Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

2WNBoost

Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby 2WNBoost » May 13th, 2016, 12:58 pm

Fellow tuners forgive me for not knowing or checking, but where is the schedule that outlines the penalties for speeding?
I came across an article from 2015 which says the fine is $6,000. At the time the drunk driving fines were also increased.
Can someone clarify and provide a link to the actual penalties.
Thanks.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Big ... 75441.html

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2016, 2:10 pm

Yeah, going round bends. On some minor roads the range usually between 80 and 65. Some spot where there was actually 50 signs, it was better to go 40., due to incline, decline, banking, curvature.

This all leads me to believe there is discrepancy between the calculated models and real world performance.

But tha law iz tha law!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 13th, 2016, 2:59 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Fellow tuners forgive me for not knowing or checking, but where is the schedule that outlines the penalties for speeding?
I came across an article from 2015 which says the fine is $6,000. At the time the drunk driving fines were also increased.
Can someone clarify and provide a link to the actual penalties.
Thanks.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Big ... 75441.html

That was my understanding at the time as well - the $6000 was outrageous though, especially if they are charging from 83km

originalbling

Postby originalbling » May 13th, 2016, 3:31 pm

not sure if there is an amendment or other order, but I only seeing this:

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /48.52.pdf

page 19

68. Exceeding the specified speed limit
Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act,
Ch. 48:50,
section 62(1) 1,000.00 30

And Section 62(1) states:

CONDITIONS RELATING TO THE USE OF ROADS
(1) Subject as hereinafter provided, it shall not be lawful
for any person to drive a motor vehicle of any class or description
on any road—
(a)
outside a built-up area at a speed greater than the
speed specified in the Second Schedule as the
maximum speed in relation to a vehicle of that
class or description;
(b)
within a built-up area at a speed greater than the
class or description;
(c)
whether outside or within a built-up area, in respect
of which a special speed limit is imposed, at a
speed exceeding the special speed limit imposed
in relation to a vehicle of that class or description.

(5) Any person who drives a motor vehicle on any road
in contravention of the provisions of subsection (1) is liable to a
fine of four thousand dollars and to be disqualified from holding
or obtaining a driving permit for such period as the Court shall
think fit.
It shall be a good defence for any person charged with having
contravened subsection (1)

starts on page 51 of this document:
http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /48.50.pdf

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 13th, 2016, 3:43 pm

Hope they raise the limit soon..missing 140-150km/h

novastar1

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby novastar1 » May 13th, 2016, 3:55 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Hope they raise the limit soon..missing 140-150km/h

Racedriverpro eh?
Couldn't help but notice

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 13th, 2016, 4:32 pm

:| People are still talking out of their ass about what the speed limit should be. All I am seeing being bandied about is how their vehicle handles the corners and calculated models not matching real world models. These people are actually very selfish as they assume their individual characteristics (mental and physical) and their vehicles' characteristics apply to everyone else who use the roads.

Not a single thought about driver behaviour/performance. Not a single thought about information handling by drivers at increased speed. Not a single thought about noise pollution. Not a single thought about vehicle pollution.

Ignorance is bliss.

Anyway, today I enjoyed trundling along the highway at 80km/h and along the main roads at 50km/h.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 13th, 2016, 5:27 pm

originalbling wrote:not sure if there is an amendment or other order, but I only seeing this:

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /48.52.pdf

page 19

68. Exceeding the specified speed limit
Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act,
Ch. 48:50,
section 62(1) 1,000.00 30

And Section 62(1) states:

CONDITIONS RELATING TO THE USE OF ROADS
(1) Subject as hereinafter provided, it shall not be lawful
for any person to drive a motor vehicle of any class or description
on any road—
(a)
outside a built-up area at a speed greater than the
class or description;
(b)
within a built-up area at a speed greater than the
class or description;
(c)
whether outside or within a built-up area, in respect
of which a special speed limit is imposed, at a
speed exceeding the special speed limit imposed
in relation to a vehicle of that class or description.

