HOTT93/V8BOYS 2016 #comewalkinleavedrivin May 8th

Re: HOTT93/V8BOYS 2016 #comewalkinleavedrivin May 8th

Postby SR » March 31st, 2016, 2:27 pm

I have some concerns regarding the validity of some of the vehicles i have seen in the past as to truly being in its correct age grouping.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » March 31st, 2016, 8:39 pm

Yes SR I can see where that may have caused a problem for a few well read and adept aficionados.

So I've added in 2 more categories to address that situation.

Classic is a classification based on actual age , but OLD SCHOOL lends to a little more lateral interpretation...like old body style but recent (5yr reproduction runs) production.

We also need to have big bold signs at the gate informing the guys of the competition time, rules and cut off point. I saw guys runnin up to both you and i at 5pm wanting to take part in the competition...which is too late as we arent a "young boy go til 1am show'

So we have some defining to do that's for sure.

nigie

Postby nigie » March 31st, 2016, 9:25 pm

Best V8 confined to American V8s ?????

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » March 31st, 2016, 9:37 pm

correc is right nigie....

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 3rd, 2016, 12:26 pm

#comewalkinleavedrivin
12670341_1241914595837661_7943057703886196047_n.jpg
12670341_1241914595837661_7943057703886196047_n.jpg (30.03 KiB) Viewed 30709 times

Postby rspann » April 3rd, 2016, 9:09 pm

How you determining best V8, looks,horsepower, or some other criteria? Also if it's a Grand Auto Show ,why not make it equal opportunity for all cars,why favor American?

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 3rd, 2016, 9:12 pm

Uncle Robert yuh want the short precise answer or the politically correct one?

Postby rspann » April 3rd, 2016, 9:15 pm

The correct one, remember is ah English car and a Japanese is the prize eh.

Postby rspann » April 3rd, 2016, 9:19 pm

But good luck all the same. It is so heartening to see someone so dedicated to keeping the old car flame alive ,and for presenting an opportunity for like minded people to have somewhere to show their pride and joy, and for people to see history that they would never have seen were it not for you,cheers.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 3rd, 2016, 11:11 pm

rspann wrote:The correct one, remember is ah English car and a Japanese is the prize eh.

yup, BOTH bought by me, built at my garage, worked on day and night by my well paid guys, and to be GIVEN AWAY COMPLETELY FREE to total strangers and simply because I love doing what I do.

THIS COUNTRY IS GOING THRU A TOUGH RECESSION AND GETTING ANYONE TO GIVE ME EVEN A BATTERY OR A SET OF TIRES for these cars HAS PROVEN VERY VERY DIFFICULT, but we are doin it...2 people will be going home with them on May 8th!

I just hope they cherish them.

And as for the V8 category...I've made my name with American V8s, built this show around them so I'm real partial to them...so...I will be choosing both the Best V8 and the Best Old SCHOOL winners.

Much thanks for the kind words Spannos....

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 5th, 2016, 10:44 pm

Ticket locations:

Mack Rampersad Barataria
Car Boutique St James
Bobby's Bamboo
Autorama El Secorro
Sheriffs San Fernando
Wheel Wizard Chaguanas

SUBARUIST

Postby SUBARUIST » April 6th, 2016, 4:28 pm

Fellas.....would this be worthy ?
20160214_110847-1.jpg

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 8th, 2016, 7:42 am

wow, that's pristine!

Definitely qualifies as a "well kept daily driver".

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 8th, 2016, 9:00 am

#comewalkinleavedrivin

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 11th, 2016, 12:55 am

The ICWI sponsored GIVEAWAY car took her first road trip today...we went to the Collector Car Assoc's Antique show ...many were very impressed with the car's overall appearance and the fact that we are giving away such a rare and beautiful car. We really had a blast!

12994305_1253474011348386_4156256077941638941_n.jpg

ICW-Logo.jpg
ICW-Logo.jpg (29.64 KiB) Viewed 29051 times

Next to complete the Mobil 1 sponsored Turbo Sunny!

mobil 1.jpg
mobil 1.jpg (8.42 KiB) Viewed 29051 times

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 12th, 2016, 1:07 pm

I am proud to be able to help motorsport in any way I can. And I am thankful for the support and blessings of the TTASA executive over the years. I know that they dont just allow any and everybody to don their colors or align themselves to the logo...so I am grateful for the vote of confidence. As I did last year where TTASA had their own display and were passing out flyers for their event following mine...so too will they be doing again this year. Glad to be of assistance guys...in any way I can!

12741938_504301919772114_2180263934959573692_n.png
12741938_504301919772114_2180263934959573692_n.png (51.32 KiB) Viewed 28149 times

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 12th, 2016, 5:17 pm

site plan #comewalkinleavedrivin

13015469_1254583011237486_7127534695033789549_n.jpg

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 18th, 2016, 11:17 pm

COMPETITION RULES AND GUIDELINES...

Competition categories:

Best Antique....over 50 yrs old >must BE REGISTERED

Best Classic car....over 30 yrs old..in near original condition, engine matching, registered according to age.

Best Old School....over 30 yrs old BUT with modifications to body and engine

Most ORIGINAL Classic car over 30yrs...with ALL original trim, engine, wheels, interior, certified copy as proof

Best New School car....no more than 15 yrs old,

Best American Muscle car....1960-present

Best V8....original body and authentic American V8 motor

Best Paint....open category...no age limit, make or model....EXCEPT factory cars straight off the showroom.

No SOUND OFF...My same request last year stands, that ANY and ALL cars invited, approved and admitted to the show and allowed INTO Skinner Park play ONLY Old School Music and by old school I mean music from the 1991 GO BACK...example: Music of that era from artists like> Bob Marley, Gregory Isaacs, Everton Blender, BeeJees, Lord Nelson, Doug E Fresh, Kool and the Gang, Michael Jackson

Absolutely NO gangster music, no music with explicit lyrics and any music played must not be played at a volume that PREVENTS others from talking and hearing each other without shouting your lungs off.

FROM THE TIME I OR ANYONE HAS TO SHOUT TO BE HEARD WHILE ASKING ABOUT THE CARS, OR OLD TALKING WITH FRIENDS OR FAMILY....I WILL ASK THAT PERSON(S) TO LOWER THEIR VOLUME.

This show is the ONLY Classic Car Show that The San Fernando City Corporation allows into Skinner Park at this time and it is because we have managed to keep the decibel levels down to an acceptable level. Any one who refuses to comply with these gentlemanly rules and disregards our attempts to get them to lower their volumes will be asked to turn their systems off completely and in the worst case scenario....which has never happened before...be escorted OUT of the venue by the police.

We've come such a long way together, despite the chaos and ever changing scene in T&T...we > hott 93, The V8 Boys, The Ford Club, the V8 Club, Trinimini, the Antique and Classic Clubs TOGETHER with the thousands of beautiful young people that have attended these past 2 years, have managed to GO BACK IN TIME, for just ONE day...where people talk, walk around, see old friends, ask questions, learn things about older cars and see makes and models rarely seen on the roads today, all in a safe, relaxed atmosphere, listening to the beats and rhythms of Good Ol School chunes...yes...WE all have done this! We are onto something good here...let's continue and make this show even more memorable!

AND FINALLY...I HAVE ALWAYS STATED THAT CAR SHOWS ARE MADE UP MOSTLY OF SHOW CARS, AND NOT CARS YOU DRIVE TO WORK EVERYDAY...NO MATTER HOW DOLLED UP IT IS, and pls dont get hung up on this...its just a guideline, I do let in many daily driven cars.. BUT I HAVE ALSO FELT THAT SHOW CARS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY TO GET IN, NOR THEIR DRIVER, SO WHEN I GRANT YOUR REQUEST..IT IS NOT A TICKET FOR YOU TO DEMAND ANYTHING OR GET ON LIKE IF THE WORLD NEEDS TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT YOU AND YOUR CAR ARE BETTER THAN ANY ONE ELSE, THIS SHOW WAS BUILT AROUND THE OLD SCHOOL, WHAT WE GREW UP BELIEVING, RESPECT FOR OUR ELDERS AND OLDER THINGS.. AND IF YOU SEE ME ALLOW SOME BEAT UP OL CARS IN ...THAT IS MY BUSINESS...AND ME LETTING IN SOMEONE'S CAR THAT DOESNT LOOK SHOW WORTHY TO YOU DOES NOT MEAN YOURS SHOULD AUTOMATICALLY ENTER. ALSO SKINNER PARK WILL BE DIVIDED INTO OLD SCHOOL AND NEW SCHOOL...ABSOLUTELY NO ONE IS GOING TO INSIST OR BE ALLOWED TO PARK UP A NEW CAR NEXT TO, CLOSE TO OR EVEN NEAR AN ANTIQUE.
SKINNER PARK WILL HOLD 400CARS... 250 OLD AND 150 NEW. WHEN WE REACH THOSE NUMBERS THE POLICE STOP MORE FROM COMING IN.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » April 19th, 2016, 2:47 pm

#comewalkinleavedrivin

#sponsorslikesand

13000213_1259154677446986_4342538561185577894_n.jpg

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 7th, 2016, 10:22 am

The Most High just givin the roads a likkle wash down for us for tomorrow!

