A motion of no confidence..

Re: A motion of no confidence..

Postby desifemlove » November 1st, 2016, 6:12 pm

Miktay wrote:
but then government decree is what happens around the world. and it works. and for a country./economy like T&T, then there is no other way it should work. yes, firms do play governments off for FDI. There is nothing wrong with that, firms are self-interested, they exist to make profits/sales, don't they? Any economy that is healthy needs to remain efficient.

Because it happens all around the world doesn't make it suitable 4 T&T.

Many developed nations have the roots of competitive advantage in colonial exploitation.

The developed nations were former Empires. Britain, USA, the Netherlands, France, Portugal, Belgium & Spain all exploited/exploit their colonies 4 profit which fueled other parts of the nations infrastructure/economy.

Which BTW iz one competitive advantage that supported BREXIT. Britain still has her colonies. But u wont read that in any mainstream economic textbook.

as for foreign firms coming here to install motherboards, why not? Most countries now that have manufacturing prowess started from somewhere. and proximity is moot since there are global supply chains. the components to make a smartphone come from the Congo, Saudi, Europe, Brazil and are only just assembled in China.

If u want 2 start a firm installing MBs go ahead. But theres not enuf economic reasons 4a forin MNC 2 relocate here to do that IMHO. What competitive advantage does T&T have in computer assembly? Not much.

Chinese and American labor productivity gaps are slowly closing. China has lower cost per unit largely because management costs (read: stock options) are higher in the USA. Chinese manufacturing is slowly starting to move to other Asian countries such as Indonesia and Vietnam.

Brazil and Chile are better places computer assembly in the Western hemisphere. In an incentive war T&T w/b competing with large SA countries.

Who do u think would win that contest..i wonder?

Britain only reasserted itself as a major developed economy once Thatcher came in, as for slavery, because Dr. Williams wrote a renowned book, doesn't mean this alone is economic fact. that's not how any academic process works, it's based on evidence, peer-review and establishment of a mainstream. there were other factors that made Britain industrialise, not just slavery. not most of Europe was smashed at the end of WWII and managed to come back.

Chile may have a better advantage, but it's about creating that advantage. Again this what countries do, they strategise and plan, Dell works hand in hand to build components, and this is a market to earn constant FOREX and diversify the economy, and have many downstream industries without it messing the economy up.

Both PNM/UNC said they want foreign manufacturers to come, i'm just saying how they can do it, based on how things work in the real world.

Postby desifemlove » November 1st, 2016, 9:16 pm

http://www.oecd.org/daf/inv/investment- ... 487874.pdf

It's from 2001, but still relevant.

we need to get on the train, and start to compete and build capacity.

and no "we ent got no history of x". What history of manufacturing did Singapore or South Korea had? it took balls, vision and hard work.

Postby eliteauto » November 1st, 2016, 9:33 pm

if we could package and export the ability to convolute a simple discussion we could make billions

Postby desifemlove » November 1st, 2016, 9:49 pm

so you don't believe countries compete for FDI? and by doing so, it's about holistically making a country attractive to do business?
or that any healthy economy needs to facilitate business/economic activity to be healthy? it's "convoluting" and not understand economics 101 that makes T&T not progress.

Miktay

Re: A motion of no confide

Postby Miktay » November 1st, 2016, 9:51 pm

Britain only reasserted itself as a major developed economy once Thatcher came in, as for slavery, because Dr. Williams wrote a renowned book, doesn't mean this alone is economic fact.

Your understanding of the history of the British Empire iz shallow at best.

The economics of slavery (read: cheap labor) beats the economics of hired labor any day. No overtime. U can work them 14 hrs a day.

Plus u get to own/sell the children & great grandchildren of slaves. It's a great deal.

That's why the American civil war was fought. Not because of slavery but the economics of the North vs the South. Most wars are a result of economics.

that's not how any academic process works, it's based on evidence, peer-review and establishment of a mainstream.

Peer review iz no gold standard of academic authenticity. Peer review iza bit like your Linked in circle of friends. You give me a recommendation... I will do the same 4 u. It's just another ole boys network.

there were other factors that made Britain industrialise, not just slavery. not most of Europe was smashed at the end of WWII and managed to come back.

Managed 2 come back because of the Marshall plan & lend lease programs (see chagauramas) which was funded by American taxpayers.

Chile may have a better advantage, but it's about creating that advantage.

