So its Now Common for employees to Threaten Employers?

BRZ

So its Now Common for employees to Threaten Employers?

Postby BRZ » February 25th, 2016, 9:30 am

:roll: :roll:

Sad, that being in business in Trinidad has to come to this, imagine you have employees that are frequently ABSENT, Always LATE, so you take the Legal course and follow proper procedures by verbal warnings, then Written warnings, and at the end of that you are sometimes forced to Dismiss the employee.
After all of that the Employee turns to his employer and says- "the next time I come back here its with meh GUN"
The matter was reported to the relevant police Station and the response was that this is a very common practice these days and that if it becomes necessary they will then follow up with the report.

HELL really going to Trinidad YEs!

Advent

Re: So its Now Common for employees to Threaten Employers?

Postby Advent » February 25th, 2016, 9:36 am

uhm whats this pertaining to though ?
also this happens all over the world tho, the last terrorist shooting in the USA was somewhat related to work aswell..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 25th, 2016, 10:31 am

Employers does also threaten Employees.

Like how my neighbor drink bayrum and gramoxone when he CEPEP employer threaten not to pay him his salary unless he goes to a UNC rally last year and walk 5 miles with he diabetic foot.

So it goes both ways. But I can't quite figure out why he jump off his house roof when UNC lost though, that one always puzzled me.

bugsy rabbit

Postby bugsy rabbit » February 25th, 2016, 10:32 am

blame DEWD, since that it has become ingrained that I get paid and do wha the hell I want. If yuh vex then I go get more vex than you, forget that you have loan to pay to run yuh bizness to make a profit for you and yuh famalee.

Continued lacklustre approach to work will be our burden, tis is to been seen at all levels.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 25th, 2016, 11:50 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Employers does also threaten Employees.

Like how my neighbor drink bayrum and gramoxone when he CEPEP employer threaten not to pay him his salary unless he goes to a UNC rally last year and walk 5 miles with he diabetic foot.

So it goes both ways. But I can't quite figure out why he jump off his house roof when UNC lost though, that one always puzzled me.
Where you really living hoss???

Postby zoom rader » February 25th, 2016, 11:58 am

Carnival culture

Postby 1UZFE » February 25th, 2016, 11:59 am

BRZ wrote::roll: :roll:

Sad, that being in business in Trinidad has to come to this, imagine you have employees that are frequently ABSENT, Always LATE, so you take the Legal course and follow proper procedures by verbal warnings, then Written warnings, and at the end of that you are sometimes forced to Dismiss the employee.
After all of that the Employee turns to his employer and says- "the next time I come back here its with meh GUN"
The matter was reported to the relevant police Station and the response was that this is a very common practice these days and that if it becomes necessary they will then follow up with the report.

This is a racist statement.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 25th, 2016, 12:51 pm

BRZ wrote::roll: :roll:

oh please. it always have two side to a story. though i not condoning the issue of threats.. some employers does look for it. can you say you have been totally fair towards your employees. why has your employee been late? why have they lost interest in the job. in everything it does have a price to pay. i doubt you going to say that you treat your employees very fairly, pay them fairly for the work you demand of them and they still disgruntled... which brings me back to my first line.... oh please.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » February 25th, 2016, 1:22 pm

Blues, are you an employer because many people have the attitude where they think that they are doing you a favour by them working for you.

All too often the nicer you are, the more they'll take advantage. No matter what you pay, it isn't enough (sounds familiar?). Too many people once they get used to a regular income, they feel that is owed them irrespective of whether they have to work or not.

Postby rollingstock » February 25th, 2016, 1:48 pm

Hopefully the person returns and corns BRZ, would be a day of rejoicing in tunerland.

Postby K74T » February 25th, 2016, 1:52 pm

Evostik bout to get gorilla glued.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 25th, 2016, 2:26 pm

DTAC wrote:Blues, are you an employer because many people have the attitude where they think that they are doing you a favour by them working for you.

All too often the nicer you are, the more they'll take advantage. No matter what you pay, it isn't enough (sounds familiar?). Too many people once they get used to a regular income, they feel that is owed them irrespective of whether they have to work or not.

i dont know if i agree with that. i think in all there is some appeal to fairness. u ever see someone trying a skull on you and when you ketch them in the skull the smile laugh and say ok ok xyz ill go on your terms? because u had to demonstrate that they were being unfair to the point where they couldnt deny it.

even with street thugs u can reach them in fair and open discussion. speaking in terms of psychology here... someone has to feel really unfairly treated and justified to believe the only way they can make their point is to threaten life. all we have to go on here is this employers very vague post on his side of the story.

heres the questions i would ask

does this employee have a written job description?
does this employee have union representation?
has the employee been asked to perform duties outside of his/her job description
has the employee ever demonstrated going above and beyond the call of duty
has the employee ever worked overtime for no extra reward
at what point did the employee start behaving deliquently
has management asked the employee his reason for the delinquency and shown an interest in helping to resolve his dispute?

too many times employers feel that because they are working within the framework of the law that that is enough. it have plenty they could get away with under that framework.. but mano e mano it will be viewed as unfair. these employers tend to seek low class workers with little market options to trap them into a deadend situation.

now if you telling me this worker has not been exploited or taken advantage of in any way by the company. and in a sit down that employee would agree that all is fair and has been fair, yet this employee thinks he can come to work late and still receive full pay and not get dismissed eventually, then yes, he need a clout.

