Re: best car for 50k??

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 24th, 2015, 10:42 pm

prob a p11 primera with a essarrrr

trdguy69

Postby trdguy69 » June 25th, 2015, 1:10 pm

X2 wrote:I believe the real answer to this question... What's the best car for $50,000 is actually:

You won't find a whole lot of comfy pickups in that price range, so as long as it's a car or crossover you want...Stay within the general Japanese car range of your typical car parts place (Nissan, Toyota, Honda) and in that order... and you will probably never suffer for parts (mechanical). Otherwise just choose a brand you can easily or inexpensively source parts when necessary.
Buy a $40,000 car and throw about $10,000 in maintenance into it.

Changing out fluids, belts, brake parts, hoses and maybe even a shock or two, timing belt/chain, water pump and some seals and you'd be surprised how quickly $10k jumps out your pocket. You will have a fairly reliable whip in your possession for a $50k investment.

suspension seals and bushing and a good battery and maybe some dusty OHK brakes and that is 10k done there lol
I getting a little deal from a close family friend
a well maintained fielder wagon with most stuff like belts and stuff already taken care of so at the moment I just gonna see how that goes because from my last knowing this car was in really perfect working and looking condition

Postby X2 » June 25th, 2015, 7:08 pm

Shocks: $3500
Water pump and timing belt: $2000
Brake shoes: $1500
Battery: $1000
Various Belts: $1000
Labour: $1500

Do some stuff yourself to help the budget.... this would apply to many cars... even the fielder... just remember that preventative maintenance is the key to reliability....even with an immortal Toyota :-D

trdguy69

Postby trdguy69 » June 30th, 2015, 8:27 pm

so i went today and checked on the fielder...so happen its a hit car ac doesnt work and one headlight has a hole and needs changing...so its a no....i went and sat and view and ride in one of the new cube..not the best looker but dam it sooooooooo comfy and has a lil pep too lol

RobertsHayden

Postby RobertsHayden » June 30th, 2016, 6:01 am

I got an NZE selling for 45k neg

computercentral

Postby computercentral » June 30th, 2016, 7:37 am

e 39 bmw 50k and 50k in parts and u on

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 30th, 2016, 10:56 am

Good buys:

Sentra/sunny b14 with ga14/15/16
Primera p11 with sr18/20 or qg18
Almera/sunny/bluebird sylphy n16 with qg16/18 or qr20
Wingroad/ad van y11 with qg15 or qr20 or sr20
Corolla nze /fielder with 1nz-fe and 1zz-fe
Corolla ae92/101/111 with a 4a-fe or 5a-fe
Yaris with 2nz-fe
Tercel with 4e-fe or fte swap
Civic ek4 with b16a
Lancer ck4 with 4g92 or a 4g15 dohc swap
Axela/3 with mzr 1.5/1.6

Stay away from:

Corolla/Altis from Singapore with 3zz-fe
Vios/soluna
Civic with a d15 motor
Bluebird sylphy g11 hr15 and mr20
Tiida/Latio with hr15/16
Wingroad/ad van y12 with hr15
Pulsar n14 and n15
March any version
323/323F/Astina/familia
Lancer cs especially the 4g18 with cvt
Liana/swift/baleno/sx4
Impreza 1.6 ts or 1.5r
Spark 0.8, aveo 1.5 and optra 1.6/1.8
Anything used from Hyundai/Kia/ford/vw/skoda/fiat/seat/rover/Citroen/peugeot/Renault/Opel/vauxhall/Holden etc etc etc

Postby MaxPower » June 30th, 2016, 11:51 am

Stay away from ek3 D15?

Why

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 30th, 2016, 2:37 pm

Wingroad Y11 ZVS

Postby Spitfir3 » June 30th, 2016, 2:47 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:CK LANCERRRR

talk done.
4g15dohc, tingg indestructible.

frealz, i put that engine through hell and it still goes
the only problem with it is those noise ass lifters after a time

that said NZE is a solid choice

Postby rollingstock » June 30th, 2016, 2:52 pm

I think after exactly a year since the op last posted he bought a ride already.

Postby SMc » June 30th, 2016, 4:01 pm

don't matter Hayden Roberts from rima have a post-rightoff corolla for sale at a decent price, so thread will still be relevant to some.

BTW I would not run away from a D15B civic, but 50K is a bit much

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 30th, 2016, 4:44 pm

most of those cars listed by acesinghit eh worth 50K

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: best car for 50k??

Postby bluesclues » July 3rd, 2016, 7:48 am

RBphoto wrote:Might get flamed for this, but the local tiida is a very peppy car. All aluminum 1.6 engine and transmission housing makes it lightweight. It is quite powerful and very roomy. It is an excellent vehicle.

