Re: New RORO laws!

Postby DVSTT » January 20th, 2016, 10:02 pm

Coppershot wrote:^^^^
I know, they are used commercially
But when they arrive in Trinidad mileage very low.
Not feeling sorry for the dealers

I think most fused dealers roll back mileage, its become the norm sadly.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » January 20th, 2016, 10:09 pm

Btw i seeing hybrid or electric vehicles not mentioned in statement by govt,
Only gas, diesel and cng vehicles have new restrictions?

antlind

Postby antlind » January 20th, 2016, 10:09 pm

The mileage is rolled back by their brokers in Japan. It's a common practice. I still think a good local used car with service records is a better deal than any 'cat in bag' RORO.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » January 20th, 2016, 10:21 pm

antlind wrote:The mileage is rolled back by their brokers in Japan. It's a common practice. I still think a good local used car with service records is a better deal than any 'cat in bag' RORO.

I rather buy RORO and bring it in myself. A 'good' Local used with service records very rare.
After having several local used cars in the past, RORO makes most sense imo, more options features. Colors for some vehicles is the only limitation.

Postby Country_Bookie » January 21st, 2016, 10:16 am

Country_Bookie wrote:This move has the potential to worsen our forex situation.
RORO prices will increase, since they forced to import 4 yrs and newer vehicles. For the lower middle class, they don’t have much of an alternative so they’ll continue to buy, provided we don’t start seeing large job cuts /layoffs. The upper middle class will move to buying new cars since the price gap is lower. In both cases, they’ll be paying higher prices, either for the newer RORO or the new car.
Higher prices = higher import bills = Greater demand for forex.

As I was saying, this move worsens our Forex situation:

TTADA: More forex use with new policy
Trinidad Guardian - 21 Jan 2016
President of the T&T Automotive Dealers Association (TTADA) