ArcelorMittal plant sold to TT Iron Steel Company Ltd

BRZ

Re: 600 lose jobs at Arcelor Mital

Postby BRZ » March 22nd, 2016, 12:33 pm

The UNION should be given first chance at some form of ownership, BUT let them FUND it, let them run it, and WHEN it goes under its THEIR money going to hell and NOT my tax dollars.

The union in Trinidad wanna play up in their ass- let them be, give them a chance, if they make it work for themselves then they stand to make a profit, it they run it like their general work ethic then so be it to their own demise.

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 22nd, 2016, 12:37 pm

^^ It's easy for the Union to say anything now, even lie about it.

Postby sMASH » March 22nd, 2016, 2:50 pm

Mittal would have closed doors regardless. China not buying as much steel, so it don't make sense to sell steel.
The union move, as selfish as it was, merely forced mortal to drop their hand sooner than later.

Me, if I was any player to do anything in this country, I would partner with one of mittal's competitors use them as the management team to run the place. Split up the ownership of the company like ttngl, where they management company has some shares, the workers has some, the ministry of energy has some on behalf of the government and float some publicly.
This would happen after u evaluate how much market is there locally for steel, and if there is potential to sell regionally at a profit. I would guess these would be small compared to what the plant could actually produce, so they would have to evaluate how much of the plant to run at a time, and how much time to have it running to minimise operational costs.

SSalaries, obviously, would be a shell of what it was before. The main concept is to keep people from the deadline while being a net gain for the treasury as opposed to a net loss.

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2016, 3:27 pm

sMASH wrote:Mittal would have closed doors regardless. China not buying as much steel, so it don't make sense to sell steel.
The union move, as selfish as it was, merely forced mortal to drop their hand sooner than later.

Me, if I was any player to do anything in this country, I would partner with one of mittal's competitors use them as the management team to run the place. Split up the ownership of the company like ttngl, where they management company has some shares, the workers has some, the ministry of energy has some on behalf of the government and float some publicly.
This would happen after u evaluate how much market is there locally for steel, and if there is potential to sell regionally at a profit. I would guess these would be small compared to what the plant could actually produce, so they would have to evaluate how much of the plant to run at a time, and how much time to have it running to minimise operational costs.

SSalaries, obviously, would be a shell of what it was before. The main concept is to keep people from the deadline while being a net gain for the treasury as opposed to a net loss.

Mittal issue is its being priced out of its markets by dumped Chinese, Russian, Turkish and Brazilian steel. No matter who owns that plant, unless they have an existing and viable market, they're not going to do any different than Mittal.

Postby sMASH » March 22nd, 2016, 10:51 pm

I was thinking about just the local market and possibly regional,

Postby zoom rader » March 23rd, 2016, 2:32 am

sMASH wrote:I was thinking about just the local market and possibly regional,

It that's the case it would be too expensive to run the plant to service the local region.
The plant would be underused

Postby sMASH » March 23rd, 2016, 6:56 am

I thought it would be like that, so I had the idea of making batches. Start up, have the plant producing at an efficient rate, make a set off steel, then turn back down. Same philosophy as those pie men: have a production run for your expected demand, then turn back down when u make enough.

We have all that infrastructure, lots of unemployed people, cheap energy, and a geographical advantage. I not on continuous operation, I on seasonal production runs. like, produce a set of steel during the to rainy season so it is available for purchase when people are ready to build.
It is no problem To have a little excess, just use the fifo method and don't make as much steel the next production run.

Yes, it requires a really good analysis of the workflows of each step in the process, but the idea is not to make a few people rich. Is just to be profitable enough to remain self sustainable and have employment for a few of the unemployed. and, any major profits would be shared between the management company, the workers, the ministry of energy and public

The Raven

Postby The Raven » March 23rd, 2016, 8:13 am

What were the salaries like for the workers?

grad

Postby grad » March 23rd, 2016, 8:50 am

The management of mittal offered the union to allow the workers to take their vacation, and not be laid off. The union say no they not accepting that. The management offered 40% salary and no lay offs, again the union say no. The management offered 50 and 60% and the union say no, they want 100% to stay home. so mittal management could not come to an agreement with the union and laid off all the workers in november.

IMO, the union was too stubborn and wanted 100% salary for workers to stay home n scratch, so its not to say mittal didnt try to negotiate with them, the union wanted the whole hen. The business was becoming unprofitable due to worldwide and local constraints. Mittal was hoping to ride out the storm hoping for a change in market, but as we know, the market has not improved.

When the court granted the payment to the union, basically Mittal said eff off, I have many other plants I can run with. When Mittal himself came in TT a little while ago, he was not impressed by the workers work ethic. But workers in union again, feel they can get away with evrything until the company closed off.

