Numb3r4 wrote:But weren't we told that "Massah day done"?
Numb3r4 wrote:^^It was uttered by Eric Eustice Williams on one of his now famous addresses to the people at Woodford Square on 22nd March 1961.
The Guardian made the statement that Sir Wight (a local white) had entered the political arena by joining the DLP, this made it the party of choice or should be the party of choice for the potential voters, that voters should follow his lead being white and all. Williams went on to state that the voters were too savy for this, that they would not fall for such statements. He then uttered the statement or rather told the Guardian "Massa Day done". Implying that the rule of the whites who only sought to use the Caribbean for its natural resources (at the time sugar) was over.
He did go on to explain that in his context "Massa" didn't specifically mean a people or a race but a system of subjugation, a time past, meaning that now we no longer wear the yolk of slavery......etc...etc...you get the idea. He also explained that there were some whites who fought for the African cause.
However maybe his words were ill timed or misunderstood or taken out of context or was simply what the populace wanted to hear ( maybe the population wasn't as savy or sophisticated as he had thought) as such it was interpreted and today still is interpreted at the very lowest level i.e. racially.
In all the term is now associated with the fact that we don't have to work as we once did, for to do so would mean that we were being controlled or used, that we are no longer beholden to any form or structure, structure is a representation of slavery, a construct of the imperials and colonizers.
Going forward it also had the conotation that we are now entitled to what was once the property of the colonizers. Key word being ENTITLED, combine that with what was said above about not wanting to work....and you can see where we are now, mentality wise.
De Dragon wrote:EmilioA wrote:drchaos wrote:EmilioA wrote:drchaos wrote:I wonder who will be paying for that brand spanking new 5 story EW memorial building that they gonna use for the PNM headquarters?
Is either Tax payers or party financiers ... And both options ain't sounding to Kosher.
Eh. So how you suggest the finance it ? BBQ sale ?
I suggest they don't build it ... Cause when they do it and they then need to pay their financiers 10 dollars for every dollar they spent on it, half of the country go cry "corruption" and then the other half go say "is we time now". The same cycle continues over and over ...
This is how hundreds of millions does go into fixing a stadium, a couple billion does go missing in building a gas to liquid plant and a building highway to south.
You suggest they dont build it.
You expect them to stick in the same 50 year old building without even renovating ?
When every single Government beyotch and he bredda crying tighten yuh belt, eat cassava, drive smaller, bull less? Fack yeah! Hello, you iz in de Govament now, you have millions of square feet of space available to you, so its not like Balisier House is critical to the functioning of the Government, and don't gimme any symbolism sheit, cuz den you dey woulda fnd de arse in Woodford Square.
Once again this Government fails to understand that the timing of this and other projects of dubious social or economic value is completely wrong. It is almost as if they are saying "fack y'all, we here for the time being so we go do wey we want!"
redmanjp wrote:PNM's plan for the economy:
tax food
tax gas (Oct. '15)
tax cars
tax hose users
tax owners of unkept lots
tax gas more (mid year review)
tax online shopping
tax drivers going 81kph
Habit7 wrote:redmanjp wrote:PNM's plan for the economy:
tax food
tax gas (Oct. '15)
tax cars
tax hose users
tax online shopping
tax drivers going 81kph
Sounds like every Gulf and Scandinavian state dealing with sharp fall in oil prices.
Unless you prefer the Venezuelan model...?
Dizzy28 wrote:^ Yall will sheit your pants when you see what personal income tax rates are in Scandavian countries!!!!
Miktay wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:^^It was uttered by Eric Eustice Williams on one of his now famous addresses to the people at Woodford Square on 22nd March 1961.
The Guardian made the statement that Sir Wight (a local white) had entered the political arena by joining the DLP, this made it the party of choice or should be the party of choice for the potential voters, that voters should follow his lead being white and all. Williams went on to state that the voters were too savy for this, that they would not fall for such statements. He then uttered the statement or rather told the Guardian "Massa Day done". Implying that the rule of the whites who only sought to use the Caribbean for its natural resources (at the time sugar) was over.
He did go on to explain that in his context "Massa" didn't specifically mean a people or a race but a system of subjugation, a time past, meaning that now we no longer wear the yolk of slavery......etc...etc...you get the idea. He also explained that there were some whites who fought for the African cause.
