Gas stations across the country face closure.

Re: Gas stations across the country face closure.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 2nd, 2016, 12:05 pm

Unfortunately everybody seeing hardships right now, its not gas stations alone closing down hundreds of other small businesses closing down. I know of someone who is about to close down her mini mart aswell because people just aren't buying.

With the Thousands of people being fired all over this country obviously these people without jobs are either not going to buy gas or not going to buy gas in the amount they used to since they are not working. So I would guess businesses that were created in the oil boom are now going to close down.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 2nd, 2016, 1:18 pm

You go end up buying an A class with 100% financing.

neexis

Postby neexis » August 2nd, 2016, 2:37 pm

drchaos wrote:You go end up buying an A class with 100% financing.

I think he meant beaner

Postby Redman » August 2nd, 2016, 3:25 pm

The PDA was lobying for a margin increase BEFORE the UNC and Gosine came into the picture.

I didnt see any article from him-quite the opposite regarding increasing Dealers margins.
So that he is writing now is just cheap politics.

Now he is advocating for the same people he spent 5 years ignoring and oppressing.

He did nothing when he was in a position to do so.
cept of course hand stations out to Fand F.

1,000,000 a pop ring a bell??

The margin is 17 cents on gas and 12 cents on diesel-it is written as xx cents per liter in the Act so to change it requires an amendment to the Act.

Before this last increase your GROSS margin on fuel was 4% + or - depending on the mix of fuel you sell

You can do the math re the new taxes and see what that leaves you.

Smaller stations(most of them) are cash flow -ve

With the revenue based taxes on average a C Store site owner would lose half of his Gross Profit.
I would estimate that Net profit (with no creative accounting) are down 40-60%
If you have financing you are

To stop a supply agreement with NP requires liquidated damages for the remainder of the contract.
The way the supply is worded you compensate NP for its lost profits
So on average 5 years of NPs profit to walk away from the deal
Plus remediation of the site before change of use.

Going the walmart way means larger stations but fewer stations--how many of you willing to drive further to get gas.

Most of the stations are run where the tanks and pumps are OWNED by the marketing co and as such the Site operator is not allowed to improve or even maintain the equipment.

Postby adnj » August 2nd, 2016, 4:13 pm

You're focusing on the sales of fuel to be profitable. That is a mistake. The current margin on fuel is about 5.5% . Most groceries operate at a margin of 7.0%. The profit on a loaf of Kiss bread is 76¢ or 5.6%. Fuel is what is termed a loss leader. You sell it to bring customers to your door. If fuel is what you're trying turn a profit on, then you're wasting your time by owning a business in the first place.

Postby Redman » August 2nd, 2016, 10:38 pm

And how do you arrive at a c store from a gas only site?

Do some research on the way the stations are managed and who controls what.

You don't just ups and convert to a C store.
You are running a site that you do not have full control over.

That's the reality.

Postby adnj » August 3rd, 2016, 12:49 am

Exactly the point. An operator wants legislation to increase profitability when the marketer does not want to modify their own outlet to increase revenue and profitability. There is a retirement cost associated with closing a fuel station due to the aging of the tanks. It is less than the cost of tank and pump replacement. It is usually cost prohibitive to keep old standalone stations open as opposed to opening a new station.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: Gas stations across the country face closure.

Postby bluesclues » August 3rd, 2016, 7:04 am

adnj wrote:Exactly the point. An operator wants legislation to increase profitability when the marketer does not want to modify their own outlet to increase revenue and profitability. There is a retirement cost associated with closing a fuel station due to the aging of the tanks. It is less than the cost of tank and pump replacement. It is usually cost prohibitive to keep old standalone stations open as opposed to opening a new station.

Them men like dey does just open gas station and leave it runnning and expect to make money. They supposed to do the same as any business that wants to be successful, monitor sales, target sales, create strategies to increase sales/turnaround, utilize costing efficiency at every turn.

I willing to bet is just slackness have most of them sufferer gas station sufferin. Stop limin down the islands every day and go monitor and improve yuh fkin store.

Postby Redman » August 3rd, 2016, 7:55 am

willing to bet is just slackness have most of them sufferer gas station sufferin. Stop limin down the islands every day and go monitor and improve yuh fkin store.

What basis do you have for this statement?

Understand something.

