65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

jhonnieblue

Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby jhonnieblue » May 10th, 2016, 7:43 am

Finally an answer from an engineering standpoint.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 10th, 2016, 7:50 am

j.o.e wrote:Navara has the road handling and aerodynamics of a GTR ...... Doh try to argue with them

Yup and also Navara drivers have a brain the size of a garble! so go firgue... no wonder they drive like such Kantholes.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 10th, 2016, 7:50 am

BRZ wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Navara has the road handling and aerodynamics of a GTR ...... Doh try to argue with them

Yup and also Navara drivers have a brain the size of a hummingbird so go firgue... no wonder they drive like such Kantholes.

Postby Redman » May 10th, 2016, 7:58 am

For your information, our roads are designed according to AASHTO design standards which are what are used in the USA. So for people to say that our roads are "under-engineered" is misleading.

Yes BUT....how are they actually built?

Within weeks of being built every part of the highway that is redone-or BUILT(after UTT in south) begins to show deterioration.

From what I see the designs were done to get the job.
The road was built to make money.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 10th, 2016, 7:58 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Btw when you say that the roads here not engineered for certain speeds...can you provide some more details? Things like paving? Or more related to crash barriers? Etc?

The design speed that our newer highways were designed for (usually around 100km/h) dictates the minimum geometric standards to be used, such as, vertical curve radii (which affects stopping sight distance and overtaking sight distance ), horizontal curve radii (which affects sight distances for drivers and centrifugal forces to which vehicles and the occupants are subjected), and superelevation (banking) of curves (which affects the centrifugal forces to which occupants are subjected). For your information, our roads are designed according to AASHTO design standards which are what are used in the USA. So for people to say that our roads are "under-engineered" is misleading.

The design speed is defined as the maximum safe speed at which a driver/vehicle can traverse a section of highway when conditions are such that the design features of the highway govern, that is, low flows (free speeds), good weather. This is typically the 85th percentile speed at low flows (V85).

So the 100km/h used by the MOWT as the design speed would have been based on the traffic studies that they would have done to determine V85. Why the speed limit on the newer highways is not 100km/h may perhaps, and I stand to be corrected here, lie with the fact that we have very poor maintenance strategies with respect to our road infrastructure. So the properties of the road used in the design may not match what is actually constructed in the field. They may have also considered the local conditions and the frequency with which drivers have to stop/slow down for hazards (such as animals, pedestrians, vendors, south people drinking and eating on the shoulder of the highways on the weekends). They have given the driver a greater buffer in order to react to these types of situations.

In my opinion, the speed limit should remain at 80km/h based on the EXISTING road conditions (from a maintenance standpoint) and the, general, ignorant culture of drivers and pedestrians.

But then again, what do I know?

Much thanks. Will check the standards. Very interesting topic in terms of design for roads with speed limits versus roads with sections having no limits like the Autobahn for example.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 8:03 am

j.o.e wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Gtr is unsafe above 80

Very

I think he talking about the tiida's with GTR stickers on them when he said they not safe above 80.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » May 10th, 2016, 8:11 am

What about when a visitor arrives at Piarco, rents a Navara, and gets on the highway and does 80kph? There is signage listing the speed limit as 80kph, no where is there signage indicating 65kph for pickups/vans/buses. To legally enforce the 65kph signage must be placed, the argument that "it was published and everybody knows" is not valid...

Postby Redman » May 10th, 2016, 8:15 am

It is the law.

Ignorance of ANY law isnt an excuse...it hasnt been since forever.

If TTPS pulls the foreigner aside -they could let them off with a warning.-while I agree with you -no signs aint an excuse.

southee

Postby southee » May 10th, 2016, 8:21 am

the speed limit section clearly states 'goods vehicle' over the said mgw so although class 3 is 2950 or whatever, the speed limit relates to over the given mgw.Also there a lot of pick ups over the 2950, lower than that may be like 2 door 2 wheel drive vans

Postby pete » May 10th, 2016, 8:22 am

What's the issue with putting a sign? We need more signage here, there's no denying that. In the US they have down to no entry and "wrong way" signs on off/on ramps from the highways. All that is to try to help people obey the law and be safer on the road. Or is the goal just to make money and not those things?

Postby 16 cycles » May 10th, 2016, 8:23 am

where you renting a T vehicle from the airport though?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 8:27 am

southee wrote:the speed limit section clearly states 'goods vehicle' over the said mgw so although class 3 is 2950 or whatever, the speed limit relates to over the given mgw.Also there a lot of pick ups over the 2950, lower than that may be like 2 door 2 wheel drive vans

I think you ment to say over 2540 kgs.

aka

Postby aka » May 10th, 2016, 8:40 am

smh, padna get ah ticket coming to work in the morning... man was doing 67km/h... boops was in an unmarked police vehicle.

