Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » February 11th, 2016, 8:49 am

Whs prices are not bad in general and they sell good brands

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 11th, 2016, 11:04 am

i guess u made a jig or have a extended table around d saw to handle such long pieces ?

go for it @ WHS , u may not save a bunch by bringing it in urself , saw throws out alot of dust eh so organize a catchment system

havent tried any freud saw blades as yet , used a bunch of dewalt which cuts thru mdf like butter since its mostly mdf i cutting

recently got a few flush cut DIABLO 1\2" router bits , cuts really good , might put up a few extra 1s on here to sell ....

Postby Ted_v2 » February 11th, 2016, 2:44 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:
hindian wrote:Fellas I'm looking for a trolley jack to buy. 3.5 ton capacity low profile preferably, any available with those specs locally? I checked out the ones in pricesmart and a couple parts places but im not sure of the build quality. Any particular brand worth the time and money? Thanks

pro lift in allied and the ford racing in pricemart.
i have the ford and it works excellent . pro lift in a shop going in almost 3 years, no problems.

i jackup and use jackstands, i dont let the jack hold any strain for any extended period.

the bulb someone was asking about , yes boat stores, used in outboard engines. about 90 something dollars.

Whats the prices on these jacks these days?

A legacy guy tried changing a spare with the oem screw type, said he running off to purchase a 2 tonne hydraulic in pricesmart after yes. Im just curious.

The small hydraulic trolley jack is like 200$ in pricemart. I like these for regular vehicles..

The tire shop sizes are like 950-1200. Pretty decent deal if u ask me. I can see u buying one because of the amount of vehicles u got.

I recently bought one, after so long. Night and day. Before I used to feel tired when I finish jack up and block up. Now easy easy. Plenty higher too

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » February 11th, 2016, 4:10 pm

Looking for these
Pinch hose clamp or Tubing Clamps locally,for tubing up to 3/8 or 10mm,
My ride down, cannot check out usual places.

Postby Ted_v2 » February 12th, 2016, 12:28 am

Thats for the auto repair?

hindian

Postby hindian » February 12th, 2016, 7:38 am

How about some small needle nose vice grips with rubber hose over the jaws? Of course when you not using it for the application described above, yuh could use it to fix yuh car lol. Multitool ftw.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » February 17th, 2016, 8:58 pm

Anyone knws who sells these locally? Would really like to get one asap.

Super buy 12V 5Amp Motor Oil Fuel Diesel Extractor Scavenge Suction Transfer Pump & Hoses https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MVFEGEI/re ... XwbS4F3TE2

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby X_Factor » February 17th, 2016, 9:27 pm

Coppershot wrote:Looking for these
Pinch hose clamp or Tubing Clamps locally,for tubing up to 3/8 or 10mm,
My ride down, cannot check out usual places.

http://www.amazon.com/OTC-4506-Fuel-Lin ... ine+clamps

recently bought this via skybox, if u interested in one
50.00$
works amazing but i only need 1 both cost me like 100.00

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 18th, 2016, 10:04 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:priced the 7.5hp 80gal puma @ khanico, came up to 17k.

also priced an Ingersoll with the same specs for $2200usd...

Check eBay... Link--> Ingersoll Rand 80 gal 2-Stage Vertical Compressor 7.5 hp 230V 1Ph.

Compare the Puma's CFM with the Ingersoll Rand 7.5 hp unit.
Whatever you buy... try to get a cast iron pump. It lasts longer.

My Image
Last edited by Sanctifier on February 19th, 2016, 2:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » February 19th, 2016, 9:29 am

Anyone knows where/if I can get silicone wire down here. This is what I'm talking about, need to get some for my tricopter build.

http://www.amazon.com/BNTECHGO-Gauge-Si ... icone+wire

Postby supercharged turbo » February 20th, 2016, 1:37 am

Anyone know where I could get a bottle cutter?

Postby supercharged turbo » February 21st, 2016, 1:41 pm

Anyone?

Re: Any Trans Ams out there?

