sMASH wrote:Imo, government doing arseness. The company come, uses the resources, the land , the people, make an bag ah money.
They closing up shop, and ain't pay the workers off. Just up and leave.
The government in the form of the ministry of labor needs to Pursue the company to conform to the labor laws the land has, and severance the workers.
Any body could come and bobolize we, and as a country we would take it.
All we could do as a country is wine and jam and play football. When it come to real matters, we is dotish black people who can't stand up to nobody, we can't say boo
De Dragon wrote:sMASH wrote:Imo, government doing arseness. The company come, uses the resources, the land , the people, make an bag ah money.
They closing up shop, and ain't pay the workers off. Just up and leave.
The government in the form of the ministry of labor needs to Pursue the company to conform to the labor laws the land has, and severance the workers.
Any body could come and bobolize we, and as a country we would take it.
All we could do as a country is wine and jam and play football. When it come to real matters, we is dotish black people who can't stand up to nobody, we can't say boo
The problem is that there are no existing laws to prevent precisely what ArcelorMittal is doing
jhonnieblue wrote:Administration assistants got as high a 50k for less than 5 yes service. Trust me.like typical trinis..greed prevailing. Cant blame mittal for packing it up and going..its not govt workers and by all accounts unionized workers seem to feel they could do as they want.
jhonnieblue wrote:The workers were paid severance according to the laws as well as they will get pension..they just not getting to take it out early as some wanted..the union just beating up and mittal has not come out to say anything. Just rem most of you are hearing one side to a story.
I suggest you go ask some of the more educated people that worked mittal..they are fine with the payouts and don't understand why the union is kicking up a fuss.
jhonnieblue wrote:The workers were paid severance according to the laws as well as they will get pension..they just not getting to take it out early as some wanted..the union just beating up and mittal has not come out to say anything. Just rem most of you are hearing one side to a story.
I suggest you go ask some of the more educated people that worked mittal..they are fine with the payouts and don't understand why the union is kicking up a fuss.
antlind wrote:Sometimes having a 'strong' union presence is not such a good thing.
De Dragon wrote:antlind wrote:Sometimes having a 'strong' union presence is not such a good thing.
Unions lost their way years ago in T&T. The kinda stories you hear about what goes on at Mittal and the apathy displayed by some of the workers is amazing. Its like crime, if you know you can get away with it, you'll do it.
mark2.0 wrote:De Dragon wrote:antlind wrote:Sometimes having a 'strong' union presence is not such a good thing.
Unions lost their way years ago in T&T. The kinda stories you hear about what goes on at Mittal and the apathy displayed by some of the workers is amazing. Its like crime, if you know you can get away with it, you'll do it.
Agreed with the big lizard.
De Dragon wrote:antlind wrote:Sometimes having a 'strong' union presence is not such a good thing.
BRZ wrote:De Dragon wrote:antlind wrote:Sometimes having a 'strong' union presence is not such a good thing.
Labour in this country have been getting away with Murder, it is extremely hard to balance the generosity and leniency of a Business Owner without being taken advantage of by workers.
Its about time Employers have the upper hand again .
De Dragon wrote:BRZ wrote:De Dragon wrote:antlind wrote:Sometimes having a 'strong' union presence is not such a good thing.
Labour in this country have been getting away with Murder, it is extremely hard to balance the generosity and leniency of a Business Owner without being taken advantage of by workers.
Its about time Employers have the upper hand again .
There has to be a balance IMHO. Workers have to identify with the company's goals and work toward profitability, because that will guarantee future employment and financial security.
BRZ wrote:And shut down Arcelor has and left all their unfair labor arses without a job, serves them right.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Clearly it's never the employer's fault.
De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Clearly it's never the employer's fault.
Yes, but when obstructionist union idiots involved, it usually hastens the demise.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Clearly it's never the employer's fault.
Yes, but when obstructionist union idiots involved, it usually hastens the demise.
Steel in a mess generally though. Mittal would have closed regardless. Mittal already laid off people locally despite the presence of a union. Problem is on both sides. Can't just blame Union alone.
De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Clearly it's never the employer's fault.
Steel in a mess generally though. Mittal would have closed regardless. Mittal already laid off people locally despite the presence of a union. Problem is on both sides. Can't just blame Union alone.
Never said they were solely to blame, but the work ethic, safety at Arcelor Mittal is horrible. This leads to worker apathy and demotivation, but when you have a union encouraging the irresponsible behaviour by defending insubordination, high absenteeism, etc, well nobody wins as we can tell.
joker wrote:A lot of idiots on this topic sah. Apparently they heard the other side of the story not knowing that ampl created Arcelormittal tru subsidies, cheap labour. Not once the topic of acquisitions came into your elaborate minds from 1plant in pt Lisas to over 100 plants globally or never was price transfer mentioned...
Admin staff would've gone home with one or 2mths pay..... Not 50 k but less than 18k and a person with 36 year s service would go home with less than 30k. Excluding vacation and the court judgement . One worker lost over 700k cus of a judgment awarded and company went into liquidation...and
over 2000contract workers would have benefitted from that landmark judgement.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:De Dragon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Clearly it's never the employer's fault.