The structures and models that the stations are run result in a very bureaucratic process to do anything.
NP will own the pumps,tanks,fuel monitoring etc.

So if the pumps are breaking down-you wait on NP to repair.
NP supplies-you wait for them to supply.
Your price and margin are regulated
You cant change the product.
and you locked into a contract.

I know one owner that began preventative maintenance on the pumps-at his cost belts,filters hoses all changed out before failure-so down time was minimized.
He was sanctioned and instructed to stop.NP accused him of rigging the pumps(no proof).

the PDA has been lobbying for a rationalization of the industry for years-pre 2010.

THe industry needs to be restructured...with the Marketing companies getting out of the ownership of stations.

neexis

Postby neexis » August 3rd, 2016, 10:19 am

Redman wrote:
willing to bet is just slackness have most of them sufferer gas station sufferin. Stop limin down the islands every day and go monitor and improve yuh fkin store.

Understand something.

The structures and models that the stations are run result in a very bureaucratic process to do anything.

I know one owner that began preventative maintenance on the pumps-at his cost belts,filters hoses all changed out before failure-so down time was minimized.
He was sanctioned and instructed to stop.NP accused him of rigging the pumps(no proof).

the PDA has been lobbying for a rationalization of the industry for years-pre 2010.

THe industry needs to be restructured...with the Marketing companies getting out of the ownership of stations.

Is blues you trying to explain this too eh.. just do like everyone else and skip over his posts. Threads usually make more sense when you ignore him.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 3rd, 2016, 10:35 am

Postby K74T » August 3rd, 2016, 10:38 am

Forever bluesclueless.

Postby pete » August 3rd, 2016, 11:14 am

If the marketing companies get out of the ownership of the stations should they also make it that anyone who wants to, can open a gas station and not just the few "lucky" people who have been given the gift of having gas stations in the past?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 3rd, 2016, 11:23 am

Redman wrote:

Understand something.

I saw ur post on all the technicalities. But as usual u focussing on technicality while i focus on simplicity.

First of all the 'store' im talking about, is the quickshoppe.

Sure i hear u where there needs to be some restructuring of how much the station gets to keep with gas sales and i dunno, if its possible, couldnt a station owner sue np for loss of sales when a pump down for an extended period of time(days/weeks)? Arent they compensated in some way? If not then surely that is an area of legislation that could be improved upon to force greater efficiency not for only one party, but both.

So like i was saying all i was talking about before was related to the quickshoppe sales. As it is structured it only targets a 'certain' customer base. They can restructure their store, inventory and pricing much better to target a wider consumer base and based on the area and type of regular customers they have. That is just one. The service stations.. i dont know, i almost never see anyone getting serviced at a service station. Me neither. Cant they change oil, tyres and that sort of thing at the service station? I dont know, but if so, why doesnt anyone use their service? Is it because of cost? Efficiency? They should be able to perform an oil change in 20 minutes. Did mine yesterday and it took 30 minutes and most of the time was used just jacking up the car with a manual jack.

So to answer your question. The basis for my statements is what i see with my own eyes, and the reason i dont shop at the quickshoppe for ANYTHING even though im in one almost every day. Sometimes twice a day. They could put book in the outside window to force customers to enter the quickshoppe to pay for gas how much they want. But if the products consumers want arent there, or at a price they are willing to pay, they will, just like me, pay for gas, and leave. Which is what i see them doing. The highest quickshoppe sales probably come from cigarettes only.

Postby Redman » August 3rd, 2016, 2:06 pm

pete wrote:If the marketing companies get out of the ownership of the stations should they also make it that anyone who wants to, can open a gas station and not just the few "lucky" people who have been given the gift of having gas stations in the past?

Well there has been talk of them opening up the market to the multinationals.
Thats actually why Peakes station was actually built by Exxon I think...they tried front running Panday opening up the market.....and when it didnt happen they were in a bind.

Currently the requirements are

Ownership of the land ...
The location must fit into the MOE's push for locations.
Get a Supply agreement from NP or Unipet
THEN apply for a license....from Moe.

The last new to industry site took 10+ years from start to finish.

The Marketing Cos are the gate keepers.

Postby Redman » August 3rd, 2016, 2:16 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Redman wrote:

Understand something.