Oversimplification. How was the Chilean advantage created?

Again this what countries do, they strategise and plan, Dell works hand in hand to build components, and this is a market to earn constant FOREX and diversify the economy, and have many downstream industries without it messing the economy up.

Moot point. Dell won't come 2 T&T. Why would they?

Both PNM/UNC said they want foreign manufacturers to come, i'm just saying how they can do it, based on how things work in the real world.

What the PNM/UNC want ain't necessarily good 4 the people of T&T.

Postby rspann » November 1st, 2016, 9:58 pm

eliteauto wrote:if we could package and export the ability to convolute a simple discussion we could make billions

Ain't that the truth.

Re: A motion of no confide

Postby desifemlove » November 1st, 2016, 10:46 pm

Miktay wrote:
Britain only reasserted itself as a major developed economy once Thatcher came in, as for slavery, because Dr. Williams wrote a renowned book, doesn't mean this alone is economic fact.

Your understanding of the history of the British Empire iz shallow at best.

The economics of slavery (read: cheap labor) beats the economics of hired labor any day. No overtime. U can work them 14 hrs a day.

Plus u get to own/sell the children & great grandchildren of slaves. It's a great deal.

That's why the American civil war was fought. Not because of slavery but the economics of the North vs the South. Most wars are a result of economics.

that's not how any academic process works, it's based on evidence, peer-review and establishment of a mainstream.

Peer review iz no gold standard of academic authenticity. Peer review iza bit like your Linked in circle of friends. You give me a recommendation... I will do the same 4 u. It's just another ole boys network.

there were other factors that made Britain industrialise, not just slavery. not most of Europe was smashed at the end of WWII and managed to come back.

Managed 2 come back because of the Marshall plan & lend lease programs (see chagauramas) which was funded by American taxpayers.

Chile may have a better advantage, but it's about creating that advantage.

Oversimplification. How was the Chilean advantage created?

Again this what countries do, they strategise and plan, Dell works hand in hand to build components, and this is a market to earn constant FOREX and diversify the economy, and have many downstream industries without it messing the economy up.

Moot point. Dell won't come 2 T&T. Why would they?

What the PNM/UNC want ain't necessarily good 4 the people of T&T.

lol..it's pretty proven that colonialism didn't lead to the Industrial Revolution alone. France had slaves, Portugal shipped more, how come they didn't industrialise first?

And you tell me how things become accepted scientific theory? it's through evidence and peer review (which isn't through friends or co-workers at universities).

as for europe, well the UK got the most Marshall Aid, and was left behind by France, Germany, Italy, even Stalin/USSR, which all got severe war damage. the effect of Marshall Plan aid is overstated.

fact is, T&T has to position itself to change and receive FDI. only then can T&T diversify and not suffer any more oil shocks.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 2nd, 2016, 5:51 am

Here is ur twilight zone moment tuners. Desi sounding smart lol

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: A motion of no confidence..

Postby pete » November 2nd, 2016, 6:10 am

bluesclues wrote:
desifemlove wrote:foreign business is any business not T&T-registered who comes here and opens up. Starbucks, Pricesmart are examples, but we obviously need/want more than that. the state just needs to sell the country more and actively make links. Just as they do for energy, they can do for other industries.

You see. That is hardly foreign business. Let me know when a company finds it desirable to move their headquarters to trinidad. Starbucks will ship their money back home, to headquarters. That is just consumer spent ttd being converted into usd and being shipped out.

Either way we take it the cost of doing business is too high. Even if we wanted to entice foreign entities to expand their manufacturing process to holding a trinidad presence as they do in china. the cost for them to bring in all the premium materials they need, that really make an impact on upper class 1st world export markets will be too much. Basically, we cant compete with the cost of manufacturing in other countries. And companies would have to suffer a reduced profit margin to manufacture their goods here for export.

Tell me why, would they do this? Sure the benefit we seek for ourselves is increased export, increase government revenue collection, and the ability to purchase locally things we would normally have to import. But what's in it for them? The same things that keeps them from coming here, is the same thing that stifle entrepeneurs and innovators in this country. EXPENSE. Imagine, it is cheaper to buy a plane ticket, get a 2 week holiday in a foreign country, buy all your stuff for resale and bring it back in a suitcase, than to just ship it and have it at your door within the same 2 weeks. 100 fones each the value of $3000 fitting in suitcase. So who in their right mind would ship it in thru customs? If we got nokia to expand their manufacturing process here, they would face the same problem importing the machines and components they need to build their devices. Exhorbitant and un-encouraging Expense.

