DC Universe thread - Justice League

Yofoot

Re: Batman v Superman - Dawn of Justice

Postby Yofoot » March 29th, 2016, 6:16 am

In general the movie was a good ride, i enjoyed it but you cannot think about the plot at all. It's like the Transformers movies. Good visuals and set pieces but convoluted plot holding them together.

There were some parts of the movie that took me out of the experience while watching it.
1) The chase scene when Superman told Batman to stop. It seems so pointless when he went back to the cave and saw the tracker, then the kryptonite was stolen off screen. Really odd to me.

2) Batman being manipulated so easily, plus, how did he know Superman was going to show up when he set his trap and use the signal? Didn't superman disappear after the bombing of congress?

3) The whole Justice League intro stuff, I found it so oddly forced in. So is Lex Luther responsible for creating the symbols for the heroes? Each folder had the symbols of each hero on it. Weird

daas

Postby daas » March 29th, 2016, 8:05 am

But could it be that it was Batman who did something to kill Lois? Hence the reason Superman kills Bats in the dream sequence.

I got the impression that it was left ambiguous as to who might have killed Lois in the future. We are assuming that Superman did it and what Darkseid brainwashed him?

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » March 29th, 2016, 8:09 am

pyromaniax wrote:
Alot of people didnt realize it was Flash talking to Bruce through the speed force and showing him glimpses of the future. Basically what flash was warning Bruce about is the Injustice story line where supes killed Luis and tuned tyrant, hence flash saying luis is the key and he was right about supes all along.

On a side note i found the movie to be great and loved the new take on Lex JR..
I think people tend to over think and analyse movies way too much ruining their experience when they are meant to be fun, and BVS was god damn entertaining.

supes didnt kill lois* joker did.....supes killed joker thus becoming a tyrant after killing many more villains and eventually heroes that didnt see eye to eye with him

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » March 29th, 2016, 8:21 am

BoostJunkieXL wrote:
pyromaniax wrote:
Alot of people didnt realize it was Flash talking to Bruce through the speed force and showing him glimpses of the future. Basically what flash was warning Bruce about is the Injustice story line where supes killed Luis and tuned tyrant, hence flash saying luis is the key and he was right about supes all along.

I think people tend to over think and analyse movies way too much ruining their experience when they are meant to be fun, and BVS was god damn entertaining.

supes didnt kill lois* joker did.....supes killed joker thus becoming a tyrant after killing many more villains and eventually heroes that didnt see eye to eye with him

Nope, Joker tricked superman into killing Lois that's why he then came after joker and killed him aswell.

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » March 29th, 2016, 8:29 am

pyromaniax wrote:
BoostJunkieXL wrote:
pyromaniax wrote:

Nope, Joker tricked superman into killing Lois that's why he then came after joker and killed him aswell.

oh right he thought he was fighting doomsday but it was her and i think she was preggo with his child at the time or something..my bad :lol:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » March 31st, 2016, 3:40 am

i think we've been spoilt by how well marvel's casts were integrated into avengers...dc are playing catch up and it showed...thin yet expansive plots that tried to bite off a bit too much...usual decent visuals though as you'd expect from a snyder movie...wasn't impressed with the score...

this version of batman was also quite unlike anything before...was a pleasant reminder that he is just a human with the manipulation and rage and all that...affleck was a shitty bruce wayne but an exceptional batman imho...lois was a filler and supes was made to look like a pansy...ww was impressiveish

now we can focus on the good stuff - spidey's appearance in civil war!

Postby A172 » March 31st, 2016, 8:06 am

was hard to take this movie srs when xmen trailer show right before it

average/10

Sent from my E6883 using Tapatalk

Postby goalpost » March 31st, 2016, 8:16 am

daas wrote:All set up for the Justice League movie then, shame that Snyder will be directing that too
Besides Man of Steel, Snyder also did 300, Sucker Punch and Watchmen - all became cult classics.

Dunno if you were born yet when 300 came out in 2006, fantastic movie.

