The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 12th, 2016, 6:01 am

Hey guys please don't all answer at once.

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » April 12th, 2016, 8:51 am

About two months my service drops like every30 sec to no network them come back full bars on my iPhone 6. I even went into tstt and took a new sim and same problem.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 12th, 2016, 9:16 am

nick639 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Apple TV version 3A vs Google chromecast version 2?

Depends.
What u looking to achieve with the device?

I have an android tablet and a 5s so was looking to choose the better out of the Apple TV or chromecast. I'm not entirely sure what I'm trying to achieve since it wasn't my idea to purchase either of them myself. Ease of use, portability and I guess HBO NOW at least are features high up on my list.

Postby tr1ad » April 12th, 2016, 9:22 am

How the SE fellas?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 12th, 2016, 9:28 am

Need some help here guys. I've encountered the problem before but can't remember the solution so here goes again.

Mac Mini (late 2012) ... reinstalled the OS and when it goes to 'sleep' it doesn't turn back on unless i pull the plug to kill the power and then start from a new boot.

I've checked and fiddled with the 'Energy Saver' settings and no luck.

neexis

Postby neexis » April 13th, 2016, 6:24 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
nick639 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Apple TV version 3A vs Google chromecast version 2?

Depends.
What u looking to achieve with the device?

I have an android tablet and a 5s so was looking to choose the better out of the Apple TV or chromecast. I'm not entirely sure what I'm trying to achieve since it wasn't my idea to purchase either of them myself. Ease of use, portability and I guess HBO NOW at least are features high up on my list.

Apple Tv3 is good enough for Netflix, watching movies from iTunes and airplaying stuff from your Mac/iOS device.

I don't care for the Netflix interface on it as it seems that Apple had their own version of the app and it's kinda slow. Most of the other apps don't work well since you need to have a US cable account, but you can configure it to work with your DNS service.

TV4 by comparison is fast and responsive, and I like that it has its own apps.

Just hooked up a Chromecast last night and tried streaming some PlutoTV; it's not bad for the money. Haven't tried it with Plex just yet. The only downside (if you consider it one) is that you need another device from which to cast.

If you setting this up for someone who is less tech inclined, go with the Apple TV- it's better as a standalone box.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 13th, 2016, 9:37 am

Ok I'll use the chromecast. The apple TV would be left with the person who isn't tech savvy so good point there. Thanks.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 15th, 2016, 8:35 am

Parvin wrote:Need some help here guys. I've encountered the problem before but can't remember the solution so here goes again.

Mac Mini (late 2012) ... reinstalled the OS and when it goes to 'sleep' it doesn't turn back on unless i pull the plug to kill the power and then start from a new boot.

I've checked and fiddled with the 'Energy Saver' settings and no luck.

Try this

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204063

Or the SMC

http://www.macworld.com/article/2881177 ... d-smc.html

Had luck with the latter in the past.

beetee

Postby beetee » April 15th, 2016, 8:55 am

does anyone have a charger/data cable for ipod shuffle?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » April 28th, 2016, 7:24 am

F.S - Apple iPhone 6S Plus LifeProof Nüüd & Fre
viewtopic.php?t=657502

If anyone is interested

Postby shogun » April 28th, 2016, 4:21 pm

New iPhone 7 Design 'Confirmed' In First Leaked Images

Apple has had a bad week and now it is about to get a lot worse because the first detailed designs for the iPhone 7 range have leaked online…

Popular Japanese magazine Mac Fan is behind the scoop having attained detailed schematics of the 5.5-inch ‘iPhone 7 Pro’. For the uninitiated, the Pro is widely expected to become the new flagship of the iPhone 7 generation above the regular iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus. It is also the most controversial.

So what do we learn? A lot and it is not all good news…

The Bad Stuff

Goodbye headphone jack – yes, the schematic shows Apple does indeed look set to go through with its risky plan to axe the technology sector’s oldest universal standard. I argued this would happen 22 months ago and the fact it is still on the table despite slowing iPhone 6S sales shows Apple is still a company that likes to take risks.

No second speaker - equally controversial is what Mac Fan’s schematics show will replace the lost headphone jack: nothing. This contradicts previous reports claiming a second speaker would be fitted for external stereo audio and, if true, this feels like a missed opportunity to me.

Read more here: http://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly ... b4b85b7091

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 7th, 2016, 7:02 am

After updating an iPhone 5S to 9.3 it got the activation lock as the previous owner (a relative, not stolen) did not remember their email and password.

I saw a lot of good reviews about officialiphoneunlock.co.uk and I proceeded to order the iCloud unlock for £50. Now after emailing them over them and seeing their lack of responses, I began to get worried and curious and apparently it seems to be a scam. They do happen to work for some people and .. Don't for a lot of other people.