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2016, 9:48 am

sMASH wrote:I thought it would be like that, so I had the idea of making batches. Start up, have the plant producing at an efficient rate, make a set off steel, then turn back down. Same philosophy as those pie men: have a production run for your expected demand, then turn back down when u make enough.

We have all that infrastructure, lots of unemployed people, cheap energy, and a geographical advantage. I not on continuous operation, I on seasonal production runs. like, produce a set of steel during the to rainy season so it is available for purchase when people are ready to build.
It is no problem To have a little excess, just use the fifo method and don't make as much steel the next production run.

Yes, it requires a really good analysis of the workflows of each step in the process, but the idea is not to make a few people rich. Is just to be profitable enough to remain self sustainable and have employment for a few of the unemployed. and, any major profits would be shared between the management company, the workers, the ministry of energy and public

An integrated steel mill like Arcelor Mittal's cannot be a batch type plant. Firstly, it takes several days to bring an integrated steel plant fully on line. Even to idle the DRI plants in readiness for start up requires gas, electricity, water ,manpower costs. Then there would be the cycling of the equipment which would lead to a shortening of its useful life.

Postby sMASH » March 23rd, 2016, 3:00 pm

Cycling you say,,,, :-D that never bothered we...
I thinking to produce at a month or two at a time at an efficient rate. It could be seasonal.
Is between 2000 to 3000 people got or getting laid off, including support company workers.
Dat is real people to find jobs for. Anything is better than nothing.
And it not intended to be a cash cow, just enough to break even and have citizens employed. So that steel might be able to compete on the local market, with 'potential' for regional.

But, this all hinges on a detailed study of the operational costs, not including salaries as these would and should be significantly less than in the past.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 24th, 2016, 7:48 am

From a process perspective I doubt that could be done...plant reliability would be impacted with cycling like that and efficiency to heavily impacted during start up and shut downs to allow for any type of profit during steady state. That type of operations would make no sense economically

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby sMASH » March 24th, 2016, 9:13 am

Plants supposed to have government inspections every two years or so, no? Think about it as having and extended inspection. plants come down all the time for turnarounds, outages, trips. I agree all those things put ware and tare, but they happen all the time, and most equipment are over engineered.

Postby zoom rader » March 24th, 2016, 10:12 am

sMASH wrote:Plants supposed to have government inspections every two years or so, no? Think about it as having and extended inspection. plants come down all the time for turnarounds, outages, trips. I agree all those things put ware and tare, but they happen all the time, and most equipment are over engineered.

Government you say? Not to be trusted.

I worked at a Pt lisas plant where the lender had it own inspectors doing twice yearly inspections. They came in from UK and would run over every aspects of maintenance and the books

The banks don't trust government inspectors where their plant is concerned

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 24th, 2016, 10:21 am

sMASH wrote:Plants supposed to have government inspections every two years or so, no? Think about it as having and extended inspection. plants come down all the time for turnarounds, outages, trips. I agree all those things put ware and tare, but they happen all the time, and most equipment are over engineered.

Government you say? Not to be trusted.

I worked at a Pt lisas plant where the lender had it own inspectors doing twice yearly inspections. They came in from UK and would run over every aspects of maintenance and the books

The banks don't trust government inspectors where their plant is concerned

Banks don't trust any company: Government run or not.

They have their own auditors or a trusted big 4 firm conduct periodic audits.

But that iz no absolute assurance. Even auditors don't catch everything.

Postby De Dragon » March 24th, 2016, 9:48 pm

Yes but water, gas, nitrogen, natural gas are all on take or pay contracts, so whether you use them or not, you pay, so having a plant down and still paying for these fixed cost items makes no sense.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 5th, 2016, 5:48 pm

star947 #BreakingNews
Dismissed Arcelor Mittal workers along with members of the Steel Workers Union,stormed a meeting of the company’s accountants, PriceWaterHouse Coopers Limited at the Conference room of the Queen’s Park Oval on Tuesday afternoon.

Staff at the Oval confirmed to TTRN that a tip off was received that the dismissed workers were going to storm the meeting and attempted to lock all entrances, however, the unwanted stakeholders managed to break a glass door at the entrance of the “Bat and Ball,” restaurant in order to gain access to the building.

One staff member , who is presently inside the building, told TTRN that the angry workers demanded to know where the meeting was being held.

Just yesterday the dismissed ArcelorMittal workers stormed the company’s compound in Pt Lisas and locked themselves in, saying that they would no longer wait for the Government of T&T to intervene to secure their pension and savings plan.

Police are currently on the premises investigating the matter.
Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 5.47.13 PM.png

Postby sMASH » April 5th, 2016, 7:10 pm

Imo, government doing arseness. The company come, uses the resources, the land , the people, make an bag ah money.
They closing up shop, and ain't pay the workers off. Just up and leave.