Our "request" for good weather was put eeen months ago...so come out and witness something really special tmrw!

trinidad-weather-forecast-5day-full.jpg

Postby rspann » May 8th, 2016, 8:38 pm

Congratulations Clifford on a well put together show..The only thing dissapointing( no fault of yours) was the jack donkey riding the motorbike, with a fat girl on the back, like a jack donkey.

Postby nervewrecker » May 8th, 2016, 9:50 pm

really sucks how I couldnt make it. Really wanted to :(

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » May 9th, 2016, 11:11 am

Any pics

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 9th, 2016, 2:41 pm

TurboSingh12 wrote:Any pics
http://www.trinituner.com/v4/hott-93-v8-boys-grand-auto-show-preview/

hornchile

Postby hornchile » May 9th, 2016, 5:38 pm

How do I get to this link from my iPad?

Postby supercharged turbo » May 11th, 2016, 12:08 am

Show was great.Bigger than both the previous years with more cars,more people and more giveaways.I think the show will be even bigger after this year because alot of people actually showing more interest towards older vehicles,so expect more entrants.There were a few hiccups like having to constantly tell people to not rev their vehicles while you were talking and the jack on the motorbike.You was really going and hit him with ah chair?lol..I think in addition to giving out trophies for best ole school,antique,classic etc you should have a sub category for the best that actually driving out the event and not going home on ah wrecker.IMO there were alot of cars there that you see on the roads from time to time that are in great condition compared to most that you only see for the antique carshows because they just come out for events and go back home and park up.To each his own but I think these cars were meant to be used.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 11th, 2016, 8:39 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Show was great.Bigger than both the previous years with more cars,more people and more giveaways.I think the show will be even bigger after this year because alot of people actually showing more interest towards older vehicles,so expect more entrants.

There were a few hiccups like having to constantly tell people to not rev their vehicles while you were talking

thats for sure....I have to get my guys to help with that...some would never have heard when the cars were being given away.
and the jack on the motorbike.You was really going and hit him with ah chair?lol..

I had warned him twice before, and the third time as I stood in front of his bike , he pushed me out of the way with the bike, he would have run me over if i did not move...that almost made me decide right there and then NOT to have this show again, I got the police to put him out...and I was going to throw the chair in front the bike to make him stop...which probably would not have ended well...so no bikers next time

I think in addition to giving out trophies for best ole school,antique,classic etc you should have a sub category for the best that actually driving out the event and not going home on ah wrecker.IMO there were alot of cars there that you see on the roads from time to time that are in great condition compared to most that you only see for the antique carshows because they just come out for events and go back home and park up.

again you're quite right, and I have to do some more categories too thanks for the pointers bro!

To each his own but I think these cars were meant to be used.

Getting all the different people into the show, the cars, vans, trucks, pickups, drift men, stance men,v8 men, mini, Ford men and the Antique men, and Drag Racers... is what I'm good at. But making them all happy is a challenge...think i'll need to employ a few people to help manage the BOTH sides of the Park...not just the old school side. I've come to realize just how IMPORTANT the show competition is to the men with the show cars...they are very serious about the judging and the awards.

After all the late nights working on the giveaway cars...I wish tho that MORE attention would have been given to the actual giving away by the media...like the photos and vids after the show...I mean...the Giveaways ARE the theme and highlight of the show right?

But I thoroughly enjoyed myself and from what I've seen in the comments and responses thus far is mostly positive...that has helped humble me a little bit...yeah a little. I'm learning to listen to advice a bit more even if i dont like the "way" it's given.

Thank you bro.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 11th, 2016, 5:08 pm

No problem bro.Congrats on a great show and hope to be there next year again and with the vehicle this time

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » May 12th, 2016, 11:26 pm

Giveaway Car #1 Home with her new owner..safe and sound! Jeremy Ramlogan I am so happy you are satisfied with your door prize!

Cherish her and she'll be worth twice what she is today in a few years time!

13177778_1746344482320841_5850267531873210936_n.jpg

13177762_1746344735654149_8549746320576013774_n.jpg

Postby MG Man » May 13th, 2016, 5:11 pm

will you guys be posting a list of which cars won what?