Jailed for littering

Re: Jailed for littering

Postby Redman » August 18th, 2016, 7:03 am

Why not give him 1000 hrs of community service....cleaning drains that clogged with litter etc?

In his home community.
Start there

Average

Postby Average » August 18th, 2016, 9:28 am

Take it easy ladies, not once did I defend littering or what the guy did. I simply said he could have been charged and fined. I myself don't litter.

All the keyboard lawyers and moral police come out with that one comment boy......yes.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 18th, 2016, 9:29 am

We live in a society with a lot of nasty people. This country is filled with trash all over. People dump their trash at the side of the road, into rivers, on unoccupied lands etc. Our highways and medians are filled with empty food boxes, plastic bags, cups, bottles and vehicle debris a lot of which are busted up parts left behind after an accident.

Just recently I was stuck in traffic by sea lots and two young girls were crossing by the light house from downtown side onto the sidewalk on the west bound lane. They both had kfc boxes in their hands eating and one girl finished her Pepsi and simply threw it on the recently remodeled area done by kalco. I was tempted to tell her to pick it up as that is an offense but I rather not be shot and killed whilst stuck in traffic.

It's a shame though but we are the cause for a lot of problems we face when it rains heavily here. When we can clog our drains and rivers with old car parts and appliances and general garbage and the place floods some people automatically blame the government for this. Nowhere is perfect but police should focus on all levels of law enforcement. I salute those officers who took the guy in, job well done.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 18th, 2016, 9:34 am

Redman wrote:Why not give him 1000 hrs of community service....cleaning drains that clogged with litter etc?

In his home community.
Start there

Apart from being nasty, litterers are also usually lazy. This might just help change his mindset when they put him to clean up a drain of hundreds of plastic bottles.

But then again, he probably already doing that in URP :roll:

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 18th, 2016, 9:35 am

Next should be jaywalking!

Postby Les Bain » August 18th, 2016, 9:36 am

Not to be a tuner CSI but unless the police was on real sheit, I doubt they would arrest a man just for littering.
Maybe for giving a puncheon fueled speech off before telling them he eh picking anything up, but not just for one styrofoam cup.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 18th, 2016, 10:40 am

Les Bain wrote:Maybe for giving a puncheon fueled speech off before telling them he eh picking anything up, but not just for one styrofoam cup.

Postby RBphoto » August 18th, 2016, 11:26 am

Cool story time. When traveling to school, I always insisted on putting on my seatbelt (if the car was so equip). Not an easy task if you were sharing a front bucket seat or even bench seat. I believe it saved lives and I stuck with it. I was actively discouraged from using it even in family and friend's cars. Laws passed and enforced then guess what? Everybody grudgingly put it on, then started telling people to put it on. It became habit. I even tell my back seat passengers to put it on or my car is not moving and only get a grumble.

Fast forward to 2016. Everyone had some vocal opinion on the speed limit enforcement. Now people who want to drive at 80 can keep their azz at 70 on the left without people being malicious or aggressive about why they are so slow on the left. Even idiots who like to speed are realizing that it makes no sense to speed then end up in a line of people on the right side going at 90. The limit is reasonable, traffic flows better and everybody saves gas.

If the police has the balls to enforce the littering laws, even give the traffic wardens special privilege to enforce them, them, then we won't only be catching offenders, but changing attitudes and seeing a positive effect on the environment. (All that to say GOOD FOR HE NASTY TAIL!!)

Should make a patrol by St Madeline pond, Caura, Los Iros, and Cedros just to catch some fackers off guard.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 18th, 2016, 12:38 pm

Mr. Tony Stark wrote:I think, It good for him, he should of* not just got a little time in a cell and a fine, he should of* received some Strokes as well, if we had done that, then that would of* been a good deterrent

should have*
would have*

Postby desifemlove » August 18th, 2016, 1:20 pm

eh? issue wit dis country is no discipline.

people here like banzai or zoom or whoever will balk, but then if a man drop litter, jail him, or a heavy fine. why do people need to drop litter anyhow? it jus laziness.

successful countries are those with discipline. Like Canada, like the UK, like Singapore. T&T will always be sheit unless there is no discipline. Kamla wants the court to rule in her favour tomorrow, if so, and she wins those seats and is back as PM, then do this and she will get my vote.

Postby desifemlove » August 18th, 2016, 1:24 pm

Average wrote:Take it easy ladies, not once did I defend littering or what the guy did. I simply said he could have been charged and fined. I myself don't litter.

All the keyboard lawyers and moral police come out with that one comment boy......yes.

not moral police. but too many grown men in this country. like i does see people on here defending pissing in public on side of the road, walking bareback and wit a carib in hand. too much grown chirren, and it's mashing up society. I have no sympathy if a person got pissing on side of highway gets a heavy fine.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 18th, 2016, 2:04 pm

desifemlove wrote:
Average wrote:Take it easy ladies, not once did I defend littering or what the guy did. I simply said he could have been charged and fined. I myself don't litter.

not moral police. but too many grown men in this country. like i does see people on here defending pissing in public on side of the road, walking bareback and wit a carib in hand. too much grown chirren, and it's mashing up society. I have no sympathy if a person got pissing on side of highway gets a heavy fine.

I not saying that pissing on the side of the road is a good thing but sometimes you can't just hold it in the car until you reach home. I admit I do it sometimes but only when absolutely necessary and always in a nearby bush if I can find it so that it may dealt with the way that nature intended.