So in that light. Is best the government do it. Is best the government go and seek the deal. Is best the government buy and import the machines, and is best they obtain and train employees to man the operations. But i agree, it's about selling the country. Not 'selling out' the country. Creating deals that are mutually beneficial and helps us to create positive growth in the specific area(s) that need attention. E.g the usd drain. This means we need to increase production and manufacturing in all local export markets. Not with the backward mindset of slowing down consumers ability to aqcuire the things they need through importing. But by increasing the rate of usd inflow by increasing export to offset the rate of depletion.

Before you make statements you should at least do some research. Machinery and equipment usually has no duty only thing to be paid may be vat but basically once they become vat registered they will get it back.

Also, if you try to bring in 300k worth of stuff with no insurance in a suitcase you have the risk of theft and if you get randomly selected to be screened by same customs you are trying to avoid you're probably gonna get a serious fine.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 2nd, 2016, 6:58 am

^thered be no point in trying to hide 300k of suitcase import. U can be damn sure any fees u have to pay wont amount to 150k. Which is the minimum it would cost in vat and duties through customs if u imported it. Even if customs charge 20k at the airprort u still come out waaaaay better. Multiple plane trips with smaller load is also an option.

Fair enough about the machinery import issue. I hope that is true.. and that it applies to 3d printers which is machinery used in manufacturing.

Postby pete » November 2nd, 2016, 8:13 am

It's the same thing you would have to pay if you brought it through a skybox. 20% duty and 12.5% vat. That is if you declare it. The fine is 10x the value of the goods if you lie on the declaration and they catch you and want to be aholes. So $3m
And they can seize the goods on top of that.

Only way you can kinda get away is go in the red line, say you have no invoices cause someone asked you to bring them and ask customs to value it and hope the value is low. If they overvalue it say you gonna try to get the invoice and give one to them.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: A motion of no confidence..

Postby bluesclues » November 2nd, 2016, 8:37 am

pete wrote:It's the same thing you would have to pay if you brought it through a skybox. 20% duty and 12.5% vat. That is if you declare it. The fine is 10x the value of the goods if you lie on the declaration and they catch you and want to be aholes. So $3m

?? They charge u import duty and vat at the airport? Brought in stuff from big screen tv to 3 guitars at once and ps4 and never had to pay more than 50usd.

Postby pete » November 2nd, 2016, 9:08 am

Lucky you. And yes they do.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 2nd, 2016, 11:09 am

lol..it's pretty proven that colonialism didn't lead to the Industrial Revolution alone. France had slaves, Portugal shipped more, how come they didn't industrialise first?

Correct. Colonialism didn't lead 2 the industrial revolution. But it gave the colonials an advantage. They had cheaper labor.

Some Empires squandered the advantage. Portugal had a competitive advantage but they fought and lost hugely expensive wars against other Empires & endured natural disasters.

Wikipedia explains
But the destruction of Lisbon in a 1755 earthquake, the country's occupation during the Napoleonic Wars, the independence of Brazil (1822), and the Liberal Wars (1828–34), all left Portugal crippled from war and diminished in its world power.[13]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portugal

And you tell me how things become accepted scientific theory? it's through evidence and peer review (which isn't through friends or co-workers at universities).

Einstein's theory of relativity never went through peer review. Peer review didn't exist in 1909. How did Relativity become scientifically accepted then? It was proven by a century of scientific rigor.

Observation...measurement...experiment...formulation...testing...hypothesis.

Thats the scientific method. It works. Itz not infallible but itz more rigorous than peer review.

Peer review iz like democracy. It iz easily corrupted. Peer review allowed the hoax known as Global Warming 2 creep into scientific literature.

The Guardian (UK) explains.
Peer review is the process that decides whether your work gets published in an academic journal. It doesn't work very well any more, mainly as a result of the enormous number of papers that are being published (an estimated 1.3 million papers in 23,750 journals in 2006). There simply aren't enough competent people to do the job. The overwhelming effect of the huge (and unpaid) effort that is put into reviewing papers is to maintain a status hierarchy of journals. Any paper, however bad, can now get published in a journal that claims to be peer-reviewed.

https://www.theguardian.com/science/201 ... ew-science

The journal of the Royal Society of Medicine as quoted by the National Institute of Health elaborates further.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1420798
/

as for europe, well the UK got the most Marshall Aid, and was left behind by France, Germany, Italy, even Stalin/USSR, which all got severe war damage. the effect of Marshall Plan aid is overstated.