I disagree. How do they go about chosing directors for these films?
Man of Steel, 300 and Watchmen in my opinion are inferior superhero films. Sucker Punch was downright lame. Nowadays a superhero film is successful due to its hype, it's first few weeks box office (US) and critical reviews. Snyder films lack the critical success like other superhero films. I still don't understand why he is still being hired for these films. Hell let's give Jon Favreau a chance in the DC universe.
And it's going to continue with Patty Jenkins directing Wonder Woman.

daas

Postby daas » April 1st, 2016, 7:16 am

goalpost wrote:
daas wrote:All set up for the Justice League movie then, shame that Snyder will be directing that too
Besides Man of Steel, Snyder also did 300, Sucker Punch and Watchmen - all became cult classics.

Dunno if you were born yet when 300 came out in 2006, fantastic movie.

I disagree. How do they go about chosing directors for these films?
Man of Steel, 300 and Watchmen in my opinion are inferior superhero films. Sucker Punch was downright lame. Nowadays a superhero film is successful due to its hype, it's first few weeks box office (US) and critical reviews. Snyder films lack the critical success like other superhero films. I still don't understand why he is still being hired for these films. Hell let's give Jon Favreau a chance in the DC universe.
And it's going to continue with Patty Jenkins directing Wonder Woman.

This guy knows what he's talking about. Snyder is making millions off of superhero hype even though he's a crap director.

crock101

Postby crock101 » April 1st, 2016, 11:05 am

Why were there so many dream sequences?

Advent

Postby Advent » April 1st, 2016, 1:28 pm

crock101 wrote:Why were there so many dream sequences?

its a fallback , just incase they cant go forward with those plans in future movies

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » April 1st, 2016, 1:29 pm

two? :? basically foreshadowing the coming of DarkSeid

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » April 3rd, 2016, 9:06 am

Saturday AM Update: Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice takes a massive tumble compared to its opening day last weekend with an estimated $15.35 million Friday. That's an 81% drop from its opening day last Friday, which did include $27.7 million from Thursday previews, but even excluding those numbers you're looking at a 71.5% drop. Rival studios peg the film's second weekend dropping as much as 70%, resulting in a three day weekend around $50 million.

Meanwhile, internationally the film brought in $19.2 million on Friday, bringing its international cume to $363.4 million for a worldwide total of $587.8 million.

http://www.boxofficemojo.com/news/?id=4172&p=.htm

Postby dougla_boy » April 3rd, 2016, 11:23 pm

So I went and saw the movie today... And as an avid comic fan, I was completely. Disappointed... It was terrible.

Firstly... Ben Affleck was a very good Batman. Seriously, excellent. But script was terrible. They took 2 story arcs and messed the sh!t out of it. Lois Lane was a waste of time. They dream sequences was tooz. Let Luthor was the worst. I thought he had an identity crisis. I don't understand how Superman figured out how Batman was Bruce or how Lex found out who Superman identity was or why he didn't like Superman. Also, I didn't like wonder woman. Seriously, she needs some colonel or Castle. She was real skinny no ass. Plus Bats was killing people. I know he was older and whatnot, but he still would not break his code of killing people. And what the eff was the purpose of the Robin costume? No back story or nothing. As a matter if fact, how D eff did Lois and Clark relationship blossom? All of a sudden u see then bulling. Stueps. I was hoping that the fights and action sequences would have made up for the sheit script, but it didn't. Snyder hadda get rid off. He did great with Watchmen and 300. Yet this is the sheit he made. Utterly disappointed. The best sequence was the opening of Bruce in Metropolis. And that was in the beginning. When the climax was in the beginning, that says a lot.

They should remake the movie and send out a notice to disregard this. Probably eliminate this from the Internet or anything like that.

I sceptical about Suicide Squad now Yes. Still looking forward to Captain America Civil War.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » April 4th, 2016, 1:38 am

Surveys says the bat is the man ...

daas

Postby daas » April 4th, 2016, 9:20 am

I think the reference to the Robin suit and the writing on it was Joker killing Robin. Hence the reason Batman goes back on his no-kill policy.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » April 4th, 2016, 10:19 am

dougla_boy wrote:So I went and saw the movie today... And as an avid comic fan, I was completely. Disappointed... It was terrible.