It's been 2 days and they give a timeframe of 1-5 days. Nochex was the method of payment used. Has anyone had any negative experiences with this website and was able to get a refund ? I feel like I just lost £50.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » May 12th, 2016, 9:09 pm

Maybe if i can use it without logging in like i use the actual google search app this could work.
Google Debuts 'Gboard' Keyboard for iPhone With Built-In Search Functionality
Google today announced "Gboard," a new third-party keyboard application for iOS devices that directly integrates the company's search capabilities into an iPhone or iPad's keyboard. With the new Google button in Gboard, users can search for information, send what they find, discover GIFs, emojis, and more, without having to exit a messenger app to visit Safari or Chrome.

In its blog post, the company gives an example of someone needing to look up the address of a restaurant, normally forcing them to leave the app, perform a search in a mobile web browser, copy the address information, return to Messages, paste it, then send it off. With Gboard, Google hopes to streamline that process into a headache-free card system built around the smaller UI space required of third-party keyboards.
With Gboard, you can search and send all kinds of things--restaurant info, flight times, news articles--right from your keyboard. Anything you'd search on Google, you can search with Gboard. Results appear as cards with the key information front and center, such as the phone number, ratings and hours. With one tap, you can send it to your friend and you keep the conversation going.
In addition to the basic search feature, Gboard lets users search for emojis -- unlike Apple's first-party keyboard -- by typing in key words like "dancer" to find the corresponding character. There's also a section that lets users browse and search for GIFs, and even glide typing for those who prefer sliding to text instead of tapping each key.

Google mentioned that Gboard "works in any app" with a keyboard, although it's available only in English within the United States at launch, with more languages planned soon. Those interested can download it from the App Store today for free.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 15th, 2016, 6:07 pm

How much for a thunderbolt cable? Or anyone have one I can borrow to troubleshoot a Mac?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 16th, 2016, 11:55 am

Anybody ever use CompuSyn in Marabella to service a Mac?

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » July 23rd, 2016, 5:08 am

Hmm, Digicel carrying iPhones.
Where does that leave bMobile?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 17th, 2016, 10:55 am

Apparently they still sell them though they clearly lacking the advertising.

Postby tr1ad » August 17th, 2016, 1:57 pm

PapaC wrote:Anybody ever use CompuSyn in Marabella to service a Mac?

did you?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 19th, 2016, 5:42 am

tr1ad wrote:

did you?

Checked them, and he recommended I go F1.
Then F1 hit me a quote for 7k for a logic board.

neexis

Postby neexis » August 19th, 2016, 6:17 am

PapaC wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

did you?

Did you switch back to a Windows PC after that?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 19th, 2016, 6:51 am

neexis wrote:
PapaC wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

did you?

Did you switch back to a Windows PC after that?

Still in transition. Not sure what I doing yet.

Postby tr1ad » August 19th, 2016, 9:42 am

What issues you had ?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 19th, 2016, 1:07 pm

Hearing the fan, no screen. No boot screen, if you hold down the power button, fan would turn off and later turn back on. Blowing hard when it doing that.
The price to change that logic board by him, I could add 1200 and get the initial purchase price of the laptop. I just rest it down for now.

nixonliketheprez

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby nixonliketheprez » August 19th, 2016, 2:00 pm

PapaC wrote:Hearing the fan, no screen. No boot screen, if you hold down the power button, fan would turn off and later turn back on. Blowing hard when it doing that.
The price to change that logic board by him, I could add 1200 and get the initial purchase price of the laptop. I just rest it down for now.

SMC trouble?? Have a 2011 that's doing that.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 19th, 2016, 2:14 pm

Yeah, that on the logic board right? All the quote said is to replace logic board.

neexis

Postby neexis » August 20th, 2016, 6:30 am

I got my MBP when I was fed up of Windows 8, shitty hardware choices and because I figured it was time to try something new.
Windows 10 is much better now, and with options like the XPS13, I don't think I'd hesitate to go back.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 20th, 2016, 11:08 am

I have a late 2013 mbp retina.

SRASC

The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby SRASC » August 29th, 2016, 3:25 pm

http://iphone.appleinsider.com/articles ... bokeh-more

New iPhones to be announced next week

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2016, 5:19 pm

^ if that's a sign that the new iPhone camera will allow depth of field then that would be awesome!

neexis

Postby neexis » August 29th, 2016, 9:39 pm

Probably gonna be normal Apple fare... hype up one or two new features and remind us how great iOS is.

The iOS 10 improvements they showed before looked kinda... meh