3ne2nr fishermen

baigan

Re: RE: Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby baigan » April 6th, 2016, 10:09 pm

HSA wrote:Image

Caught some chairfoot and small salmon...a few cro cro, catfish and a couple of shark....twas a nice day

Nice

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby dougla_boy » April 7th, 2016, 7:21 am

Caught some chairfoot and small salmon...a few cro cro, catfish and a couple of shark....twas a nice day

ohhh.....nice!

wah boatman u went with?

HSA

Postby HSA » April 7th, 2016, 7:30 am

dougla_boy wrote:

ohhh.....nice!

wah boatman u went with?

Got my lil pirogue bro.......boatmen killing ppl with price these days... 300+ ah head...

Postby dougla_boy » April 7th, 2016, 7:32 am

juh.....yeah bai....them prices a lil hot....u does make that trip by yuhself awa?

HSA

Postby HSA » April 7th, 2016, 12:08 pm

dougla_boy wrote:juh.....yeah bai....them prices a lil hot....u does make that trip by yuhself awa?

Well me and a few family or friends...i cya take the chance to go solo....

baigan

Postby baigan » April 7th, 2016, 12:36 pm

baigan

Postby baigan » April 7th, 2016, 12:37 pm

Saw this on ig

baigan

Postby baigan » April 7th, 2016, 12:42 pm

Postby dougla_boy » April 7th, 2016, 1:07 pm

gude! nice catch there bai!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 7th, 2016, 9:45 pm

U mean to tell me all allyuh professional fisherman in here have all kinda sophisticated equipment and posting up pic of small bait looking fish and a pip squeak from mayaro with no kinda equipment ketch a big 400 pound grouper ....lol...
Time to up the game fellas.....lol...

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 8th, 2016, 2:11 am

Nuff fish buss my 100 lb line down that side, wire leader included... not easy catching those beast. Have some editing to do of the last kayak fishing trip. video will be up sometime...

Postby meccalli » April 8th, 2016, 6:37 am

If value your life and equipment, you really don't want to hook into a 400lb goliath unexpectedly lol. You don't want to be harvesting then either, a fish like that is immensely important for the local reef system it belongs to. You just have to look at the amount of starfish and urchins in the west coast these days.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2016, 6:57 am

meat from the giants not so nice either, lumpy and coarse
of course if you curry it down and over cook it makes no diff what kind of meat you use....

Postby meccalli » April 8th, 2016, 7:03 am

Yeah, Generally for me, bottom fish in the range of 5-10 lbs is the best eating size, 17lbs being the upper limit for some species.

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 9th, 2016, 7:24 pm

Anybody fish today....

Postby dougla_boy » April 9th, 2016, 7:40 pm

Nah, waiting on boatman boat to finish paint...

HSA

Postby HSA » April 10th, 2016, 10:26 am

proton17 wrote:Anybody fish today....

Went to try out ah engine in the gulf...catch a few cro cro and some butters....fish biting more in the full and falling..

Heading out in the 2nd tomorrow...heard some nice salmon biting on the rising...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » April 10th, 2016, 5:13 pm

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=664748

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=664751

Fellas, I selling some of my gears, inbox me if interested

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 10th, 2016, 5:45 pm

Water was really stirred up in manzan today, fish ent bite.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1460324679.975358.jpg

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » April 10th, 2016, 10:54 pm

Went Rash Resort last week... This was the outcome after 2 days...
12987117_619042531576328_4419923062773820898_n.jpg
12970971_619042641576317_75487356217229969_o.jpg
12961433_619042551576326_2629883455567230217_o.jpg
12936537_619042484909666_7962697673049953893_n.jpg
12919748_619042698242978_694649568662473623_n.jpg

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 10th, 2016, 11:59 pm

HSA wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
HSA wrote:Caught some chairfoot and small salmon...a few cro cro, catfish and a couple of shark....twas a nice day

ohhh.....nice!

wah boatman u went with?

Got my lil pirogue bro.......boatmen killing ppl with price these days... 300+ ah head...

