Where the best place to buy Roofing Materials

Re: Where the best place to buy Roofing Materials

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2016, 6:26 pm

This is a roof just completed by my roofman, could it have been better if he was working for a large company? But I suppose some people know more about building than anybody else. $22000, except the garage.Material from Lifetime roofing.
IMG_1331.JPG

Guttering has no joins, they pull up the whole seventy odd ft with ropes.That price includes drip edge on all valleys and right around.

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2016, 6:48 pm

@Kia motors, I can show you a Varma roof after ten years and it still good ,I also have one four years and the color is still perfect. I know of two from other suppliers that have faded and even has large spots of rust. The owner of Varma told me the warranty is thirty five years on the color I bought and fifty on Copper Penny. she real cool ,give her a call. The one in the pic I bought from Lifetime because of the color I wanted to use on that building was unavailable at Varma.

York

Postby York » April 24th, 2016, 7:35 pm

People does get their eye dig out every day, it seems, when valuers over value properties and when buying from companies, for example.

The simple fact is that there is a value or cost attached to getting the guarantee of a finished product with good quality and turn-key managed job. The owner does not have to be there every day, 2-3 times per day, sort out materials, delivery, etc. Every day people get ripped off from short hand jobs and jobs hang up because of disagreement, etc.

York

Postby York » April 24th, 2016, 7:40 pm

rspann wrote:Quick question. If you pay a large roofing company to do a roof, and Kwame and Mukesh arrive at you site to do the job,what is the difference if Kwame and Mukesh took a job and did it themselves . Will it come out different, will the price be the same?
Guys on Trinituner looking for advice and options, and I try to give advice that can save money by sharing the methods I have used on my own buildings. Many tuners have called me for my roof man no. And have gotten through, so if York wants to be sarcastic and that is helping him, no problem.

The advice is great but of no value if you still cant get a roofman to do the job at that low price. Bottom line just post the Pariaman phone number. I hope ppl doh have to wait too long. I will personally call him for a booking on 2 roofs in the coming months.
Last edited by York on April 24th, 2016, 9:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2016, 8:16 pm

You can get shorthand and rip offs from even the big companies. They also send the same small man to do the job. The next thing is that everybody don't have the same pockets here,,so what about the ones who cannot afford the large companies and project managers?
I get quotes from people just passing and seeing my buildings going up and I can tell you they not anything like the prices you talking. I also got a quote for this same roof for over a hundred thousand labour, and they were sending a small man to do it and the rest is for management.
All the nice jobs you see all over Trinidad, what percentage is done by a big company?
I not saying everybody can oversee their work like me,or that the big companies are not worth the while,but what about who can't afford it?

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » April 24th, 2016, 8:18 pm

rspann wrote:This is a roof just completed by my roofman, could it have been better if he was working for a large company? But I suppose some people know more about building than anybody else. $22000, except the garage.Material from Lifetime roofing.
IMG_1331.JPG

Guttering has no joins, they pull up the whole seventy odd ft with ropes.That price includes drip edge on all valleys and right around.

$22,000 labour and material cost ?

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2016, 8:37 pm

About 110 g, including extra beams and purlins because I wanted them closer.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » April 24th, 2016, 8:43 pm

rspann wrote:About 110 g, including extra beams and purlins because I wanted them closer.

Send info of the guy need a roof installed soon much smaller 1040 sq ft

Postby rspann » April 24th, 2016, 9:00 pm

Pm sent.

York

Postby York » April 24th, 2016, 9:29 pm

I got a guy to do blockwork, ring beam and roof (simple flat) for a 720 sq ft flat house for $15000. Wouldnt be the same for a much bigger roof with gables, hips and valleys.