Firstly... Ben Affleck was a very good Batman. Seriously, excellent. But script was terrible. They took 2 story arcs and messed the sh!t out of it. Lois Lane was a waste of time. They dream sequences was tooz. Let Luthor was the worst. I thought he had an identity crisis. I don't understand how Superman figured out how Batman was Bruce or how Lex found out who Superman identity was or why he didn't like Superman. Also, I didn't like wonder woman. Seriously, she needs some colonel or Castle. She was real skinny no ass. Plus Bats was killing people. I know he was older and whatnot, but he still would not break his code of killing people. And what the eff was the purpose of the Robin costume? No back story or nothing. As a matter if fact, how D eff did Lois and Clark relationship blossom? All of a sudden u see then bulling. Stueps. I was hoping that the fights and action sequences would have made up for the sheit script, but it didn't. Snyder hadda get rid off. He did great with Watchmen and 300. Yet this is the sheit he made. Utterly disappointed. The best sequence was the opening of Bruce in Metropolis. And that was in the beginning. When the climax was in the beginning, that says a lot.

They should remake the movie and send out a notice to disregard this. Probably eliminate this from the Internet or anything like that.

I sceptical about Suicide Squad now Yes. Still looking forward to Captain America Civil War.

First you have to understand that the movie stands by itself and is its own adaption hence the reasoning for pulling from so many different arcs/worlds of DC. It is not meant to stick and re-produce the exact comic counterparts. To your problems with the movie:

1) I found the dream sequences to be great as it gave insight to the possible future of Darkseid and the Injustice story arc.

2) Lex Luther ( Alexander Luthor) who is Lex's son was a basically a new character, (only the 2nd time making an appearance other than in the comics from World 3) so his personality could have been anything they wanted. Personally I loved Lex in this movie but I guess you either hate him or love him that's just personal opinion but don't try to compare him to the more well known Lex Luthor.

3) Superman has X-ray vision.... they didn't show him use it but didn't we all know this?

3) I agree WonderWoman looked a skinny as apposed to how she normally looks but Gal pulled off her role excellently and still looked great in action and in costume so its something that isn't really a problem imo.

4) There were many times Bats killed in the comics, what's the problem of having this old and bitter Batman not show the same mercy he was had? Infact he did not kill anyone directly (except in the dream). Having batman act so bitter was a relief IMO since superman was already being the goodie good as he usually is.

5) Robin costume was a nice easter egg for the fans who know that the joker killed robin (could also be the reason bats got so bitter)

6) Clark and Louis relationship really? It has been basically 2 years of time passed in the movie , did they really have the details of their relationship? is this a love story?

7) I had no big issue with the action as it was well paced throughout the entire movie but I really did expect a little more brawling with Doomday at the end instead of all those energy blast that was going on.

I'm just saying they way you hated on the movie without trying to understand their adaption of it is not deserving. I am not saying you have to like the movie or it was a great movie (I personally enjoyed it) but this movie is no way near being terrible.

Note : Blueray edition is rated R and has 30 mins extra of footage. (some of the scenes are already being leaked)

Postby dougla_boy » April 4th, 2016, 10:46 am

pyromaniax wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:So I went and saw the movie today... And as an avid comic fan, I was completely. Disappointed... It was terrible.

First you have to understand that the movie stands by itself and is its own adaption hence the reasoning for pulling from so many different arcs/worlds of DC. It is not meant to stick and re-produce the exact comic counterparts. To your problems with the movie:

1) I found the dream sequences to be great as it gave insight to the possible future of Darkseid and the Injustice story arc.

unnecessary if u ask me, the dream sequences was sh!t....there could have been many other ways to the coming of Darkseid.....

2) Lex Luther ( Alexander Luthor) who is Lex's son was a basically a new character, (only the 2nd time making an appearance other than in the comics from World 3) so his personality could have been anything they wanted. Personally I loved Lex in this movie but I guess you either hate him or love him that's just personal opinion but don't try to compare him to the more well known Lex Luthor.