(5) Any person who drives a motor vehicle on any road
in contravention of the provisions of subsection (1) is liable to a
fine of four thousand dollars and to be disqualified from holding
or obtaining a driving permit for such period as the Court shall
think fit.
It shall be a good defence for any person charged with having
contravened subsection (1)

starts on page 51 of this document:
http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /48.50.pdf

Thanks.
I'll look through the documents when I get some time.
An amendment would have been passed for the fine to go from $4,000 to $6,000.
It's likely a case of the website not being updated.

Im interested in finding the relevant section/s which determine the circumstances for application of the specific fines.

Postby Morpheus » May 13th, 2016, 5:27 pm

Boxcart Banton.....

Unaffected mostly. Traffic both ways.

Maxed at 50kph (avg 36kph) from Valsayn to Orange Grove lights on Wed after 6pm.

Pain

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 13th, 2016, 5:41 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote::| People are still talking out of their ass about what the speed limit should be. All I am seeing being bandied about is how their vehicle handles the corners and calculated models not matching real world models. These people are actually very selfish as they assume their individual characteristics (mental and physical) and their vehicles' characteristics apply to everyone else who use the roads.

Not a single thought about driver behaviour/performance. Not a single thought about information handling by drivers at increased speed. Not a single thought about noise pollution. Not a single thought about vehicle pollution.

Ignorance is bliss.

Anyway, today I enjoyed trundling along the highway at 80km/h and along the main roads at 50km/h.

Ey I will have you know that my car is German built and tyre speed rating for 240 Kmph, never did I say everyone should break the speed limit like me ... People driving B12 with tyres made in Shandong Province should obey the speed limit!

I had a lovelee morning drive to work at 120 kph driving one car behind a Popo xtrail driving like he shoe had lead in it.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 13th, 2016, 7:59 pm

drchaos wrote:Ey I will have you know that my car is German built and tyre speed rating for 240 Kmph, never did I say everyone should break the speed limit like me. . .

You could get "V" rated tyres for a Trabant? Damn, I learn something new everyday.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 13th, 2016, 8:15 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
drchaos wrote:Ey I will have you know that my car is German built and tyre speed rating for 240 Kmph, never did I say everyone should break the speed limit like me. . .

You could get "V" rated tyres for a Trabant? Damn, I learn something new everyday.

Old school ! Das ist how we roll. 0X

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 13th, 2016, 9:19 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote::| People are still talking out of their ass about what the speed limit should be. All I am seeing being bandied about is how their vehicle handles the corners and calculated models not matching real world models. These people are actually very selfish as they assume their individual characteristics (mental and physical) and their vehicles' characteristics apply to everyone else who use the roads.

Ignorance is bliss.

Good points. But i think you missing one thing, if speed limit is raised to 100 or 120, doesn't mean everyone must drive at that speed. It's the MAX limit. People tend to drive what they're comfortable with. If you comfortable at 80, drive 80. Nobody putting a gun to your head to make you drive the speed limit, if raised.
Also, I'm not sure how much more real noise pollution there's gonna be from 80-100 or even 120km/hr. Vehicles tend to be between 2-3000rpm at those speeds. Don't think they'll make much of a difference.
I've also read some studies and articles previously where driving slower can cause increased vehicle (CO) pollution. That was some years back. Depends on the vehicle though..

Postby 16 cycles » May 13th, 2016, 9:29 pm

Alot easier for cars to filter onto the highway now...the average car / driver would not have been able to match the 110/120kmph average before off a short ramp to filter safely...

That said...they need to do something about the entrance onto the eastbound (if you're coming from North) from curepe...that layby is short....

Postby Morpheus » May 13th, 2016, 10:04 pm

Steups. I don't even consider that an on-ramp (different to a layby). The original on-ramp was used up to widen the eastbound.
Of course not everyone stops there. Some expect it to be an on-ramp and therefore drive straight out unto the highway. Trini doh read street signs and road markings.

