDIA Explaining his response on Monday to a reporter’s question about an alleged 17 percent voter turnout, Rowley said, “My reaction was to the misinformation that was being peddled and it was aggravating to me.” While he retained confidence in the media to do its job, the Prime Minister was concerned that segments of the media were misled by, “people who did not want to face another defeat “, who, “organised themselves to feed misinformation to those who were informing the public.” Saying certain sections of the media and certain analysts did not have credible data to assess the voter turnout, Rowley said, “Our (PNM) information is that in many areas, the turnout was as high as 40 odd percent.

The rules are clear according to the pm that the incumbent holds on to power. So panday was a skunt and say let robbie screw him again and put mannin into govt and why young and he daddy ( scotia is clearly PNM an i going to not support them) and rowlee open they cyat then an say let panday remain pm an the UNC in govt. Panday was really a skunt and it good they trow him out. Robbie was ah nex arse and shoulda dead during 1990 and save d country all the presha it in now. He is one man dat destroy trinidad by introducing VAT and putting mannin on govt based on moral and spritual values, daz y both ah dem dead like dog but idk wah panday waiting around 4, like he hoping to out live kamla and rowlee and become pm again.

Scarfy chiding the media for using "UNC" figures, then proceeds to throw out his own unsubstantiated figures :lol: . Meanwhile the "law" that he quotes also has a contradictory clause to what he/the PNM is relying on. This one heading to court for sure, given the UNC's penchant for same, coupled with the arrogance of the PNM in proclaiming a win in a tied corporation.

Postby sMASH » December 2nd, 2016, 9:03 am

Wrt tax, they tax what u earn, what u spend, and what u have.

That is too much.

Like the online tax, they charge u VAT on top of the OPT. That is just digging out ur eye.... again.

Postby desifemlove » December 2nd, 2016, 11:30 am

if pNM lose Grande, given how unpopular they are for doing nutten, the licking should be more severe than dat. Like in 2013, the UNC/PP lost plenty areas, the PNM should have lost more.

Postby rspann » December 2nd, 2016, 3:32 pm

desifemlove wrote:if pNM lose Grande, given how unpopular they are for doing nutten, the licking should be more severe than dat. Like in 2013, the UNC/PP lost plenty areas, the PNM should have lost more.

I don't think they are unpopular to any major extent, people understand the restraints they are working with,financially.
The arrogance is what we could do without.

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » December 3rd, 2016, 10:30 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161202 ... -pnm-slips

UNC GAINS, PNM SLIPS*
EEBC release final local government results; voter turnout at 34%

Published on Dec 2, 2016, 10:17 pm AST
By Ria Taitt
ria.taitt@trinidadexpress.com

port of spain

THE United National Congress (UNC) gained, while the People’s National Movement (PNM) slipped.
The figures released by the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) yesterday showed the UNC received 50 per cent of the votes cast in Monday’s local government election while the PNM received 48 per cent.
The UNC may have lost the local government election in terms of the number of seats and corporations it captured, but it won the popular vote, receiving overall approximately 6,000 more votes than the PNM.
The UNC received 180,758 while the PNM got 174,754 votes.
The PNM slipped in terms of the number of people who came out to cast their votes for that party on Monday when compared to the 2013 local government election.
It received approximately 15,000 fewer votes on Monday than in 2013.
The UNC received approximately 60,000 more votes in this local government election than it obtained in the last local government election.