Official House Fan Thread

TrinbagoMan

Official House Fan Thread

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 16th, 2016, 7:58 pm

I am trying to get a house fan. Either a wall fan or a tower fan. I bought a wall fan from Yip's in POS but it did not last. Recommended brands and stores with good prices are welcomed.

Re: Official House Fan Thread

Postby skylinechild » March 16th, 2016, 9:06 pm

place in st james sells fans..brand of fan is big ass fan. the mascot / logo is a donkey wit the tail spinning- i not jokin....co worker bought one for $200.

will buy one and post up pics.

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » March 16th, 2016, 9:20 pm

I learnt that nothing lasts like a Lasko. My 2 cents.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 16th, 2016, 9:24 pm

Lasko cannot be beaten, tried a few but always ended up with a lasko.

Box fan for most movement of air

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » March 16th, 2016, 9:32 pm

Lasko

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 16th, 2016, 9:50 pm

Lasko dawg. The remote controlled ones kinda flaky tho

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 16th, 2016, 9:55 pm

skylinechild wrote:place in st james sells fans..brand of fan is big ass fan. the mascot / logo is a donkey wit the tail spinning- i not jokin....co worker bought one for $200.

big ass fans is a very reputable brand!

http://www.bigassfans.com/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 16th, 2016, 9:56 pm

PriceSmart has that Lasko standing fan you have pictured there

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 16th, 2016, 10:32 pm

Boy I had to jumpstart my lasko with a drill the other night

End up having to scrap it at 11pm to oil it up with coconut oil because it never get serviced in over 5 years

(Had to use coconut oil because all the WD finished :( )

hindian

Postby hindian » March 16th, 2016, 10:48 pm

Coconut oil dont get sticky and slow down the fan after a while? I does use a drop or 2 of transmission fluid or wd40 or if things really bad, pull the dipstick from the car and use the drainings from the stick to lube it up and yuh cud check yuh oil level as yuh dey one time lol. But Lasko ftw...

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 16th, 2016, 11:09 pm

I used proper oil the following morning

It just had to last enough to get me through the night :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » March 17th, 2016, 12:03 am

Not me and that oiling nonsense na.
tried wd40 and in the middle of the night i smelling it burning.

Postby De Dragon » March 17th, 2016, 12:34 am

Lasko FTW! I have some Lasko making some years now. I tried one of those metal ones once, sheit was blowing bed sheet off and ting, but noisy like wow!

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 17th, 2016, 1:23 am

Good Lord i hope one day they make a Lasso that doesn't make that incessant whirring noise.
Love the fan but sometimes it too loud to put it on the highest speed.

Postby pugboy » March 17th, 2016, 5:51 am

lasko wind machine ground fan from pricesmart
use it in my pain cave
plastic housing easier to clean than the metal grill types

Postby *KRONIK* » March 17th, 2016, 6:09 am

If u not on a budget OP...airking has some very powerful wall mounted fans.

But cater around 600 for 1

Postby pugboy » March 17th, 2016, 7:26 am

those might be too powerful and noisy for home use

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » March 17th, 2016, 8:35 am

machine oil works well

Daran

Postby Daran » March 17th, 2016, 9:15 am

Good luck with your 2016 Fan Death goals.

Postby eliteauto » March 17th, 2016, 9:40 am

skylinechild wrote:place in st james sells fans..brand of fan is big ass fan. the mascot / logo is a donkey wit the tail spinning- i not jokin....co worker bought one for $200.

please do, also is this the "fan place" on the left of the WMR when heading West? I normally see big Big Ass Fans, wasn't aware there were smaller ones available

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 17th, 2016, 9:44 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Not me and that oiling nonsense na.
tried wd40 and in the middle of the night i smelling it burning.

wd is a light oil so it would be more prone to evaporation

Coconut oil dan

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 17th, 2016, 9:46 am

In Aruba's airport (or was it Curacao), they use Big Ass ceiling fans in the check-in area.
They were about 20-30 feet in diameter. I'm not sure if they're still there, as that was about 5-8 years ago.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 17th, 2016, 9:58 am

pugboy wrote:those might be too powerful and noisy for home use

Actually..its a domestic fan..
But at high speed it can serve as a commercial unit

Lol

Postby Spitfir3 » March 17th, 2016, 12:57 pm

have one of those big ass iron fans you use to see in those primary schools a long time ago
its about 20 years old and still working bess

Postby A172 » March 18th, 2016, 6:43 pm

silent_riot wrote:In Aruba's airport (or was it Curacao), they use Big Ass ceiling fans in the check-in area.
They were about 20-30 feet in diameter. I'm not sure if they're still there, as that was about 5-8 years ago.

hoss hahahahaha is curacao
i rmbr watching up & literally saying dai a big ass fan, only when i keep watching i see the name

Sent from my E6883 using Tapatalk

Postby Gem_in_i » March 18th, 2016, 7:37 pm

I use the tower one. I like it

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » March 19th, 2016, 12:27 am

If you're buying Lasko standing get the 16" not the 18", to me the 18 is sluggish.

The Lasko i use is made from two 16" lasko fans and 20 yrs old. One had a broken stand and the other the motor was sticking. This was back when the height had no adjustment.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » March 19th, 2016, 6:15 pm

Thanks. Will first check out the fan place in St James. Then Pricesmart

Postby De Dragon » March 19th, 2016, 6:45 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Lasko dawg. The remote controlled ones kinda flaky tho

Never understood the remote Lasko concept. Mebbe if yuh bedridden or something, but to me is lazy man ting.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 21st, 2016, 5:01 am

Nuh rly na.
imagine if whole night you rolling and cant get comfortable. When you do, finally u hear a mosquito buzzing around you or you start to feel warm.

Remote ftw.