Understood...but nah, Eiseinberg seemed too try hard....was disappointed with it, and the character felt more like riddler with a side of joker mixed up....will give him credit for the bald look to the end tho, was superb.....but i dont think he had it in him.....sorry

3) Superman has X-ray vision.... they didn't show him use it but didn't we all know this?

yes, but it went from them meeting as their normal selves to knowing their identities....sorry,but that was shitty...it went on a huge tangent ....no real lines connecting that piece of information

come nah, could have done better with that

3) I agree WonderWoman looked a skinny as apposed to how she normally looks but Gal pulled off her role excellently and still looked great in action and in costume so its something that isn't really a problem imo.

she wasnt very good athletically at all...her fight scenes seemed like she trying way too hard.....very sorry, but no eh.....she had the sexy elegance of Diana and costume was great...but everything else failed....tbh, i never liked Gadot as the choice initially.....

4) There were many times Bats killed in the comics, what's the problem of having this old and bitter Batman not show the same mercy he was had? Infact he did not kill anyone directly (except in the dream). Having batman act so bitter was a relief IMO since superman was already being the goodie good as he usually is.

yes, we know there have been times where Bats killed in the comics, but no eh, regardless how bitter he is, he doesnt kill...directly or indirectly....he didnt even try to incapacitate the bad guys....he was all for shooting with real bullets...better they had brought in the version of Batman from Flashpoint where he have no qualms about killing, would have better suited here imo

5) Robin costume was a nice easter egg for the fans who know that the joker killed robin (could also be the reason bats got so bitter)

nice easter egg....but i still found it too be unnecessary with no background info...is not like they passed it and it was in the background and fans on the internet stopped and saw it, they actually zoomed in on it....

6) Clark and Louis relationship really? It has been basically 2 years of time passed in the movie , did they really have the details of their relationship? is this a love story?

my point is, from the end of MoS, this happened? oh goar, a lil small story with them having dinner or something would have sufficed to know that they have some chemistry between them,,instead they show u them both in a tub....and apparently living together....and she know he is Superman....and he is willing to raise a hell for her......come nah....be real nah, that was sheit and a huge of a jump

7) I had no big issue with the action as it was well paced throughout the entire movie but I really did expect a little more brawling with Doomday at the end instead of all those energy blast that was going on.

the fight scene wasnt great, at all.....the energy blasts from doomsday was reminiscent of Neutron from Young Justice. and again, shitty, didnt even seem to be much of a joining of forces to stop Doomsday.....Batman/Superman fight was meh, had some good shots put in, but meh......

I'm just saying they way you hated on the movie without trying to understand their adaption of it is not deserving. I am not saying you have to like the movie or it was a great movie (I personally enjoyed it) but this movie is no way near being terrible.

is not like meem trying ton understand the adaptation.....i am trying, but there is not much plot...and the fight scenes adn characters didnt make up much for the shitty plot.....

again, this is just my opinion.....

Note : Blueray edition is rated R and has 30 mins extra of footage. (some of the scenes are already being leaked)

Postby mero » April 4th, 2016, 11:13 am

DB yuh was high in the movie or wha?

remember Luthor got access to the ship using Zod's fingerprints and he did say "teach me everything" and that a was a lot of kryptonian info and history, hence him knowing everything about Kal-El.. Remember zod also override Jor-els ship in MoS also giving him access to all that info.

Postby dougla_boy » April 4th, 2016, 11:42 am

mero wrote:DB yuh was high in the movie or wha?

remember Luthor got access to the ship using Zod's fingerprints and he did say "teach me everything" and that a was a lot of kryptonian info and history, hence him knowing everything about Kal-El.. Remember zod also override Jor-els ship in MoS also giving him access to all that info.

or...well my bad...still found it was sh!t regardless tho

vapourone

Postby vapourone » April 4th, 2016, 6:47 pm

Dream sequence explained
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=IKryvj0aBsw people forget flash can time travel as well

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » April 4th, 2016, 8:50 pm

the movie was good, maybe I too old to nitpick over the comic book details but I enjoyed it greatly. Gal Gadot makes a very hot wonder woman for a slim chick. And I like how they lay the platform for the Justice League

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » April 4th, 2016, 9:13 pm

Plot question.

