We are negligible in the oil pricing world, so again while local producers may be reducing production due to depressed oil prices, the likelihood of those prices being depressed for some time again doesn't help us.
The diversification effort has also been hit a blow as now non-energy items such as cement, new car sales are down by double digit percentages. This malaise will only spread the longer we wait. Trinidad and Tobago has over a century in oil/gas production but it has never helped us to control more of the value chain. We merely settle for royalties and other relatively paltry revenues while the majority goes to the oil companies, and their associated countries and economies.
desifemlove wrote:a few options:
- forget indo/afro/PNM/UNC
- BOTH parties admit that they contributed to this fuck-up.....
- form a plan to diversify the economy. cos this WILL happen again and again and again!
if this means some kind of grand coalition government, so be it.
cos without it, i bet in 25 years time, whoever is PNM PM (Young/Al Rawi?!) or UNC PM (Padarath/Ameen?!) will be balling about who caused recession or who is to blame or this and that and blah blah blah....
Joshie23 wrote:desifemlove wrote:a few options:
- form a plan to diversify the economy. cos this WILL happen again and again and again!
cos without it, i bet in 25 years time, whoever is PNM PM (Young/Al Rawi?!) or UNC PM (Padarath/Ameen?!) will be balling about who caused recession or who is to blame or this and that and blah blah blah....
Could it be..Desi said something sensible?? The only race comment was actually positive??![]()
The list could go on and on by the way and for some educated people, of late, I can't really find anything good to say about our leaders oui..on both sides..but hey, they get paid, to sit and argue about how to firetruck up our money while arguing about who firetrucked up worse..I think the appropriate cliche is fiddling while Rome burns or something like that?
desifemlove wrote:Joshie23 wrote:desifemlove wrote:a few options:
Could it be..Desi said something sensible?? The only race comment was actually positive??![]()
The list could go on and on by the way and for some educated people, of late, I can't really find anything good to say about our leaders oui..on both sides..but hey, they get paid, to sit and argue about how to firetruck up our money while arguing about who firetrucked up worse..I think the appropriate cliche is fiddling while Rome burns or something like that?
no, over your head usually, like how you post very intelligently about simple sporting stuff.
rspann wrote:That skrunt so foolish, she didn't even understand what you said.
desifemlove wrote:http://www.forbes.com/sites/jamesconca/2016/11/10/energy-in-president-trumps-america/#1d7c190e69ff
no party here has a plan to cope, and really Trump is continuing Bush Jr. and Obama's policy here, but under a different spin.
expect T&T to head to Guyana, Surinam or Haiti living standards soon enough.
eliteauto wrote:T&T is never going to be like Guyana, Jamaica or Venezuela. No matter how much doom and gloom you people wish on it
rspann wrote:Who is the skrunt that comes on an ole talk forum to ask for advice? Me?
rspann wrote:You think the accessibility is a big problem? The hustlers who run the show(just like NEDCO) is the problem. Do some investigation and see if you find out what I'm talking about.
eliteauto wrote:truth
rspann wrote:eliteauto wrote:T&T is never going to be like Guyana, Jamaica or Venezuela. No matter how much doom and gloom you people wish on it
The people who cry wolf, do it for their own agenda. They condemn and always talk about diversification ,but ask them how to go about it they cannot answer. Most of the time, they say diversification and stop right there, just parroting what they hear somebody else say .
De Dragon wrote:rspann wrote:eliteauto wrote:T&T is never going to be like Guyana, Jamaica or Venezuela. No matter how much doom and gloom you people wish on it
The people who cry wolf, do it for their own agenda. They condemn and always talk about diversification ,but ask them how to go about it they cannot answer. Most of the time, they say diversification and stop right there, just parroting what they hear somebody else say .
Not everyone has the experience, knowledge, training or education to make suggestions for diversifying an economy. That is why it is imperative that those that do, know what they are talking about. Sadly, the advisors to Governments seem to either not know, or not have the clout to get it implemented.
De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:I'm sorry but you're posting hyperbole. Firstly you say non-capital stimulus is easy then go on to give a completely wrong example, secondly asking for links? Am I to assume you're not following the comments of Mariano Browne in every public seminar and his radio programme? Are you not also listening the Hilaire and the members of EAC? So you're criticising Imbert on vaps (although your criticism is legit). I'm still waiting on you to suggest stimuli, truth be told I expected it to be easy for you considering your posts
Why do you and other PNM defenders here always try to throw this into a discussion? Are Impsbert and Scarfy here on this forum to take suggestions? Don't they have an entire Ministry to advise them? Don't they have a EAB reporting solely to the PM for this?
eliteauto wrote:De Dragon wrote:rspann wrote:eliteauto wrote:T&T is never going to be like Guyana, Jamaica or Venezuela. No matter how much doom and gloom you people wish on it
Not everyone has the experience, knowledge, training or education to make suggestions for diversifying an economy. That is why it is imperative that those that do, know what they are talking about. Sadly, the advisors to Governments seem to either not know, or not have the clout to get it implemented.
