hi any home brewers here in Trinidad

Re: hi any home brewers here in Trinidad

Postby SMc » August 5th, 2014, 4:31 pm

pluggie wrote:
SMc wrote: Agree with this, but I stick with the Stag it just takes a few days to get used to it, to be honest its no different when I go to any other country I tend to drink the local stuff where possible and that usually takes a day or 2 to get used to.

True but I've noticed especially within the last few years that sometimes the stag taste differs alot depending on the batch maybe... like sometimes even a carib would taste better than a stag (this is very rare though) :lol:
I must end in saying ; there is not much things in this world better than a beastly cold stag with a hot bake and shark
*wipes drooll*

Fork that..had a proper Bunny Chow on Sunday with a very cold Red Stripe to wash it down while stood in a field in middle England...that was good.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » August 5th, 2014, 6:44 pm

skylinechild wrote:
Kal-El Ward wrote:I have tasted many beers, from all over the world. Nothing will be better than a beastly cold Stag. Carib is second to it. The rich flavor, with a bitter bite. A beer made for a warrior, warlord and king. I believe Stag, in my view, is the best beer. Anything else is for cats.

said the man who only drink pale lagers.... :lol: :lol:
In the US they say pale lagers are for women..

ENT! one of the best (US) beers I've tasted was Amber Bock

Postby SR » August 5th, 2014, 6:47 pm

Bj's brewhouse once you run thru the entire list and find your liking local beer will taste like sheit

Postby dougla_boy » November 22nd, 2016, 8:00 pm

folks, thread dead...but i need answers on where I could get a kit. saw some on amazon, but when i asked Aeropost, they said nah, it restricted.

Pablo660

hi any home brewers here in Trinidad

Postby Pablo660 » November 22nd, 2016, 10:07 pm

Is it? My brother in law brought in one via EZone , ezbeer kit?
I have one haven't opened it yet but you can tube tutorial should be helpful also don't bottle , keg it , better taste my opinion

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 23rd, 2016, 8:22 am

Depends on what type of system you looking for boss ... and whats your budget.

I went for top tier sheit bought a braumeister.

PM if you was to know more young padawan

Postby dougla_boy » November 23rd, 2016, 8:23 am

It isn't anything too fancy inno, ah basic beer making kit...

Mr. Beer Premium Gold Edition Homebrewing Craft Beer Making Kit https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001BCFUBU/re ... nybQJ9F9VE

Postby Dizzy28 » November 23rd, 2016, 9:50 am

Are there any laws and regulations governing home brewing for self consumption in Trinidad?

aidan

Postby aidan » November 23rd, 2016, 12:26 pm

een for info

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 23rd, 2016, 12:42 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Are there any laws and regulations governing home brewing for self consumption in Trinidad?

dont think there is any laws for brewing if you are not going to sell
here is the law for brewing the licence is under section 3

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/al ... /87.52.pdf

there is laws for distilling which states you need a licence
here is the law for distilling see section 7
http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/al ... /87.54.pdf

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 23rd, 2016, 12:46 pm

from wiki pedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moonshine_by_country

Trinidad and Tobago[edit]
In Trinidad and Tobago, an illegally distilled rum is produced, known as ba-bash, bush rum or mountain dew. It is primarily made from fermented sugar cane. The "stills" used are very similar to those used in North America. Although ba-bash is illegal in Trinidad and Tobago it is readily available if contacts are right.

think most people down south going the route of south american rums than starting back their stills well till hunting season close

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 23rd, 2016, 1:39 pm

dougla_boy wrote:It isn't anything too fancy inno, ah basic beer making kit...

Mr. Beer Premium Gold Edition Homebrewing Craft Beer Making Kit https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001BCFUBU/re ... nybQJ9F9VE

If you want your beer tasting good then at least get a DME (dehydrated malt extract kit)

https://www.northernbrewer.com/brewing/ ... tarter-kit
has the equipment you will need

and get a good boil kettle
https://www.northernbrewer.com/brewing/ ... my-kettles

I use northern brewer all the time for my ingredients.

Alex_Ron

Postby Alex_Ron » June 24th, 2019, 6:56 pm

nympho wrote:i made some wine a while a back , got a pig tail bucket , warm water , sugar and some rice with the paddy " husks " also i used a pineapple with out the skin mixed all using the warm water and made a mixture also i used a " carboy" which is a large vessel and i bought an air lock fliter by a place called kitsons in pos and in abrihams i cgot some yeast called ar 12 which gives the wine a sparkling effect almost like a champane , it was worth it because when i got the 13 bottles from it i used to show off when ppl come home by me and i say " i make this " i used to feel good knowing i made this wine from simple things , however never tried it again the idea never really materialise to do it again , also if you use white sugar you does have to used " camdeen tabs " in the or aftr the 28 days so the wine will have to clear up , just taught i would tell you this ,

Where did you get your "carboy"? I'd like to buy one.

Postby nervewrecker » June 25th, 2019, 7:29 am

You guys sell drinks too?

Postby Slartibartfast » June 25th, 2019, 8:37 am

dougla_boy wrote:It isn't anything too fancy inno, ah basic beer making kit...

Got this same kit for my bday. Only problem with it is the yeast. Ambient local temperature is too hot and putting it in the fridge is too cold. Other than that, it's a great starter kit.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » June 25th, 2019, 9:15 am

ouu good info here, I have a basic kit sit down for a good while home. I think i gonna take some of yall recommendations and get some good stuff and take a try at brewing.

mad

Postby mad » June 29th, 2019, 9:47 am

Carib and stag is sheit compared to other beers out there.
But for the Retail Price $US 1.5, it is the best cheapest beer you can get.
There are many beers/ale that is far better than carib/stag but you will end up paying double/triple the price.
Paid up to US$10 and Euro $15 for retail beers like Bourbon, Kuntsmann, Marshall, Montero etc.
Normally I pay $120tt for a six pack of Hobgoblin Beer and the same for a six pack of Honey Dew in right here in Price mart. Compare that to a regular six pack of carib/stag.
Higher the quality-higher the price.
Nevertheless I like mih Stag. It think it is also the cheapest in the Caribbean as well, compared to Red Stripe, Wadadli or Piton