what to expect after the amputation of a big toe?

Mta

what to expect after the amputation of a big toe?

Postby Mta » July 4th, 2016, 2:13 pm

So what to expect after the amputation of a big toe due to an accident..comment only the facts ..
Last edited by Mta on July 8th, 2016, 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: The lost of thr big toe

Postby SMc » July 4th, 2016, 2:43 pm

Mta wrote:So what to expect after the amputation of a big toe due to an accident..comment only the facts ..

Loss ability to spell the word 'the'

Improper balance..or if drunk ability to blame the loss of said big-toe on falling over

Difficulty in performing the heel-toe technique

One less digit to chop off while trying to get coconut water

if you are female (or CBH) a reduction the monthly spend on nalipolish

possibility of double posting is near certain

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 4th, 2016, 2:57 pm

Be thankful its your toe and not your toe-lee

Postby RBphoto » July 4th, 2016, 3:02 pm

hondablood

Postby hondablood » July 4th, 2016, 3:43 pm

No more toepee in football

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 4th, 2016, 3:51 pm

Mta wrote:So what to expect after the amputation of a big toe due to an accident..comment only the facts ..

Well... from second hand experience ( male cousin) there is little imbalance issues, I guess footwear would be subjective (Velcro strap ones slips off easily)...

Postby crazybalhead » July 4th, 2016, 3:55 pm

I do NOT use nalipolish.

>_<

Postby Redman » July 4th, 2016, 4:02 pm

Slippers might be an issue.
but toe nail maintenance will be faster

Postby stev » July 4th, 2016, 5:20 pm

other than the phantom limb syndrome and the inability to count to twenty.....u will be fine OP

Postby MaxPower » July 4th, 2016, 5:21 pm

Footjobs will be a little challenging..

Postby 88sins » July 4th, 2016, 5:57 pm

You ain't go be running/walkin fast for a while

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » July 4th, 2016, 6:08 pm

Look on the bright side less money for a pedicure,
No stomping of that toe again,
Nobody can't mash that toe
And less toe jam.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » July 4th, 2016, 6:10 pm

Sounds Like a lawnmower accident. Lets see. As stev said there w.ill be the phantom limb feeling. Slight imbalance which your body will compensate for and you will develop a callous at the back of your heel due to the shoe being 'slack' and rubbing against it. After area has healed you can put something soft like memory foam to build up the space.

Immediately following the surgery and for some months following you will have pain due to blood circulation issues you will have to have the foot elevated at all times until it heals.

On the bright side you may not have a toe jam issue any more on that foot.

I speak from first hand experience.

Ohhh... Very important... Try not to accidentally hit your new stump on anything because brother you will see stars and have the wind knocked out of you. :lol:

Postby 88sins » July 4th, 2016, 8:25 pm

And if yuh really missin d toe yuh could get it back.
Just hadda decide which thumb yuh use/like less.

Postby shogun » July 4th, 2016, 9:39 pm

RBphoto wrote:

Postby K74T » July 4th, 2016, 9:40 pm

Sorry toe hear that OP. All the best.

Postby rspann » July 4th, 2016, 10:21 pm

Op,after the accident you call a toe truck?

Postby rspann » July 4th, 2016, 10:25 pm

The car was a toetal loss?

Postby Morpheus » July 4th, 2016, 10:26 pm

Oh gosh spann......

No more tic-tac-..........nevermind.

Good Luck OP

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 4th, 2016, 11:36 pm

good laugh

MTA try google next time not many yound people in Trinidad has toe amputations. Most people in Trinidad who remove a toe is suffering from sugar and not taking care.

http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/arc ... 96134.html

it seems it up to the individual .

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 5th, 2016, 2:04 am

Op are you selling the toe ?

Postby RBphoto » July 5th, 2016, 9:28 am

Curtms wrote:Op are you selling the toe ?

Depends on whether or not that little piggy went to market.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 7th, 2016, 10:24 am

u go cant do big toe related activities

Postby De Dragon » July 7th, 2016, 10:40 am

Hop and drop walk, but a guy I knew who'd had his amputated seemed to do everything else just fine. This was a while ago so as far as prosthetics and stuff I'm not sure if there are options for a lost big toe

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » July 8th, 2016, 9:23 am

OP yuh have sugar?

Postby DVSTT » July 8th, 2016, 11:51 am

RBphoto wrote:
Curtms wrote:Op are you selling the toe ?

Depends on whether or not that little piggy went to market.

Lololoolo

Re: The loss of the big toe

Postby sMASH » July 8th, 2016, 2:21 pm

shoes should fit better, not a toetal catoestrophy.

no?

Re: Please delete

Postby SMc » July 9th, 2016, 9:04 am

I guess the Toe has been found and returned to its owner then?