Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby *KRONIK* » July 3rd, 2016, 4:31 pm

Where and when?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 3rd, 2016, 4:32 pm

Somewhere and ah weekend...like 5 man tide or something...

Postby *KRONIK* » July 3rd, 2016, 5:30 pm

Well keep me updated..once i can squeeze out off work i will try to be available

Postby rspann » July 3rd, 2016, 6:09 pm

Tell me when I could carry some too.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 3rd, 2016, 6:36 pm

anybody knows the scientific name for the 'white fish' that massey groceries sell? any idea why they never seem to run out of this white fish? is it farm raised?

Postby X_Factor » July 3rd, 2016, 6:37 pm

^ heard that is catfish

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 3rd, 2016, 7:02 pm

Swai ?

Postby meccalli » July 3rd, 2016, 7:14 pm

Yeah, swai or irridescent catfish/ shark, what you buy in petshops.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 3rd, 2016, 7:19 pm

meccalli wrote:Yeah, swai or irridescent catfish/ shark, what you buy in petshops.

ok. this white fish i'm talking about is fresh fish (not frozen) so i doubt it's imported. any idea who is farming it?

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2016, 7:28 pm

Whitefish could be local sea catfish, generic term

Swai is freshwater catfish farmed in Southeast Asia on a massive scale

Postby X_Factor » July 3rd, 2016, 8:13 pm

anyone knows what is the process/procedure to get a pass into tetron now?

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » July 3rd, 2016, 9:35 pm

U does get pass to go their

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » July 3rd, 2016, 9:35 pm

U does get pass to go their

proton17

Postby proton17 » July 3rd, 2016, 9:51 pm

It is regular sea catfish, some of my family used to be one of the suppliers....

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » July 3rd, 2016, 10:14 pm

Once you have links in tetron you can get a pass. A friend of a friend of mine is a coast guard officer so we does get a pass for 4 persons. You ain't know nobody in the TTCG ?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 4th, 2016, 12:37 am

Once u know someone working cg u cud get in...

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » July 4th, 2016, 2:13 am

Humm i have to check an c

Postby Redman » July 4th, 2016, 6:49 am

Corn Bird wrote:anybody knows the scientific name for the 'white fish' that massey groceries sell? any idea why they never seem to run out of this white fish? is it farm raised?

If it is SWai...it farmed in Vietnam and is heavily dosed to.speed growth.
RT did a documentary on that fish and the processing of the.meat,food and after watching that I wouldn't feed it to the dogs.

Stay far.

Postby dougla_boy » July 5th, 2016, 8:35 am

Heading out tomorrow plz God....gonan hit the tooth once the weather permits.......excited AF...cuz i never went..

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 8th, 2016, 3:05 pm

Anybody ever use one of these ole school reels?

Looking to hold grouper and maybe shark.

Penn Senator 9/0

Postby meccalli » July 8th, 2016, 3:24 pm

Yeah, but a 9/0 is pretty big. You need that for trolling and dealing with fish that take long runs because it has the capacity. It's pretty bulky for bottom fishing duty and the ratio is practically 1;1. The 6/0 high speed senators are better for all round duty.

HSA

Postby HSA » July 11th, 2016, 6:33 am

dougla_boy wrote:Heading out tomorrow plz God....gonan hit the tooth once the weather permits.......excited AF...cuz i never went..

how the fish bite??? want to head out wednesday

Postby dougla_boy » July 11th, 2016, 7:21 am

We was heading out in the tooth the boat man call it, but the swells was too much.....so we ended up out in the gulf...and we caught some nice sized fish....about 5-6 cro cro, bout 2 shark, a cat fish and a lil ling ling.....and most of that was in the a.m. we heading back out this weekend but with another boatman...doing some live bait

Postby dougla_boy » July 11th, 2016, 7:22 am

Also, meh Penn rod broke...I eh know if something fell on it or wah nuh, but it broke at the tip...any recommendations for a new rod? Ideally 5-6 ft...preferably 5...to do some banking nuh....

HSA

Postby HSA » July 11th, 2016, 7:29 am

dougla_boy wrote:Also, meh Penn rod broke...I eh know if something fell on it or wah nuh, but it broke at the tip...any recommendations for a new rod? Ideally 5-6 ft...preferably 5...to do some banking nuh....

cya fibreglass the tip?? mines broke a joint from the tip bout a yr ago, fibreglassed it and it holding up to this day....

Postby dougla_boy » July 11th, 2016, 7:35 am

I dunno nuh, it broke about 8-10 inches at the top....could it be fixed and used? Or would the strength not be there any more?

HSA

Postby HSA » July 11th, 2016, 7:39 am

dougla_boy wrote:I dunno nuh, it broke about 8-10 inches at the top....could it be fixed and used? Or would the strength not be there any more?

it could fix but the rod wouldnt flex by the fibreglass...if it flex too much then it could break on either side of the fibreglass..... if u using it for banking in the gulf for smaller fish then it would work...

what material the rod is??

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 11th, 2016, 7:48 am

Dougla
they have different tips selling just cut out the top evenly and epoxy on a new tip for a bigger rod.
loads of places sell the tip. just carry the rod and get the tip that will fit.
Only thing is the rod is shorter.
this method at least u don't have to worry about the strength being compromised.

Postby dougla_boy » July 11th, 2016, 7:57 am

I'll take pics and show u guys when I touch home...