Problem? The electrical is crap. Had all manner of electrical component failure from blower to clock spring, and temperamental windows (which would stop working for no reason). The one we have in work has many minor electrical problems and a sometimish fuel guage. Mines came with a warped caliper which masey refused to admit was the problem, leading to two set of changed rotors in 3 months. Parts are expensive (unless you get someone to import directly from japan for you) the car is not that fuel efficient, runs shiddy on super, and takes over 4 quarts of oil at the oil change (real cost if you want to run synthetic). The injectors and coil packs are buried under the intake so a simple job like changing plugs and cleaning injectors is a real nightmare. The AC compressor gave out on me at 120,000km To its credit, plugs last over 50,000km and injectors only needed service after 70,000km. The suspension is quite good and held up well. All in all a typical French vehicle. I drive a 307SW now and I like it better than the tiida :|

Sounds like u got a flawed unit bro. That or u real abuse that car and cant drive.

konartis

Postby konartis » July 3rd, 2016, 8:56 am

rollingstock wrote:I think after exactly a year since the op last posted he bought a ride already.

Lol

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » July 3rd, 2016, 11:20 pm

For 50k a well maintained Corolla (NZE) is best.
Lowest maintenance vehicle ever, decent ride and parts last.
Other than that its a Honda the ek4, parts cost a little more but they hold out

Talking from experience.

Postby stev » July 4th, 2016, 12:05 am

+1 for the NZE

AE111 corolla series were great but parts rel hard these days.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 4th, 2016, 12:09 pm

Don't buy older Honda or Mitsu, parts are very hard to come by for many of them.

Buy the B14 it is still King of T&T and you can still get a door to buy in your local pharmacy for $100 and a ramsaran peanut punch with the change.

This is a good buy everything about it screams KING.

York

Postby York » July 4th, 2016, 12:09 pm

buy the least OLD (aged) car you can with that 50k. combination of age and mileage.

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2016, 2:10 pm

Coworker have a p11 to Lego. Qg18 engine.

Postby gastly369 » July 4th, 2016, 4:37 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Don't buy older Honda or Mitsu, parts are very hard to come by for many of them.

Buy the B14 it is still King of T&T and you can still get a door to buy in your local pharmacy for $100 and a ramsaran peanut punch with the change.

ED 50k iz for de titanium tint alone on dah specific 4teen

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 4th, 2016, 9:34 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Don't buy older Honda or Mitsu, parts are very hard to come by for many of them.

Value might go down to bout 20k without the rims
(then start negotiations lol)

Postby gastly369 » July 4th, 2016, 9:54 pm

Everytime dah 4teen pass thru de village de gyal dem does

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2016, 11:15 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Coworker have a p11 to Lego. Qg18 engine.

have to do a fs post soon.

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » July 4th, 2016, 11:17 pm

what wrong with the ek?

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2016, 11:20 pm

Crazydriver wrote:what wrong with the ek?

its a honda

Just joking eh

Crazydriver

Postby Crazydriver » July 4th, 2016, 11:28 pm

Crazydriver wrote:what wrong with the ek?

its a honda

Just joking eh

I don't own one but hoping to soon...

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » July 6th, 2016, 4:07 pm

Have and ES8 to sell soon. ULTRA reliable. Never shutdown, ultra dependable. Absolutely no problems.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 6th, 2016, 5:10 pm

D15b Civic is problems?First I'm hearing of this

Postby Team Loco » July 6th, 2016, 8:17 pm

acesinghit wrote:Good buys:

Sentra/sunny b14 with ga14/15/16
Primera p11 with sr18/20 or qg18
Almera/sunny/bluebird sylphy n16 with qg16/18 or qr20
Wingroad/ad van y11 with qg15 or qr20 or sr20
Corolla nze /fielder with 1nz-fe and 1zz-fe
Corolla ae92/101/111 with a 4a-fe or 5a-fe
Yaris with 2nz-fe
Tercel with 4e-fe or fte swap
Civic ek4 with b16a
Lancer ck4 with 4g92 or a 4g15 dohc swap
Axela/3 with mzr 1.5/1.6

Stay away from:

Corolla/Altis from Singapore with 3zz-fe
Vios/soluna
Civic with a d15 motor
Bluebird sylphy g11 hr15 and mr20
Tiida/Latio with hr15/16
Wingroad/ad van y12 with hr15
Pulsar n14 and n15
March any version
323/323F/Astina/familia
Lancer cs especially the 4g18 with cvt
Liana/swift/baleno/sx4
Impreza 1.6 ts or 1.5r
Spark 0.8, aveo 1.5 and optra 1.6/1.8
Anything used from Hyundai/Kia/ford/vw/skoda/fiat/seat/rover/Citroen/peugeot/Renault/Opel/vauxhall/Holden etc etc etc

Disagree with u on skoda. Ive owned alot. Camry, corolla' swift, audi , cs etc. Best value for money is octavia. Gives no trouble. Easy to maintain