T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago 2016

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 1st, 2016, 6:34 pm

jm3 wrote:Anyone know if the vat reduction is being reflected in new vehicle prices?

Came here to ask the same lol.

Also what's the difference in specs between the DCab 4x2 6MT SE NP300 and the model right after ($235,000.00 DCab 4x4 6MT XE )

Is it basically the wide body and 4x4?

Postby Dave » February 1st, 2016, 6:52 pm

Two dealers advised me of price reductions due to vat.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » February 1st, 2016, 8:20 pm

2016 kia sportage in the showrooms, $260k for basic gas model. Mad people wee

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 1st, 2016, 11:02 pm

Np300 4x2 auto $249k
4x4 auto fabric $263k
4x4 auto leather $296k

Hilux 3.0 4x4 auto fabric $269k
4x4 mid $290k
4x4 high $312k

Bt50 2.2 4x4 manual
$245k

JF.K

Postby JF.K » February 2nd, 2016, 8:05 pm

Anybody knows what is the new price of the CNG Honda City with the reduced VAT?

Postby Dave » February 2nd, 2016, 8:18 pm

Does it have vat? I know they were pushing the CNG and said duties etc was lowered or waived. I figure vat was also included. Someone can confirm for us.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 2nd, 2016, 8:46 pm

The last administration removed VAT and MVT on CNG, hybrid and electric vehicles. These vehicles still carry duty. I am not sure if the current government changed this with removing alot of things from VAT exempt list and reducing VAT by 2.5%.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 2nd, 2016, 8:53 pm

There would be no VAT on new vehicles and used vehicles less than two years old which are manufactured to use compressed natural gas (CNG); as well as electric vehicles (vehicles propelled by an electric motor powered by a rechargeable battery pack), with an engine size not exceeding 1799 cc (cubic centimetres).

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160201 ... hese-items

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 3rd, 2016, 6:18 am

Those Lancers with the CNG tags on the trunk, were those fitted with after-market CNG kits or did Mitsubishi build them like that?

Are those NGC's fleet cars, or are those available to the general public?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 3rd, 2016, 7:48 am

I heard they were retrofitted after landing here.

Postby j.o.e » February 3rd, 2016, 8:33 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1454546001.572659.jpg

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 3rd, 2016, 9:21 pm

Saw a few Highline models one the road and they look really classy with the DRL's and the alloys.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 4th, 2016, 5:49 pm

drchaos wrote:Saw a few Highline models one the road and they look really classy with the DRL's and the alloys.

Agreed. Very strong road presence in that trim too

Postby Morpheus » February 4th, 2016, 6:02 pm

Saw a red new model Sportero just now. Didn't look as ugly as in pics and vids......or maybe I was just tired.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 4th, 2016, 6:16 pm

Nah....pics does do it a rell injustice

Saw a silver last week....looked OK

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 4th, 2016, 7:31 pm

No way I paying $340k for some johnny come lately pickup from a lying dirty cheating manufacturer when a fully loaded Hilux can be bought for a low $312k. The Hilux will last for my great grandson to see and it'll still call excellent resale value. I wish I never bought the np300. 4yrs and 10mths until I rejoin camp Toyota yes.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 4th, 2016, 8:56 pm

Lesson learned! if you want your chile to drive the car when he grow up doh buy a euro.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 5th, 2016, 4:48 am

acesinghit wrote:No way I paying $340k for some johnny come lately pickup from a lying dirty cheating manufacturer when a fully loaded Hilux can be bought for a low $312k. The Hilux will last for my great grandson to see and it'll still call excellent resale value. I wish I never bought the np300. 4yrs and 10mths until I rejoin camp Toyota yes.

What wrong with the np300...I feel that is the best buy among the current crop of 4x4s

Postby Kenjo » February 5th, 2016, 6:13 am

^^^^^ yes please enlighten us or just the reliable name of Toyota that he is referring to ?

MrNiceGuyStef

Postby MrNiceGuyStef » February 5th, 2016, 5:51 pm

The Honda City CNG is now $159,950 cash price and $175,000 with ANSA inOne package.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 6th, 2016, 1:47 am

acesinghit wrote:No way I paying $340k for some johnny come lately pickup from a lying dirty cheating manufacturer when a fully loaded Hilux can be bought for a low $312k. The Hilux will last for my great grandson to see and it'll still call excellent resale value. I wish I never bought the np300. 4yrs and 10mths until I rejoin camp Toyota yes.

To each his own, but the Amarok is Euro 2 emissions as are the NP300, Ranger, KIA/HYUNDAI et al, not to mention these are made strictly for the nastiest of diesel fuel in 3rdno fails.
A simple google search can reveal these are doing 165k Miles to date with no issues and class leading economy. I would say they are doing dam good for a relatively new pickup, I'd risk it and get one based on reviews online .

