WTK about electricity cable install

zagie

WTK about electricity cable install

Postby zagie » November 19th, 2016, 8:03 pm

have a question for any one who knows, i have about 60' of cable to run from a metered pole to my house panel, want to know what is acceptable by the electrical inspectorate, meaning i know the standard is to dig a trench 2' with a bed of sand etc but where i have to run the cable it has a decking so its a lot of cutting and digging which is costly, is there any other way to run the cable, does it have a special surface trunking for these cables, oh there is a block wall very close to where the cable have to run can i put it in the wall, would it pass inspection an then plaster it up, any info would help thanks

HSA

Re: WTK about electricity cable install

Postby HSA » November 19th, 2016, 11:19 pm

Put an electricity pole between the metered pole and your panel

Postby Gladiator » November 20th, 2016, 6:53 am

put a pole in between and use triple x cable. then go underground closer to the house so you have a shorter trench.

Rover_TC

Postby Rover_TC » November 20th, 2016, 9:01 am

You can go to the TTEC Utilisation Department for your Area and ask them, to be sure. If you choose to extend the triplex to a pole nearer to the building, you will have to move the meter base to that pole. Keep in mind that TTEC does not have to "see" your meter to read it anymore.

zagie

Postby zagie » November 20th, 2016, 12:12 pm

planting a pole is out of the question, t&tec came and did a survey already and said there isnt a place to facility a pole safely so i have to run cable from the existing pole to my structure so still need the info on running the cable surface or in the block wall or is there any other way to do it thats acceptable by the inspectorate thanks

Postby rspann » November 20th, 2016, 1:33 pm

Zagie, you is not a Trini? you put it where you want or can and pay the inspector a likkle tax. Case closed.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2016, 1:36 pm

Lol
Any competent licensed electrician will be able to organize with his "inspector"

Postby rspann » November 20th, 2016, 1:43 pm

pugboy wrote:Lol
Any competent licensed electrician will be able to organize with his "inspector"

That is how it's done.

zagie

Postby zagie » November 20th, 2016, 3:42 pm

lol thanks for the info, was looking for the legal aspect but this would work lol

Rover_TC

Postby Rover_TC » November 20th, 2016, 10:44 pm

Well I do not subscribe to that and hence I leave this conversation. There is a proper way and even Trinis have the option to choose it. By the way, we all know that electricity has been known to kill if not treated with respect.

zagie

Postby zagie » November 21st, 2016, 7:48 pm

Rover_TC wrote:Well I do not subscribe to that and hence I leave this conversation. There is a proper way and even Trinis have the option to choose it. By the way, we all know that electricity has been known to kill if not treated with respect.

still need the info on the legal way to do it

Postby rspann » November 21st, 2016, 8:29 pm

You didn't say there was a decking and you cannot pass it there? And that you can't use a pole. You just extinguished your legal options.

zagie

Postby zagie » November 21st, 2016, 9:20 pm

ok for those who know if theres any other legal option other than trenching for the cable let me know, im just looking for an alternative to running the cable thats acceptable by the inspectorate, if theres not ill just trench and done.........

zagie

Postby zagie » November 23rd, 2016, 3:16 pm

bumping post ............