3ne2nr fishermen

Hyperion

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Hyperion » October 16th, 2016, 2:12 pm

My newest toy, a penn fathom levelwind, left handed.

Picked it up on Amazon Warehouse deals for US100, half the list price.

Max 30 lbs. drag, not that I will ever be using 30 lbs. of drag.

Light enough at 20 ounces.

Bought this for deeper banking with heavy lead, I find the spinning rod set-up puts a strain on my wrist sometimes.
IMG_20161016_133816.jpg
IMG_20161016_133801.jpg

Trinifisher

Postby Trinifisher » October 16th, 2016, 7:43 pm

Sweet!!!

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 16th, 2016, 8:38 pm

Nice catch dey Ryan.

New toy Hyperion, lol.

Just my small catch from manzan today, water get clean and no wind today.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1476664615.985724.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1476664627.486878.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1476664640.056857.jpg

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1476664659.157321.jpg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 16th, 2016, 8:45 pm

Hyperion, i use those conventionals to do banking as well...i have ah fathom not the level wind that i use to use but i find with that gear ration it still is alot of work compared to my talica 16...still gets the job done...thanks proton, need to try your surf spot ah day...any day u heading up u cud shout me, i wud organise an come up...

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » October 16th, 2016, 10:24 pm

Image.
Some small thing I caught lil while DDI .

Postby meccalli » October 16th, 2016, 10:44 pm

The levelwind fathoms are actually 4.8:1 vs the standard fathom 6:1. Penn makes a low gear set for the torque stars for those who like to bottomfish. Spinners are never a good option for hauling lead, always at a mechanical disadvantage when it comes to actual cranking. Should serve you well, been considering a new star drag for a while, really like the trinidads and toriums internal design except for the gear material...

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 17th, 2016, 7:44 am

Yeah Ryan, no scene.

Fellas fishbites does real work, fish can't really pull it off d hook so and they love it.
Caught pompano, tawat, catfish and even salmon and crocrowhile banking too..
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1476704679.907391.jpg

fishingmanfren

Postby fishingmanfren » October 17th, 2016, 9:39 am

proton17 wrote:Yeah Ryan, no scene.

Fellas fishbites does real work, fish can't really pull it off d hook so and they love it.
Caught pompano, tawat, catfish and even salmon and crocrowhile banking too..
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1476704679.907391.jpg

where can i get them?

Postby gastly369 » October 17th, 2016, 9:46 am

Postby dougla_boy » October 17th, 2016, 10:01 am

x3,...

Postby *KRONIK* » October 17th, 2016, 10:53 am

X4

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » October 17th, 2016, 11:13 am

I get the fish bites off amazon, every time I order something I have 4-5 added to the shipment to make it worth while. They really do work well, I like adding them to squid rigs ( the squid version ). I have been harassing them to make a sardine/herring one but so far they haven't gotten a version that works as well as the shrimp and squid ones.

Postby gastly369 » October 17th, 2016, 11:44 am

Nice..going to order ah few lol

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 17th, 2016, 12:42 pm

I bought from amazon but D fishbites website hv it like us$3 cheaper per pack.

Aye while driving home after 6 yesterday on d manzan stretch it had crab running, yuh driving over crab...lol

Yesterday was full moon, all yuh think they will run again tonight?

altec

Postby altec » October 17th, 2016, 1:21 pm

i try the berkley gulp and find it don't work well....only one fish on it and your hand does smell like...well...it does smell like cyat when it dry.

Postby meccalli » October 17th, 2016, 1:40 pm

Gulp works but you need to really work a specific area to get fish riled up, the grunts and puffers will tear you up as well if you're in that sort of area. I use gulp shrimp on a 1/8 oz jighead in the gulf for salmon and cro cro.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » October 17th, 2016, 1:56 pm

Gulp shrimp and crab works as does their marinade but you need to know how to work with them, most ppl just want a bait on a hook to drop shot and wait for the tug.