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » June 1st, 2016, 8:40 pm

Anyone has weather shield material? They are a company from San Juan. And apparently the only people that bring in Kaynar 500

zagie

Postby zagie » June 2nd, 2016, 3:56 pm

inquiring the price of standing seam if any one know the cost per ft or how they sell it thanks pm me of post it here thanks

Postby rspann » June 2nd, 2016, 4:03 pm

Call 223-roof ask for Raj. Lifetime Roofing, good prices high quality.

zagie

Postby zagie » June 4th, 2016, 11:26 pm

inquiring the price of standing seam if any one know the cost per ft or how they sell it thanks pm me of post it here thanks

wavehunter

Postby wavehunter » June 5th, 2016, 7:18 am

Roof systems in Caroni is good. I had bought from GGI and color was charcoal which was supposed be kinda grey. If you see that color now after 5 years it faded badly.

Postby rspann » June 5th, 2016, 8:09 am

Did you buy PVA or PVdf?

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 5th, 2016, 9:19 am

Does trinidad have fiberglass insulation?

zagie

Postby zagie » June 27th, 2016, 9:56 am

need some more info on roof systems thinking about purchasing sheeting with pvdf finish from them, how do the pvdf quality compare to damus or lifetime roofing is.......or is it a standard finish they all have on the sheeting

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » June 28th, 2016, 12:31 pm

rspann wrote:@Kia motors, I can show you a Varma roof after ten years and it still good ,I also have one four years and the color is still perfect. I know of two from other suppliers that have faded and even has large spots of rust. The owner of Varma told me the warranty is thirty five years on the color I bought and fifty on Copper Penny. she real cool ,give her a call. The one in the pic I bought from Lifetime because of the color I wanted to use on that building was unavailable at Varma.

from what i understand all these companies that have made a name for themselves; used to bring in KYNAR. Now they are bringing PVDF, which they claim is the same but it is not. SO more than likely what you would have gotten 10 yrs ago is not the same as what I would get today. My parents swear by Varma too but makes no sense purchasing the same thing at a higher price.

Postby rspann » June 28th, 2016, 1:01 pm

Kynar is a registered trade name for one manufacturers brand of PVDF.

anmaauto2016

Postby anmaauto2016 » June 28th, 2016, 9:33 pm

Bought Standing Seam PVDF from Roof Mechanics , $10.00 +Vat per sq ft

KIA Motors

Postby KIA Motors » June 28th, 2016, 10:27 pm

rspann wrote:Kynar is a registered trade name for one manufacturers brand of PVDF.

yea but from what I understand, the kynar "brand" lasts like 10-15 yrs...some still shiny and looking nice. but the PVDF they selling now not going beyond 3-5 years. Im at a lost as to what to buy. Our market no longer have kynar. I'm willing to pay the cost but no one has it
Last edited by KIA Motors on July 1st, 2016, 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

zagie

Postby zagie » June 29th, 2016, 5:04 pm

so then with that info who can i purchase roofing from? damus pvdf quality good

Loprofile PC

Postby Loprofile PC » July 12th, 2016, 11:16 pm

Can I have a phone contact for the roofman?

air wick

Postby air wick » July 13th, 2016, 3:31 pm

zagie wrote:so then with that info who can i purchase roofing from? damus pvdf quality good

I used the pvdf for my roof that was installed in 2014, so far so good, no discoloration etc.

I have some mocha brown under ceiling sheets for sale if anyone interested... pm me

thestroke

Postby thestroke » April 11th, 2017, 7:21 pm

Just bumping this post. I need a contact for a roofing installer. Got quotes from a few suppliers, lifetime, roofman and roof systems. Roofman has the best prices so far (specified pvdf, standing seam, radiant barrier etc so everybody quote basically the same thing) I'll check roof mechanics, Varma, and island roofing.

I need a good installer now

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » April 13th, 2017, 1:50 pm

Call 721-6825 Bess ask for Rajesh

thestroke

Postby thestroke » April 13th, 2017, 2:36 pm

OracleTnT wrote:Call 721-6825 Bess ask for Rajesh

Thanks man

JF.K

Postby JF.K » April 13th, 2017, 2:47 pm

thestroke wrote:

Thanks man

Let us know how it turns out with this guy

thestroke

Postby thestroke » April 13th, 2017, 2:52 pm

JF.K wrote:
thestroke wrote:

Thanks man

Let us know how it turns out with this guy

Will do. rspann can you send your roofing contractors contact also?