I saw ur post on all the technicalities. But as usual u focussing on technicality while i focus on simplicity.

Sure i hear u where there needs to be some restructuring of how much the station gets to keep with gas sales and i dunno, if its possible, couldnt a station owner sue np for loss of sales when a pump down for an extended period of time(days/weeks)? Arent they compensated in some way? If not then surely that is an area of legislation that could be improved upon to force greater efficiency not for only one party, but both.

So like i was saying all i was talking about before was related to the quickshoppe sales. As it is structured it only targets a 'certain' customer base. They can restructure their store, inventory and pricing much better to target a wider consumer base and based on the area and type of regular customers they have. That is just one. The service stations.. i dont know, i almost never see anyone getting serviced at a service station. Me neither. Cant they change oil, tyres and that sort of thing at the service station? I dont know, but if so, why doesnt anyone use their service? Is it because of cost? Efficiency? They should be able to perform an oil change in 20 minutes. Did mine yesterday and it took 30 minutes and most of the time was used just jacking up the car with a manual jack.

So to answer your question. The basis for my statements is what i see with my own eyes, and the reason i dont shop at the quickshoppe for ANYTHING even though im in one almost every day. Sometimes twice a day. They could put book in the outside window to force customers to enter the quickshoppe to pay for gas how much they want. But if the products consumers want arent there, or at a price they are willing to pay, they will, just like me, pay for gas, and leave. Which is what i see them doing. The highest quickshoppe sales probably come from cigarettes only.

willing to bet is just slackness have most of them sufferer gas station sufferin. Stop limin down the islands every day and go monitor and improve yuh fkin store

So there is no basis other that you thinking you have the solution....based on passing through the C stores and not buying anything.

But for your Info Quikshoppes are centrally controlled by NP
NP has a master product list that the operators must stay within.
The Point of Sale system is centrally controlled so that the operator has no pricing power.
You cant sell anything not on the system.

Here is the thing.
Before the budget fuel contributed half of the gross profit.
After the budget the fuel is barely break even. Green Fund CCard and Business Levy, take the margins away.

So for all the jaw boning here the budget would have kicked C Store site in the teeth, and killed the fuel only sites.

If I just signed a contract based on an expected return and that is now cut in half-should I stay quiet?

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Gas stations across the country face closure.

Postby bluesclues » August 3rd, 2016, 5:03 pm

Redman wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
Redman wrote:

Understand something.

willing to bet is just slackness have most of them sufferer gas station sufferin. Stop limin down the islands every day and go monitor and improve yuh fkin store

So there is no basis other that you thinking you have the solution....based on passing through the C stores and not buying anything.

But for your Info Quikshoppes are centrally controlled by NP
NP has a master product list that the operators must stay within.
The Point of Sale system is centrally controlled so that the operator has no pricing power.
You cant sell anything not on the system.

Here is the thing.
Before the budget fuel contributed half of the gross profit.
After the budget the fuel is barely break even. Green Fund CCard and Business Levy, take the margins away.

So for all the jaw boning here the budget would have kicked C Store site in the teeth, and killed the fuel only sites.

If I just signed a contract based on an expected return and that is now cut in half-should I stay quiet?

Well i feared that is the way it is. If np controlling all inventory and all that then is np business model that not working for those running stations.
Still there is room for improvement then in the 'cost efficiency' section of my recommendation. Why pay with ccard and just give away profits? Isnt there another way to pay.

From what i seeing here owners not running a business. They wukkin for np and np not paying them. I would never run a business under those terms and every month the station profits cant afford to pay me a salary. That setup real sad. At least let ppl run the quickshoppe how they want. Seriously, if possible, id just get the gas station agreement for the pumps, and put a J's minimart on my site.

But let me guess, np doesnt allow them to do that either right? They have to run as part of the quickshoppe franchise? Pfff... close down oui and let np sort out their azz from their elbow. Or let np pay a fixed salary roster and feel the burn of their own poor business model.

And well redman, efficiency improvement is something ive done professionally. And forgive me for saying this, but every company i have worked for locally has had piss poor efficiency and communication among departments. So what if i assume the np stations are the same based on the little i see when im at them. Ive seen enough business and departments to guage almost instantly how successful a site is and where efficiency is dragging down sales performance. Websource and the doublesman in arima who does cleanex all his surfaces are probably the 2 most efficient operations in this country. Allyuh ever experience eating doubles with no fly fighting yuh for yuh doubles? Well let me tell u, it increases the enjoyment of the outside doubles experience.... GREATLY.

