What are the repercussions of not repaying loan sharks?

dogg

What are the repercussions of not repaying loan sharks?

Postby dogg » June 27th, 2016, 10:48 am

I ask because I know of two persons in my area who committed suicide due to gambling debts. Both apparently owing money to loan sharks.

Re: What are the repercussions of not repaying loan sharks?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 27th, 2016, 10:55 am

2010-08-29-he-sleeps-with-the-fishes-1.jpg

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » June 27th, 2016, 11:01 am

Not sure if serious question.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » June 27th, 2016, 11:11 am

They did the right thing ..

dogg

Postby dogg » June 27th, 2016, 11:18 am

Its a serious question.
Couldn't they negotiate a settlement? A longer time to pay?
Wouldn't it benefit the loan shark to have the debtors alive to increase their chances of being repaid?
I'm naive with these things.

L'Audi wrote:Not sure if serious question.

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » June 27th, 2016, 11:44 am

I'm going to go on a limb here - but I assume the consequences would be dire (the details of which, both your neighbours knew) should the agreement be breached.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » June 27th, 2016, 12:10 pm

Most loan sharks pockets are deep anyways so an unpaid debt is nothing in comparison to Makin a statement by calling a shot. ..

Keeps the other customers on their toes and payments on time. .

Postby rspann » June 27th, 2016, 1:00 pm

I dont know why they are called loan sharks, people know what they are before they borrow but after when they cant pay they talk like if the lender is a criminal. Pay back the money and you have no problem. When I lend I secure the loan with a mortgage on their property, if you have no property, I not lending.

baigan

Re: RE: Re: What are the repercussions of not repaying loan sharks?

Postby baigan » June 27th, 2016, 1:09 pm

rspann wrote:I dont know why they are called loan sharks, people know what they are before they borrow but after when they cant pay they talk like if the lender is a criminal. Pay back the money and you have no problem. When I lend I secure the loan with a mortgage on their property, if you have no property, I not lending.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 27th, 2016, 1:22 pm

Rip dog

Postby DVSTT » June 27th, 2016, 2:42 pm

Why are your neighbours borrowing money to gamble in the first place?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 27th, 2016, 3:21 pm

1. Any extension of time is met with compounded costs . $1 today would be close to the order of $1.50 next week or more , most probably much more .

2. Even if an extension of time is given it is alleged that some level of softening up would take place . After all an extension would not want to be seen as a partial get away free card , if ever there were to be one .

3. It can escalate into asset seizure and it is alleged that no law enforcement can assist .

I am not a money lender , nor have borrowed money from any money lender . These persons make a living off of those with poor financial controls . I know of persons who thought they could fleece these people , only to come home to an empty house or sometimes a pile of rubble where there was a house . It can get more extreme that the average person would think .

Bottom line , these are lenders of last resort and they know this , be warned .

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » June 27th, 2016, 4:08 pm

Opie , stop hiding behing the pretext of your 'Neighbour'.

Anyways, are you gonna make it #3 from your village ???

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 27th, 2016, 6:30 pm

dogg wrote:Its a serious question.
Couldn't they negotiate a settlement? A longer time to pay?
Wouldn't it benefit the loan shark to have the debtors alive to increase their chances of being repaid?
I'm naive with these things.

L'Audi wrote:Not sure if serious question.

Nope. Better to send a message to others to pay up or else rather than have people think they can get away with owning.

...apparently

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 27th, 2016, 8:14 pm

Money lenders smiling as back pay paying. Different lenders different consequences but why borrow if you know you not going to pay back. Money lenders don't move like the banks.....they deal with the borrower in their own ways

Postby MaxPower » June 27th, 2016, 8:36 pm

They coming for you OP..

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » June 27th, 2016, 8:37 pm

Op dey say yuh owing
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (58.4 KiB) Viewed 5689 times
image.jpeg

Postby 88sins » June 27th, 2016, 9:13 pm

There is a saying op
"If you play with my money, I will play with your life"
Doh feel ppl does say it cuz it does sound kewl.

Play ghost with a man money and he could make a real ghost outta you depending on if is enough to motivate them to deal with yuh.
Best case scenario yuh go get a professional tune up. And it wont be d kind to increase yuh performance.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 28th, 2016, 12:38 am

Hospital

Postby j.o.e » June 28th, 2016, 12:39 am

RIP OP

Postby Chimera » June 28th, 2016, 6:34 am

Op even if yuh kill yuhself, yuh family guh still hadda pay

Postby gastly369 » June 28th, 2016, 6:48 am

Cut out yuh piggyleeks

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » June 28th, 2016, 6:55 am

If yuh gul nice dey would take she for a delay in payment.

Postby Les Bain » June 28th, 2016, 7:50 am

Yeah everybody circumstances different but you don't fool around when borrowing money. You especially don't fool around when borrowing from unofficial lenders.

Postby 88sins » June 28th, 2016, 9:10 am

doesn't matter if yuh borrow from an "official" lender or not. it have quite a few licensed usurers out here that just as bad if not worse than the illegal ones.

A licensed usurer could deal with you just as badly as an unlicensed one, & on top of d serious beating they might be inclined to arrange for yuh to receive, depending on their contract they would be able to levy on any assets you own or are in your possession as payment of the debt. I know one person that lost a house that way & another that lost a vehicle, they both borrowed & tried to duck, not realizing they signed a contract that stated interest will continue to accrue for the duration of time the debt remains outstanding. they had to pay interest on interest & it just kept compounding.
Sad part is tho, the guy that lost the vehicle was still owing after he lost it.

Postby Les Bain » June 28th, 2016, 9:33 am

88sins wrote:doesn't matter if yuh borrow from an "official" lender or not.

Yeah, doh matter. Should have clarified that.
It sucks for people who genuinely encounter unexpected situations that interfere with loan repayments, but the payment duckers deserve what they get.

dogg

Postby dogg » June 28th, 2016, 9:39 am

Well it seems no one here really knows how the money lenders "deal" with delinquent debtors.

Maybe the suicides had nothing to do with the money lenders and the guys were just frustrated with their gambling issues.

I'll investigate and update with info.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 28th, 2016, 10:12 am

Op are you some kinda kant ?

You or your neighbors borrow money, they simply have to pay it back... story done.

L'Audi

Postby L'Audi » June 28th, 2016, 10:26 am

So OP... How much exactly did you borrow?

dogg

Postby dogg » June 28th, 2016, 10:36 am

L'Audi wrote:So OP... How much exactly did you borrow?

threefiddy