The government in the form of the ministry of labor needs to Pursue the company to conform to the labor laws the land has, and severance the workers.

Any body could come and bobolize we, and as a country we would take it.
All we could do as a country is wine and jam and play football. When it come to real matters, we is dotish black people who can't stand up to nobody, we can't say boo

Postby Redman » April 5th, 2016, 7:30 pm

Cnc 3 stated that AMTT owed other Arcelor subsidiaries over 200 of the 280M owed to creditors.

If this is true then isn't this an Acellor Mital created bankruptcy ?

Postby joker » April 5th, 2016, 10:52 pm

[img]
FB_IMG_1459911086925.jpg
[/img]
1459911142319.jpg
1459911142319.jpg (15.51 KiB) Viewed 3719 times

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 5th, 2016, 11:36 pm

Redman wrote:Cnc 3 stated that AMTT owed other Arcelor subsidiaries over 200 of the 280M owed to creditors.

If this is true then isn't this an Acellor Mital created bankruptcy ?

It's the biggest shell game amongst MNC Redz.

Transfer pricing.

Postby eliteauto » April 5th, 2016, 11:52 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-04-05/plant’s-worth-only-us70m
ArcelorMittal Point Lisas Limited owes US$315 million to creditors, a figure that is four times its assets of US$70 million.

This was disclosed yesterday at a meeting of the creditors at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port-of-Spain.

The event itself, however, was full of high drama as a group of former workers, led by Steel Workers Union president Christopher Henry, forced its way into the meeting after initially being denied entry by security officers.

The workers, who were adamant that they should be part of the meeting since they considered themselves creditors as well, converged on the entrance to the facility, smashing a glass door. This caused a major concern and a large contingent of heavily armed police officers was called in to support the security on site.

With things getting tense and a little physical, the workers eventually were allowed in.

During the meeting, it was disclosed hundreds of companies were owed money.

In a document leaked to the T&T Guardian, some of the creditors and money owed in US currency include:

The National Gas Company — $12,635,661; ArcelorMittal Treasury — $85,771,547; ArcelorMittal Finance — $66,576,910 and Super Industrial Services Limited — $143,023.

At yesterday’s meeting, the process of dissolving the company commenced with the appointment of liquidator Christopher Kelshall to oversee the process.

The process is to ensure the creditors are paid out of the money that will be collected from the sale of the plant.

Speaking with the media after the meeting, Henry said while the figures did not look realistic the union would not give up the fight for some sort of relief and justice.

“The process of liquidation just started and we are saying the issue of investors will now come into play in a week or two. We await that because there are investors who are still interested.

“We would like to see and would be very keen in taking a position. We will be looking at the whole process closely because the lives of the workers depend on it,” he said.

One of the questions posed by Henry was the company’s obligation to the workers in the area of pension.

He said: “We asked the question as it relates to the Privy Council judgment that we would have won but we did not get that clear response.

“Any payment to the workers as it relates to a severance for the workforce...because while the company would have terminated the services of 644 workers, we had that in the court because we did nothing to be terminated.

“That was a ploy to use to get away from the severance payment they owe us and the process of the winding up. The liquidator must explain and say where we are as it relates to that,” Henry added.

Postby joker » April 6th, 2016, 4:17 am

Blood should be shed for this.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 6th, 2016, 10:14 am

well of course Arcelor HAS to pay SIS first!

** runs and hides below harry potter's cloak of invisibility.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 6th, 2016, 10:32 am

I wonder if the owner have money in Panama or us virgin islands

Postby Dizzy28 » April 6th, 2016, 10:55 am

urbandilema wrote:I wonder if the owner have money in Panama or us virgin islands

Mittal's name was called in the Panama Papers leak.........
http://www.newslodi.com/politics/04845- ... the-elites

However given his immense wealth I am sure he has money in the USVI, Panama, Bahamas, Bermuda, Luxemourg, Switzerland, Hong Kong, London, Tokyo et al.

Postby sMASH » April 6th, 2016, 11:08 am

A limited company prevents the assets of the owners being counted as part of the assets of the company, hence the term limited liability.

But, these people accrued so much money, and still allowed the company to be in so much debt, it is scandalous.

If America could go up against fifa for corrupt practices, other entities should go up against corporations or people, to seek fair redress.

If u want to close the company, fine. All I saying is pay off the workers their severance and pensions. That is miniscule compared to all the money they make.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 6th, 2016, 11:15 am

Some similarities with local steel production in this article below. Similar options to dealing with the issues as well...

http://www.bbc.com/news/business-35933901

Tata Steel UK: What are the options?

With Tata abandoning its UK operations, the future for British steelmaking is bleak.

Tata Steel UK has operations in Port Talbot, Trostre, Shotton, Llanwern and Newport in Wales and Rotherham and Corby in England.