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby adnj » May 10th, 2016, 8:45 am

aka wrote:smh, padna get ah ticket coming to work in the morning... man was doing 67km/h... boops was in an unmarked police vehicle.

That's just wrong...

Postby adnj » May 10th, 2016, 8:50 am

drchaos wrote:
southee wrote:the speed limit section clearly states 'goods vehicle' over the said mgw so although class 3 is 2950 or whatever, the speed limit relates to over the given mgw.Also there a lot of pick ups over the 2950, lower than that may be like 2 door 2 wheel drive vans

I think you ment to say over 2540 kgs.

Class 3 does reference a different MGW than the speed limit schedule. The definition of a goods vehicle is that it's primary intent be for the carriage of goods which would usually exclude four door short bed pickups. But the import duty on a goods vehicle is different from a similar SUV.

There's a lot of conflict in that law.

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/alphabetical_list/lawspdfs/48.50.pdf

Postby pete » May 10th, 2016, 9:02 am

aka wrote:smh, padna get ah ticket coming to work in the morning... man was doing 67km/h... boops was in an unmarked police vehicle.

Did he get a printout showing the vehicle number and speed or was it just a normal hand written ticket?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 9:06 am

He could fight that in court and win. Margin of error for the Trucam is + or - 2 kmph.
Therefore he could have actually been doing 65 to 69 kmph.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 10th, 2016, 10:03 am

drchaos wrote:
mark2.0 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
mark2.0 wrote:My pickup is my personal vehicle, the family weekend ride,
Never carry anything in the tray.
So petition to have pickup P instead of T....

Who wit meh?

I would disagree with that cause the ability for the vehicle to cross 2540 kg is still there. And toting that weight would affect ur ability to maneuver and brake.
So is either u modify ur registration to legally limit urself to 2540 or do a study to show that above 2540 eight is still safe above 65km/h

So is the weight and not weather is P or T.
Ok padna, well AudiQ7, Prado, BMW X5, all limo, Nissan patrol and so many more suppose to do 65km/h max..... All of them is heavier than a Toyota Hilux.

No
Those pickups are designed to carry load, so their suspension is tuned completely differently to a passenger vehicle. They are more unstable at highway cruise speeds than AudiQ7, Prado, BMW X5 and the lot you mentioned.
Also they are rear wheel driven unless you lock the diff, and rear wheel is inherently less stable and more prone to oversteer.
In general they are less stable at higher speeds than your average P vehicle.

So its multiple factors with weight and the above.

Yuh talking sheit!!!
They are many documentaries on wet road, braking, hill ascent and descent, cornering and even off-roading showing most of the time, not all, but most of the time 4x4 pickup trucks top the list. Do your research.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 10th, 2016, 10:15 am

Same set of vehicles
One T the other P.
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 10th, 2016, 10:31 am

Those documentaries are pretty much conducted at SLOW speeds..cornering offloading..hill accent and descent...I cant imagine them testing those at 65+ km/hr

Postby De Dragon » May 10th, 2016, 11:59 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Btw when you say that the roads here not engineered for certain speeds...can you provide some more details? Things like paving? Or more related to crash barriers? Etc?

The design speed that our newer highways were designed for (usually around 100km/h) dictates the minimum geometric standards to be used, such as, vertical curve radii (which affects stopping sight distance and overtaking sight distance ), horizontal curve radii (which affects sight distances for drivers and centrifugal forces to which vehicles and the occupants are subjected), and superelevation (banking) of curves (which affects the centrifugal forces to which occupants are subjected). For your information, our roads are designed according to AASHTO design standards which are what are used in the USA. So for people to say that our roads are "under-engineered" is misleading.

The design speed is defined as the maximum safe speed at which a driver/vehicle can traverse a section of highway when conditions are such that the design features of the highway govern, that is, low flows (free speeds), good weather. This is typically the 85th percentile speed at low flows (V85).

So the 100km/h used by the MOWT as the design speed would have been based on the traffic studies that they would have done to determine V85. Why the speed limit on the newer highways is not 100km/h may perhaps, and I stand to be corrected here, lie with the fact that we have very poor maintenance strategies with respect to our road infrastructure. So the properties of the road used in the design may not match what is actually constructed in the field. They may have also considered the local conditions and the frequency with which drivers have to stop/slow down for hazards (such as animals, pedestrians, vendors, south people drinking and eating on the shoulder of the highways on the weekends). They have given the driver a greater buffer in order to react to these types of situations.

