Flow Internet Thread

novastar1

Re: RE: Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby novastar1 » June 21st, 2016, 11:25 pm

samureye wrote:What exactly caused Flow's decline in service? Are they not maintaining their system? When I had them years ago it was fine, and with each upgrade in speed things got worse and worse. Things I usually do online I can no longer do, and get random disconnects and have to reset the modem often. They show no issues on their end, so I hit a wall. Are they being sabotaged? Or do they just not care? Are things in flux in terms of upgrading/maintaining with all the acquisition stuff? I'm changing provider but they really let me down past year.

Not sure if sabotage

Or if they haven't maintained or upgraded their infrastructure..... Then put even more strain on it by increasing speeds in fear of fibre providers

lchan485

Re: RE: Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby lchan485 » June 22nd, 2016, 6:00 am

samureye wrote:What exactly caused Flow's decline in service? Are they not maintaining their system? When I had them years ago it was fine, and with each upgrade in speed things got worse and worse. Things I usually do online I can no longer do, and get random disconnects and have to reset the modem often. They show no issues on their end, so I hit a wall. Are they being sabotaged? Or do they just not care? Are things in flux in terms of upgrading/maintaining with all the acquisition stuff? I'm changing provider but they really let me down past year.

Changing to who? ...I was thinking of Digi but there modem can't be placed in bridge so may go with Massy.
As for the pass year or so Flow hasn't given an problems here In POS. I did upgrade twice to 60mb but didn't see an reasonable different in streaming to went back to 45mb

samureye

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby samureye » June 22nd, 2016, 8:13 am

Going with massy. Can you explain what you mean with the issue Digicel will give you?

lchan485

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby lchan485 » June 22nd, 2016, 10:52 pm

lchan485 wrote:

Changing to who? ...I was thinking of Digi but there modem can't be placed in bridge so may go with Massy.
As for the pass year or so Flow hasn't given an problems here In POS. I did upgrade twice to 60mb but didn't see an reasonable different in streaming to went back to 45mb

Not being able to bridge the modem,you can't use your own router for port forwarding ,NAS ,Remote access to Camares etc..saw some ppl on Digi FB page asking about some modem software upgrade they promised but still hasn't reach .that would allow Bridging. I see massy can just provide internet access without routing.so you are able to use own router. I have Flow modem only so I use my router. But if they bring the AVS on my side there Moca modem with the blue lights can't be Bridge.. And I'll prefer to keep using my own router.
But if Digi fixes that issue , it would workout fine as there prices look better

ulquiorra.tt

Postby ulquiorra.tt » June 23rd, 2016, 10:19 pm

Question on Flow's 30 MB Package.

For a while now, Flow's advertised second package is 30MB, replacing the 15MB. They did not automatically upgrade people to 30 from 15, you had to call them. However after reviewing comments on the Flow FB page, I see that a lot of people had major connection issues after having this switch done, and some recommended leaving it be for the while.

At this point, does anyone know if this has been resolved? Is it good now to get the switch to 30 done, or are people still having major connection issues after having it done? I have been having some issues lately with the connection slowing down in the late evening, and a modem reboot resolves it for a while. Haven't called them yet about it, considering finally requesting the changeover and seeing if that may resolve it one time.

Thanks.

brickman

Postby brickman » June 24th, 2016, 12:16 am

Speaking for myself the upgrade was automatic,woke up one morning to it then saw the ad later on fb.Sounds like you have too many heavy users on your node as that is the time of day that most people come online.Get some of the neighbors to complain to them with you,should speed up them doing something about it.Connection wise it was fine for me.

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » June 25th, 2016, 9:12 am

This is when they had the offer that went something like for $10 more you could double your speed ent? Yeah... I didn't bother because anyone who had above 15 that I know complained about not getting what they were paying for. On my flow account page it still says "Legacy 15mbps package" or something like that. Never really had problems except for the occasional maintenance outage, which only on like 1 occasion lasted more than a day. Speeds have been pretty good to me too usually. I did actually want to switch to Digi, but reallll people complaining.

brickman

Postby brickman » June 25th, 2016, 12:32 pm

It was the free upgrade from 30 to 45 they where doing,if the service is good for you keep it.No need to jump over to something else & run into problems cause not everyone is happy with digi/massy either.

konartis

Postby konartis » June 26th, 2016, 11:04 am

Flow has been giving problems for the last month now with the internet speeds, but when ever u call then, its fixed for a few days

jm3

Postby jm3 » June 26th, 2016, 1:33 pm

I've had no internet since Monday that makes it one week I called them Tuesday and they said the earliest s tech could come is the following Tuesday that is real sheit.

HSA

Postby HSA » June 27th, 2016, 6:36 am

jm3 wrote:I've had no internet since Monday that makes it one week I called them Tuesday and they said the earliest s tech could come is the following Tuesday that is real sheit.

get use to it...my net and video was on and off for approx 3 weeks....tech wasnt there till the 2nd week...when he came he said he was just there to see what is the problem and another tech will ahve to be rescheduled to fix the problem...wtf....called and lodged a formal complaint...another guy was there on the 3rd week and rewired the house...it started working then..got that month's fee waived so i not complaining....