Oh, people using the on-ramp as an illegal overtaking lane also piss me off. In front Nestlé notorious for that.....
Last edited by Morpheus on May 13th, 2016, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2016, 10:11 pm

Ignorance is bliss.

so raising it to 100 should be offensive. all the thoughts about behaviour and driver performance would be out the door, if 80 is replaced by 100.
shouldn't u be up in arms, lobbying the gubament to stop their pandering? this move would cost a lot more lives.

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby Dizzy28 » May 13th, 2016, 11:09 pm

16 cycles wrote:Alot easier for cars to filter onto the highway now...the average car / driver would not have been able to match the 110/120kmph average before off a short ramp to filter safely...

That said...they need to do something about the entrance onto the eastbound (if you're coming from North) from curepe...that layby is short....

It's not a layby...it a traffic light controlled access which no one seems to bother with.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » May 14th, 2016, 12:15 am

Plenty cars in TnT especially older ones dont even have a working speedometer. So some ppl doh even know how fast dey going anyway....dem is de guys that go be getting stopped a lot...Men go hadda start fixin dey speedo now

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 14th, 2016, 2:22 am

Do what I did a while back.... Have someone drive at 80, follow them and note the RPM. This method works best in a manual and only if your tach is still functional.

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby pete » May 14th, 2016, 8:59 am

16 cycles wrote:Alot easier for cars to filter onto the highway now...the average car / driver would not have been able to match the 110/120kmph average before off a short ramp to filter safely...

It's not a layby...it a traffic light controlled access which no one seems to bother with.

Exactly, it has a flashing red light there which means to stop and proceed when safe to do so.

Postby Morpheus » May 14th, 2016, 9:03 am

They don't obey the light on the other side as well anyway (to head north to Curepe). Is horn and glare for you lol

Doh Brakes

Postby Doh Brakes » May 14th, 2016, 9:14 am

Hello All,

This sudden reintroduction of the enforcement of speed limits was clearly not thought out, as with a lot of things in all administrations in T&T.

With the amount of safety features in vehicles these days compared to when the speed limit was originally introduced in a time when wearing seatbelts were not the law surely we could get an increase in speed. But are we as trinbagonians ready for an increase?

With bribes being made to get a drivers license, with road conditions as they are, with our mentality of excess and don't care. Can we really say we can handle our need for speed?

Take a listen to T&T's podcast Doh Brakes where two trinbagonians tackle the issues plaguing the beautiful twin island republic we call home.

For those on the SoundCloud check us out here - https://soundcloud.com/doh-brakes/doh-b ... -wah-speed

For YouTube lovers - https://youtu.be/a9oTw9iUf5s

All feedback is appreciated give us a shout at dohbrakestt@gmail.com, @DohBrakes or www.facebook.com/dohbrakes

P.S.- To the mods I don't mean to spam & I hope this is not considered as such. Simply bringing another avenue for trinis to discuss the issues. #ilovetrinituner & keep up the good work.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 14th, 2016, 10:23 am

sMASH wrote:so raising it to 100 should be offensive. all the thoughts about behaviour and driver performance would be out the door, if 80 is replaced by 100.
shouldn't u be up in arms, lobbying the gubament to stop their pandering? this move would cost a lot more lives.

:| I now realise that you are functionally illiterate. If you have read my posts in this thread, you would understand the position that I have taken with the scientific justifications I have given. You, however, are just pulling your proposed speed limit literally out of your own ass. You obviously would not be talking like that if you ever drove your pickup loaded to the MGW and/or towing a trailer. Let us not forget what is the purpose of a commercial goods vehicle. I don't believe "Being a Poser" was a reason given in the laws of T&T for registering a vehicle as a commercial goods vehicle.

Go read the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) publication "A Policy on Geometric Design of Highways and Streets" to see the process of designing roads before you make your ignorant statements about what the speed limit should be. You should be able to understand the concepts given in Chapter 1 of the publication. The roads in T&T are currently designed following the guidelines given in this publication.

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2016, 10:37 am

To many ppl using pickups as flams. Many have never pulled a trailer or even loaded it to the MGW.
Some never even used the 4x4 and maybe don't know how to use it.

