newbie19

Postby newbie19 » August 23rd, 2016, 11:34 pm

......................................................................................................................
Last edited by newbie19 on August 27th, 2016, 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jackal

Re: Am i suppose to get compensation for this?

Postby jackal » August 24th, 2016, 4:42 am

For the sick leave, your NIS should kick in and you will be paid a small sum of money daily, but your employer needs to fill out some forms. I don't know if there is a minimum amount of contribution that needs to be made before it kicks in.

As for being compensated, this is a bit tricky. If you employer have workmen compensation insurance and the damage is as a result of your job and not a pre-existing condition acting up due to the nature of your job . There is a process to go through where the courts will decide (this is the standard process) the value of compensation and the insurance will pay. If he does not, you have to try to get your employer to pay for the damages, medical bills and other related expenses.

Not to sure how the application process is but I think that your employer needs to start it.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » August 24th, 2016, 8:29 am

Expect the Axe soon Opie

Postby Slartibartfast » August 24th, 2016, 8:30 am

BTW, you can also go back for another evaluation after this sick leave is up to get your sick leave extended.

Postby 88sins » August 25th, 2016, 12:43 pm

you can also apply to NIS for either disability benefit, injury benefit or disablement grant. They also cover certain medical expenses as well. which one you qualify for will depend on your circumstances (how many contributions you made & from when till when, how you were injured, medical reports, etc)

If you were injured as a direct result of your employment during the course of fulfilling your responsibilities due to unsafe conditions or faulty equipment or lack of safety equipment or standards or improper instructions given to you, is industrial court fuh dem & dat

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 25th, 2016, 1:38 pm

Op is the injury work related, eg while using a tool you got damage or is it that you stumble and hit your knee.

newbie19

Postby newbie19 » August 25th, 2016, 5:09 pm

mark2.0 wrote:Op is the injury work related, eg while using a tool you got damage or is it that you stumble and hit your knee.

I'm a woman my job is looking after kids at a play park with bouncy castles. A parent dropped off a kid and i was in the bouncy castle playing with her which is my job because my boss told us the week before that when a parent drops off a kid we have to go in an play with them to keep them entertained. When i jumped over something in the obstacle course in one of the bouncy castles my knee popped and cant walk because i have a meniscus tear. i had to jump over it because thats where the kid wanted to play and if i took five mins rest the child would go in a corner and retaliate.

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2016, 1:12 am

Those are special needs kids or what?

And that definitely sounds like a workplace injury

Postby maj. tom » August 26th, 2016, 9:56 am

You "jumped" and popped your knee and now blaming your employer? Who told you to jump? You jumped to save the child or something?

is this real life? Oh and you're a woman? What that have to do with anything? You going to show us your tits? Don't you think that if you making a jump (i really using this term loosely) on a bouncy castle, something that is already cushioned massively, and breaking your knee that means you weigh too much? How is this your employer's fault?

Go and speak to a lawyer if you want advice.

newbie19

Postby newbie19 » August 26th, 2016, 10:21 am

maj. tom wrote:You "jumped" and popped your knee and now blaming your employer? Who told you to jump? You jumped to save the child or something?

is this real life? Oh and you're a woman? What that have to do with anything? You going to show us your tits? Don't you think that if you making a jump (i really using this term loosely) on a bouncy castle, something that is already cushioned massively, and breaking your knee that means you weigh too much? How is this your employer's fault?

...................................................................................................................................
Last edited by newbie19 on August 27th, 2016, 3:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 26th, 2016, 11:30 am

You have POPAT and you let your employer chain you up into jumping in a bouncy castle. Seek advice from the ECA and give them the details of your job spec etc and they will let you know how to proceed

Re: RE: Re: Am i suppose to get compensation for this?

Postby mero » August 26th, 2016, 11:54 am

maj. tom wrote:You "jumped" and popped your knee and now blaming your employer? Who told you to jump? You jumped to save the child or something?

Maj.cornt. For a supposedly smart fella here u does make yourself look real forking dotish..

Based solely on her story, yes she is entitled to compensation. She was injured ON the job while performing her required duties and got injured... she was even instructed by her employer to go in and play with them. That's the point of NIS being deducted from your salary.. you just as entitled to this as retirement pension/grant, free health care etc.

Once you could prove you were injured as a result of performing your duties you safe, get yuh form and have the employer full out their part. If employer stink like half the business ppl in Trinidad and refuse to sign up the forms. Go straight to NIB

The only thing i think which could possibly be a small issue is the fact that she knew her knee was previously damaged...
Last edited by mero on August 26th, 2016, 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » August 26th, 2016, 11:58 am

Talk to your employer HR, speak with a lawyer or call NIB directly in reference to claims.

Postby Les Bain » August 26th, 2016, 1:12 pm

I could just imagine a Union rep asking the employer how they go watch a big woman and tell her her job is to jump around in a bouncy castle full of chirren.

But OP, that sad to hear. I heope you get a positive resolution to this.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 26th, 2016, 4:24 pm

Silly rabbit triks are for kids

And big ooman, bouncy castle are for kids also.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 26th, 2016, 4:26 pm

Spray some WD40 on that knee, yuh up and running the next day.... Or should I say up and bouncing?

Postby nervewrecker » August 26th, 2016, 5:38 pm

Pics of op?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 26th, 2016, 5:39 pm

Really sorry to hear op...hope u get a resolution. look on the bright side...it could have been ur 2knee..

Postby 88sins » August 26th, 2016, 7:57 pm

jus so yuh kno eh tom

You are not trinituner resident medic, neither are you a magistrate. So it ain't yuh wuk to diagnose or judge nobody.

Re: RE: Re: Am i suppose to get compensation for this?

Postby maj. tom » August 26th, 2016, 10:33 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Pics of op?

Yuh never getting dem pics. Fat gyul does know what they doing. Next thing the bouncy castle buss one morning and she bawl how a child bite it and she want money for compensation cuz she sheit she panty or something in fright.

Postby maj. tom » August 26th, 2016, 10:35 pm

Oh goar watch the white knight Power Rangers suiting up in the thread.

hondablood

Postby hondablood » August 26th, 2016, 10:55 pm

How she pass the police english exam?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 27th, 2016, 6:29 am

To see op I must....

newbie19

Postby newbie19 » August 27th, 2016, 2:39 pm

Ever been to drag race guys? If you have been you may know me?

newbie19

Postby newbie19 » August 27th, 2016, 2:40 pm

Ever been to drag race guys? If you have been you may know me?

Postby nervewrecker » August 27th, 2016, 2:45 pm

You the girl that competes with the lancer?

newbie19

Postby newbie19 » August 27th, 2016, 2:49 pm

Last edited by newbie19 on August 27th, 2016, 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: .......................................................

Postby nervewrecker » August 27th, 2016, 3:28 pm

Sparky or sparks?

newbie19

Postby newbie19 » August 27th, 2016, 3:46 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Sparky or sparks?

Last edited by newbie19 on August 27th, 2016, 4:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby A172 » August 27th, 2016, 3:56 pm

cefiro