Bezman wrote:tourniquet wrote:Bezman wrote:tourniquet wrote:lol @ beating the system.
do you alert the courier company and customs when they under value your items? this is 99% the reason most ppl import stuff
I've never had that issue with IBC with that, and yes, I do check. For the people "getting away" with certain things, I would consider that part of the inefficiencies I mentioned earlier.
You sure is 99% right?![]()
How about those that order stuff online not just because of legitimate price savings, but because of the power of choice, or because of convenience with their work schedule, or those who don't want to deal traffic, or more importantly, with anyone's lack of training, or home problems that they bring to work. Might be a hell of a 1% there eh?
This is more of a nuisance to legitimate online consumers.
i must agree with the convenience aspect, but for a long time, local couriers/customs undervalued stuff coming in. I am not disputing the choice/variety aspect either. and (insert back pedal meme here) 99% is an exaggeration
what i guess i was saying badly, is that if you are buying a 55" tv for 500 USD online vs the same one that cost 1500 USD locally, paying 7% in TTD is nothing, and a fair nod to the govt.. besides that, there are allot of items (or the substitute) can be purchase locally. what the govt is "trying" to do is get ppl to purchase more things locally. (give up designer clothes and luxury items and/or cheaper brands/products only found online) and buy the locally sold counterparts and support the local economy, or import ya stuff, but pay a little to the gov..
I personally could have gotten local tuner shops to buy/order all the parts for my project cars, and (if we all did) it would have probably helped create employment etc and build them into bigger businesses, but I choose to import everything myself. and I guess they are just trying to make us rethink things like this... buying turbo hoses and clamps online vs just paying the $20-50 TT more per hose and $25 TT more per clamp locally (and get them immediately)..
pseudorandom wrote:Bezman wrote:unfortunately, some of you really can't understand the point of all of this and are still trying to cheat the system and think you are entitled to all these luxury items you import instead of buying locally and supporting local businesses and employment..
this all just flies over your heads..
and of course some business will raise prices as a knee jerk reaction, but smart business will cease the opportunity to under price competition and sell volume instead of aggressive markup
but this too will prob fly over your heads ...
If local business cannot compete with a foreign business selling the exact same item at retail price, plus shipping costs, plus skybox shipping costs, plus duty and VAT costs, then the local business is doing something very wrong. Why don't the smart local business seize the opportunity to under price the disadvantaged foreign competition that has all these extra costs? Local business need to step up their game with a free market system instead of protectionism.
88sins wrote:So I take it most ppl here dissatisfied with the budget. Like allyuh expected sumn different.
Ah go say it again. No politician or political party gives a rat's furry arse about anybody outside their own affiliation. So Joe Public gonna keep getting his nutz squeezed with vice grips &his belt tightened till he either ends up a eunuch or gets cut in half.
They could charge a 30% import tax if they want, still costs less than buying the garbage their financiers selling locally, & that is the blunt truth.
Wanted to get a specific replacement item days ago. Called a local dealer & was quoted a price of TT$3200+VAT
Went online & bought the exact same item from a US retailer other day. Paid USD$115.00. Add the 30% duty, 18%VAT, &the 7% online purchase tax &it will still only costs me just over TT$1300.00 landed at my door.
Buy local my ass, when the local con artists could compete with the price and quality of goods sold by US retailers, its only then alone they might get my business.
Till then all a dem could piss off, clong impsbert & pals included
88sins wrote:So I take it most ppl here dissatisfied with the budget. Like allyuh expected sumn different.
Ah go say it again. No politician or political party gives a rat's furry arse about anybody outside their own affiliation. So Joe Public gonna keep getting his nutz squeezed with vice grips &his belt tightened till he either ends up a eunuch or gets cut in half.
They could charge a 30% import tax if they want, still costs less than buying the garbage their financiers selling locally, & that is the blunt truth.
Wanted to get a specific replacement item days ago. Called a local dealer & was quoted a price of TT$3200+VAT
Went online & bought the exact same item from a US retailer other day. Paid USD$115.00. Add the 30% duty, 18%VAT, &the 7% online purchase tax &it will still only costs me just over TT$1300.00 landed at my door.
Buy local my ass, when the local con artists could compete with the price and quality of goods sold by US retailers, its only then alone they might get my business.
Till then all a dem could piss off, clong impsbert & pals included
*$kїđž!™ wrote:They would never live up to that electricity rebate promise....they will find a way to ensure you are charged 301$
bluesclues wrote:Local car parts dealers selling stuff at amazon prices so i dont import those.
boxy wrote:Lol reading some of these comments does give me migraines yes.
Carmona doesnt drink all that alcohol as head of state he entertains other heads of state. What u want them to be served? Fruta?
The big beat up about local business not matching online prices allyuh feel these people selling from a basement? What about the overhead costs electricity water staff do you know that their utility bills are higher because it is a commercial premises even apartment buildings landlord pay commercial rates which is significantly hight than residential. Some of allyuh need to read up as unfortunately these days most people get their news from facebook or the political party groups on fb.
If u could afford a Galaxy S8 Edge u can afford to pay the 7% tax we made no beat up when the US states forced amazon to start charging taxes why was this done to help keep said states afloat.
Is it that hard to believe that The opposition would have made the same budget due to the oil revenue being 2B as opposed to 14B the fiscal year before? the property tax was already drafted by them before leaving office it was coming regardless don't fool yourself.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:relax.....u guys voted for this.....
Not me padner, but I know people who voted PNM with a straight face.
At this point it seems as if the Cabal UNC was a better fit even if they was thiefing by the billions. Atleast life was good?
I have a padner from Chaguanas who just applied for refugee status in Germany before Imbert could even finish reading the budget. No idea how that will turn out.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ who electric bill does even be $299?
Ent they does charge nearly $100 on each bill just to rent the meter? to have a meter live?
nick639 wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Going for a drive get expensive. Can't enjoy nature without fear of being robbed in a secluded area. .
Alot of people will overlook this.... If some only knew how this affect family and relationship life on a real...
There is little to no sense of relaxation and comfort anymore, no spontaneous decisions to venture on a drive because now it have to get planned and money put aside..
I not old to know how it use to be, but i sure as hell know in the last couple years it really gone to sheit.. Can't even use a $200 to full gas and buy a lil goods for maracas anymore
nick639 wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Going for a drive get expensive. Can't enjoy nature without fear of being robbed in a secluded area. .
Alot of people will overlook this.... If some only knew how this affect family and relationship life on a real...
There is little to no sense of relaxation and comfort anymore, no spontaneous decisions to venture on a drive because now it have to get planned and money put aside..
I not old to know how it use to be, but i sure as hell know in the last couple years it really gone to sheit.. Can't even use a $200 to full gas and buy a lil goods for maracas anymore
bluesclues wrote:Just like the pnm wanted. Now is time to force retailers to closedown because they not gettint any sale. All them overpriced half dry-rotted goods in the mall.. we dont care bout ur rent situation. Get ur prices down or close up shop. Find a way. But it will not be by passing on additional expense unto me the consumer. Cheese sticks is $4.. i am nt paying $5 or even $4.50. And if i find it online for $2 i will buy it there.
bluesclues wrote:Like i said. 7% tax on online purchases was a bad idea. Instead of facilitating local retailers to be competitive with online pricing they come with protectionist policy.
goalpost wrote:ED
Shut your fcuking mouth. I reading this ched. You continue to have the longest posts. Up to now you haven't posted anything meaningful. Plus this thinly veiled bait you throwing about PNM and UNC.
U r really the 2nr jackarse...
Good budget btw