Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Dizzy28 » November 23rd, 2016, 8:45 am

Isn't the filter lane limit at that junction 40kmh and the highway 60kmh though.?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 23rd, 2016, 8:50 am

Lol men feel filter lane is to give fyaz now?

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby racedriverpro » November 23rd, 2016, 9:25 am

vi1012 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
vi1012 wrote:Hey all .. Just looking for a some opinions .. I got picked up coming off a filter lane. I was heading east on the CRH ... And took the left exit going mount hope side, I got picked up on the last bit of the filter lane as I was speeding up to filter across. The ticket shows me doing 87k, speed limit as 60k. Maybe I am grasping here .. But isn't it obvious ppl will be speeding up to filter? Daz a real low move I think I not going to argue it cause they will say I still 7 over the 80 .. And well court fee high .. Just wondering what ppl take on this is ..

What's your angst? You were doing 87 in a 60 area. It's the fact that you were in a filter lane confusing you?

You lacking common sense?

In my book u did the common sense thing.

But from poliCe straight to judge dotish in this blasted country.

In south, when u leave licence office, and want to go on the bypass heading west, the filter lane isn't really long, compared to the speed of the bypass.
U have to speed up quite a bit on the turn on, so that u match the speed by the time u are on the filter lane.

Many times vehicles are backed up there, because someone didn't speed up enough to filter in... and unless u boosting, u can not achieve that amount of acceleration in such a short stretch.

Well that is my point! I don't remember being told this wayyyyy back when I learnt to drive, this is not in the test prep or study guides... I checked .. if I missed it I apologise and would appreciate if it is pointed out.. but US law and procedures that everybody like to quote.. says you speed up on the filter lane ... so to charge somebody for speeding up on the filter lane .. which is what you supposed to do is dotish!

Pay.
Last edited by racedriverpro on November 23rd, 2016, 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 23rd, 2016, 9:32 am

^ There is no incline on that particular filter lane. He said he was heading east on the CRH and then north.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 25th, 2016, 6:30 pm

Morpheus wrote:I drove to Price Plaza and back up North in the night for the first time since the enforcement. And I mean between 7 and 8pm eh.

Big maxi (at least 3), 4x4, delivery truck, everything passing me yes. WTF lol. I just laugh and smh. I drove at 80kph BTW.

They were probably laughing at you to bro....lol....smh

Postby Morpheus » November 25th, 2016, 6:31 pm

LoL most likely.

"All dem fancy gauge and he fraid. What a kant!"

Voosh!!!

Postby j.o.e » November 25th, 2016, 11:01 pm

vi1012 wrote:Hey all .. Just looking for a some opinions .. I got picked up coming off a filter lane. I was heading east on the CRH ... And took the left exit going mount hope side, I got picked up on the last bit of the filter lane as I was speeding up to filter across. The ticket shows me doing 87k, speed limit as 60k. Maybe I am grasping here .. But isn't it obvious ppl will be speeding up to filter? Daz a real low move I think I not going to argue it cause they will say I still 7 over the 80 .. And well court fee high .. Just wondering what ppl take on this is ..

lol. So are you saying merging lanes are for exceeding the speed limit of the major road? Hold on lemme grab a beer to listen to this one ..... this gon' be good

vi1012

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby vi1012 » November 25th, 2016, 11:36 pm

j.o.e wrote:

lol. So are you saying merging lanes are for exceeding the speed limit of the major road? Hold on lemme grab a beer to listen to this one ..... this gon' be good

Well explain to me please how a filter lane is used ... because apparently I had it wrong ..descriptions of its use in other countries seem to be wrong as well .. so please educate the rest of us ...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 26th, 2016, 2:08 am

vi1012 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Well explain to me please how a filter lane is used ... because apparently I had it wrong ..descriptions of its use in other countries seem to be wrong as well .. so please educate the rest of us ...

They were never intended to break speed limits. The sooner you realize that the sooner you will learn how to use them correctly.

vi1012

Postby vi1012 » November 26th, 2016, 3:34 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
vi1012 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

They were never intended to break speed limits. The sooner you realize that the sooner you will learn how to use them correctly.

Hmm .. another one telling me I was wrong .. but still cannot answer the question .

baigan

Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby baigan » November 26th, 2016, 4:07 am

vi1012 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Hmm .. another one telling me I was wrong .. but still cannot answer the question .

-Scan ahead and behind you using all your mirrors and check blind spots
-indicate using your blinker signals at least three seconds before to let other drivers know.
-Speed up (within the limit) or slow down slightly if a vehicle is right beside you, positioning your vehicle to enter an open space.
- Merge into the gap you've created when it is safe, hesitation and poor positioning can confuse other drivers. Watch for other drivers that might try to cut on you.
- Once in the traffic flow, adjust your position to leave yourself a safe gap to the vehicle in front.
- Check your mirrors

I'm sorry you got a ticket, that sucks when that happens, but just pay it and move on.
Last edited by baigan on November 26th, 2016, 4:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby racedriverpro » November 26th, 2016, 7:41 am

vi1012 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Think abt it...the faster u go the less time/distance u will have to merge safely. Merge lanes are not to be used like an airstrip.

