Amplia (formerly Massy Fibre) Internet Thread

Re: Massy Internet Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 26th, 2016, 10:23 pm

Amazing how massy has a live chat to chat with a CSR on the spot just type. A bit like Amazon support. Too bad they have no coverage and no information on anything when you chat with these people. But still as useless as chatting may be you really have to give props to massy for making it so easy and cheap to get basic info, nomore unnecessary waiting 2 hours on the phone to talk to a flow rep and spending $100 in phone cards.

Imagine flow can't do something this simple.

Postby tr1ad » February 26th, 2016, 10:24 pm

That's because it's not launched publicly, after launch information will be available

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 26th, 2016, 10:25 pm

^ So basically anywhere Flow has coverage so will massy? seeing that they using flow lines?

Postby tr1ad » February 26th, 2016, 10:31 pm

Did you go to the website and see what areas are listed or you just want to be a pain in the arse now

Postby tr1ad » February 26th, 2016, 10:32 pm

When flow don't want massy they have a stop sign so massy does stop there

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 27th, 2016, 4:38 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Amazing how massy has a live chat to chat with a CSR on the spot just type. A bit like Amazon support. Too bad they have no coverage and no information on anything when you chat with these people. But still as useless as chatting may be you really have to give props to massy for making it so easy and cheap to get basic info, nomore unnecessary waiting 2 hours on the phone to talk to a flow rep and spending $100 in phone cards.

Imagine flow can't do something this simple.

877-3569 flow have a toll free access number now.

Postby redmanjp » February 27th, 2016, 11:38 am

Free from any phone including cell phones?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 27th, 2016, 11:43 am

^ he he only land lines like say TSTT land line the one thing I refuse to pay $40 a month for ever since the invention of the cellular phone which cost me nothing.

A customer service chat like massy which is just like Amazon is the best way forward for companies who do not have REAL toll free numbers and who do not want to pay for one.

Even though massy might be going through Flow lines for their internet the fact that I could just open up a chat window on my PC, and have a sound notification when he or she responds in the background that in itself is a revolution in this country.

It is vastly superior to some stupid music you have to listen to for an hour when you call flow or tstt. Massy won't reach me before Digicel because Digicel will have me online in middle of April. But hey either way atleast I could call Digicel for free if I get problems with my net unlike Flow./

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » March 1st, 2016, 10:02 am

Anyone using massy's internet yet?

SRASC

Massy Internet Thread

Postby SRASC » March 3rd, 2016, 3:56 pm

Check out earlier, didn't use the Internet too much though, but got this out of it

TV interface is nice though

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 3rd, 2016, 8:48 pm

Weeks ago, a worker said they still have plenty work to do and it looking like it would be ready around May (at least in Palmiste)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 4th, 2016, 1:53 pm

I really like Massy's $175 a month package for 15MB. Thats a fine deal boy. Cause I have 0 use for Flow 30MB.

I wonder when they would be ready for Piarco, just to confirm massy is using FLow lines right? its not actual real FTTH Fibre? its same copper docsis last mile that they marketing as fiber?

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » March 4th, 2016, 7:12 pm

Is massy service wireless or wired?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 6th, 2016, 9:07 am

Still looking for a wireless service

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » March 17th, 2016, 6:50 pm

Anyone using this is in San Fernando yet?
What is the ping to Florida like?

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » March 17th, 2016, 7:39 pm

Anyone using this is in San Fernando yet?
What is the ping to Florida like?

snow7940

Postby snow7940 » March 22nd, 2016, 7:44 am

nice ping much lower than flow

Postby dougla_boy » May 10th, 2016, 8:09 pm

Got Massy today, 15mbs, works great yo. When I figure out how to do a speed test and all that, I'll send a pic

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 10th, 2016, 8:15 pm

dougla_boy wrote:Got Massy today, 15mbs, works great yo. When I figure out how to do a speed test and all that, I'll send a pic
www.speedtest.net or install the speedtest app on your phone

plex

Postby plex » May 12th, 2016, 8:10 am

Presently using Massy through a free 3 months promotion. Still have Flow will decide after the 3 months if to switch completely.

