sMASH wrote:teems1 wrote:desifemlove wrote:what's wrong with online tax?
some taxes make sense, or have sound grounds, it ent all some scheme to scamp and/or punish.
T&T has a FOREX issue, and FOREX is lost immediately on purchase. if this tax compensates for FOREX, then fine. just have to suck it up. i run an online business, but i and most others i know in same business suck it up, there is the bigger picture to look at.
T&T has a FOREX issue only when it's citizens need it.
When a large corporation backed by party financiers request and hoard FOREX it's no problem.
I was in hesitant support of it, until I realized this^^.
The intention is to curtail foreign purchases online, then the local big sellers, purchase the same foreign goods.
The citizen is left to pay an inflated price compared to an online purchase.
This would weaken the purchasing power of the citizen, eat into their disposable income and stagnate their local economy spending.
I can't buy bbq tonight because u had to spend more for ur goods than before. Then the bbq man suffer.
If keeping the USd is the issue, raise the exchange rate even more so that all parties would play on the level ground.
Yup. To me this is the biggest thing that made T&T go from "sweet sweet TnT" to... whatever it is now. I not that old but when I was younger we used to be playing football on the field all 9:00 in the night when I was like 10 years old. Now once sun goes down, everybody inside and even during the day I only see kids outside playing if a parent is there to keep an eye on them. Even if it is on a playing field. I hardly see children playing in the street anymore and we had nintendo and cable back then so video games and TV can't be the only reason for everybody sticking up in doors now. For the first time I actually thinking it might not make sense to start a family down here.aidan wrote:nick639 wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Going for a drive get expensive. Can't enjoy nature without fear of being robbed in a secluded area. .
Alot of people will overlook this.... If some only knew how this affect family and relationship life on a real...
There is little to no sense of relaxation and comfort anymore, no spontaneous decisions to venture on a drive because now it have to get planned and money put aside..
I not old to know how it use to be, but i sure as hell know in the last couple years it really gone to sheit.. Can't even use a $200 to full gas and buy a lil goods for maracas anymore
desifemlove wrote:privatisation....NG. FCB...about time.
e-teck.
ingalook wrote:desifemlove wrote:privatisation....NG. FCB...about time.
e-teck.
Agreed - let's privatize the most lucrative assets the state owns...
Kill the golden goose much?
e-teck.
drchaos wrote:sMASH wrote:teems1 wrote:desifemlove wrote:what's wrong with online tax?
some taxes make sense, or have sound grounds, it ent all some scheme to scamp and/or punish.
T&T has a FOREX issue, and FOREX is lost immediately on purchase. if this tax compensates for FOREX, then fine. just have to suck it up. i run an online business, but i and most others i know in same business suck it up, there is the bigger picture to look at.
T&T has a FOREX issue only when it's citizens need it.
When a large corporation backed by party financiers request and hoard FOREX it's no problem.
I was in hesitant support of it, until I realized this^^.
The intention is to curtail foreign purchases online, then the local big sellers, purchase the same foreign goods.
The citizen is left to pay an inflated price compared to an online purchase.
This would weaken the purchasing power of the citizen, eat into their disposable income and stagnate their local economy spending.
I can't buy bbq tonight because u had to spend more for ur goods than before. Then the bbq man suffer.
If keeping the USd is the issue, raise the exchange rate even more so that all parties would play on the level ground.
That's exactly what they trying to do. They want too weaken the purchasing power of most of the citizenry. They want you changing your car every 8 years instead of 4. They want you to keep your phone an extra year or two instead of upgrading now. They want you thinking twice about wants vs needs on amazon.
A pro PNM economist wrote a letter to the editor a while back. His theory was that we have too much disposable income to allow for a healthy economy. His logic was that everything is subsidized (cost of living) leaving huge chunks of cash lying around with which we burn through alot of unnecessary foreign purchases. Cut everyone's power and the forex drain would drastically slow down.
pugboy wrote:Why don't they start taxing fete promoters all all them carnival bands
e-teck.
cherrypopper wrote:pugboy wrote:Why don't they start taxing fete promoters all all them carnival bands
Well well ..... Music to my ears
Daran wrote:That is the worst economic advice I've ever come across.
Disposable income is what makes an economy healthy. It allows us middle class citizens to spend money in our local economy, contribute to our savings and pursue more productive hobbies and lifestyles.
All these "foreign" goods we bring down help the economy. They're used in businesses, education and learning, upkeeping our cars, in creative fields such as music and arts, etc.
Honestly, I really have to question PNM's economic advisors, because they seem hell bent on making this recession far worse than it should be.
pugboy wrote:Why don't they start taxing fete promoters all all them carnival bands
viedcht wrote:pugboy wrote:Why don't they start taxing fete promoters all all them carnival bands
Don't they already pay taxes? @the gas pump? @the grocery? @inland revenue?
Redman wrote:than it should be.Daran wrote:That is the worst economic advice I've ever come across.
Disposable income is what makes an economy healthy. It allows us middle class citizens to spend money in our local economy, contribute to our savings and pursue more productive hobbies and lifestyles.
All these "foreign" goods we bring down help the economy. They're used in businesses, education and learning, upkeeping our cars, in creative fields such as music and arts, etc.
Honestly, I really have to question PNM's economic advisors, because they seem hell bent on making this recession far worse
Which advice is this ??
A pro PNM economist wrote a letter to the editor a while back. His theory was that we have too much disposable income to allow for a healthy economy. His logic was that everything is subsidized (cost of living) leaving huge chunks of cash lying around with which we burn through alot of unnecessary foreign purchases. Cut everyone's power and the forex drain would drastically slow down
nick639 wrote:pugboy wrote:They simply need to go after the tax evaders first, not a carnival tax
But simply all these cash businesses which seem to be off the radar purposely
Not fair to those who pay taxes
I somewhat agree with you, but they'll probably start with the poor nuts and sno cone vendor instead of bigger businesses that could sponser them
pugboy wrote:I know it is a bit sacrilegious but tax the shark bake vendors too
Yes carnival, doubles and shark bake define us as a nation but it is not fair that those entities pay no tax or are not targetedcherrypopper wrote:pugboy wrote:Why don't they start taxing fete promoters all all them carnival bands
Well well ..... Music to my ears
ingalook wrote:No one else has a problem with the plan to privatise the Couva Hospital???