In my opinion, the speed limit should remain at 80km/h based on the EXISTING road conditions (from a maintenance standpoint) and the, general, ignorant culture of drivers and pedestrians.

But then again, what do I know?

Good info but why not try to go towards a more engineered fix? Start with proper highway construction/maintenance, enforce existing laws on the books for EVERYONE, but if there at least a possibility of an increase, then why not? I for one am not advocating an increase in the limits without the proper data and specifications

Postby zoom rader » May 10th, 2016, 12:27 pm

I had a wonderful time this morning driving at 65km, I pissed off a lot of drivers but was driving at the lawfully speed.

Yet still them Syrians and their prisons trucks was doing more that a 100k. I guess Syrians money have a different law with the aid of state police

rs

Postby rs » May 10th, 2016, 1:13 pm

My 4 x 2 pickup MGW is 2450 Kg
What is my speed limit?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 10th, 2016, 1:25 pm

rs wrote:My 4 x 2 pickup MGW is 2450 Kg
What is my speed limit?
The maximum speed limit for pickup trucks... is actually 65 kilometres per hour (km/h) and not 80 km/h.

The reason these pickup trucks are subject to a lower maximum speed limit is because they are actually classified as “goods vehicles” according to this country’s laws.

This was confirmed to the Sunday Guardian by Coordinator of the Police Road Safety Project, PC Brent Batson, yesterday.

According to Section 62 of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act Chap 48:50, the “maximum speed limit” for “goods vehicles” “outside a built-up area” is 65 km/h.

Page 99 of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act (d) states that “Goods vehicle the licensed MGW (Maximum Gross Weight) of which exceeds 2,540 kilogrammes (kgs) with or without trailer” has a maximum speed of 65 km/h outside a built-up area and 50 km/ “within a built-up area.”

This speed limit also applies to “goods vehicles” which do not have an MGW in excess of 2,540 kgs, part (e) also states.
http://www2.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-05-08/speed-limit-pickups-65kmh

kiran8977

Postby kiran8977 » May 10th, 2016, 1:38 pm

Primera VVL wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:All d red and ready men hadda take dat

PNM officially showed up them self as the most illiterate gov't ever.
Bullers

Hopefully that fool Rowley does us all a favour and call a snap election yes. I cya handle these retards again

What kinda ass you be? Steven Cadiz is the man bring seat belts, .35 on the breathyliser and Steven Cadiz was the man approved the budget of 14 million dollars for 50 speed guns....this was coming regardless who in power ... We conplain about everything because we been doing what we want for years.. I drive in NY and its the same 80km/h or 50 mp/h on the express ways and that is first world country.. Steups

Our roads not designed as first world countries idk if you notice but a we have a lot of vehicles in trinidad and you can compare from you memory the size of the roads in tandt to a first world's.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 2:30 pm

mark2.0 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
mark2.0 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
mark2.0 wrote:My pickup is my personal vehicle, the family weekend ride,
Never carry anything in the tray.
So petition to have pickup P instead of T....

Who wit meh?

I would disagree with that cause the ability for the vehicle to cross 2540 kg is still there. And toting that weight would affect ur ability to maneuver and brake.
So is either u modify ur registration to legally limit urself to 2540 or do a study to show that above 2540 eight is still safe above 65km/h

So is the weight and not weather is P or T.
Ok padna, well AudiQ7, Prado, BMW X5, all limo, Nissan patrol and so many more suppose to do 65km/h max..... All of them is heavier than a Toyota Hilux.

No
Those pickups are designed to carry load, so their suspension is tuned completely differently to a passenger vehicle. They are more unstable at highway cruise speeds than AudiQ7, Prado, BMW X5 and the lot you mentioned.
Also they are rear wheel driven unless you lock the diff, and rear wheel is inherently less stable and more prone to oversteer.
In general they are less stable at higher speeds than your average P vehicle.

So its multiple factors with weight and the above.

Yuh talking sheit!!!
They are many documentaries on wet road, braking, hill ascent and descent, cornering and even off-roading showing most of the time, not all, but most of the time 4x4 pickup trucks top the list. Do your research.

Lol what you smoking ???
4x4's top the list on handling for wet roads, braking distances and cornering.

A vehicle that was built to carry load, has a very high center of gravity, most likely lacks ESC, has tires that are designed for carrying load with offroad capabilities in mind and is rear wheel driven is more stable on the road than most modern cars/Suv's?
Come nah man ...

Please provide evidence to back up your claims or share the drugs getting high on.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 10th, 2016, 4:57 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
kamakazi wrote:They are not all designed to carry load..... The Vigo comes with comfortable springs... New frontier has coil springs.. . .

