Where did our joy go? Index ranks T&T 11th most unhappy country in the world
Date:
Tuesday, August 30, 2016 - 18:45
It appears that not only has Trinidad and Tobago lost its status as being among the happiest people in the world but according to the latest data, Trinidad and Tobago is now ranked 130th out of 140 countries on the happiness index.
It means T&T is the 11th most unhappy country in the entire world and according to the data released today by the Happy Planet Index, you'd be happier off in Afghanistan, Rwanda, Zimbabwe, Venezuela and even civil war-torn Syria.
But how? When did this country start being perceived as so unhappy?
The Happy Planet Index measures the happiness of countries using several indices: Life Expectancy, Wellbeing, Happy Life Year, Ecological Footprint, Inequality of Outcome, Inequality-adjusted life expectancy and Inequality-adjusted wellbeing.
And this is how T&T scored:
Life Expectancy - 70.1
Wellbeing - 6.4
Happy Life Year - 34.4
Ecological Footprint - 7.9
Inequality of Outcome - 21%
Inequality-adjusted life expectancy - 58.4
Inequality-adjusted wellbeing - 6.0
That works out to be a Happy Planet Index score of 15.7, which places us at 130th in the world and last among all countries in the Americas.
It's important to note that although the report is for the year 2016, much of the statistics was collated using 2012 data
The sources of data included the Gallup Poll, the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations. the Global Footprint Network, the World Bank and the UNDP.
CostaRica has been ranked as the happiest country on the planet, followed by Mexico, Colombia and Vanuata.
The report says: "Until recently, we have lived with the widespread belief that the world is steadily becoming a better place.
"An increasingly unstable global economy, rising inequalities, and the pressing challenges of climate change have begun to shatter that belief. Recent surveys reveal that majorities in both the USA and Europe have said they no longer think life is getting better.
"One cause of these interlinked crises is the stubborn prioritisation of economic growth as the central objective of government, trumping all other objectives.
"People vote for political parties that they perceive to be most capable of delivering a strong economy, and policy makers prioritise policies that increase in GDP as a result. Doing so has led to short-termism, deteriorating social conditions, and paralysis in the face of climate change.
"In fact, GDP growth on its own does not mean a better life for everyone, particularly in countries that are already wealthy. It does not reflect inequalities in material conditions between people in a country. It does not properly value the things that really matter to people like social relations, health, or how they spend their free time. And crucially, ever-more economic growth is incompatible with the planetary limits we are up against."
Tags:
Trinidad and Tobago
Unhappy
Happy Planet Index
Daran wrote:I could give you 100 reasons why Trinidad is paradise and 100 more why it's not.
It's all about perspective and what you make of it. I live abroad and there any many many things we take for granted here in Trinidad.
But it all honesty. Not trying to make this a political thread but I've noticed that the country seemed a lot happier under the PP.
There was far more optimism then. It could obviously be the effects of the recession too.
But I think people have realized this PNM is no better and probably worse than the last PNM. Slow to no progress and catering only to the business elite/west Trinidad.
rspann wrote:Desi baby, you describe yourself there girl.
TheOwnerPO wrote:Even with a high gdp Trinidad would have still been ranked low
Miktay wrote:Tdad has some of the sweetest women in the world...
Doh mind sumadem spoiled...we like them so.