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 4th, 2016, 11:17 pm

hi everyone called flow to have internet installed and they was telling me about the AVS bundle, anyone here know about it should i just take internet or the bundle which they are offering

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 5th, 2016, 7:12 am

Just got the AVS some days ago, works out well as I'm getting more channels and more internet plus phone for less than what we used to pay.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 5th, 2016, 8:57 am

fred1266 wrote:hi everyone called flow to have internet installed and they was telling me about the AVS bundle, anyone here know about it should i just take internet or the bundle which they are offering

I've had it for some time. No problems with it really. One thing that might be a little annoyance to some people is that the TV guide on the avs does not show the year of the program in the description. Probably a software bug that can be fixed.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 5th, 2016, 9:22 am

mojosodope wrote:
fred1266 wrote:hi everyone called flow to have internet installed and they was telling me about the AVS bundle, anyone here know about it should i just take internet or the bundle which they are offering

I've had it for some time. No problems with it really. One thing that might be a little annoyance to some people is that the TV guide on the avs does not show the year of the program in the description. Probably a software bug that can be fixed.

ok thanks

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 5th, 2016, 9:28 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Just got the AVS some days ago, works out well as I'm getting more channels and more internet plus phone for less than what we used to pay.

which package you took and area you from

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 5th, 2016, 10:57 am

Arima....package for 449 they "upgraded" us to

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 5th, 2016, 11:05 am

d.d.s. wrote:Really fed up and frustrated with Flow's service over the past few months.
Pages are always either "connecting", "waiting for", or "the site cannot be reached"
And till now I can't get a hold of a CSR on the phone.

Can anybody recommend any other provider for the Barataria area?
I'm thinking of taking a blink bundle. I had blink a few years ago and never had any problems with their connection. It was just bandwidth vs price.

he mate is your internet still giving trouble

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » July 6th, 2016, 8:21 pm

^^ Not a whole lot anymore. It still plays up now and then, but for me, it has improved a bit.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 15th, 2016, 5:04 pm

hi everyone just go my arris router from flow, should connect wirelessly to 2.4 or 5.0 Ghz

Postby teems1 » July 15th, 2016, 5:15 pm

fred1266 wrote:hi everyone just go my arris router from flow, should connect wirelessly to 2.4 or 5.0 Ghz

The 5.0 Ghz is faster but has a shorter range. If your router is located close to your Smart TV, Roku, Chromecast, PS4 etc, it's better to use the 5.0Ghz network.

The 2.4 has a longer range, so use that when you can't see the 5.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 15th, 2016, 7:25 pm

teems1 wrote:
fred1266 wrote:hi everyone just go my arris router from flow, should connect wirelessly to 2.4 or 5.0 Ghz

The 5.0 Ghz is faster but has a shorter range. If your router is located close to your Smart TV, Roku, Chromecast, PS4 etc, it's better to use the 5.0Ghz network.

The 2.4 has a longer range, so use that when you can't see the 5.

thanks

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 15th, 2016, 8:50 pm

hi there currently have the new AVS boxes does the USB on the box work

thanks in advance

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 16th, 2016, 10:18 pm

Anybody else have their phone data being more reliable than this Flow Internet?

I actually found myself switching to data from wifi for a more stable connection... WTF?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 17th, 2016, 11:06 am

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 17th, 2016, 11:34 am

why utorrent so slow with flow only getting 40 mbs but when i switch back on my blink am getting 450 mbs

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 18th, 2016, 2:22 am

Looking back at this thread now I feel so blessed that my Flow works considering what I had to put up with. I feel sorry for many of you though, I know the struggle. And the best part is if you think that you can't wait for Digicel to arrive you gonna have to think again. Look at the Digicel thread on tuner its as bad as Flow. That Chiney man tech they use like it fail apparently.

neexis

Postby neexis » July 18th, 2016, 6:29 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Looking back at this thread now I feel so blessed that my Flow works considering what I had to put up with. I feel sorry for many of you though, I know the struggle. And the best part is if you think that you can't wait for Digicel to arrive you gonna have to think again. Look at the Digicel thread on tuner its as bad as Flow. That Chiney man tech they use like it fail apparently.

What's your point? That you feel sorry for people with Flow, but that it's still better than Digicel? ED do you work for Flow? Your holy water blessed flow connection has been posted here ad nauseam.

Flow has been good for the past few years for me, including a business account. But with connections in north and south, their service has really gone to sheit over the past few months.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 18th, 2016, 6:41 am

My torrents are slow these days. I am at the 60mb connection yet torrents coming down at 500kbps when they used to come down at 2mb to 5mb :(

Maybe I getting throttled so I have to not download anything for a week on Utorrent.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » July 18th, 2016, 7:00 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:My torrents are slow these days. I am at the 60mb connection yet torrents coming down at 500kbps when they used to come down at 2mb to 5mb :(

Maybe I getting throttled so I have to not download anything for a week on Utorrent.

500 kbps still good i getting 40 max