:| Do the MGWs of the Vigo and Frontier confirm this statement that you have made? Serious question!

While the 2.5 and 3.0 vigo have the same mgw.... The springs on the rear of the 2.5 are much stiffer than the Vigo

The frontier np300 might have a similar situation with the leaf spring and coil spring variants having the same mgw.... But the coils will noticeably compress more under load.

Old model Ford Everest and Ford Ranger Wildtrack.... Same chassis and suspension components and brakes... Why different limits
Not sure if it is the same with the Isuzu Dmax and the Isuzu Mux.

I know the patrol and fortuner while sharing their chassis with a pickup they have coil springs in the back vs the leaf springs on there pickup counterparts

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 10th, 2016, 5:04 pm

Ah smoking Ganga, drinking punching chased with the reddest bull, with meth on the side and a touch of something white(they say don't take too much of the white stuff). U r invited... 8-) 8-) 8-)

SUV vs. Trucks: Understand the Pros and Cons for a Better Decision

While an SUV and trucks are quite similar in a variety of ways, there are some important distinctions to be made between these vehicles. Certainly, the SUV specs will appeal to those people who are potentially interested in purchasing a truck, and vice versa. However, there are other factors to consider when you’re wondering whether to buy a car or truck for your next vehicle. Read on for a brief comparison of the advantages of each of these types of vehicles.

Advantages of Selecting SUVs

SUVs are large, powerful vehicles. In most cases, a full size SUV will be somewhat more powerful than a full size truck, meaning that it will be capable of reaching higher top speeds and of accelerating more quickly. SUVs (like trucks) are able to haul other items, like trailers and boats. This is useful for anyone who is interested in using an SUV for landscaping or other at home projects.

SUVs tend to have s light advantage over trucks in terms of their size and off road capabilities. The added size of an SUV makes it heavier, but it also allows for additional storage of interior luggage and cargo, as well as a higher seating capacity. Most large SUVs have four wheel drive, and the sturdy frames of these cars allow them to be driven off road with ease.

Advantages of Selecting Trucks

Trucks have a number of advantages over SUVs. They tend to be better able to haul larger amounts of cargo, particularly cargo used for outdoor work, landscaping and construction projects. It’s often easier to access this cargo as well. While they do have smaller cabs and therefore less space for passengers, this is a trade-off for having a lighter engine and overall weight. The result of this is that most trucks get better gas mileage than SUVs. SUVs are known, generally speaking, for being gas guzzlers that are horribly fuel inefficient. Trucks do not often fall victim to this downside.

Many trucks are less expensive than their equivalent counterparts in sport utility vehicle options. One of the reasons for this is that there are a number of luxury SUVs on the market, but it’s less likely to find luxury truck options. This further helps to keep the total cost down when you purchase a new truck over an SUV.

Most SUVs and Trucks from the same manufacturers carry the same suspension more or less. Although SUVs looks great, is more expensive and sometimes more comfortable, factors has proven that truck, because it lighter, handles better on the road.

There are a few vehicles that seem to go between the models of truck and SUV and which may be good options to consider if you are having a hard time making up your mind between the two. The Chevrolet Suburban is a sports utility vehicle that is based upon a truck body and design. It shares many of the stylistic features of a truck with some of the added power and spaciousness of an SUV. If you have additional questions, speak with a professional or a dealer in your area for more advice.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 10th, 2016, 5:10 pm

kamakazi wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
kamakazi wrote:They are not all designed to carry load..... The Vigo comes with comfortable springs... New frontier has coil springs.. . .

:| Do the MGWs of the Vigo and Frontier confirm this statement that you have made? Serious question!

While the 2.5 and 3.0 vigo have the same mgw.... The springs on the rear of the 2.5 are much stiffer than the Vigo

The frontier np300 might have a similar situation with the leaf spring and coil spring variants having the same mgw.... But the coils will noticeably compress more under load.

Old model Ford Everest and Ford Ranger Wildtrack.... Same chassis and suspension components and brakes... Why different limits
Not sure if it is the same with the Isuzu Dmax and the Isuzu Mux.

I know the patrol and fortuner while sharing their chassis with a pickup they have coil springs in the back vs the leaf springs on there pickup counterparts

Yes the law is not fair when it comes to these SUV's like fortuner's and Everest, these should be 65 KPH as well ... but like every law you can't be 100% fair, there will always be exceptions and in this case the exceptions are very small. So if you can structure the law differently come up with a frame work and start a petition.

Postby tr1ad » May 10th, 2016, 5:18 pm