Promotional package give us Surf little and Watch a little with HBO added. Its ok but its little to basic and i feel i will upgrade should i go with Massy .

In terms of the internet speed is good and consistent . Gaming wise on PS GT6 online with 30mb down and 15mb up it was decent.

Cable tv aspect is what i am mostly concern with. Non HD Ch is good and HD Ch is sharp . Sound format appears to be in PCM which is what i seeing set on the cable box . I hope more Ch will be added as i noticed there is no western ch in the line up which my father likes to watch.

In a nut shell i like what i am seeing but if anyone using massy would like to hear your feedback also.

Postby dougla_boy » May 12th, 2016, 11:20 am

internet is very consistent. my porn loads brisk brisk. and i have the basic, 15mb down, but when the guy did the test the day, it was 18.2 mb down. not sure about the extra 3.2mb, meem no expert. i only have the internet tho. when ah start back to run meh blops, go let allyuh know was d scn

TriP

Postby TriP » May 12th, 2016, 5:56 pm

i took massy 2 weeks ago on special offer (internet only) - 30mb - $125 for 3 months - $250 on the 4th month

my download speed is 33mb - 14mb upload and i check my speed every so often during the week

so far working rel good - on blink @ 4mb took me 45mins-1hr plus to download a movie now is less than a minute on massy - to stream a movies it buffs like that in secs

the box is lan incorporated an wireless work excellent in an around the house even by the roadside works well

ps: i call blink to disconnect - they sent me to a special dept - "is only" when i told them i dont want blink no more - they offer ,but only for 'existing customers only' - 10-15mb for $230.00 vat inclusive - so all who paying for 4mb plus+ dont know bout that package unless they about to disconnect the internet from tstt..thats the catch to it - and told me i can keep the blink box is mines to keep
massy.jpg
2.jpg

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » May 12th, 2016, 6:10 pm

What area mass reach

TriP

Postby TriP » May 12th, 2016, 6:18 pm

oh yea massy internet technical assistance is 24hrs - 877-4357 - Number #4

If you want to change the name - "currently connected to" Massy - 0987
You have to call and ask them to change it for you and password too

In future u will able to change it yrself - they are in upgrading process at present

PapaC

Postby PapaC » May 12th, 2016, 8:08 pm

they are offering a free installation and one month free to try in my area. Will try it to see how it goes but honestly Flow works well right now so no real need to switch.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 13th, 2016, 2:57 am

I would switch however Flow I getting 60mb for $195 a month and it works. Normally flow does not work but few months ago I switched to 60mb and every problem magically went away its actually more stable than my previous Blink.

Lots of choices now yes boy good time to be alive. Imagine places like India and Africa will never see these kind of cheap prices for such fast speeds. Them ISP over there everything package has a cap. 30GB per month or 70GB per month etc

boxy

Postby boxy » May 13th, 2016, 6:36 am

Aye ED maybe now yuh neighbour could stop attempting suicide and use that blink service to watch you tube videos of the glory days for the past 5 years.

Postby dougla_boy » May 14th, 2016, 10:30 am

15mb package

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2016, 10:40 am

dougla_boy wrote:Got Massy today, 15mbs, works great yo. When I figure out how to do a speed test and all that, I'll send a pic

Red tube awaits you

trinitraveller7

Postby trinitraveller7 » May 14th, 2016, 8:53 pm

R-H-D wrote:Massy called me the other day asking if I was still interested in their service
So I asked them if they run fibre direct to your home
lady replied they utilize other service providers wiring.
Then I asked if they use Flow she said YES
I replied no thank you
Still waiting on Digicel was promised next week

This is totally incorrect.
Massy has run their own Fiber Optic Lines all the way from their head end to the customers living rooms. They have absolutely nothing to do with Flow lines. That CSR did not know what he/she was talking about.
Massy uses GPON which is a fibre optic technology totally different from what Flow is using (DOCSIS). It is the same basic technology that Digicel is using, though with different vendors etc.
Ping times are excellent, download speeds are consistent and the upload speeds unmatched by anyone else.