Postby supercharged turbo » February 22nd, 2016, 2:22 am

Trying to avoid amazon if I could get it locally.Its to make shotglasses

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2016, 6:21 am

try one of them diamond blade tile angle grinder
wear protection

BoxEater

Postby BoxEater » February 22nd, 2016, 7:37 am

whats d going price of a hilti these days?? heard they were the best brand...

i have some construction to do... it involves breaking up a small concrete walkway and drilling some holes in a step for a railing.

i was thinking to invest in something good rather than buying a cheap hammer drill in pricesmart and using a sledge.

heard the hilti could be used as a mini jackhammer also??

Postby Chimera » February 22nd, 2016, 8:48 am

Lol a used hilti is 3000 plus. A new one js 8000 12000 plus. Depending on if you gonna use it alot....you might just wanna rent one for two days instead

Postby 3stagevtec » February 22nd, 2016, 9:57 am

BoxEater wrote:whats d going price of a hilti these days?? heard they were the best brand...

i have some construction to do... it involves breaking up a small concrete walkway and drilling some holes in a step for a railing.

i was thinking to invest in something good rather than buying a cheap hammer drill in pricesmart and using a sledge.

Hilti is a brand, not a type of tool..

The tool you looking for is a Rotary Hammer. They can be used as a drill, hammer drill and hammer only. Rotary hammers use a SDS type shank bits (so many people refer to them as 'SDS drill' also). Note there are different types of SDS shanks, i.e. SDS, SDS plus (basically the same) and SDS MAX. When choosing a rotary hammer, you have to look at the 'impact energy' spec.. the higher the rating, the more powerful the tool. They also tend to have an inch rating on those tools and that is just a general guide as to the max hole size it can drill.

For home use, SDS plus is the way to go. Allied had a great deal on a 1inch Dewalt for around $2200. Think it was this one:

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-D25213K-1-Inch-D-Handle-Hammer/dp/B000NOMICQ/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1456149080&sr=8-12&keywords=sds+hammer

Bosch also makes great rotary hammers.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 22nd, 2016, 10:00 am

pugboy wrote:try one of them diamond blade tile angle grinder
wear protection
I feel I might cut it bend :sad:

BoxEater

Postby BoxEater » February 22nd, 2016, 10:06 am

3stagevtec wrote:
BoxEater wrote:whats d going price of a hilti these days?? heard they were the best brand...

Hilti is a brand, not a type of tool..

The tool you looking for is a Rotary Hammer. They can be used as a drill, hammer drill and hammer only. Rotary hammers use a SDS type shank bits (so many people refer to them as 'SDS drill' also). Note there are different types of SDS shanks, i.e. SDS, SDS plus (basically the same) and SDS MAX. When choosing a rotary hammer, you have to look at the 'impact energy' spec.. the higher the rating, the more powerful the tool. They also tend to have an inch rating on those tools and that is just a general guide as to the max hole size it can drill.

For home use, SDS plus is the way to go. Allied had a great deal on a 1inch Dewalt for around $2200. Think it was this one:

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-D25213K-1-Inch-D-Handle-Hammer/dp/B000NOMICQ/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1456149080&sr=8-12&keywords=sds+hammer

Bosch also makes great rotary hammers.

this made much sense...thanks much...i dont mind spending 2k for the dewalt....at least i would have it for the future...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 22nd, 2016, 11:15 am

SDS is a good investment for smaller jobs like wall tiles & light concrete work\drilling but depending on how big a job d concrete walkway ting, is like some1 above said u may want to rent a heavier SDS+ rotary hammer type for a day or 2

like this kind :

http://www.makitauk.com/products/drills ... ammer.html

both of these have gotten alot cheaper now than 10-15yrs ago ...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2016, 11:21 am

I bought a Dewalt 20v lithium ion brushless drill driver and it works great.
Looking at the same 20v bare tool circular saw and jig saw. Anyone have these and can offer a review?

It's for work around the house.

