2WNBoost wrote:Storm in a tea cup.
It will be over soon.
silent_riot wrote:I like to use self service because I can get out of the car and check out whatever baytees it have filling gas.
desifemlove wrote:nah, this is BS. costs have increased, granted, but by that much? Gas is somthing that is of high demand, people need to drive cars, and firms need to use vehicles. These people just being scampish and dotish that's all.
Good on NP for keeping it the same, nothing the Petroleum Association can do to them.
Dizzy28 wrote:I find it hard to believe people in Trinidad operate truly cashless and are so disturbed by this. Do you all not go to the market? Or you all prefer to go Massy/Tru Valu and pay 3-4 times the price for vegetables but be able to use a CC. What about your friendly neighbourhood bakery or giving your kids an allowance? Just take out a little extra cash a month and keep for gas (you must know your average gas consumption).
I see on Facebook someone wrote they need to use CC to pay for gas as their paycheck/money runs out before month end. Ya'll have bigger problems that need sorting out than gas stations not accepting electronic payments!!!!
Redman wrote:To enter the market you would need to
Acquire the land
Sign a supply agreement
Then apply for a MOE license.
THEN and only then you can build.
The above takes years-after you acquire the land.
i think Brentwood was close to 10 years of waiting and cajoling
IDK123 wrote:When last you went in a gas station and see a pump attendant ? I not saying that there aren't gas stations that have pump attendant but most are only man by a few cashier. So I and everybody else is doing the work of the pump attendant for free.
When last you went to a gas station and some ask you if you want your wind screen clean or check your oil level ? And still they can't make a profit without cutting down on staff who else is there to get rid off ? Maybe one cashier instead of 2
Dizzy28 wrote:I see on Facebook someone wrote they need to use CC to pay for gas as their paycheck/money runs out before month end.
adnj wrote:Redman wrote:
To enter the market you would need to
Acquire the land
Sign a supply agreement
Then apply for a MOE license.
THEN and only then you can build.
The above takes years-after you acquire the land.
i think Brentwood was close to 10 years of waiting and cajoling
I would have to believe that you need environmental approvals to bury a petroleum products tank. There are usually issues associated with water, sewer and natural gas lines, also.
I don't believe that there will be a restructuring of the way that the businesses are granted licenses. I do believe that price controls will be lifted so that when/if crude oil prices rise there will not be another episode of inadvertent subsidies due to price fixing. If that happens, the market will likely push out the smaller, less profitable vendors in favor of the self-serve convenience/fast food vendors that own multiple locations.
Trinidad has current gasoline pricing that is 80% of U.S. pricing and diesel is priced at 50% of U.S.
http://www.globalpetrolprices.com/gasoline_prices/#hl46
Redman wrote:If we float the gas prices-TnT will have to adapt to that uncertainty and the Retail fuel Industry will have to adapt to competitive pricing ....smaller stations will close-forcing the consumer to use less convenient stations leaving big geographic areas with out a station.
Dizzy28 wrote:I find it hard to believe people in Trinidad operate truly cashless and are so disturbed by this. Do you all not go to the market? Or you all prefer to go Massy/Tru Valu and pay 3-4 times the price for vegetables but be able to use a CC. What about your friendly neighbourhood bakery or giving your kids an allowance? Just take out a little extra cash a month and keep for gas (you must know your average gas consumption).
I see on Facebook someone wrote they need to use CC to pay for gas as their paycheck/money runs out before month end. Ya'll have bigger problems that need sorting out than gas stations not accepting electronic payments!!!!
NP is aware of the concerns of the Petroleum Dealers Association; however we believe this stance is not in the best interest of the public and the Company reiterates the call to all of its dealers to accept electronic transactions to ensure that the public is adequately served.
pete wrote:Colm instructed NP that they have to take the cards at the government owned stations and they will be looking at the terms of the private gas stations' contracts to see if they are violating them.
Dizzy28 wrote:IDK123 wrote:When last you went in a gas station and see a pump attendant ? I not saying that there aren't gas stations that have pump attendant but most are only man by a few cashier. So I and everybody else is doing the work of the pump attendant for free.
When last you went to a gas station and some ask you if you want your wind screen clean or check your oil level ? And still they can't make a profit without cutting down on staff who else is there to get rid off ? Maybe one cashier instead of 2
Guppys in San Juan have like 5 attendants assisting you at the pump.
racedriverpro wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:IDK123 wrote:When last you went in a gas station and see a pump attendant ? I not saying that there aren't gas stations that have pump attendant but most are only man by a few cashier. So I and everybody else is doing the work of the pump attendant for free.
Doh understand how ppl does feel comfortable buying gas in that run down place.
Redman wrote:people generally by closest to home or to their place of work.
racedriverpro wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:IDK123 wrote:When last you went in a gas station and see a pump attendant ? I not saying that there aren't gas stations that have pump attendant but most are only man by a few cashier. So I and everybody else is doing the work of the pump attendant for free.
Doh understand how ppl does feel comfortable buying gas in that run down place.
Redman wrote:But, the move towards virtual money will only make sense if it is cost effective.
In this context the merchant is forced to pay more than his entire gross margin for a credit card sale.
On Premium you make 2% but pay 3.9% between Credit Card ,GF and BL.