Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 17th, 2016, 1:58 pm

computercentral wrote:The l300 I have is 2505kg

U should post a pic up of that van cause this doesn't seem right at all

Postby pete » May 17th, 2016, 2:30 pm

L300 is the panel van eh. L200 is the pickup.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » May 17th, 2016, 4:00 pm

Are there any open tray vans with an MGW of less than 2540KG?

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2016, 4:04 pm

Older pickups

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby adnj » May 17th, 2016, 8:33 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:

I saw one today that was 2505 kg. I'm sure that the L300 has multiple engine and wheelbase specs.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 18th, 2016, 12:57 pm

like all dem popo on lunch? plenty ah dem NAvara, Ranger and Hilux Spaceships start back flying over 65kms. LIke dem wanna lorse dem chrome rims for ah $6000 FINE ah wha!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 18th, 2016, 1:06 pm

BRZ wrote:like all dem popo on lunch? plenty ah dem NAvara, Ranger and Hilux Spaceships start back flying over 65kms. LIke dem wanna lorse dem chrome rims for ah $6000 FINE ah wha!

Between you and de beatup I don't know who worse in terms of skewing and wrong info. There is no fine for $6000 for speeding.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 18th, 2016, 1:36 pm

LOL ^^^ I know that but you know dem Navara jivers wrong and strong and think they own the road, so you know they will want to challenge the ticket and end up using the $6000 to pay the fine instead of new 22's.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 18th, 2016, 1:40 pm

^^^ :lol: you used to post by the name ripebreadfruit or something so before?

Postby tr1ad » May 18th, 2016, 2:03 pm

BRZ... ah van man touch yuh battam oar

Postby rollingstock » May 18th, 2016, 2:12 pm

No he touched his wif..................

*connection dropped*

Postby K74T » May 18th, 2016, 2:44 pm

Postby wagonrunner » May 18th, 2016, 7:16 pm

this is not being enforced. every time i'm on the highway, there are vehicles which should be maxed at 65 doing 80 and over.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 18th, 2016, 7:32 pm

wagonrunner wrote:this is not being enforced. every time i'm on the highway, there are vehicles which should be maxed at 65 doing 80 and over.

Thats joke...i driving @79.9km/h and loaded trucks (including a SKTL gas truck) doing over 100km/h and passing me, normal normal.

In fact..i realize i am the biggest a
@sshole on the roads...cuz all the navaras and rangers and tiidas riding my bumper and passing me.

And i am not saying this to be judgemental...but its literally all the navaras/rangers/tiidas that seem to be most impatient drivers around...

Yet...somehow....the day i do 82km/h i go get ketch/ticketed...

Postby wagonrunner » May 18th, 2016, 7:38 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Yet...somehow....the day i do 82km/h i go get ketch/ticketed...

have the same problem, which is why they should be out all the damn time.
Others breaking the limit freesheet, but i hadda worry if change in rpm with the cvt or clutching puts me over 80. and both vehicles quickly cross 80 going downhill on the highway with foot off pedal.

and being aggressively pulled on by speeding trucks / vans. steups.

hindian

Postby hindian » May 18th, 2016, 7:51 pm

adnj wrote:

I saw one today that was 2505 kg. I'm sure that the L300 has multiple engine and wheelbase specs.

As far as I can tell, all the l300s came 4d56 which has a 2.5 liter capacity and 5 speed manual gearbox. I have only ever seen one thay came with a factory installed gas engine and no power steering but the MGW and TARE weights were always the same 2505 and 1380. What I dont understand is I drive an e25 panel van and the MGW is 3100kgs therefore it requires class 4 permit to drive it and a padna has the almost identical vehicle but the MGW is 2900kgs and it could be driven with class 3...

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 18th, 2016, 8:08 pm

hindian wrote:. . . What I dont understand is I drive an e25 panel van and the MGW is 3100kgs therefore it requires class 4 permit to drive it and a padna has the almost identical vehicle but the MGW is 2900kgs and it could be driven with class 3...