Postby Redman » August 3rd, 2016, 5:56 pm

It must easy to sit and poke holes in something when one is:

1) Ignorant of the underlying constraints that limit the choices and hamper execution.

2) Arrogant enough to believe that because something that you think should be done,hasnt been done, the operators are stupid,careless or down the islands everyday and that there is a reason x,y or z has not been done.

3)Unfettered by any real risk,responsibility or saddled by the facts.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 3rd, 2016, 6:17 pm

Redman wrote:It must easy to sit and poke holes in something when one is:

1) Ignorant of the underlying constraints that limit the choices and hamper execution.

2) Arrogant enough to believe that because something that you think should be done,hasnt been done, the operators are stupid,careless or down the islands everyday and that there is a reason x,y or z has not been done.

Yes it is. Coming from a professional background of same. But lets not get carried away with metaphors. I was ASKING.. WHY.... certain things cannot be done. To which u answered and clarified basically that the fault is in np business model. Whether u respect the statement or not. Marketing, sales and business management all share common factors for a successful business. It doesnt matter if its gas or salted nuts u selling on the highway. So even though i havent dealt directly with the gas industry i can identifies inefficiencies based on my experience in multiple other large and small corporations. Lets not forget my experience extends to working for the largest corporations in the world with shareholder requested recurring callback contracts. So my contribution to the topic is not based on my experience selling cds on the side of the road.

Do i want gas stations to shutdown... NO. And an obvious no to that too. But what seems to be happening from what im reading on in the thread.. is that the situation is more dire than even the media report was able to convey. Is it that NP ITSELF is at risk of running at a loss and unable to improve commission or anything that would help operators to increase their margins?

I am not at the legislative table. I am not very versed in the operations of trini gas industry having never worked with them directly. So please redman, instead of jabbing me. Try and take the beneficial out of my comments if u deem any to be so. But at the end of the day, is as the first responder said... i am looking at solutions.. not to spend whole day talking about the problem. I recognize this can be a very serious issue. And thus am willing to pitch my ideas for the government to utilize if they deem useful, to help curb what may be an imminent catastrophe.

Based on your details provided. I would now have to see np sales figures and get more knowledge of internal operations to see where i can shave off for the operators benefit. I should not be faulted for not knowing the greatest detail of operation of every industry and business in the country. But if u inform me i can better tune my ideas and am confident that i can and will deliver a workable solution.

Im the guy in the game that focusses on capturing the flag, while everyone running around having fun, pumping up their egos with kills in combat. At the end of the day, enemy team will have 2x the kills my team has.. but when the clock timer down, we will have more flags.. and so guess who win the match?

Postby Redman » August 3rd, 2016, 9:13 pm

Takin all that space to prove what is already obvious...isn't very efficient.

Just saying.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 3rd, 2016, 9:26 pm

Redman wrote:Takin all that space to prove what is already obvious...isn't very efficient.

Just saying.

I see no suggestions coming from u. With all your in depth knowledge u should be able say precisely the most suitable solution to the problem. But then again, they pay u guys to regurgitate not to think.

Postby Redman » August 4th, 2016, 8:28 am

uh while you were focusing on reading and comprehending...
I made my suggestion-it didnt take me 5000 words to make it though so you might have missed it.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 4th, 2016, 11:53 am

Redman wrote:uh while you were focusing on reading and comprehending...
I made my suggestion-it didnt take me 5000 words to make it though so you might have missed it.

Only thing that may be a suggestion in your posts is increasing the commission rates. Which i can not be sure is your final answer, considering all the discussion about the walmart argument. You sort of seem to be combining the two. And your suggestion if all you say were to be taken into consideration, would probably not be as effective as we would be led to believe.

If we accept that larger stations with greater access to amenities are a significant contributor to the decline of smaller stations revenues. Together with the fact that the increase in the price of gas, reduces the actual income a land owner receives per litre of gas it sells(based on the maths u put down there we have to trust your figures for now). Then let's not forget, that increasing the commission rates will also increase the dollar figure in profit for the larger stations that are already causing a reduction in traffic at the smaller stations.