This ship that LL uses to birth Doomsday. Its the same ship that Superman found in the ice in Man of Steel, yes ? The same ship that allowed Clark access becuase he was Kryptonion even though his prints were obviously not in its database but which also regarded the non Kryptonion Lois as a threat and attempted to kill her.

Right ?

So why did this same ship not recognize that Lex was not Kryptonion and try to kill him as soon as he stepped on the ship ?

Postby DVSTT » April 4th, 2016, 11:05 pm

I saw it and I'm honestly disappointed....

Postby stev » April 5th, 2016, 10:14 am

batman v superman not supposed to be a family fun movie....if anything, this movie wasn't dark enough! would have been nice to see a hint of superman's violent behavior if they included green arrow and his missing arm. lol
imagine the reviews if they showed superman on his lobotomizing spree. :lol:

if they were to create a justice lords movie, i dont think they should make it anything less than 16 years and over.

...just because it's a superhero movie doesnt mean its meant for kids....the original fans of these superheroes are all adults now if u all didnt realize.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » April 5th, 2016, 10:29 am

If you all read the comics you all wont be asking all those stupid questions.Like with Lex and all that.

Postby 16 cycles » April 5th, 2016, 10:41 am

justice League vs Teen Titans anime is out for the DC fans..

daas

Postby daas » April 5th, 2016, 10:44 am

TurboSingh12 wrote:

If you all read the comics you all wont be asking all those stupid questions.Like with Lex and all that.

You are assuming that everyone who watched the movie was acquainted with the comics. Snyder probably did the same because the movie was severely disjointed and lacking in coherence in its failure to make linkages.

Advent

Postby Advent » April 5th, 2016, 10:45 am

BoostJunkieXL wrote:
pyromaniax wrote:

Thing is because flash came back to early to warn Bruce, the injustice storyline would not happen, because the future is changed now.

btw junkieXL did the score for this movie :P

EmilioA wrote:Plot question.

This ship that LL uses to birth Doomsday. Its the same ship that Superman found in the ice in Man of Steel, yes ? The same ship that allowed Clark access becuase he was Kryptonion even though his prints were obviously not in its database but which also regarded the non Kryptonion Lois as a threat and attempted to kill her.

Right ?

So why did this same ship not recognize that Lex was not Kryptonion and try to kill him as soon as he stepped on the ship ?

Ok First, its the same ship, second he used Zods finger print to gain access, as far as i can tell once you gain access to the ship ( kyrton key or fingerprint) the ship would allow you in, Lois didnt do any of those. Second, Lex used a kryton key that appears to be brainiac, the deleted scene "communion" seem to give this hyopthesis some credit.

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » April 5th, 2016, 11:28 am

Advent wrote:
BoostJunkieXL wrote:
pyromaniax wrote:

Thing is because flash came back to early to warn Bruce, the injustice storyline would not happen, because the future is changed now.

btw junkieXL did the score for this movie :P

EmilioA wrote:Plot question.

Right ?

Ok First, its the same ship, second he used Zods finger print to gain access, as far as i can tell once you gain access to the ship ( kyrton key or fingerprint) the ship would allow you in, Lois didnt do any of those. Second, Lex used a kryton key that appears to be brainiac, the deleted scene "communion" seem to give this hyopthesis some credit.

yeah by coming back too early he inadvertently prevented the injustice storyline from coming to pass and based on the DC Cinematic universe JL character storylines he helped found the JL. in the future where batman is seen fighting supe's minions and the paradaemons u can see darkseid's omega mark on the ground as well as the exploding fire thingies into the sky..supposedly the twist from injustice is that in that particular future the JL was never formed. so by preventing this future the JL will now be formed in order to stop darkseid an outcome the flas from that alternate timeline never experienced...he asked bruce to "find us" so that he can set the foundation for a team to help combat darkseid....so flash basically proves why he's a bad ass and the glue that holds the JL together wise jokes aside...