GET HOME BY 9- Chaguanas 'curfew'?

Postby redmanjp » April 20th, 2016, 5:06 pm

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,226737.html

GET HOME BY 9
By Cecily Asson Wednesday, April 20 2016

click on pic to zoom in

RESIDENTS of Enterprise, Chaguanas have been advised by police to get to their homes by nine o’clock every night or face being arrested and charged for loitering

This is the latest move by law enforcement to try and get a grip on the criminal factions which has turned Enterprise into an urban war zone. The nine o’clock rule came into effect last night

A senior police source from Central Division reiterated to Newsday that this was not a police- enforced curfew but rather a strategy being employed by the Division’s Task Force and Chaguanas 500 Patrol Unit in an attempt to reduce crime and lawlessness which in recent months has led to numerous shootings and murders

Anyone found outside liming after 9 pm will be arrested and charged for loitering. :shock: We are targetting these gangs differently this time around and using a different strategy. We are targetting them and I tell you once you are liming on the road after nine, we are going to lock you up. We must find new ways to deal with this,” the officer said

There is no State of emergency, no limited state of emergency and no curfew being imposed on residents, he insisted. “Law abiding citizens will understand what we are trying to do.” As he identified a well-known senior Muslim community leader as the “main man” behind negative behaviour in the area. The lawman said there will be a 24-hour patrol in gang plagued areas in Enterprise

In the latest incident of violence, during the early hours Monday morning, arsonists struck by setting fire to and destroying a Southern Main Road, Enterprise family-run businessplace. One of the victims, a woman, was threatened previously

The business place was owned and operated by a close female relative of a gang member. The threats were from members of a rival gang. Last Friday, there was a stand-off between police and gangs in Crown Trace, Enterprise

Investigators blamed the fresh round of war between rival gangs as a result of a recent contract awarded to build a concrete drain in Circular Drive, Enterprise - an area controlled by the ‘Unruly ISIS gang’

“Our investigations revealed the problem is with a well-known Muslim gang leader who wants to control everybody. He wants to take land, he tells all the business people to close down there businesses so he could get full control

But the ‘Unruly ISIS gang’ is not allowing this to happen,” the source said

“So this is how it went. This well-known Muslim gang leader and his followers joined up with the Bhagaloo Trace gang and are now working together against ‘Unruly ISIS’. Things got out of control when one gang got a contract to build a concrete drain and they told the rival gang leader he is not wanted in the area because that is Unruly ISIS territory.” Police said that was when a near riot broke out in Crown Trace last Friday. Stones were hurled and death threats exchanged

“The family run business that was burned down, it was owned and operated by a person who is linked to Unruly ISIS. We the police know who is behind it,” the source said. He pointed out that the recent arrest of the leader of Unruly ISIS, who was later charged with murder, is another reason other gang leaders tried to “flex their muscles” in the hope of taking control either of the Unruly ISIS gang or its territory

“We are saying at this point, we want no loitering, no gathering on the streets of Enterprise. Anytime you are on the streets after 9 pm, you must have very, very good reasons or face being arrested for loitering,” the source said. Efforts to reach Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams for a comment last night proved fu

chit8238

Re: GET HOME BY 9- Chaguanas 'curfew'?

Postby chit8238 » April 20th, 2016, 5:53 pm

This sounds very scary. I hope the police can get a handle on this.

Postby joker » April 20th, 2016, 6:03 pm

I doubt the police could do what dey supposed to do

$h@dy

Postby $h@dy » April 20th, 2016, 6:08 pm

Not True :roll:

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » April 20th, 2016, 6:20 pm

property value took a next nose dive

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 20th, 2016, 6:59 pm

Damn....that's sabga one....but who d arse gonna live there in the middle of crown trace?.....not me....even if it was free.....

Well..normally these gangs go out of their area and destroy other communities and businesses....well....at least they keeping their chupidness home.....

Postby K74T » April 20th, 2016, 7:06 pm

Thread title misleading - should reflect Enterprise only not Chaguanas on the whole.

Postby DVSTT » April 20th, 2016, 8:26 pm

SOE PT 2 ?

Postby Spitfir3 » April 20th, 2016, 8:31 pm

the shooting happened around 4:30am
heard somn like 50 gunshots

didn't know ISIS was involved doh got to check back my sauces

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » April 20th, 2016, 8:41 pm

Curfew party 8:55pm till 5:30am
$20 a head...
Once yuh inside yuh safe,

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » April 20th, 2016, 8:43 pm

DVSTT wrote:SOE PT 2 ?

new name are they afraid to cal it SOE

Postby redmanjp » April 21st, 2016, 1:28 pm

police denying any curfew but if u telling ppl to be inside at 9 or get arrested how is that not a curfew?

Postby wagonrunner » May 19th, 2016, 8:43 pm

so can't drive from cunupia to longdenville on the SMR after 9?

Postby zoom rader » May 19th, 2016, 11:58 pm

always some curfew in PNM dominated areas