Is your solution truly efficient? The stations that are already well will do better with their increased rate(rich get richer). And what guarantee is there that the smaller stations wont be forced to close anyway later on because theyre just not getting enough gas sold to be profitable.

A commision rate increase is too general for this task. And there is also no guarantee that NP can even afford a commision rate increase right now. We need to look at that data specifically at this point to know if that is a 'probable' solution.

Via the vat system however caters naturally for both problems associated with a commision rise. Because im sure the legislation could be crafted to allow stations that fall below or are barely profitable to make claim to a reduced rate. Or perhaps it can be crafted via another route but which targets permittance only to those stations that NEED it!

It would be more beneficial to the public for us to have many stations creating greater access around the country, and stave off the creation of monopolizing of our gas station industry. A footstep away from selling it to a foreigner is too close. For this reason, we should protect the small stations ability to keep running. And for productivity reasons, enforce efficiency practices regarding np's maintenance contract with the land owner.

Sorry if i used 5000 words again.
Last edited by bluesclues on August 4th, 2016, 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » August 4th, 2016, 11:59 am

Cliff notes?
I repeat....the industry needs to be restructured and the marketing co needs to get out of the retail side.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 4th, 2016, 12:07 pm

Redman wrote:Cliff notes?
I repeat....the industry needs to be restructured and the marketing co needs to get out of the retail side.

What are u saying? i can interpret that a couple different ways. Please explain in more detail for me im slow. What about the industry would u restructure. And when you say 'get out of the retail business'. Are u referring to np? Would that affect the maintenance contract for the pumps etc? Are you referring to them giving up the quickshoppe aspect only or also the retail gas and lubricants side?

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » August 4th, 2016, 12:21 pm

U have real patience i'll give you that. I gave up on clues since the Benz talk. Typical to speak of what you dont know/arent sure of with authority. He must have been a pastor in his previous life.
The operators also used to get bulk discounts/ buy x get x free on purchases for the Quikshoppes. That used to help the situation a bit.
All that has been effectively taken away.
That being said this current system is designed to fail.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 4th, 2016, 12:32 pm

crash dummy wrote:

U have real patience i'll give you that. I gave up on clues since the Benz talk. Typical to speak of what you dont know/arent sure of with authority. He must have been a pastor in his previous life.
The operators also used to get bulk discounts/ buy x get x free on purchases for the Quikshoppes. That used to help the situation a bit.
All that has been effectively taken away.
That being said this current system is designed to fail.

Maybe u gave up cuz u couldnt fkeep up. But all i have said is still completely relevant. At the end of the day i have already identified the key areas and addressed also the solution to those problem areas.

Yes there needs to be a restructure. But np doesnt have to give up the retail business. Station owners should be able to run their own minimart or fruit shed for additional income. Billboard space for advertising rental. That will fall under their 'lack of business sense'.. to capitalize fully on the traffic that is passing through your establishment every day. Expanding inventory. Competitive pricing to increase turnover and not margin per sale. Targetted reduced rates to the stations that need it to be profitable and are not excessively unused by motorists. And because the government is basically, subsidizing those stations, it would be in the best interest to ensure that all the pumps are working with minimal downtime.

Those would provide the proper statistics later on to define which stations really need to be allowed to close. Talk what allyuh want but can you say why it is NOT a viable path to take?

Postby Redman » August 4th, 2016, 2:25 pm

What are u saying? i can interpret that a couple different ways. Please explain in more detail for me im slow. What about the industry would u restructure. And when you say 'get out of the retail business'. Are u referring to np? Would that affect the maintenance contract for the pumps etc? Are you referring to them giving up the quickshoppe aspect only or also the retail gas and lubricants side?

Breds-you have written the most in this thread on how to fix something that you admit you know little about.
And,you are defending what you post despite asking the above questions.
Which are basic ...abc stuff...like knowing exporting and converting crude to NG in another country for LOCAL Electricity Generation is an impressively ignorant suggestion.
And remarkably inefficient.

Be that as it may.
In your order
What are u saying? i can interpret that a couple different ways. Please explain in more detail for me im slow.

:D
No Argument.

What about the industry would u restructure. And when you say 'get out of the retail business'. Are u referring to np?