Things arent as simple as u make them. Real life iz more complicated than that.

Great Britain had her colonies and the world reserve/trading currency. But Britain was largely bankrupt after WW2. It won the war. But victory was costly.

Germany lost the war but they got new factories with newer technology. And unlike WW1 there were no reparations.

Competitive advantage: Germany.

fact is, T&T has to position itself to change and receive FDI. only then can T&T diversify and not suffer any more oil shocks.

No multinational in their right mind iz going to relocate 2 T&T unless they get a great deal on fossil fuel in addition to tax and other incentives.

Why u think all those factories are in Point Lisas?

Why is BP here? Why did they want 2 put an Aluminum smelter here? Why was Mittal Steel here?

It's all about the gas. Cheap gas.

That leaves out Nokia/Microsoft. They're not dependent on gas as a raw material input. Why would they come here?

Anyone who doesn't understand this iz deluding themselves. FDI only occurs when multinationals receive a competitive advantage.

And even then it may not diversify the economy. And it may prove to be more costly than the benefits it returns

Gov't to increase fuel prices in April 2017

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 2nd, 2016, 11:18 pm

Finance Minister Colm Imbert says the government will have to increase fuel prices again, in addition to offering zero wage increases.

Today the minister told regional central bank governors and prime ministers that this country is facing a tough economic period and we’re not in any position to assist regional countries.

Judy Kanhai has the details in this story.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/govt-increas ... april-2017

Re: Gov't to increase fuel prices in April 2017

Postby mero » November 2nd, 2016, 11:22 pm

Reserved

Postby The_Honourable » November 2nd, 2016, 11:26 pm

PNM be like... well yuh see Kamla teef all d money...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 2nd, 2016, 11:40 pm

Unless the UNC decides to get rid of the old farts like Kamla and the Cabal we will be stuck with the PNM for the next 20 years.

Tighten allyuh belt cause we in for a long ride and it ain't pretty!!
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on November 2nd, 2016, 11:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » November 2nd, 2016, 11:57 pm

so when d rioting starting?

but on a serious note how this compare with pump prices in the US for instance?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 3rd, 2016, 12:06 am

redmanjp wrote:so when d rioting starting?

but on a serious note how this compare with pump prices in the US for instance?

about $3.90 TTD for a liter of Gas in the US we pay what about $3.60 TTD so the next 15% increase should take us to the price in the US.
It will not stop there, he will have to raise it again and again as he says we can only borrow up to 10 billion dollars again. When that is done and oil prices doesn't go back up in 2018 it will be time to brace we ass.

There has to be some kind of movement to get rid of old farts like Kamla and the Cabal from the UNC otherwise PNM remains in power until 2035

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 3rd, 2016, 3:47 am

Why wait till April? Do it now
I could understand the raise, they need money to buy the drive in for a pnm member to construct an interchange to help solve your traffic woes .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 3rd, 2016, 3:55 am

What happened to Habit7?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 3rd, 2016, 5:26 am

Just watch the video clip. He just guessing with the figures. Governance by trial and error .

Postby skylinechild » November 3rd, 2016, 5:36 am

reserved

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 3rd, 2016, 6:58 am

What is the current subsidy?

Maybe in Apr 2017 the super will have complete removal and by Sept 2017 so would diesel.

The part with how we ent riot yet irks me a bit tho.

*twitches uncontrollably*

Postby 16 cycles » November 3rd, 2016, 7:02 am

Thought ppl were kidding when he said that and laughed.. man actually did ....

daas

Postby daas » November 3rd, 2016, 7:40 am

Pg 1 spot up for grabs

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 3rd, 2016, 7:57 am

Colm is the baddest man in Trinidad.

Could firetruck up an entire nation with a bic ballpoint.

Postby Chimera » November 3rd, 2016, 8:01 am

Fella sitting next to him Shudda get up and hit him a hard slap. When he start to guffaw like a donkey.

Average

Postby Average » November 3rd, 2016, 8:05 am

Look at how we just bending over and taking this in we ass....with no spit, no spit at all. :evil: :evil: :evil:
This little m0dda c0nt smiling because he life SET. No kinda worry at all. Go ahead little man, go ahead, smile.......