Heavy Duty Brush Cutter?????

Re: Heavy Duty Brush Cutter?????

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 7th, 2015, 11:47 am

Ted_v2 wrote:my fs85 does geee fyahs, noting stopping it.

You know the funny thing, I had my friend lend me his 85 and surprisingly it too was able to smash down tall rock solid bamboo grass aswell. Didn't have the torque like my 120 and had I to go a little slower when swinging but was still really fast in doing the same job regardless. That thing gee dem bamboo grass fyahz like ah raj now get he license and stole he fadda Honda

This makes me wonder WTF do people do with FS 450 and 500? chop down trees ah wa?

This means the average man don't even need a FS 85, the average joe will get away with a FS 55 for a small $2K.

This just shows you the brilliance of German Engineering.

Postby gastly369 » December 7th, 2015, 5:02 pm

Swear i see mines said made in Brazil

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 20th, 2015, 8:13 pm

gastly369 wrote:Both good brands.. Have ah fs250 does chap down everything XD

*Moms- what happen to the peas tree

*Me- errrrrrrr idk nah

ha ha ha ha ha ..i actually visualized this interaction! :lol: :lol: :lol:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 20th, 2015, 8:58 pm

thanks for the info in this thread..really helped me.
I have some razor grass (2-3ft) and weeds....will a fs85 be good for me too?

Postby rollingstock » December 20th, 2015, 9:36 pm

You can even use an fs55 on that, the difference will be in how fast you are able to cut, with the smaller Wacker you would need to cut into the area at small increments, bigger machine you can just go at it.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 20th, 2015, 9:39 pm

rollingstock wrote:You can even use an fs55 on that, the difference will be in how fast you are able to cut, with the smaller Wacker you would need to cut into the area at small increments, bigger machine you can just go at it.

hmmm I see, anyone has updated prices on these..will check tomorrow tho but just asking.

What about the ones that don't work with gas..i think they work with electricity or battery...any disadvantages going that way other than the less power, at least that is what people say..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 20th, 2015, 10:30 pm

gastly369 wrote:Swear i see mines said made in Brazil

Mine is made in China. But this does not change that it is German Engineering.

Where its made and the R&D behind a products are 2 completely different things, where it is made is of little importance. Think Apple iphone 6 American Engineering but made in China.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 22nd, 2015, 5:39 am

FS 450 checking in.....dat going through anything with ease....kinda bush I does have to deal with by me....

Postby Ted_v2 » December 22nd, 2015, 5:43 am

these does use premium gas ent?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 22nd, 2015, 5:55 am

nope....super for fs 450

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 22nd, 2015, 7:38 am

the manual claims you must use premium gas for all Stihl products. Octane of 89 or greater.

But everybody I know does use super and it runs fine. Super causes the Engine to overheat quicker because its fires quicker than it should. But if you really check how often you use it and cost of premium which is double the price. No matter how you look at it you would have saved the same amount of the cost of the wacker in gas price by the time it goes bad. And infact you may save even more.

NOW if we didn't have subsidy on super in Trinidad? well premium would be a no brainer since it would make sure the Engine lasts 20 years.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » December 22nd, 2015, 7:54 am

According to NP isn't our RON for super 92 minimum?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 22nd, 2015, 8:05 am

bossmann wrote:According to NP isn't our RON for super 92 minimum?

Very interesting, apparently it is. So we actually have better quality gas than most countries then?

http://www.np.co.tt/resources/emergencysafety-faqs/

The difference is based on the octane rating. Regular is 83, Super is 92 and Premium, 95.

^ from NP, so I guess we have pretty good gas in Trini. Didn't even know regular was still a thing.
Good thing you mentioned that cause people does say Trini gas is bad quality and not same standards like the US.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 5th, 2016, 1:41 pm

M_2NR wrote:
gastly369 wrote:i eh buss no string yet but ah hear real men complain dat string does buss just so just so in some stihls :S

i thought was ours alone :|
FS 280 here. last time it buss 2 times. Have the Autocut 40-2 i think it is... strange though, first few times we used it, it didnt burst and the grass was much thicker.

You all have any idea why? strung too tight?

Same issue I am having, on grass thats not that thick it bussing. When it buss it goes right back into the spool, I doubt its an issue of the string simply going back inside the spool? I noticed close to the spool after a while the strong will get very thin and weak seems all the pressure is applied at that point. Did you ever find a way to fix that problem? Amazon has Gatorline magnum nylon with interior strength core not sure if to try it. I bought a next gallon of poison gonna spray the whole acre of land to kill all the bamboo grass then try the nylon again when the new born fine grass starts growing.

With regards to Stihl pricing, I am not sure if its overpriced. I checked my local agri shop here and the FS 120 I bought from them for $3000 when I inquired about the Shindaiwa C270 which is also $3K I noticed the C270 is actually less CC than the Stihl 120 the shindaiwa is 27cc and Stihl is 31cc.
Also all those companies hide their Break Horse Power rating. Stihl is the only company that lists the BHP on all their machines. the BHP is the true secret to what a machine is worth. More CC and less BHP just means the machine wastes more gas.