NP is a marketing company-hence the 'M' in its name National Petroleum Marketing Co Ltd

They get a wholesale margin.(NOT COMMISSION) Since NPMCL wholesales the fuels to the Gas Stations
Gas Stations get a RETAIL margin since they retail fuel to the public

NP owns and operates some of the stations-they have 2 models that they run different sites.
OWNER DEALERS own the sites and have a supply agreement with NP.
As such Owners compete with their supplier.
Its more profitable to NP to ensure that their sites have fuel to sell.

For eg NP ensures that their QShoppe s are topped up BEFORE they send fuel to an owner dealer that is out of stock...

So for this to change NP needs to be held accountable in punitive $$$ for when this occurs..and i KNOW that it happens.

Would that affect the maintenance contract for the pumps etc?

Maybe.

Are you referring to them giving up the quickshoppe aspect only or also the retail gas and lubricants side?

All.
Their stations are beds of wastage and graft.

Why do we need a State enterprise competing with the private sector?

NP is a poorly run drain on the GORTT resources.

Postby A172 » August 4th, 2016, 2:45 pm

clearly u all didn't see bluesclues armchair & oven
lol believe me u wouldn't waste another sec replying

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » August 4th, 2016, 3:40 pm

Redman wrote:
NP is a marketing company-hence the 'M' in its name National Petroleum Marketing Co Ltd

They get a wholesale margin.(NOT COMMISSION) Since NPMCL wholesales the fuels to the Gas Stations
Gas Stations get a RETAIL margin since they retail fuel to the public

NP owns and operates some of the stations-they have 2 models that they run different sites.
OWNER DEALERS own the sites and have a supply agreement with NP.
As such Owners compete with their supplier.
Its more profitable to NP to ensure that their sites have fuel to sell.

For eg NP ensures that their QShoppe s are topped up BEFORE they send fuel to an owner dealer that is out of stock...

So for this to change NP needs to be held accountable in punitive $$$ for when this occurs..and i KNOW that it happens.

Exact same thing i said and explained the reason as having an impact on efficiency and thus productivity.

Would that affect the maintenance contract for the pumps etc?

Maybe.

Maybe? If u know everything about what u talking about. Why is this a 'maybe'? U must know the butterfly effect. U say u think np should basically shutdown their retail marketing department. And do what send home those workers? And without the retail gas sales what accountability will they have for broken pumps that need servicing? It seems to me the answer is more a 'yes' than a maybe. And we havent even begun to discuss the repurcussions when np has to suffer a major loss in revenues due to opting out of retailing. Np a state owned enterprise manages the economy with the sales it generates. Retail will give them a boost that they cannot gain from just wholesaling gas. They will end up having to send home more than just the retail marketing department as their entire operation may be downscaled. And do what privatise the pump and hydraulics servicing industry and introduce competitors further reducing state company revenues?

Im not sure u thought this through. Following your advice will run np in bankruptsy. Those are not the areas that need looking at and no additional strain needs to be put on np except for service delivery.

Restructuring needs to occur at the terms of business policy level, allowing greater flexibility in inventory and consumer targetting. Stocking doritos in an area where ppl only want is $3 pack of ole is wastage. But besides that.. allowing competition in the servicing sector may not be such a bad idea if np cannot keep up regular maintenance of its equipment nationwide. Make a license requirement that require servicing companies to maintain defined standards and procedures to compete for pump station servicing contracts.

I would not go your route. It can be immediately seen, the harm that will be done to government revenues. It is deceptive, and misleading... but most of all.. back to the topic of Objective! The objective is to create an environment that will allow smaller stations to survive and thrive to maintain many access points for filling up.....

Your suggestion, does not address this.... at all!! And besides which, if it even were to help out the smaller stations... look at the cost and losses np, jobs, and the economy, would suffer to make it happen. From my point of view, your suggestion does more harm than good. It seems carefully crafted to destroy np and hand over its well developed market share to private interests. Instead i suggest ways for np to increase its market share and retail revenues. And keep struggling stations afloat with government subsidising. And that if i remember correctly is the claim, the problem, and objective for which they would like to see a solution put forward.

U would have been better off going with 'increasing commision rates'. Then we could argue on the validity of the walmart argument.

But allyuh work it out. Get tie up with my knowledge and thinking capacity.