BTW, open to correction but aren't the 3.0 Diesel Hilux with the newer 2KD engines suffering from failures and cost around same price? And modern Hilux would never last as long as the 1st gen as in my day job we have a fleet of the 2008 models with strict maintenance regimes; highest mileage one with 200,000km and have a blown engine from normal usage, another has stripped differential, another has failed couplings on the drive shaft (latter 2 with less mileage)

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 6th, 2016, 3:59 am

Some corrections to be noted
The 2kd (2.5L) is not a newer version of the 1kd (3.0L). The newer versions are 2gd and 1gd which are 2.4l and 2.8l respectively and designed for euro 4 diesel or better. TTTL sells the "revo" hilux with the older design engine (kd).
I am still observing how the gd engine is working with our diesel. ... initial reports aren't great

Now I believe that everyone's opinion of "normal" driving differs to some extent and the same can be applied to "strict service regimen". The vnt turbo equipped on the 3.0 has been known to succumb to soot buildup on the vanes around the mileage you mentioned. Some 3.0 also have an egr which contributes to the problem. If you can control the soot it could potentially last longer. The 3.0 requires 5000km oil and filter changes regardless of type (Dino or syn) being used.
Most 2.5s (there are imported 2.5s with the vnt turbo but they are few and far between) however utilise a normal turbo and has been documented running longer with similar service. It also doesn't have the egr.
There was also the injector problems for the first Gen new lux of 2006

Can you specify what the strict service regimen entails. I believe that everyone diving in Trinidad is driving in severe conditions.

My first search result for the amarok was an owner in SA questioning the marketing pitch used to sell the vehicle; having returned it to the dealer about 9 times without a proper solution to his problem/s.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 6th, 2016, 6:39 am

Shame we get euro 2 quality diesel...no wonder I heard of numerous reports of engine fails locally at maska in particular...

No to be misunderstood, but each auto maker would have issues albeit small or otherwise, but the question remains is the high mileages I have seen without engine or drivetrain failure are still impressive to a relatively new marque. The tranny is a zf bomb proof tranny capable of up to a max of 700lb ft torque (auto) and manuals are just as robust...

The 9 time dealer visit sounds more of a dealership issue...and we all know how that goes locally

Sent from my SM-G900M using Tapatalk

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 6th, 2016, 12:20 pm

My initial reasoning for getting the np300 was that it was new to the market and massy generally has a good reputation in their after sales support. This is also a pro Nissan country so general availability of parts and resale were key factors behind the purchase. I almost got the Chevy but I considered long term resale. The Isuzu was tempting because it was the cheapest but I vowed not to deal with SS again. The Mazda/ford twins are like the best out there I know but I don't have heavy T. The previous hilux never appealed to me really and the design was already 10yrs old. The Mitsubishi is way too expensive for the equipment listing they offered ($285k at the time) for the new l200 and the older one was selling alongside it for a while too but that design was too dated/common for me and I am not sure what future that manufacturer has since according to one of the ansa reps...their focus is on fuso trucks. Not sure if bs or not but Mitsubishi not looking too good at the moment. The Amarok is nice no doubt but I done with them now. Not me and best auto again. Our Jetta was good in the earlies but every year thereafter it got worse and worse. I would hate to own a vw product outside of warranty. I reach the stage in life now where I just want quality, reliability and resale value. When the new hilux came out last year I never found the time to look at it until during this week gone by and I was blown away of the overall feel and quality of the van vs the np300. Yes it uses the 1kd engine but it is more suited to our poor quality diesel. Those revo models sold by those south roro dealers boasting of this new 2.8 but I was told that some owners are experiencing problems already and are asking TTTL to intervene. Details I don't have but TTTL is not obligated to repair something that was never sanctioned by Toyota themselves to be exported to our market. Anyway, in retrospect I won't say I bought crap. I think it will suit my needs pretty fine but just take my advise, if you want a double cab automatic 4wd pickup truck, I can't see why the 2016 hilux would not be on top anyone's wish list.

Postby Kenjo » February 6th, 2016, 1:35 pm

Thanks for that detailed explanation . You have made your points well

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 6th, 2016, 2:10 pm

I've seen a few different people mentioning possible issues with the new 2.8 L Hilux engine, can anyone actually confirm what issues are being experienced? Also, if TTTL isn't selling and servicing the 2.8, I presume they had nothing to do with the fleet of CNG equipped Hiluxes that are rolling around now. Maybe someone in house at NP, or at VMCOTT got the training to deal with those **shrugs**

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » February 6th, 2016, 2:33 pm

The newer hilux engine with issues from my understanding are built for Euro 4+ grade diesel...so just like the Q7 and modern VAG diesel the euro 2 sewerage messing up engines/piston failure/fuel lines/injectors/turbo etc

Sent from my SM-G900M using Tapatalk

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 6th, 2016, 2:49 pm

What is the colour of diesel in England?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » February 6th, 2016, 3:17 pm

Co worker of mines bought a Cerato from the firm.
He got Nexen tyres with it.

I thought KIA vehicles came with Kumho tyres.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 6th, 2016, 6:35 pm

For persons interested in reading what i did about the VW amarok

http://www.4x4community.co.za/forum/showthread.php?t=129777

I overestimated the dealer visits (it was 7 not 9) but that is still quite a number of visits.

@ Ecotune
Still want to know what a strict maintenance regime constitutes?
Would also like to state that there are very few Fleet vehicles that I know about that are driven "normally" (There are extremes; New brake pads every 3 mths or less on some cars, Broken leaf springs and busted shock absorbers after 1 year on nissan d22).
These occurrences defy what i thought possible, but where there is a will there is a rental

Nexen is a korean brand so there is the possibility that it comes with brand new Kia's as well as Hyundai's