HSA could you give us a little run down on the cost to operate/purchase / dimensions of the boat.(approx cost )
where u launch / problems you have
I was thinking to invest in one but the initial cost appears to be high

HSA

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby HSA » April 11th, 2016, 4:34 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
HSA wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
HSA wrote:Caught some chairfoot and small salmon...a few cro cro, catfish and a couple of shark....twas a nice day

ohhh.....nice!

wah boatman u went with?

HSA could you give us a little run down on the cost to operate/purchase / dimensions of the boat.(approx cost )
where u launch / problems you have
I was thinking to invest in one but the initial cost appears to be high

First you have to decide on what built of boat u want. There are several including shantal,boston waler, deep v etc.
Get a reputable builder. I bought mines from a guy in mayaro who does this for a living and was recommended by alot of friends. These days boats are fully fibreglassed but some older ones are made of wood. Both are strong but wood will rot if exposed to water.

Make sure the back board where the engine is going is at an angle. The top should be more out then the bottom. Between 15 to 30 degrees. This is to enable the boat to run straight or plane. If the back board is straight, the boat will plough the water resulting in less performance and higher gas consumption.

Cost for a pirogue is approx 1000 per foot. So a 23 foot boat would cost approx 23000. But you have to cater extra for accessories including rope, anchor, cleats, lights, tackle etc.

Then you need an outboard engine. Depending on your preference there are alot of brands including yamaha, mercury, suzuki, honda, evinrude etc. These brands come both manual and electric. Manual meaning manual pull cord start and handle with throttle. Electric meaning electric start, steering, hydraulic lift etc. You would find that 100 hp and under is mostly manual while over is mostly electric. Its harder to physically handle a bigger size engine than a small one. An electric system will be more expensive but less physical labour when going out to sea. The cost for a brand new outboard is depending on the make and amount of horse power needed. A 75hp yamaha cost around 30000 new. A used one could go for 20000. A 48hp used yamaha is approx 13000. Also the hp of the engine should not exceed the lenght of the boat. For eg You dont want to put a v8 in a go cart. So a 23 foot pirogue could handle around a 75hp max. A formula bowen 32 feet could handle 2 x 300 hp easy.

Then you need to build a trailer if you decide to launch yourself. If you get or have a place with those racks and forklift like power boats then a trailer is not needed. The stronger the trailer the better. Aluminium trailers are way more expensive than diy metal ones but dont rust.

There are several places to launch. Central has alot including caroni bird sanctuary(blue river) and felicity. West coast has alot but mostly privately owned. East has beaches so guys launch from the beach....... up north i donno...

Once u have everything in order then all your cost is gas, bait and food. I launch from felicity and go from there. If i decide to go in the grand my cost is usually abt 400. 200 in gas, 100 in bait and 100 for food. Some days u catch your rass but thats how fishing is...gotta love it for the relaxation...

If u need any additional info feel free to call me 2983606. Hope this helps.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 11th, 2016, 5:25 am

HSA
thank you so much for taking the time and writing such detailed info
I will definitely give you a call
Because I want to know more about the trailer and registration /insurance etc
I am seriously considering getting a boat.

Postby dougla_boy » April 11th, 2016, 7:30 am

good info for later down......boat will come after the house.....

Postby timelapse » April 12th, 2016, 7:32 pm

Do you guys know of lures that work well for surf fishing ?

Postby pugboy » April 12th, 2016, 7:40 pm

Guabine was caught in river ?

Postby meccalli » April 12th, 2016, 7:59 pm

timelapse wrote:Do you guys know of lures that work well for surf fishing ?

For the surf, I like bucktails primarily and spoons/metal jigs. You can use poppers and swimmers in less turbid water stuff like magdarters, halco/ williamson poppers and xraps/ magminnows.

Postby meccalli » April 12th, 2016, 8:22 pm

Guabine are euryhaline and can tolerate fluctuating salinity levels in the case of rivers that flood with the tide.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » April 12th, 2016, 11:31 pm

Yep.. Just as the tide came over into the river that guy swam up to join the mixture of fresh and salt and was caught...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 14th, 2016, 2:26 pm

What sinkers you all use for surf fishing? I previously used grabbers , but I see "sputnik" breakway sinkers available internationally . What is available here and where ?