Pissing on a wall or on the side of a building when there is a bar or somewhere closeby that you can go is a different story. I don't do that.

But I see no reason my why someone must litter.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 18th, 2016, 2:08 pm

Littering iz not a victim less crime..

Refuse can clog waterways & exacerbate flooding.

But Tdad police cuda give the man a stern warning io jailing him...

Keep the overcrowded jails & courts 4 the criminals...

Postby Slartibartfast » August 18th, 2016, 2:29 pm

Miktay wrote:Littering iz not a victim less crime..

Refuse can clog waterways & exacerbate flooding.

But Tdad police cuda give the man a stern warning io jailing him...

Keep the overcrowded jails & courts 4 the criminals...

The guy didn't get thrown in jail though. He would have gotten thrown in jail if he didn't pay his fine.

Hopefully this sheds some light on the issue. I agree with making him do some community service cleaning up litter. Like a 50 hours or something. That's about one week of cleaning up littering. They could even forget about the fine altogether and just make the community service mandatory so more affluent citizens will feel it the same amount as well.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » August 18th, 2016, 4:32 pm

Littering leads to flooding ! The police handled it extremely well.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 18th, 2016, 4:48 pm

Redman wrote:Why not give him 1000 hrs of community service....cleaning drains that clogged with litter etc?

In his home community.
Start there

This is rel sense doh

Putting somebody in jail er getting the drains any cleaner

Postby Morpheus » August 18th, 2016, 5:15 pm

That community service would be great. Let the neighbours see you.....

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » September 6th, 2016, 9:17 pm

Arresting this poor man for littering..while grown man peeing and showing their weiner on the highway an police do nothing...I think thats great.Not to mention the little kids who pass and see them..jeez

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2016, 9:37 pm

desifemlove wrote:

allyuh talkin bout 'mashin up society', what de arse u talkin bout? we have two days of carnival, borough days, and fetes galore,,, that is the society u talkin bout mashin up...

Postby desifemlove » September 7th, 2016, 9:10 am

sMASH wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

allyuh talkin bout 'mashin up society', what de arse u talkin bout? we have two days of carnival, borough days, and fetes galore,,, that is the society u talkin bout mashin up...

carnival means sheit.....this country won't improve without this slackness. but then it's pretty fine this applies to you, ent?

Postby sMASH » September 7th, 2016, 9:35 am

u cant condemn it one day and celebrate it the other... unless u have a legitimate reason to do it, it should not have a law to allow it. littering is bad, relieving oneself is bad, but this one can have mitigating reasons such as there is no place available to do so.
so, provide people the avenue away from it before u go prosecuting it.

then all your social conditioning for a better person and better society, all down the drain for carnival and borough days.
but the people like it, so it will stay, and not just on those days.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 7th, 2016, 1:24 pm

sMASH wrote:u cant condemn it one day and celebrate it the other... unless u have a legitimate reason to do it, it should not have a law to allow it. littering is bad, relieving oneself is bad, but this one can have mitigating reasons such as there is no place available to do so.

then all your social conditioning for a better person and better society, all down the drain for carnival and borough days.

the smell of urine laiden walls is an integral part of carnival....... :roll:

Postby sMASH » September 7th, 2016, 4:55 pm

I hate carnival. Just like when agent smith was groping morpheus' head in the matrix,.. like dat.

Postby Redman » September 7th, 2016, 5:14 pm

Carnival is a lost opportunity... to the country

Postby desifemlove » September 8th, 2016, 1:15 pm

sMASH wrote:u cant condemn it one day and celebrate it the other... unless u have a legitimate reason to do it, it should not have a law to allow it. littering is bad, relieving oneself is bad, but this one can have mitigating reasons such as there is no place available to do so.

dude do you see people in other countries pissing in the street? like uk, usa, don't have many public toilets, peope only do that in a bush or woodland, or in an alley. it's because trini men is like chile in their minds.
Placing harsh penalties will get a culture of discipline, which is the source of most if not ALL Trinbago's social and political issues.

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2016, 3:02 pm

Me ain't saying don't enforce it, I just saying to provide an alternative to positively reinforce the culture change u want.

If first world countries don't have public restrooms, is that advantageous or disadvantageous?

Me ain't know, but allyuh jess like to charge people. U could implement laws in manners that limits its infringement. Call it a bump-less transfer.

What is the point of a law, not to guide people to the generally acceptable thing to do? Or is it a means to assert power and generate funds?

I prefer To prepare for changes, than to just implement over night and enforce authoritarianly the next day.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » September 8th, 2016, 8:37 pm

baigan wrote:Lol good...Littering is a huge problem here, esp at beaches and such. Disgusting.

But Idk bout jail tho but a fine ...sure...

Lol just yesterday I saw a police throw a box of kfc out his window and into a drain

More of us need to get dash cameras. MR POLICEMAN would have been on UREPORT, Commissioner of police Face Book page fast fast fast.
Dont Forget MR David West of Polce Complaint Authority.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » September 8th, 2016, 8:44 pm

j.o.e wrote:A heavier fine backed by jail for non payment. Place too stink and some rich and educated people guilty of doing the same. Hit them in the pocket.

The last time i saw a NO DUMPING SIGN the fine was $1000.00 dollars for littering. How come he got a $250.00 fine?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 8th, 2016, 8:46 pm

Recession bro.. didn't you get the memo?

Postby desifemlove » September 8th, 2016, 10:19 pm

like man here saying littering is a victimless crime......it retard logic/primary school education like dat that cause T&T's issues.