Just like magic the old tuner De Dragon appears, look at how measured and tempered your response was unlike your new normal fiery attacking style. When I was asking the same thing in another thread you couldn't help yourself but label my question as that of:De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:I'm sorry but you're posting hyperbole. Firstly you say non-capital stimulus is easy then go on to give a completely wrong example, secondly asking for links? Am I to assume you're not following the comments of Mariano Browne in every public seminar and his radio programme? Are you not also listening the Hilaire and the members of EAC? So you're criticising Imbert on vaps (although your criticism is legit). I'm still waiting on you to suggest stimuli, truth be told I expected it to be easy for you considering your posts
Why do you and other PNM defenders here always try to throw this into a discussion? Are Impsbert and Scarfy here on this forum to take suggestions? Don't they have an entire Ministry to advise them? Don't they have a EAB reporting solely to the PM for this?
By your own logic you shouldn't be contributing to any political threads because the PM isn't here, I thought I'd open the discussion because "we" were having a discussion, not because we were trying to advise the Gov't. The problem is too many of us buy into the us and them rhetoric so instead of discussing ideas rationally we rather look to see who saying what and say "well me eh like he cause i feel he issa (insert party) so wha ever he say he on a scene" No wonder "we" don't advance. That is why frauds like BC could post long posts of fluff and ppl here buy into it, when ppl who actually know stuff know is toots he talking because he like the look of his typing. That is why he couldn't and still can't answer my question.
Regarding your last response in this thread; The advisors to the Gov't are knowledgeable, but 2 things are happening 1) the advice is too harsh politically 2) the advice affects the elites too much,
Diversification in Trini sense seems to be always via a capital project route and we simply don't have the money, I personally don't think diversification requires Gov't intervention in anything more that non-capital stimuli a lot of which can be found in already established options, the problem is on one side those in their fiefdoms want to determine who accesses the packages based on race, party affiliation and who know who, on the other side our private sector is lazy and non-innovative, many have made their money via Gov't projects and are unwilling to invest in new methods of income earnings. Even those of us who are investing in non-oil ventures to earn forex are suffering from the circumstances posted above by Spann and me.
If you look at any developed country they don't look to Gov't for everything, they simply facilitate the private sector, here however you also have the rhetoric at work because is you go PPP, you hear "dem is financiers, dem is de Syrians" . Trinis need to make u their damn minds whether they want to move forward and that carries some discomfort and pain today given our circumstances or if they wanna stay still and beyotch and moan about the party in power while hoping for oil recovery and dey party to come back in to do the same crap of the last 40 years. Either way those who have chosen to move forward have learned is hard work regardless of who in power and we moving forward while others tell us we eating grass
eliteauto wrote:De Dragon wrote:rspann wrote:eliteauto wrote:T&T is never going to be like Guyana, Jamaica or Venezuela. No matter how much doom and gloom you people wish on it
Just like magic the old tuner De Dragon appears, look at how measured and tempered your response was unlike your new normal fiery attacking style. When I was asking the same thing in another thread you couldn't help yourself but label my question as that of:De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:I'm sorry but you're posting hyperbole. Firstly you say non-capital stimulus is easy then go on to give a completely wrong example, secondly asking for links? Am I to assume you're not following the comments of Mariano Browne in every public seminar and his radio programme? Are you not also listening the Hilaire and the members of EAC? So you're criticising Imbert on vaps (although your criticism is legit). I'm still waiting on you to suggest stimuli, truth be told I expected it to be easy for you considering your posts
By your own logic you shouldn't be contributing to any political threads because the PM isn't here, I thought I'd open the discussion because "we" were having a discussion, not because we were trying to advise the Gov't. The problem is too many of us buy into the us and them rhetoric so instead of discussing ideas rationally we rather look to see who saying what and say "well me eh like he cause i feel he issa (insert party) so wha ever he say he on a scene" No wonder "we" don't advance. That is why frauds like BC could post long posts of fluff and ppl here buy into it, when ppl who actually know stuff know is toots he talking because he like the look of his typing. That is why he couldn't and still can't answer my question.
Regarding your last response in this thread; The advisors to the Gov't are knowledgeable, but 2 things are happening 1) the advice is too harsh politically 2) the advice affects the elites too much,
Diversification in Trini sense seems to be always via a capital project route and we simply don't have the money, I personally don't think diversification requires Gov't intervention in anything more that non-capital stimuli a lot of which can be found in already established options, the problem is on one side those in their fiefdoms want to determine who accesses the packages based on race, party affiliation and who know who, on the other side our private sector is lazy and non-innovative, many have made their money via Gov't projects and are unwilling to invest in new methods of income earnings. Even those of us who are investing in non-oil ventures to earn forex are suffering from the circumstances posted above by Spann and me.
If you look at any developed country they don't look to Gov't for everything, they simply facilitate the private sector, here however you also have the rhetoric at work because is you go PPP, you hear "dem is financiers, dem is de Syrians" . Trinis need to make u their damn minds whether they want to move forward and that carries some discomfort and pain today given our circumstances or if they wanna stay still and beyotch and moan about the party in power while hoping for oil recovery and dey party to come back in to do the same crap of the last 40 years. Either way those who have chosen to move forward have learned is hard work regardless of who in power and we moving forward while others tell us we eating grass
De Dragon wrote:^^ You have a style that comes across as smug and condescending. and frankly crazy. I doubt already condescending Impsbert will listen to you even if the chance were to arise.