Brand of car paint?

Tired Accord

Brand of car paint?

Postby Tired Accord » August 28th, 2007, 10:58 am

I did a search - but did not get any real reviews....So what brand would you recommend. I have used Valspar for one paint over (colour change) - but I found that stone chips on meh bonnet used to happen real easy. I always hear men talk bout the Glasurit too - but how much a quart that go typically run for?

Or do you think the resilience of the paint depends on (1) how it is applied & (2) the quality of the clear coat?

Any ideas ?

aviboy

Postby aviboy » August 28th, 2007, 2:21 pm

max mayers is good stuff.

Postby equipped2ripp » August 28th, 2007, 5:23 pm

Tired Accord, valspar house of kolor?

sikkens, ICI 2K, maxmeyer, sherwin williams, deltron are all good paints

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » August 29th, 2007, 12:06 am

for the paint chips whats important is that you use a good quality, properly applied clear coat.

maybe if SR sees this post he can give more info. he's had a great experience with a certain brand of clear coat.

Postby equipped2ripp » August 29th, 2007, 1:14 am

redsupra101, that's right.. stone chips are a result of the clearcoat and not the paint itself.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » August 29th, 2007, 7:47 am

equipped2ripp wrote:redsupra101, that's right.. stone chips are a result of the clearcoat and not the paint itself.

That's what I thought. So then - what do you recommend when it comes to clear coat, then ? In terms of - application or special brand?

SPEC_C

Postby SPEC_C » August 30th, 2007, 2:54 pm

max mayers iz good stuff..

Postby equipped2ripp » August 30th, 2007, 8:37 pm

Tired Accord, it's how it's applied.. more application than brand.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » August 30th, 2007, 11:01 pm

it's how it's applied.. more application than brand.

and how much coats too

vipervega

Postby vipervega » September 1st, 2007, 8:06 am

edgechem no clearcoat required :roll:

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 2nd, 2007, 12:33 am

Anybody has any experience with STANDOX paints. Heard it is supposed to be a superior product.

boogy

Postby boogy » September 22nd, 2007, 3:25 pm

max meyer all the way

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » September 26th, 2007, 7:45 pm

got some good reviews about edgechem

Anton

Postby Anton » September 28th, 2007, 8:09 am

My last car, i had painted with automotive art paint and glasurit clearcoat. I was impressed. Just make sure your painter follows the recommended ratio of paint reducer and hardener.

wagontuner

Re: Brand of car paint?

Postby wagontuner » March 14th, 2016, 12:30 am

Tuners, which of these paint brands can ya'll recommend? I'm looking for a clean finish (yeah this depends on the painter)
Vehicle will being repainted in white...... My options so far are:

- MaxMeyer *
- Penta
- Automotive art

I'm sort of leaning towards automotive art, but will appreciate your input.

Btw, thread is old but didn't want to start a new one, thanks much.

G-DUB

Re:

Postby G-DUB » March 18th, 2016, 7:55 am

TurboDrive wrote:Anybody has any experience with STANDOX paints. Heard it is supposed to be a superior product.

United Auto & Performance uses this brand.

a really good clearcoat is PPG CeramiClear.

Re: Brand of car paint?

Postby supercharged turbo » April 8th, 2016, 8:55 pm

wagontuner wrote:Tuners, which of these paint brands can ya'll recommend? I'm looking for a clean finish (yeah this depends on the painter)
Vehicle will being repainted in white...... My options so far are:

- MaxMeyer *
- Penta
- Automotive art

I'm sort of leaning towards automotive art, but will appreciate your input.

Btw, thread is old but didn't want to start a new one, thanks much.

I in this same situation right now and my options are Max Meyer and Penta.