Pick ups all went wrong when they started to bring in Automatics. Women drive them more than ever and they real hazards on the roads.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » May 14th, 2016, 10:48 am

Don't know much about turbo charged vehicles preventative operations but is driving a turbo charged vehicle at 50 - 55mph good for the engine. I am guessing No. Any experts know ?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 14th, 2016, 12:02 pm

The only thing you need to do to care for a turbo is change oil regularly and allow it to cool after "running" it

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2016, 12:22 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
sMASH wrote:so raising it to 100 should be offensive. all the thoughts about behaviour and driver performance would be out the door, if 80 is replaced by 100.

:| I now realise that you are functionally illiterate. If you have read my posts in this thread, you would understand the position that I have taken with the scientific justifications I have given. You, however, are just pulling your proposed speed limit literally out of your own ass. You obviously would not be talking like that if you ever drove your pickup loaded to the MGW and/or towing a trailer. Let us not forget what is the purpose of a commercial goods vehicle. I don't believe "Being a Poser" was a reason given in the laws of T&T for registering a vehicle as a commercial goods vehicle.

Go read the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) publication "A Policy on Geometric Design of Highways and Streets" to see the process of designing roads before you make your ignorant statements about what the speed limit should be. You should be able to understand the concepts given in Chapter 1 of the publication. The roads in T&T are currently designed following the guidelines given in this publication.

speed limit at 80- anything above 80 is unsafe.
speed limit adjusted to 100- gubbament say it safe, so it safe. science not relevant any more.
if it is unsafe because of scientific principles, then the increase to 100 should be made into a big issue by those partial to the 80.
if there is no beat up, there wasn't a problem.

there was no time i was in favor of increasing the speed limit for registered good vehicles.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 14th, 2016, 12:41 pm

sMASH wrote:speed limit at 80- anything above 80 is unsafe.
speed limit adjusted to 100- gubbament say it safe, so it safe. science not relevant any more.
if it is unsafe because of scientific principles, then the increase to 100 should be made into a big issue by those partial to the 80.
if there is no beat up, there wasn't a problem.

there was no time i was in favor of increasing the speed limit for registered good vehicles.

Okay, we have established that you are definitely functionally illiterate. Let me summarise what I have said so far to see if I can help you understand my rational for keeping the 80km/h speed limit.

1) The design speed for our recently designed and built highways is 100km/h.
2) The speed limit can therefore be increased to 100km/h if the criteria upon which the design was based existing in the real world.
3) The criteria upon which the designs were based generally do not exist in the real world because of our poor road infrastructure maintenance practices.
4) We have a very indisciplined culture in T&T. We therefore need to have supervision at all levels in our life to do the right thing. At the moment, this supervision of the driving population does not exist.
5) Drivers are not properly trained. People literally are now buying their licences without taking any written or practical exams. Therefore, what would be the rational reason for allowing people who are not properly trained to operate automobiles to drive them at a higher speed. If something goes wrong at the higher speed, they can potentially cause more damage to themselves and other third parties.

Furthermore, any responsible government will not increase the speed limit over the design speed for the road. This would be reckless on the government's part.

Your argument for increasing the speed limit is what you did with your Frontier. You have provided no other supporting sound technical data for the increase in speed limit. Fitzgerald Hinds would laugh you out of his office if you came to him with that argument to increase the speed limit.

Postby K74T » May 14th, 2016, 12:56 pm

zoom rader wrote:To many ppl using pickups as flams. Many have never pulled a trailer or even loaded it to the MGW.
Some never even used the 4x4 and maybe don't know how to use it.

Pick ups all went wrong when they started to bring in Automatics. Women drive them more than ever and they real hazards on the roads.

Finally, something good from zoomesh, props bhai.

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2016, 1:12 pm

85th percentile. not me alone, but many other people.
the problem is the reckless driving, not the speed. if they cant control reckless driving at 100 they would not be able to at 80. problem is the enforcement.
if 80 is good as opposed to 100 because of the road maintenance, then the problem is the road maintenance. but again, 85th percentile... good with conditions. better with better conditions.
120 good.