I saw there were a number of versions of the circular saw

BoxEater

Postby BoxEater » February 22nd, 2016, 11:23 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:SDS is a good investment for smaller jobs like wall tiles & light concrete work\drilling but depending on how big a job d concrete walkway ting, is like some1 above said u may want to rent a heavier SDS+ rotary hammer type for a day or 2

like this kind :

http://www.makitauk.com/products/drills ... ammer.html

both of these have gotten alot cheaper now than 10-15yrs ago ...

exact dimensions is approx 4ft x 12 ft walkway....bout 3 inch thick...i want to remove the walkway in order to dig a trench and put up a wall...i plan to extend the ground level of the home to reach square with the upper floor as the upper floor has a 4 ft eve

Postby cinco » February 22nd, 2016, 11:34 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I bought a Dewalt 20v lithium ion brushless drill driver and it works great.
Looking at the same 20v bare tool circular saw and jig saw. Anyone have these and can offer a review?

Have the cheap ryobi version of those and it's more than adequate even with moderate use the battery lasts hours.
What's your hesitation tho?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 22nd, 2016, 11:36 am

with that thickness u def wanna rent\buy d bigger heavy duty SDS+ plus

try to get a few different bits with it like d pointy & flat types ...

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2016, 2:32 pm

hiltis that come with jackhammers for only function usually are bigger and use sds max
I bought a te55 used on eBay in 1998 for $200usd
Took a chance but it still wukking like a champ and even came with a pile of big bits
Back then it woulda cost $23k by agostinis
Hilti brand is not Mickey Mouse.

I got fed up of paying contractor to have one rented.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » February 23rd, 2016, 11:41 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:priced the 7.5hp 80gal puma @ khanico, came up to 17k.

also priced an Ingersoll with the same specs for $2200usd...

Check eBay... Link--> Ingersoll Rand 80 gal 2-Stage Vertical Compressor 7.5 hp 230V 1Ph.

Compare the Puma's CFM with the Ingersoll Rand 7.5 hp unit.
Whatever you buy... try to get a cast iron pump. It lasts longer.

My Image

http://www.asedeals.com/air-compressors ... /#tabSpecs

thoughts?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 24th, 2016, 1:37 am

^ ^ ^ I'm only a hobbyist. I'm no expert... but AFAIK BendPak is a good "Brand".
The specs and parts used seem to be very good. If you can afford it, it should be a "keeper" IMHO.

My Image

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 24th, 2016, 1:57 am

cinco wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I bought a Dewalt 20v lithium ion brushless drill driver and it works great.

Have the cheap ryobi version of those and it's more than adequate even with moderate use the battery lasts hours.
know lots of ppl with the drill driver. Dunno anyone using the circular or jig saw

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2016, 6:26 am

pugboy wrote:hiltis that come with jackhammers for only function usually are bigger and use sds max
I bought a te55 used on eBay in 1998 for $200usd
Took a chance but it still wukking like a champ and even came with a pile of big bits
Back then it woulda cost $23k by agostinis
Hilti brand is not Mickey Mouse.

I got fed up of paying contractor to have one rented.

I constantly eyeing used hilti on ebay but never pulling the trigger lol

Postby *KRONIK* » February 24th, 2016, 6:39 am

cinco wrote:

know lots of ppl with the drill driver. Dunno anyone using the circular or jig saw

Duane

I have used both...but the 18v versions which i usually borrow from a padna who has the whole lot...but no battery...lol

The ciruclar saw:
is a bit on the slow side but does cut as required, I think blade choice will determine best performance.

It drinks battery, not sure how much better the 20v versions are

is right handed as opposed to the corded saws which are left handed, the blade screw is reverse threaded.

the blade is impossible to find locally as its a 6.5" with 5/8" arbor so buy a variety of blades online and keep in stock, and because it a 6.5" blade you wont be able to cleanly cut anything over 2-2.5"

As for the jigsaw:

Its a bit bulky for a cordless

Speed not impressive but again...it does its job and blade choice will matter on well it does that.

The keyless blade change is handy and it used the T-shank blades

I cant say how the battery use is as i only used it once for a small job.