However maybe his words were ill timed or misunderstood or taken out of context or was simply what the populace wanted to hear ( maybe the population wasn't as savy or sophisticated as he had thought) as such it was interpreted and today still is interpreted at the very lowest level i.e. racially.
In all the term is now associated with the fact that we don't have to work as we once did, for to do so would mean that we were being controlled or used, that we are no longer beholden to any form or structure, structure is a representation of slavery, a construct of the imperials and colonizers.
Going forward it also had the conotation that we are now entitled to what was once the property of the colonizers. Key word being ENTITLED, combine that with what was said above about not wanting to work....and you can see where we are now, mentality wise.
Thanks 4 that explanation numb...
There was a little thing called the 1970s Black power revolution that was ostensibly driven by the still perceived inequality in our system. So massa was perceived to be alive and kicking in the 1970s.
There were many reasons behind the 1970s attempted revo iin addition to perceived inequality...but look at the real sources of massa's power. Look at the economic and military power. Look at the big kid in the neighborhood.
Economic
The US $ iz supported by oil aka the petrodollar. Thiz iz the world's primary reserve and trading currency. It iz also the primary fight fright or flight currency. And several countries peg their local currency exchange rate to USD
How many of these supports does the TT dollar have?
Military
The US petro dollar iz also supported by 11 of these & their battle groups as well as numerous military bases around the world.
How many of these supports does sweet T&T have ?
We can summarize it like thiz. Massa has left the T&T plantation but iz still in control.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:^ Yall will sheit your pants when you see what personal income tax rates are in Scandavian countries!!!!
Leave dem nah. Dem so have all the solutions and only know how to complain.
drchaos wrote:Habit7 wrote:redmanjp wrote:PNM's plan for the economy:
tax food
tax gas (Oct. '15)
tax cars
tax hose users
tax online shopping
tax drivers going 81kph
Sounds like every Gulf and Scandinavian state dealing with sharp fall in oil prices.
Really?
Scandinavian countries/country have a speed limit of 80 kph? They charge duty, VAT and and online shopping tax for buying goods online? They instituting more taxes on new vehicles based on engine CC's? They reducing sales tax/VAT? They increasing their gas prices by 15% every 6 months?
Venezuela was sort of falling flat on their face even when oil prices were high. So not comparable here.
Dizzy28 wrote:^ Yall will sheit your pants when you see what personal income tax rates are in Scandavian countries!!!!
Habit7 wrote:drchaos wrote:Habit7 wrote:redmanjp wrote:PNM's plan for the economy:
tax food
tax gas (Oct. '15)
tax cars
tax hose users
tax online shopping
tax drivers going 81kph
Really?
Scandinavian countries/country have a speed limit of 80 kph? They charge duty, VAT and and online shopping tax for buying goods online? They instituting more taxes on new vehicles based on engine CC's? They reducing sales tax/VAT? They increasing their gas prices by 15% every 6 months?
Venezuela was sort of falling flat on their face even when oil prices were high. So not comparable here.
I think you are missing the point. All petro-economies are tightening revenue collection.
Scandinavian countries are some of the highest taxed in Europe. VAT in Norway starts off at 25% then add duties to that and all your skybox goodies. Be prepared to pay up to 100% in taxes on a car, plus annual road tax. Fuel is taxed as well, TT has the 9th out of 172 in world diesel price at US$0.30, Norway is dead last at 172nd with US$1.64.
Venezuela could have sustained their welfare state with a high oil price, corruption and inefficiency was killing them. In like manner in 2010-2014 with high oil prices we were able to sustain our growing welfare state while the economy failed to grow. If you think life today in TT can go on with subsidised fuel, no restrictions on capital flight and inefficient collection of taxes then you in the wrong country, check next door and enjoy yourself.
Habit7 wrote:drchaos wrote:Habit7 wrote:redmanjp wrote:PNM's plan for the economy:
tax food
tax gas (Oct. '15)
tax cars
tax hose users
tax online shopping
tax drivers going 81kph
Really?
I think you are missing the point. All petro-economies are tightening revenue collection.
Scandinavian countries are some of the highest taxed in Europe. VAT in Norway starts off at 25% then add duties to that and all your skybox goodies. Be prepared to pay up to 100% in taxes on a car, plus annual road tax. Fuel is taxed as well, TT has the 9th out of 172 in world diesel price at US$0.30, Norway is dead last at 172nd with US$1.64.
