Postby nixonliketheprez » June 10th, 2016, 3:22 pm

700k for a US35k vehicle???

Re: So a Tesla has reached sweet trinidad

Postby pete » June 10th, 2016, 3:40 pm

TurboDrive wrote:Lol @ Pete

Habit7 wrote:
TurboDrive wrote:How they charging that?

You can buy a home charging station

Thanks Habit. This is what I was hoping to hear.

These have on board charging and have a plug that works with a normal 115V outlet. Or you can get a faster charger etc.

@3:25

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2016, 3:43 pm

So nobody knows the taxation scheme on it ?

Postby pete » June 10th, 2016, 3:48 pm

"Soon all taxes will be removed"

So I guess it hasn't been done yet. Brought in something electric and we had to pay MVT this week as well. (not a car)

These are 66-75kUS not 35k.. :\

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 10th, 2016, 4:11 pm

nixonliketheprez

Postby nixonliketheprez » June 10th, 2016, 4:29 pm

pete wrote:"Soon all taxes will be removed"

So I guess it hasn't been done yet. Brought in something electric and we had to pay MVT this week as well. (not a car)

These are 66-75kUS not 35k.. :\

Oh yea thats for the model 3

Postby Habit7 » June 10th, 2016, 4:32 pm

aaron17 wrote:
amd-dude wrote:The owner should play he sleeping and put on the auto pilot, freak some people out.

jus wanna know if a tesla smart enough to know Trinidad have roads. Some roads don't even have lines on them lol

You won't mind if I surprise you by saying that in the US and UK there are roads without markings as well? The autopilot uses Google Maps and visible white lines where available, don't see why it can't work here.

jones81

Postby jones81 » June 10th, 2016, 7:23 pm

At one time I used to repair electric forklifts , was the smoothest running vehicles that you could get , battery used to hold charge for a long time as well , trinidad is well suited for such vehicles , charging twice per week might just be enough , or just a top up in the night should be fine , will not see too many people converting to SR , might actually see more people converting to electric in the near future an sharing licks to IC engine :shock:

Postby rspann » June 10th, 2016, 8:30 pm

Just cross 80 kmh with it and you getting charged.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 10th, 2016, 8:33 pm

If only it was positive charge... instead ah negative charge...

:(

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » June 10th, 2016, 9:17 pm

I would love to own one. I hope the price won't be ridiculous...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 11th, 2016, 12:29 am

I would advise not to buy from this company unless officially sanctioned by Tesla motors. No history in T&T, they can sell you a car and fold up tomorrow. Also Tesla is well known for refusing to sell through dealerships, they only sell directly to customers.

These cars are too highly technical and software and hardware wise for me to trust some third party seller to do any repairs.

Postby A172 » June 11th, 2016, 12:50 am

ppl hv to actually buy for that to happen so that company aint hv nun to worry abt

screwbash

Postby screwbash » June 11th, 2016, 5:09 am

all these electric tings with a brain will soon rise up and kill us all.

jones81

Postby jones81 » June 11th, 2016, 5:21 am

the technology to run this car is probably less complicated than your average fuel injected car , not sure how complicated tesla has made it but there was far less sensors and gadgets to monitor performance on electric forklifts . with all the bells and whistles removed this technology is reasonably simple will still have to do diagnostics though.

Postby SR » June 11th, 2016, 5:34 am

The vehicle will require a certified mechanic to work on.......this aint your regular 12volt system and the batteries cannot be bought over the counter. It has way more technology in it than an electric forkflift

jones81

Postby jones81 » June 11th, 2016, 5:46 am

SR wrote:The vehicle will require a certified mechanic to work on.......this aint your regular 12volt system and the batteries cannot be bought over the counter. It has way more technology in it than an electric forkflift

Mechanic certified or not should not even go near that , either electronic technician or men who trained in variable frequency drives , forktrucks were 48 V dc system converted back to three phase running through induction motors with the necessary IGBT"s and oscilloscope cards and voltage converters and optional programming features to regenerate the battery , simple stuff for a good technician.

Kinday

Postby Kinday » June 11th, 2016, 7:30 am

It's a great car nonetheless. I paid a visit to a Tesla display in London last year and got a few pics. It was the best I could do after the sales rep quoted £55000. I guess he saw my withdrawal and offered that they were working on a hatch type with a lower price point too lol. That turned out to be the Model 3... Glad to see that it's finally here with the options for purchase. It should suit Trini fine....**Goals [FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY]

Postby A172 » June 11th, 2016, 8:12 am

trinis doz run from cvt & 4wd dey go buy electric?
same thing when govt mention hybrid exemptions d other day all these pests harassing ppl abt it & dey aint buying sheit

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 11th, 2016, 8:47 am

But they so boring
Can't even drive proper manual with that

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 11th, 2016, 9:12 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:But they so boring

Manual transmission? Was dat?
Sounds like something from the Jurassic period, extinct.

What next, you go be telling us about joys of shoveling coal into a steam engine?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 11th, 2016, 9:20 am

drchaos wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:But they so boring

Manual transmission? Was dat?
Sounds like something from the Jurassic period, extinct.

What next, you go be telling us about joys of shoveling coal into a steam engine?

Manual transmissions should stay for IC engines I find. Top bad they getting phased out.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 11th, 2016, 9:22 am

The ting with these electric is the silence and the acceleration. Electric doh even need to change gears. Smooth fuh so. Plus yuh disable the speaker effect and yuh on stealth mode, only tyre noise.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 11th, 2016, 9:42 am

Electrification is the future and with that manual transmissions done. Norway already planning to ban cars with IC engines and EU soon gonna implement ban for pure IC cars in cities.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 11th, 2016, 9:59 am

drchaos wrote:Electrification is the future and with that manual transmissions done. Norway already planning to ban cars with IC engines and EU soon gonna implement ban for pure IC cars in cities.

Great for tree huggers. Not if you actually care about driving though.

Postby nervewrecker » June 11th, 2016, 10:51 am

I dont understand how we can remove taxes on something that uses our subsidized electricity to charge. We use gas to make electricity and removed the subsidy on gas for IC engines but encouraging vehicles that take advantage of out electricity subsidy.

jones81

Postby jones81 » June 11th, 2016, 10:57 am

Yup , the motors are constant torque, really no need for a transmission , the motors are reversible as well so you dont even need a transmission for reverse.

jones81

Postby jones81 » June 11th, 2016, 11:03 am

Maybe if petrotrin cud keep the cost of refining down we could stick to IC , but nat gas is burnt directly in the gas turbines that produce power an everyone has power at home , no need to refine nat gas,an we have plenty, so it cheaper.