Postby maj. tom » January 5th, 2016, 2:53 pm

you utter fag

Postby rollingstock » January 5th, 2016, 2:55 pm

I tell yuh he was a next uml.

shottaboilife

Postby shottaboilife » January 5th, 2016, 5:11 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1452028309.122516.jpg

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 5th, 2016, 5:37 pm

Check my new ride fellas! The razor grass Cyar talk.
1452029558997.jpg

I got the blade and the auto trim orange nylon cable.

kevinm

Postby kevinm » February 28th, 2016, 1:58 am

Anybody bought the Keyang Brushcutter from Southern Supplies yet? What are your opinions on it. The advertisement says the Keyang 41G is comparable to the FS 250. Is this brush cutter any good?

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2016, 9:21 am

better you buy a brand with easy to get parts
Stihl have many dealers who now have an in house tech

I recently bought a Stihl fs130
it is a 4 stroke, doesn't have high pitched bawl like two strokes

pretty powerful, I would say between a 250 and 280 2 stroke
above 280 would be commercial grade and much heavier

4 strokes have more torque which is what matters for wackers
bought it by motees in grande for less than $3k incl metal blade, string head and gas container

bee_z

Postby bee_z » September 1st, 2016, 10:58 am

Who are the suppliers for stihl parts in south?
Looking for an ignition control module.
Thanks

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 1st, 2016, 11:22 am

I have the FS 120 I didn't go with the 4 stroke because spoke with couple mechanics and they say it gives lots of problems after a while. So I opted for the 2 stroke I have the blade attached to it because I mainly cut very thick and hard bamboo grass etc but it does the job at full throttle. I am talking grass that you normally use a big john deer tractor to cut so I would say its pretty good just too noisy

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 1st, 2016, 11:59 am

I have a FS450, with the blade on, that thing cutting through anything, with the string, the red string i got with the autocut head works great, when that finished I used the yellow but that giving me some problems, bursting out from by the head, hadda keep opening it, thinking to try the black string

Postby *KRONIK* » September 2nd, 2016, 6:32 am

Use the same red string.

Make sure its the same diameter as the OEM string.....

What i have learnt over the years...use what the wacker came with...
Dont put bigger string or smaller string....
It creates all sorts of problems

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 2nd, 2016, 3:24 pm

^ primary reason I don't even use strings unless I cutting my front lawn which is mainly lawn grass. When you use string and in plenty cases you will want to use it without the guard, you can often have the string too long or you may use strings too thick for the motor. Cutting grass too thick with strings tends to bog down the motor compared to steel blade.

But the FS 450 is a monster of a Wacker I assume that thing can use any kind of string and even cut bamboo grass. But you should see the kind of massive grass I does cut with the FS 120 infact it can cut it at half power but I does use max throttle because I tend to go fast because is 1.25 acres I have and I hear if you don't give it enough gas even that can damage the motor.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 2nd, 2016, 4:15 pm

I used the blade to run through the grass it had before, but I using the string so I can cut straight down to the dirt, looks much cleaner like that, plus it have plenty stone in the land, blade kept hitting it. And yes the FS450 is a monster, big big nut grass getting mash up with string. If the string gets too long I just go near a stone and hit it with the ends to shorten them.
As I understand it, wackers supposed to be used at 3/4 to full throttle, if you use it at low throttle, you will eventually get problems.

Postby 8695 » September 5th, 2016, 8:17 pm

My uncle has a STIHL going on 16 years now. Only changed plug and service carburetor. I bought the Murray from PriceSmart for $1,100.00 when I saw the engine was a 43cc Briggs and Stratton with Walbro carburetor . Works like a charm. I'd say STIHL and if you looking for something good and not hard on your wallet then Murray.

http://www.murray.com/la/en/hand-helds/ ... ers/M43-X/

HSA

Postby HSA » September 5th, 2016, 9:45 pm

The husquvarna parts work on the murray from pricesmart...from the carb kit down to the bump cup and blades....have my murray from p.s bout 3 years and never gave any trouble...

the only issue was the original bump head...i replaced it with a t35x head from husquvarna which i bought from massy...

Been using 3mm black string from massy and damn...that thing could cut bamboo grass without a sweat

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 6th, 2016, 12:29 am

HSA wrote:The husquvarna parts work on the murray from pricesmart...from the carb kit down to the bump cup and blades....have my murray from p.s bout 3 years and never gave any trouble...

the only issue was the original bump head...i replaced it with a t35x head from husquvarna which i bought from massy...

Been using 3mm black string from massy and damn...that thing could cut bamboo grass without a sweat

I am looking for a clutch spring for the Murray. You think the Husquvarna might be similar.

HSA

Postby HSA » September 6th, 2016, 12:36 am

Yess...its worth a try...walk with the old one in massy and tell them its from your husquvarna but u cant remember the model...and they should help u