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 17th, 2016, 2:52 pm

The fishbites is jus to hook and soak, no action needed....

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 17th, 2016, 5:19 pm

I really want a new left hand Shimano Torium 16, it sweet and I think it worth the price, about USD 180.00 and it has a nice high gear ratio too. I will save that purchase for next year.

I know the low gear ratio on the Fathom could be a challenge if you fishing real deep, but is a trade-off for the cranking power.

Proton you know that tawat bank real good.

I never considered Fishbites, but if it working that could come in handy after Christmas when bait scarce.
17555772_2_LRG.jpg

Postby meccalli » October 17th, 2016, 5:52 pm

I don't like the gears in the torium, trinidad or talicas personally. I don't mind bronze alloys on spinners but a conventional needs bulletproof guts for cranking, I want stainless. The older and cheaper tld stars and lever drags and of course the tiagras use stainless gearing. The new torium also a single friction dog as the backup for the anti reverse bearing which went bad all the time on the older ones, you can make it spring loaded however with a little mod. If you're chasing pelagics however like kings, mahi etc, the shimano gears will be fine long term because you're not having to crank against alot of drag.

Postby meccalli » October 17th, 2016, 5:56 pm

proton17 wrote:The fishbites is jus to hook and soak, no action needed....

Yeah, it's artificial bait essentially. Would come in good in a survival situation lol.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 17th, 2016, 6:04 pm

meccalli wrote:I don't like the gears in the torium, trinidad or talicas personally. I don't mind bronze alloys on spinners but a conventional needs bulletproof guts for cranking, I want stainless. The older and cheaper tld stars and lever drags and of course the tiagras use stainless gearing. The new torium also a single friction dog as the backup for the anti reverse bearing which went bad all the time on the older ones, you can make it spring loaded however with a little mod. If you're chasing pelagics however like kings, mahi etc, the shimano gears will be fine long term because you're not having to crank against alot of drag.

Good point, I admittedly haven't examined the internals, I usually refer to Alan Hawk but he only reviews spinning gear. I am also considering the Avet line as well, something with good free spool that is built to last.

Postby meccalli » October 17th, 2016, 6:16 pm

Avets are great reels with one major flaw, if you ever intend to fish heavy drag on the standard casting sizes reels you'll have to replace the sideplate bearing often. The handles bind easily once you go over 10lbs at strike and it crushes the sideplate bearing races. That's the beauty of penn's fathom and torque lever drags, they incorporated a thrust bearing on the spool shaft which alleviates the side load pressure and they also add a bearing sleeve in between both spool bearings so you don't lose freespool at higher presets. The only real solution to that issue is angular contact bearings on the sideplate but if companies put those in, you'd have to pay a WHOLE lot more for them. Recently there's a company called vxb making smaller sizes acb's for cheap so we might see that in the future.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 17th, 2016, 7:19 pm

the Penn fathom lever drag was my first choice but it doesn't come in left hand.

Postby meccalli » October 17th, 2016, 7:51 pm

Ooh, my right is my dominant so I lift with it for spinning and crank right handed with conventionals. Okuma metalloids come left handed if you want to go that route, it's a pretty solid choice.

Keshav1738

Postby Keshav1738 » October 17th, 2016, 10:24 pm

What allyuh think about the penn battle 4000 with ah shimano 6"6 for casting some lures? Looking to make that combo

Postby meccalli » October 17th, 2016, 10:30 pm

Just don't spool it past the last spool marker(black line engraved) and you'll be fine. I have my battle 4000 on a st croix mojo inshore.

cypher

Postby cypher » October 18th, 2016, 7:17 am

Gd day,where do you guys get your rods repaired?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 18th, 2016, 8:28 am

U can check chad (354-9932)...he builds an repairs rods an does a really great job...

Postby dougla_boy » October 18th, 2016, 11:57 am

Aphzal Hardware on El Socorro Main Road, just opposite Larry's Electrical. Does good work and isnt that expensive.