What do you mean by "almost identical"? Same model year? Same engine size? Were they both bought from the local dealer (Massy Motors) or are they foreign used? If they were foreign used, did they both originate from the same country? Perhaps the suspension set ups are slightly different in terms of load carrying capacity?

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2016, 8:09 pm

Foreign used comes mostly less than the 2954kg

bossmann

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby bossmann » May 18th, 2016, 8:16 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
hindian wrote:. . . What I dont understand is I drive an e25 panel van and the MGW is 3100kgs therefore it requires class 4 permit to drive it and a padna has the almost identical vehicle but the MGW is 2900kgs and it could be driven with class 3...

What do you mean by "almost identical"? Same model year? Same engine size? Were they both bought from the local dealer (Massy Motors) or are they foreign used? If they were foreign used, did they both originate from the same country? Perhaps the suspension set ups are slightly different in terms of load carrying capacity?

I can confirm what he's speaking about. Got an e25 also. MGW is 3090kg and tare is 1970kg. Got a friend with the identical vehicle with similar weights, however he had his weighed and it was 2100 tare. I have seen some with the 2xxxkg tare (most likely were legitimately registered). This is all because of LO bobbol. My vehicle didn't reach LO to be weighed for registration at any point as the dealer had "links" in LO and this is what goes on with most of these vehicles.

Postby nervewrecker » May 18th, 2016, 8:55 pm

This 65km/h is stress yes. feels like I walking.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby adnj » May 18th, 2016, 10:06 pm

hindian wrote:
adnj wrote:

As far as I can tell, all the l300s came 4d56 which has a 2.5 liter capacity and 5 speed manual gearbox. I have only ever seen one thay came with a factory installed gas engine and no power steering but the MGW and TARE weights were always the same 2505 and 1380. What I dont understand is I drive an e25 panel van and the MGW is 3100kgs therefore it requires class 4 permit to drive it and a padna has the almost identical vehicle but the MGW is 2900kgs and it could be driven with class 3...

There are two diesels that were manufactured. Turbo and non-turbo. GVW can change due to wheel and tire specs. It can also change due to the spring rate of the suspension. Those light commercial vehicles can be fleet special ordered with specual batteries, fuel filters, low profile tites, etc. All of them built at the same plant.

Postby wagonrunner » May 18th, 2016, 10:35 pm

hindian wrote:As far as I can tell, all the l300s came 4d56 which has a 2.5 liter capacity and 5 speed manual gearbox. I have only ever seen one thay came with a factory installed gas engine and no power steering but the MGW and TARE weights were always the same 2505 and 1380. What I dont understand is I drive an e25 panel van and the MGW is 3100kgs therefore it requires class 4 permit to drive it and a padna has the almost identical vehicle but the MGW is 2900kgs and it could be driven with class 3...

class 4 used to be needed for over 2540, it was since changed to over 2950 so class 3 would allow for newer model rangers. as for 200kg difference, no idea what kit would cause that, except for it being extra long.

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2016, 3:06 am

I don't think that is correct, at least the timing of the mgw change
I have heavy t license long before those newer Rangers, tcz ?

I remember the regs exam used 6500lbs as the class 4 distinction, i.e. 2954kg or 2950 as they seem to have rounded off
When I did the exam all class distinctions in lbs, not kg

Postby ronsin1 » May 19th, 2016, 5:06 am

It is some pressure driving at 65 km/h however I have learnt to relax and enjoy the surrounding which cruising down the highway

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2016, 5:23 am

Pay attention to the road, pls.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 19th, 2016, 6:30 am

pugboy wrote:I don't think that is correct, at least the timing of the mgw change
I have heavy t license long before those newer Rangers, tcz ?

I remember the regs exam used 6500lbs as the class 4 distinction, i.e. 2954kg or 2950 as they seem to have rounded off
When I did the exam all class distinctions in lbs, not kg

This is what i know also....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 19th, 2016, 7:24 am

All this discussion over a L300?

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2016, 7:47 am

Would one be able to get the mgw legally lowered compared to what the manufacturer specifies?

I mean, if u know u not going to tote all kinda ting, why certify it to tote all kinda ting?