Speed trap spotter thread

eurotuner

Re: Speed trap spotter thread

Postby eurotuner » November 23rd, 2016, 2:21 pm

tr1ad wrote:
eurotuner wrote:WAZE gives allota false alarms.
that whatsapp groups prob sending msg's ever two seconds.
nope nope nope

not really... but logic would apply and mute the group; only checking when you about to head out or on the road

Oh right MUTE (never used it before) How do i get on that group then. ANYONE????

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 23rd, 2016, 2:45 pm

never experienced this. Waze might still show an accident or object on the side of the road etc for a while after it has moved if no other user tells Waze it is no longer there, but the traffic speed is a sure sign and that is far less likely to be spoofed.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » November 23rd, 2016, 3:03 pm

^ actually stopped using it for a while, because where WAZE indicated there were speed traps, by the time i get there, there is nothing.

Re: RE: Re: Speed trap spotter thread

Postby K74T » November 23rd, 2016, 3:39 pm

eurotuner wrote:
tr1ad wrote:
nope nope nope

not really... but logic would apply and mute the group; only checking when you about to head out or on the road

Oh right MUTE (never used it before) How do i get on that group then. ANYONE????

Open the chat and press the menu button on the top right and you will see mute.

Postby tr1ad » November 23rd, 2016, 5:36 pm

eurotuner wrote:
tr1ad wrote:
nope nope nope

Message me your number and I'll add you

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 23rd, 2016, 7:04 pm

eurotuner wrote:^ actually stopped using it for a while, because where WAZE indicated there were speed traps, by the time i get there, there is nothing.
ok now I'm confused

Postby tr1ad » November 23rd, 2016, 8:07 pm

eurotuner wrote:^ actually stopped using it for a while, because where WAZE indicated there were speed traps, by the time i get there, there is nothing.
ok now I'm confused

well the man eh know how to mute whatsapp.....

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » November 23rd, 2016, 8:38 pm

Lol ...

Re: RE: Re: Speed trap spotter thread

Postby Morpheus » November 23rd, 2016, 9:57 pm

ok now I'm confused

I think people see police driving on the road minding their own business and they input a sighting. But of course, the police driving, so by the time you reach the spot where the police were tagged, they're already 10kms away...

"False alarm"

eurotuner

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Speed trap spotter thread

Postby eurotuner » November 23rd, 2016, 9:59 pm

Morpheus wrote:
ok now I'm confused

I think people see police driving on the road minding their own business and they input a sighting. But of course, the police driving, so by the time you reach the spot where the police were tagged, they're already 10kms away...

"False alarm"

Yup

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Speed trap spotter thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 23rd, 2016, 11:09 pm

eurotuner wrote:
Morpheus wrote:
ok now I'm confused

"False alarm"

Yup
oh thought you meant speed traps

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 24th, 2016, 6:15 am

Thanks to this thread, I was able to find out the highway police scene 10 hours after I coulda potentially get a ticket.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 24th, 2016, 3:49 pm

fouljuice wrote:Thanks to this thread, I was able to find out the highway police scene 10 hours after I coulda potentially get a ticket.

Postby pugboy » November 24th, 2016, 3:59 pm

The thread is more for the actual location on the highways lol

recession racer

Postby recession racer » November 25th, 2016, 1:15 pm

Saw something crazy last night outside of c3 heading north

They place a device road side in the darkness and stop people a few meters away.. be careful guys.

I was not aware of this...you may be caught by suprise

trent

Postby trent » November 26th, 2016, 6:15 pm

They did the same thing in Marabella last nite^
Not sure of the purpose...

Postby Kenjo » November 26th, 2016, 6:31 pm

Wait you guys mean without a police car ? The speed guns can be mounted on a tripod stand ..... they did mention that they were getting more speed guns also

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 28th, 2016, 7:44 am

Gem_in_i wrote:Whtsapp group have it nice

Link meh in dat group.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 28th, 2016, 7:46 am

Right after Piarco junct heading west.

recession racer

Postby recession racer » November 28th, 2016, 10:07 am

Saw that mark thanks.. link me on the watsapp group guys

jbee

Postby jbee » November 28th, 2016, 10:34 am

Hmm why don't you all just obey the speed limit law but as most trinis always looking for a short cut that is what is wrong with the society today so when you all get your speeding ticket don't complain you work hard to get it have a great and safe day guys

Postby Les Bain » November 28th, 2016, 11:05 am

So for this thread to be effective you have to monitor it while driving?

Postby RBphoto » November 28th, 2016, 11:20 am

jbee wrote:Hmm why don't you all just obey the speed limit law but as most trinis always looking for a short cut that is what is wrong with the society today so when you all get your speeding ticket don't complain you work hard to get it have a great and safe day guys

Hey, I am a proponent of staying under 80Kmph, but there are a few times I do go over the limit. If I have to overtake, I floor my accelerator , overtake and then coast back to normal speed on the left lane. If I happen to cross 80kmph while coasting down the hill at either Point-a_piere, Claxton bay or Couva, I will not tap on my brakes to slow down and irritate other drivers behind me. Knowing when and where the police road blocks are is beneficial to even those typically driving below the limit because of the ridiculously small margin for error where they are issuing tickets. Though I do not fault the police from enforcing the speed limit, enforcing a rigid ceiling of 80Kmph is basically telling everyone to drive at 70kmph as there is no room for error or slight variations in speed or traffic/ road conditions. If you want to drive on the razor edge of the limit, it is best to know where the blocks are so you can reduce speed.