:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby rollingstock » June 5th, 2016, 12:38 pm

kripplerz wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Bought from the guy in barrackpore. Just a table saw and a torque wrench. Quality was good and the prices was very reasonable.

Hi, you Mind saying what brand table saw you got.

A Ryobi 10"

Postby SR » June 5th, 2016, 8:43 pm

Saw pmart chag have worx 20v drills price not bad for 2 1 regular and one impact $800ish

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby supercharged turbo » June 6th, 2016, 11:50 pm

NR8 wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Anybody ever went by the guy in Barrackpore who selling the used tools?Are his prices good?Is it worth it?

Where in Barrackpore is this? You got a name or contact info?

All I know is next to the police station in Barrackpore

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » July 4th, 2016, 5:57 am

Anyone knows where I can get a 3/8 x 100 ft. air hose reel like this localy?

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/ ... _200658815

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 4th, 2016, 8:29 am

pugboy wrote:Wanna build a flat workbench, torsion box or paulk style
The cheap ply they sell now, when you rip in strips it warps all how

Why you dont you use unplanned pitch pine . it is closer to 1 inch and can handle the jamming. i have a vice on mines and a steel bender and no flexing .

Postby Ted_v2 » July 5th, 2016, 5:38 am

anyone knows where has m12 tools reasonable?
im looking for a 3/8 ratchet.
already have impact driver and LED worklight.
took advantage of father day sale. 3 batteries two tools 900$

jones81

Postby jones81 » July 5th, 2016, 9:20 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:anyone knows where has m12 tools reasonable?
im looking for a 3/8 ratchet.
already have impact driver and LED worklight.
took advantage of father day sale. 3 batteries two tools 900$

Try Allied , if not SSL , Samlalsingh business place in Marabella does have some good deals as well , also try tyre clinic in couva, dey had some old skool makita tools , made in japan , and there prices are very competitve, bought a heavy duty sander from them , was the best price and quality around .

Postby pugboy » July 5th, 2016, 9:58 pm

Allied is more of a Bosch dealer than milwaukee

Postby Ted_v2 » July 6th, 2016, 1:04 am

Allied have the same tool for 2600. Got for 900 at l&g

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 6th, 2016, 2:22 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Allied have the same tool for 2600. Got for 900 at l&g

Are you sure it is the same tool?
is the model number the same?
There are many different models of the same product which look the same but the power/current will be different.
Granted when stores have sale you do get great deals at l&g and SSL

Postby Ted_v2 » July 6th, 2016, 2:24 am

It was the m12 hex impact. Same tool. Warranty and service for 2 years at l&g. I'll confirm the price this weekend

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 6th, 2016, 3:40 am

Anyone has a track saw? Would you rate it much better than a table saw?

jones81

Postby jones81 » July 6th, 2016, 4:40 am

I dont own a track saw but from the video i think a table saw might be the better option , the track saw only looking like it four feet long and you still have to hold the track steady for u to get a precision cut , the track might be more expensive than the saw itself :?:

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » July 6th, 2016, 6:38 am

Allyuh check A1 Tools on the Saddle Rd in San Juan.

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » July 6th, 2016, 6:27 pm

Track saws are good for ripping whole sheets of ply, you can make your own for far less than buying one.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 6th, 2016, 7:37 pm

Completely different applications. Table saw much more versatile for smaller pieces.

jones81

Postby jones81 » July 6th, 2016, 9:17 pm

the track saw in my opinion is not really worth the hassle , a table saw will give you good precision cuts all the time , adjust the fence properly for repetitive cutting and it will be faster than having to set up that track saw for repetitive cuts

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 6th, 2016, 11:45 pm

kripplerz wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Bought from the guy in barrackpore. Just a table saw and a torque wrench. Quality was good and the prices was very reasonable.

Hi, you Mind saying what brand table saw you got.

A Ryobi 10"

Like Ryobi 4 small jobs.

Postby rollingstock » July 6th, 2016, 11:57 pm

Yeah its for small home projects, gets the job done.

About the track saw, I have a cheap Kreg ripcut and can't do without it now, especially ripping mdf which can be a pain with the table saw.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 7th, 2016, 11:12 am

spend u $ on a good table saw rather than just a straight edge

if u need a good edge buy a level [ sometimes i use d factory edge from a sheet of mdf ] & use 2 spring clamps ...

Postby Chimera » July 7th, 2016, 11:34 am

got this today

Includes M18 compact 1/2 in. drill driver, two M18 REDLITHIUM compact batteries, M18 and M12 Multi-V
1/2 in., single sleeve ratcheting chuck optimizes grip strength and reduces slippage
Built-in LED light illuminates surfaces for faster, more efficient work
REDLINK intelligence protects the tool against abusive overload situations to maximize tool life
Multi voltage charger features 30-minute charge time.

DESCRIPTION:
POWER TOOL

WEIGHT: 11
PCS:1

FREIGHT:
$229.87
INSURANCE:
$10.05
IMPORT VAT:
$46.75

TOTAL TTD
$286.67

so 160 US x 7 $1120 TT
plus
$290 shipping/taxes

$1410 TOTAL, for drill and 2 m18 batteries and charger

compare that to locally where

"The Tool Store
Hi , m18 batteries cost $995 and chargers $635"

i have a milwaukee spotlight that need m18 battery na.....

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » July 7th, 2016, 11:48 am

I have the M12 3/8 drill with hammer. Best purchase in a long time, runs side by side with 20v drills. Want to get the impact driver now and on amazon the bare tool is pretty cheap.

NR8

Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby NR8 » July 7th, 2016, 12:07 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
pugboy wrote:Wanna build a flat workbench, torsion box or paulk style
The cheap ply they sell now, when you rip in strips it warps all how

Why you dont you use unplanned pitch pine . it is closer to 1 inch and can handle the jamming. i have a vice on mines and a steel bender and no flexing .

How much does a sheet of this cost? Would any hardware have it? Looking to build a work table.

Postby X_Factor » July 7th, 2016, 1:27 pm

that doesnt come in sheets....more boards or planks....1x8/10/22 x what length
you can also go to a sawmill and get 1inch x10 hardboard pieces and that may be cheaper dan the pine

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 7th, 2016, 1:31 pm

Cool, thanks.

trinibourbon

Postby trinibourbon » July 7th, 2016, 9:06 pm

Any idea where I could get tamper proof screws?

Like these.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Tamper-Proof-Se ... SwMNxXVtP6

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 7th, 2016, 11:40 pm

X_Factor wrote:that doesnt come in sheets....more boards or planks....1x8/10/22 x what length
you can also go to a sawmill and get 1inch x10 hardboard pieces and that may be cheaper dan the pine

this is correct when i was building my bench i bought 1X12 x12 .
with the 12 inch wide board you have to be picky because alot have sapwood to the end so you have to go through and select.
this board is normally sold per square feet and 90% of hardware have them.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 13th, 2016, 11:36 am

Where can I get a set of brass punches and a hammer reasonable?

Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby *KRONIK* » July 13th, 2016, 12:50 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Where can I get a set of brass punches and a hammer reasonable?

I had bought my set from amazon.
I hadnt seen brass punches locally
Bhagwansingh has the stanley brand but those are steel

Postby Chimera » July 14th, 2016, 4:50 pm

i got this today

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002 ... UTF8&psc=1

looking weird but its great for cutting sheet metal/galvanize etc

i really doh like to use angle grinder. fraid the blade break and take out meh jaw