Anyone thinking of selling their performance ride

Messi

Postby Messi » May 8th, 2016, 9:09 pm

now with the new speed law not that I am in anyway advocating driving recklessly pre-speed gun or street drag racing but most of us with factory performance cars or even remotely sporty cars would drive the car fast on occasions with some clear asphalt presented itself. I for one would wake up early and drive down south sometimes just to run my car when the road would be extremely clear.. now I am not sure if having a performance car as a daily driver is worth it? anyone else thinking of just trading down to a cruiser?

Kalisnakov

Re: Anyone thinking of selling their performance ride

Postby Kalisnakov » May 8th, 2016, 9:32 pm

Let government pull een ah $75-100 million 1st n then everytin would b normal again

civicious

Postby civicious » May 8th, 2016, 9:37 pm

Thats why we have a track dude. Time to turn that daily into a full blown racecar

Messi

Postby Messi » May 8th, 2016, 9:47 pm

probably really need to check out the track...what are the requirments.. don't you need to go circuit school?

Postby j.o.e » May 9th, 2016, 7:32 am

Sell it bai .... Hommuch you want for it ?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 9th, 2016, 12:31 pm

What new speed law? Have the speed limits on the roads been revised?

civicious

Re: RE: Re: Anyone thinking of selling their performance ride

Postby civicious » May 9th, 2016, 12:56 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:What new speed law? Have the speed limits on the roads been revised?

Good point!

michar198

Postby michar198 » May 9th, 2016, 1:02 pm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 9th, 2016, 2:54 pm

OP wha performance ride yuh ha?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 9th, 2016, 4:11 pm

My Land Rover Series IIa could only go up to 76km/h ("P" registration). I thinking about selling that because mankind in the ole talk threads saying that they don't know how they could drive at 80km/h, that they will fall asleep and that they will be distracted by only having to look at the speedometer and that would be a safety hazard.

X to board, the Land Rover tops out at 76km/h. It also has no sound deadening materials in the cabin, so the amount of racket that the van makes at top speed not putting anyone to sleep.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » May 10th, 2016, 7:15 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:OP wha performance ride yuh ha?

Messi

Postby Messi » May 10th, 2016, 9:30 am

Pm for info on my ride

Postby Dave » May 10th, 2016, 10:16 am

More than 80 is overrated.....how quick u can reach 80 is where it is

Messi

Postby Messi » May 10th, 2016, 2:14 pm

I used to think it was all about 0-60 in the past but with a high hp car you need road to explore upper rev ranges. For today's speed limit a low up but torquey ride is better suited as you have suggested

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 10th, 2016, 6:16 pm

Dave wrote:More than 80 is overrated.....how quick u can reach 80 is where it is

Nah. Lots of fun 200-240 kph.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 10th, 2016, 9:40 pm

I gonna have a performance ride as a daily soon. Admittedly it sucks that this limit being enforced now but Dave right in a sense. I rarely ventured past 120 on the highway with my LGT back then. Acceleration and cornering is what intrigues me more than top speed. Commute to work is about 3 mins main road and 4 mins highway. So not that affected. And manual transmission can never be boring.
Plan to go circuit and time attack with mine tho.

Re: RE: Re: Anyone thinking of selling their performance ride

Postby Dave » May 10th, 2016, 10:32 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Dave wrote:More than 80 is overrated.....how quick u can reach 80 is where it is

Nah. Lots of fun 200-240 kph.

Been further...done that. Torque is where it is

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » May 11th, 2016, 2:53 pm

Wetmen liking deyself.......

kerron01

Re: RE: Anyone thinking of selling their performance ride

Postby kerron01 » May 12th, 2016, 6:54 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:I gonna have a performance ride as a daily soon. Admittedly it sucks that this limit being enforced now but Dave right in a sense. I rarely ventured past 120 on the highway with my LGT back then. Acceleration and cornering is what intrigues me more than top speed. Commute to work is about 3 mins main road and 4 mins highway. So not that affected. And manual transmission can never be boring.
Plan to go circuit and time attack with mine tho.

Hmm what you up to. ..?

civicious

Postby civicious » May 12th, 2016, 9:55 pm

OP I kinda understand today why u thinking abt selling ur ride...it heart wrenching like.......what a shame

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » May 16th, 2016, 2:40 pm

That 80km frustrating, but...

Postby A172 » May 18th, 2016, 9:33 am

op i was hellbent on replacing a 6fwd legacy with a recent X but honestly leaning towards an f30 msport now
has nothing to do with the speed limit sheit cus u could always find a time and place to ghee on yur daily commute so i think it comes down to what you think would more suit yur needs if u considering a cruiser now

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » May 18th, 2016, 11:10 am

I have both a daily and weekend car so im not bothered. Their is a two lane road about 2miles long just about 2mins from me so i hit my 260km as normal.

Postby 16 cycles » May 18th, 2016, 11:21 am

op...still have the JCW?

civicious

Postby civicious » May 18th, 2016, 11:22 am

Speed limit not changing on d weekends. And to get a straight to max out ur car every so often might be fun i wont disagree, but will definitely get old. Im the type of guy that likes to take hairpins at 80 km/h so to drive straight at that speed in ANY car is frustrating the hell out of me

Messi

Postby Messi » May 20th, 2016, 9:06 pm

16 cycles wrote:op...still have the JCW?

whats up buddy.. sold a long time ago!!

Postby 16 cycles » May 23rd, 2016, 8:20 am

^ cool for the hour...

pm me your #...tx

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 30th, 2016, 9:25 am

A172 wrote:op i was hellbent on replacing a 6fwd legacy with a recent X but honestly leaning towards an f30 msport now
has nothing to do with the speed limit sheit cus u could always find a time and place to ghee on yur daily commute so i think it comes down to what you think would more suit yur needs if u considering a cruiser now

not a bad choice...and the f30 has a nice punch too

Postby A172 » May 30th, 2016, 10:22 am

incoming

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 31st, 2016, 12:18 pm

^ Went with the f30?