Redman wrote:Cash doesnt encourage laundering....
Redman wrote:teems1 wrote:While it is true that gas stations only make cents per liter of fuel sold, a large number of liters are sold per day.
Fuel is still subsidized by the taxpayer so if the gas station owners are willing to inconvenience the public, we should really see how much the cc charge is hurting the bottom line.
It's easier to feel sorry for a business owner who is barely scraping by as opposed to one who is making millions a year.
With the margins and expenses as they are- many of them are barely scraping by.
Volume does not necessarily equate to profit or the dot com bubble would have ended differently and Duane would be driving a(nother?) Veryon.
4% margin with transaction fees AND top line REVENUE (not Profit based) taxes mean that that 4 % is cut in half.
Most of the stations are operated by private people but owned by NP.
NP charges franchise fees,rent, and whatever else.
So it isnt about what the perception of the owners(a minority in the business) is.
The question is whether we should expect ANYBODY to stay in biz and lose money.
would you?
Cash management isnt relevant-they would have systems in place to handle it and as such would just have to scale up slightly.
I believe that the dealers want to cut staff further and place the blame on someone else.
maj. tom wrote:yeah, banks will simply increase "service fees" somewhere else to get it back. Guess who taking the hit? Next, retailers will have add a $5 surcharge every card transaction by their customers to try to offset the loss of using a linx machine. Nothing will change unless banking laws in TT are revamped. And then banks could stop fcuking closing at 2pm everyday in this banana republic!!
cherrypopper wrote:Those gas stations owners scared that they might have to downgrade to prados
eliteauto wrote:so after reading this thread I was convinced that this action by the PDA was going to affect many adversely, then the PDA states that electronic card purchases account for 12-15% of sales.![]()
De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:so after reading this thread I was convinced that this action by the PDA was going to affect many adversely, then the PDA states that electronic card purchases account for 12-15% of sales.![]()
That sounding suspiciously like an "out of arse to justify" kinda stat.
eliteauto wrote:De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:so after reading this thread I was convinced that this action by the PDA was going to affect many adversely, then the PDA states that electronic card purchases account for 12-15% of sales.![]()
*shrugs* tbh I see more cash purchases at gas stations than card ones, in fact bet Arima and POS there are 6 gas stations I know of with at pump card slots that work, the others require you go to the cashier where cash is faster than Linx or CC. The President was on the radio this morning, he did not do a good job of explaining why the decision was made, ppl still think it's about the bank when the issue lies with the State
eliteauto wrote:that argument holds no merit
1) Contrary to trinituner many ppl buy gas with cash, so the bandit, piper, pickpocket already knows there's a fair portion cash at gas stations long time. So all this "crime go increase" argument is moot, I expect the first robbery after Friday will be met wit "yuh see yuh see" as if gas stations have not been robbed before
2) Customers empathising with gas station owners? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA, the customer doesn't give a fcuk, where was the empathy when gas stations were saying they may have to close and the margins were small? This issue has only gained traction because some ppl now anticipate an inconvenience, there is more discussion in the last 24hrs than the last 10 months. You don't care but asking owners to study allyuh. Oh and don't spin this into a "This Government" the issue has been brooding over more than one Government's term it's reached a head now with the increases in taxes and cost of operation
De Dragon wrote:. Then again, this Government is one of proven unyieldingness, so we will have to walk around with money, so that the bandit, piper, pickpocket knows that once you're in the gas station, you've got money on you.
De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:so after reading this thread I was convinced that this action by the PDA was going to affect many adversely, then the PDA states that electronic card purchases account for 12-15% of sales.![]()
*shrugs* tbh I see more cash purchases at gas stations than card ones, in fact bet Arima and POS there are 6 gas stations I know of with at pump card slots that work, the others require you go to the cashier where cash is faster than Linx or CC. The President was on the radio this morning, he did not do a good job of explaining why the decision was made, ppl still think it's about the bank when the issue lies with the State
So if the Government has blanked them already, then the customer must suffer? What about that statement that it is to save worker's jobs? So much people fail to get buy in before they make decisions that affect people's normal lives. If the customer actually empathises with your cause, then a large part of your battle is won. Then again, this Government is one of proven unyieldingness, so we will have to walk around with money, so that the bandit, piper, pickpocket knows that once you're in the gas station, you've got money on you.
Redman wrote:Whats ridiculous profits?
Generally the EBITDA WITH a convenience store is 10-15%
The gross margin in terms of cents per liter has been fixed for more than 10 years.
You all are seeing the product of a life time of involvement in the business and the dynamics of 2nd generation ownership of the businesses.
Its a great business....but make no mistake -it fcuking hard.