but i find it unlikely. action and reaction. especially if at one point he was a diligent worker. is something management do him. and since then he has not been able to recoup the losses. fighting a losing battle management uses the law to strongarm the employee into form under their terms. but an employee who feels cheated, will not reassess or reneg on his position in some instances. instead he wants to fight what he believes is rightfully his. once the playing field is even again his temperament would change. but barring that.. is war. as the situation depreciates further, the war gets more and more brutal until someone jumps across the table or "fires the wuk".

so based on what the op say here and my observations and experience in local employment. the employee feels he is owed something by management and management is using the law as its defensive stance to not "reimburse" this employee. demonstrating a total lack of interest in his wellbeing. the sentiment is returned with a lack of interest in the company and his duties. the apathy is shared. leading eventually to the 3rd letter and dismissal. the threat, though quite possibly empty and emotional is the final statement that this employee does feel owed something by the employer.

though i not a gambling man.. i will bet, the employee is in the low skill low wage bracket. has no union representation and so has to negotiate on his own behalf. but in such a situation has little to no leverage and feels undervalued. feels he has no prospects in the company and is being driven out unfairly and that his requests are not unreasonable.

Postby rollingstock » February 25th, 2016, 2:30 pm

Wtf! Who has time to type all that sheit much less read it?
Cliffs?

Postby SMc » February 25th, 2016, 2:56 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Employers does also threaten Employees.

Where you really living hoss???

Judging from the chicken leg/thigh debacle somewhere in St. Helena.

Postby skylinechild » February 25th, 2016, 3:28 pm

rollingstock wrote:Wtf! Who has time to type all that sheit much less read it?
Cliffs?

jimmy (cliff), simon (cliff) or heath (cliff)

pick one :| :lol:

Postby mero » February 25th, 2016, 3:35 pm

rollingstock wrote:Wtf! Who has time to type all that sheit much less read it?
Cliffs?

Postby zoom rader » February 25th, 2016, 3:38 pm

rollingstock wrote:Hopefully the person returns and corns BRZ, would be a day of rejoicing in tunerland.

:grin::grin::grin:

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 25th, 2016, 4:19 pm

Wey... thought KFC wuk was easy.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2016, 5:49 pm

if students could threaten teachers............ who is employees???

Advent

Postby Advent » February 25th, 2016, 5:57 pm

parents breeding monsters and sending them to employers..

Postby 88sins » February 25th, 2016, 6:32 pm

some employers need substantially more than a threat.
had one some years ago deducting NIS & HS from workers, as well as annuity, & not paying it over to BIR, NIB, or d insurance company that managed the annuity.
it have others that quick to pile on wuk, but the minute you mention that you expect to be paid more for doing more is like yuh talkin to yuhself.

it does have asses on both sides a d fence

Postby MaxPower » February 25th, 2016, 6:41 pm

Really dunno why allyuh surprised na

Stop trying to live the american dream and understand what the time is in T&T...

What is your definition of a Trinidadian?

xaira

Postby xaira » February 25th, 2016, 6:42 pm

thas y u hire employees for a probationary period on contract, thas how you get to know the real person before you trust them to be a full time part of your organisation, if you playing the fool, my company just cuts pay based on the days you didnt come in, if u frequently late without sufficient reason, then more pay cuts, and this is outlined in your contract, you as an employer look for that, you have to treat your employees like a good parent treats their children, and sometimes they need some tough love...and if they bad enough...then just dont renew contract and cut your loss...

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 25th, 2016, 10:40 pm

88sins wrote:some employers need substantially more than a threat.
had one some years ago deducting NIS & HS from workers, as well as annuity, & not paying it over to BIR, NIB, or d insurance company that managed the annuity.
it have others that quick to pile on wuk, but the minute you mention that you expect to be paid more for doing more is like yuh talkin to yuhself.

it does have asses on both sides a d fence

well hear dis!!!

i dealin with one right now. leave the wukk end of 2013. they never give me my td4. i call back asking for it.. they say next week. end up not bothering. now i lookin to file i call back and let them know i have to have it. the accountant gone on holiday i cant reach him since. it seems like they do that very same thing because his words were "we havent prepared it yet". so like they never submit it. but is roast, cuz bir next to me on the issue so they better organise it fass fass.

Postby 88sins » February 26th, 2016, 5:55 am

daiz d ting
plenty employers in small-medium sized business does lie to themselves feelin they doing you a favor by having you work in their organization.
the bulk of them eventually forget, even though they made the initial investment & took the risk to start a business, is the staff that makes it work in the long run. if an entire staff ina business decides to not show up for 2 days, thats 2 days of earnings lost and a very serious issue of clients losing faith in management. often leads to lost clients and damaged reputation of the business.

yuh go get yuh td4 boi. jus make sure to go in when the accountant comes out from vacay & let him know u aint leavin till u get it.

Postby desifemlove » February 26th, 2016, 7:40 am

don't employ gruntas....problem solved.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » February 26th, 2016, 9:57 am

desifemlove wrote:don't employ gruntas....problem solved.

u mean and hire non-desperate ppl with self worth who you have to pay more? u eh know real employers like to hire low class workers to take advantage of their ignorance and save money on salaries? make dem do all kinna work at their convenience because.. they doing them a favour by hiring them?

88sins right. these slavemasters need a reality check. employee employer relations is a mutual relationship.

Postby 1UZFE » February 26th, 2016, 10:07 am

^ i dont think she meant those people.

Postby zoom rader » February 26th, 2016, 2:32 pm

desifemlove wrote:don't employ gruntas....problem solved.

Then 40% of the population will be unemployed

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 26th, 2016, 9:42 pm

BrZ would you say you carry about your employee relations like you carry about your trinituner postings?