bluefete wrote:Daran wrote:nos_specialist wrote:I wah dem collect dey 3% from d laventillians first..
Come on dude. You know better than that. Why work hard and buy your own house and land when you can get everything handed out to you for free.
Serious question, do those who have HDC homes have to pay this property tax?
Every home owner and anyone who OWNS property will have to pay the property tax.
Bezman wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Bezman wrote:unfortunately, some of you really can't understand the point of all of this and are still trying to cheat the system and think you are entitled to all these luxury items you import instead of buying locally and supporting local businesses and employment..
this all just flies over your heads..
and of course some business will raise prices as a knee jerk reaction, but smart business will cease the opportunity to under price competition and sell volume instead of aggressive markup
but this too will prob fly over your heads ...
Yeah but you not understanding that we get inferior goods locally, we get nowhere near the same variety of goods either. Whatever is sold locally is some rejected product with lots of bad reviews online about failure.
For example Television Sets from Latin America are made using inferior capacitor brands etc. You talk like they are selling us the same quality products that are being sold on Amazon.
NO what they are doing is selling us the garbage 3rd world Latin American version and charging about the same price as Amazon which sells the US version. I think MOST people nearly everyone would happily buy locally if we were provided with the same quality people value their money which is why they resort to Amazon.
Let us not forget having to pay for courts super shield warranty locally, yeah PAY FOR WARRANTY?
I mean that is even worse, you importing from Latin America next door one would for the very least expect that you would get local warranty that is listed.
breds what are you talking about
the same samsung tv your buy locally, is the same damn tv you buying on amazon...
trini's feel entitled to the latest biggest things and expect to cheat the system
pay ya blasted taxes.. if you was living in the USA yu would have no problem paying the 7%+ taxes most states have that you avoid by being outside the USA and buying on amazon>. don't event talk about the under valued items we pay taxes on at the couriers,, items worth 1000 us valued at 200 etc..
anyway i done..
2NR Smurf wrote:Bezman wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Bezman wrote:unfortunately, some of you really can't understand the point of all of this and are still trying to cheat the system and think you are entitled to all these luxury items you import instead of buying locally and supporting local businesses and employment..
this all just flies over your heads..
and of course some business will raise prices as a knee jerk reaction, but smart business will cease the opportunity to under price competition and sell volume instead of aggressive markup
but this too will prob fly over your heads ...
Yeah but you not understanding that we get inferior goods locally, we get nowhere near the same variety of goods either. Whatever is sold locally is some rejected product with lots of bad reviews online about failure.
For example Television Sets from Latin America are made using inferior capacitor brands etc. You talk like they are selling us the same quality products that are being sold on Amazon.
NO what they are doing is selling us the garbage 3rd world Latin American version and charging about the same price as Amazon which sells the US version. I think MOST people nearly everyone would happily buy locally if we were provided with the same quality people value their money which is why they resort to Amazon.
Let us not forget having to pay for courts super shield warranty locally, yeah PAY FOR WARRANTY?
I mean that is even worse, you importing from Latin America next door one would for the very least expect that you would get local warranty that is listed.
breds what are you talking about
the same samsung tv your buy locally, is the same damn tv you buying on amazon...
trini's feel entitled to the latest biggest things and expect to cheat the system
pay ya blasted taxes.. if you was living in the USA yu would have no problem paying the 7%+ taxes most states have that you avoid by being outside the USA and buying on amazon>. don't event talk about the under valued items we pay taxes on at the couriers,, items worth 1000 us valued at 200 etc..
anyway i done..
Actually, ED is some what correct in that many of the electronics and appliances brought in by local distributors are models specific to Latin america. Exactly what this means wrt to quality, I am in no position to say and I'm assuming the local distributors don't have much choice in what the manufacturer will sell them.
And Trinis are not avoiding the 7% state side tax by shopping on Amazon. In fact Amazon has been charging this tax to items shipped within Florida for quite some time now.
In the 4 or 5 years I've been shopping online I have never had an item under valued by my courier and as of late most couriers have become more stringent in valuing packages, even going so far as to hold packages in Miami until an invoice is provided.
Bezman wrote:tourniquet wrote:lol @ beating the system.
do you alert the courier company and customs when they under value your items? this is 99% the reason most ppl import stuff
tourniquet wrote:Bezman wrote:tourniquet wrote:lol @ beating the system.
do you alert the courier company and customs when they under value your items? this is 99% the reason most ppl import stuff
I've never had that issue with IBC with that, and yes, I do check. For the people "getting away" with certain things, I would consider that part of the inefficiencies I mentioned earlier.
You sure is 99% right?![]()
How about those that order stuff online not just because of legitimate price savings, but because of the power of choice, or because of convenience with their work schedule, or those who don't want to deal traffic, or more importantly, with anyone's lack of training, or home problems that they bring to work. Might be a hell of a 1% there eh?
This is more of a nuisance to legitimate online consumers.
Bezman wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:Bezman making less sense than effectic right now. Just let that sink in. Talk done. No offense effectic.tourniquet wrote:lol @ beating the system. Everything I purchase online I pay VAT and Duties when applicable. I suppose this is an easier way rather than addressing the inefficiencies, ineffectiveness, and general bobool that goes on in Customs.
DOMA et al would be grateful for this though, I know they were griping about online shopping for quite some time now. Again, rather than looking at themselves and their general shoddy service and support, they placed blame on "everybody buying online :'( "
Supporting local is a two way street.
again i'll ask, do you alert customs or the courier company when they value your item(s) at 1/4 the value so you can pay the correct tax, duty and vat?? if not you're cheating the system
nick639 wrote:I dunno why u all bothering to explain it to him na... His personal experiences and his dealer's methods is clearly what ALL retailers do right??
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:nick639 wrote:I dunno why u all bothering to explain it to him na... His personal experiences and his dealer's methods is clearly what ALL retailers do right??
Like if you look at Electronics designed for the US Market typically has superior capacitors, for example products designed for the Latin American region like say electronics will have circuit boards or power supplies designed with garbage like CapXon for main capacitors.
Whereas the same product that was designed for the US Market uses superior Japanese Chemi Con for the main capacitors.
I remember my mother bought a 32 inch Samsung HDTV some years ago from standards it was the Latin American version she paid extra money for 3 years warranty and in 2 years the TV cap out We carry it back to standards they kept it for 4 weeks then call us and said they don't have parts to fix it then went onto say they won't refund us anything or assist us in anyway. Consumer Affairs was useless when I contacted them.
We went and bought a Sony Bravia TV on Amazon one with the highest rating stars and we never had a single issue with it and never bought locally again. And guess what? the Bravia TV took 1 day longer to arrive to the Skybox address and you know what Amazon did? they refunded me something like $15 US for the inconvenience and apologized!!! Now that is first world service!!!
janfar wrote:Man fack all ah allyuh. Stag is 12 dollars now.
bluesclues wrote:Will have to see exactly where this 7% tax is occuring to see if i should care lol. If it at the customs level. Well suitcase for it.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:bluesclues wrote:Will have to see exactly where this 7% tax is occuring to see if i should care lol. If it at the customs level. Well suitcase for it.
Isn't it through the courier? when they deliver your item they will just add another 7% to the invoice?
Morpheus wrote:I will pay my 7% and continue to shop for certain things online.....
Frig those lame, annoying local businesses.
Some are stepping up in terms of variety, price, layout and professionalism. Those get my attention before I look to go online.
Also more of these local businesses need to keep their websites updated and to also include prices. What they hiding so? Get with the times. I am sure a lot of people will gravitate towards local once they move in the right direction.