Here we look at the options for the industry.
Sale

This is the preferred outcome for everyone - if a buyer can be found.

Business Secretary Sajid Javid has said: "There are buyers out there", but no realistic candidate has put themselves forward.

It is hardly surprising. Tata invested £3bn into its UK operations and is still losing £1m a day as steel prices continue to fall.

Liberty House who are buying Tata's Lanarkshire plants have told the BBC that they are being "very cautious". It is actively looking for steel assets but largely in the "downstream" market - the manufacturing of steel products rather than the steel itself.

Greybull Capital, which specialises in turning around underperforming businesses is negotiating with Tata over the Scunthorpe works.

But Tata Steel UK is on a different scale. Greybull is considering a £400m investment in Scunthorpe, in contrast to the £2bn or more that is thought to be needed to restructure Tata Steel UK.

Nationalisation

Even a temporary nationalisation of Tata Steel UK by a Conservative government would be astonishing. It seems an unlikely scenario.

Mr Cameron said on Thursday: "We are not ruling anything out. I don't believe nationalisation is the right answer."

Supporters of the idea say that that is precisely what the Labour government did during the financial crisis when it bailed out the banking system. Indeed Royal Bank of Scotland is still majority (58%) owned by the government.

Rules on the steel industry are fundamental to the European Union, dating back to the Treaty of Rome in 1957, but they do not prohibit nationalisation.

Under the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, Article 456 says: "The Treaties shall in no way prejudice the rules in Member States governing the system of property ownership".

The Article is usually seen as a way of facilitating privatisation, but could well be used to allow nationalisation as well.

Even so the government would have to convince the Commission that it is acting as a private investor, putting money in to increase profitability - not simply subsidising a loss-making business.

Temporary nationalisation

If faced with immediate closure there might be an option for the government to temporarily take ownership before selling it on.

Ministers have been unable to secure a promise from Tata over how long they will allow the plants to remain open.

The Scottish government temporarily nationalised Tata's Lanarkshire mills during the sale to Liberty, although ownership lasted only a matter of minutes, and was done for technical reasons at no cost to the tax payer.

Nationalisation of the business for the short-term might be politically more acceptable, but the government would have to absorb all the costs.

It would also run into problems with EU rules on state aid.

The government was allowed to step in and help the banking system during the 2008 crisis because its failure threatened the economic security of the country.

The same cannot be said of the steel industry.
Government support

There are other ways the government might support the steel business if no buyer comes forward soon.

One option being considered by ministers is to "mothball" the blast furnace at Port Talbot.

It is thought this would cost between £10m-£20m a month and would also involve laying off most of the workforce.

Another option, thought to have been part of a package put to the Tata board earlier this week, involves a buy-out by managers and staff at Port Talbot.

While Tata called the plan "unaffordable" it might work with the help of government loans or loan guarantees, similar to the ones being considered in the sale of Scunthorpe to Greybull.

Again the EU rules restrict what the government can do to help.

The European Commission in the past has ordered the recovery of illegal state aid in the steel industry from Belgium, Germany, Italy and Poland.

For instance, the Commission is investigating Italy's third largest steelmaker Ilva, which was given €2bn in government support supposedly to help it comply with emissions and environmental standards. Rivals claim the money is being illegally used to modernise its plant and increase capacity.

The European Commission told the BBC: "EU rules do not allow rescue or restructuring aid such as emergency loans or government guarantees on loans to steel manufacturers in financial difficulties.

"This is because of past experience and taking into account the features of the EU steel industry, in particular its overcapacity."

Closure

This is the option no one wants, and which everyone fears.

The knock-on effects of a closure would be considerable. The IPPR think tank has estimated that while 15,000 jobs at Tata UK would go there are another 25,000 in the supply chain that would also be at risk, although it says that some of these are not in the UK.

The impact on the Port Talbot area where Tata Steel UK employs some 5,500 workers would be disastrous.

It would come on top of a steady flow of steel job losses: Redcar steel plant, owned by Thai company SSI, closed last year taking with it 1,700 jobs. Port Talbot itself announced 1,000 job losses in January.

Postby sMASH » April 6th, 2016, 1:00 pm

China has steel plants that are as big as the whole UK steel industry. But need to downsize themselves because of reduced productivity.

Simple case of supply outstripping demand, just like oil and gas. The main difference is that the demand for steel has reduced compounding the effects.

Only two options really. Is either shut down a let foreign suppliers sell you your steel, or down size your production facilities to meet local demand, while having competitive prices compared to the foreign steel.
UK is big enough that they can have a couple facilities running efficiently to supply local.
Trinidad isn't lucky because we have a giant complex. If it were only feasible to supply regionally, it might be possible to run the plant efficiently.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 6th, 2016, 1:12 pm

Allyuh gone way OFF topic ! LOL