Postby sMASH » November 26th, 2016, 8:08 am

If ur vehicle is traveling at 50 kmph, and u seek to merge into traffic giant is travelling at 60 kmph how would that work? U would just meet the end of the filter lane, or decide to merge, then causing the cars in the major road to slow down suddenly and most likely cause a pile up of bumpers.

U all assume the major road traffic is traveling within the speed limit, if so, then no problem.If they are traveling aboVe the speed limit, still not problem, as in either scenario he would have to MATCH WHICH EVER SPEED THE TRAFFIC OF THE MAJOR ROAD IS AT.
U can t be going too much faster, or too much slower.

U can't expect a zipper with its two sides to mesh, interlock, merge, when they are spaced at a different rate.

Postby rollingstock » November 26th, 2016, 8:43 am

^ you know you can stop and wait on the merge lane for an opportunity.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 26th, 2016, 9:11 am

rollingstock wrote:^ you know you can stop and wait on the merge lane for an opportunity.

fadda wey u from this is trinidad inno ... nobody doh wait to merge :?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 26th, 2016, 9:23 am

This thread is comedy now. People who can't drive exposing themselves.

Postby eliteauto » November 26th, 2016, 10:26 am

rollingstock wrote:^ you know you can stop and wait on the merge lane for an opportunity.

*clout* FYAZZZZZZZZZZ BAI!!!!

Postby K74T » November 26th, 2016, 10:50 am

Filtah fyaz tuh di wurl dawdi.

Postby rollingstock » November 26th, 2016, 11:38 am

Lol my bad guize.

Btw some men confusing two lanes merging (zipper) with what is basically an on-ramp/merge.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 26th, 2016, 12:26 pm

If a driver uses the filter lane to over take and then merges back onto the left lane like how the police does do it... anything wrong with that?

Postby rollingstock » November 26th, 2016, 12:36 pm

Yes, that's improper overtaking.
You seriously asking that question or just being a cornt?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 26th, 2016, 1:12 pm

My problem is that Golconda on ramp to merge going northbound... There isn't any merging lane to speak about and the difference in limit between the highway and that on ramp road is ridiculous.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 26th, 2016, 1:27 pm

The people who come out from UWI by Watts Street (Moonan)/Streatham Lodge need to read this.

Postby sMASH » November 26th, 2016, 1:27 pm

That isn't merging, and as I had stated previously, some people can't match the speed of the traffic on the major roads, and very one has to wait till they get space... which tends to be, when the Pleasantville traffic light changes to red, thus preventing vehicles filming forward.

The easiest, least disruptive thing to do, speed up to match the speed of the major road, indicate rightward mmovement file in. Works like a charm.

... well, that is unless u use a police siren, then u can gangster ur way through and past any vehicular impediment

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 26th, 2016, 2:56 pm

kamakazi wrote:My problem is that Golconda on ramp to merge going northbound... There isn't any merging lane to speak about and the difference in limit between the highway and that on ramp road is ridiculous.

Daiz ah white man first world design. You should not dare question the design. If Rambie was still in power he would use all the government resources at his disposal to hunt you down and kill you for criticizing it.

Postby Morpheus » November 26th, 2016, 3:09 pm

racedriverpro wrote:If a driver uses the filter lane to over take and then merges back onto the left lane like how the police does do it... anything wrong with that?

By Nestle eastbound

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 26th, 2016, 3:31 pm

rollingstock wrote:Yes, that's improper overtaking.

Thanks. Will just pay the ticket although the police, cited that I breached section 38(5) of..... Alyuh police should set a better example and stop being cornts.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 26th, 2016, 3:36 pm

Morpheus wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:If a driver uses the filter lane to over take and then merges back onto the left lane like how the police does do it... anything wrong with that?

By Nestle eastbound

For me it was by Maloney lights westbound. By Nestle its either clear or rel traffic so imo it don't make sense to do that there.

Postby rollingstock » November 26th, 2016, 4:13 pm

racedriverpro wrote:

Thanks. Will just pay the ticket although the police, cited that I breached section 38(5) of..... Alyuh police should set a better example and stop being cornts.

Police also carry firearms and go into areas like Laventille to arrest 'good boys', let me know when you going to do that too.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 26th, 2016, 4:18 pm

racedriverpro wrote:

Police also carry firearms and go into areas like Laventille to arrest 'good boys', let me know when you going to do that too.

Police does take bribe too...where do I sign up?