Venezuela could have sustained their welfare state with a high oil price, corruption and inefficiency was killing them. In like manner in 2010-2014 with high oil prices we were able to sustain our growing welfare state while the economy failed to grow. If you think life today in TT can go on with subsidised fuel, no restrictions on capital flight and inefficient collection of taxes then you in the wrong country, check next door and enjoy yourself.
Norway has heavily taxed their citizens and banked their oil revenues so that they can survive days like this. Their action was not reactionary, it was sustained high taxes always, taxes you would have been bawling about if we did the same since 1970's, now we have to catch up.drchaos wrote:No boy habbit you missing the point ... Scandinavian countries already had high level of taxes even when oil was super dupper high.
"Sounds like every Gulf and Scandinavian state dealing with sharp fall in oil prices."
Norway has some of the most expensive public transport in the world to go along with the world's most expensive diesel price.De Dragon wrote:How many Norwegians use public transport so that the high diesel price does not affect them? I'm pretty sure that they have a super efficient and reliable service. How have we restricted capital flight and made tax collection more efficient? I for one never advocated that wastage via subsidies be perpetuated forever, but instead of gradually removing it while using the money saved to improve public transport, the Government pulled it in one fell swoop, left us with the same archaic public transport system, and actually made it more expensive to travel via the most reliable service( taxis and maxis).
,our "archaic" subsidized high-speed catamaran water taxis/fast ferries
brand new turboprops inter-island flights
Habit7 wrote:Norway has heavily taxed their citizens and banked their oil revenues so that they can survive days like this. Their action was not reactionary, it was sustained high taxes always, taxes you would have been bawling about if we did the same since 1970's, now we have to catch up.drchaos wrote:No boy habbit you missing the point ... Scandinavian countries already had high level of taxes even when oil was super dupper high.
"Sounds like every Gulf and Scandinavian state dealing with sharp fall in oil prices."Norway has some of the most expensive public transport in the world to go along with the world's most expensive diesel price.De Dragon wrote:How many Norwegians use public transport so that the high diesel price does not affect them? I'm pretty sure that they have a super efficient and reliable service. How have we restricted capital flight and made tax collection more efficient? I for one never advocated that wastage via subsidies be perpetuated forever, but instead of gradually removing it while using the money saved to improve public transport, the Government pulled it in one fell swoop, left us with the same archaic public transport system, and actually made it more expensive to travel via the most reliable service( taxis and maxis).![]()
In 2012 my fuel bill increased by 44% and I took it like a patriot. Every economist worth their salt advise that now is the best time to remove the fuel subsidy, which is one of our biggest cause of foriegn capital flight.
How else to you propose to pay for our "archaic" subsidized high-speed catamaran water taxis/fast ferries, brand new turboprops inter-island flights, luxury coaches from Sando/PFortin/Arima/SGrande to PoS?
Habit7 wrote:Meanwhile...
De Dragon wrote:So? What does this have to do with us? Is Suriname in the exact economic position that we are in?
Habit7 wrote:Norway has heavily taxed their citizens and banked their oil revenues so that they can survive days like this. Their action was not reactionary, it was sustained high taxes always, taxes you would have been bawling about if we did the same since 1970's, now we have to catch up.drchaos wrote:No boy habbit you missing the point ... Scandinavian countries already had high level of taxes even when oil was super dupper high.
"Sounds like every Gulf and Scandinavian state dealing with sharp fall in oil prices."Norway has some of the most expensive public transport in the world to go along with the world's most expensive diesel price.De Dragon wrote:How many Norwegians use public transport so that the high diesel price does not affect them? I'm pretty sure that they have a super efficient and reliable service. How have we restricted capital flight and made tax collection more efficient? I for one never advocated that wastage via subsidies be perpetuated forever, but instead of gradually removing it while using the money saved to improve public transport, the Government pulled it in one fell swoop, left us with the same archaic public transport system, and actually made it more expensive to travel via the most reliable service( taxis and maxis).![]()
In 2012 my fuel bill increased by 44% and I took it like a patriot. Every economist worth their salt advise that now is the best time to remove the fuel subsidy, which is one of our biggest cause of foriegn capital flight.
How else to you propose to pay for our "archaic" subsidized high-speed catamaran water taxis/fast ferries, brand new turboprops inter-island flights, luxury coaches from Sando/PFortin/Arima/SGrande to PoS?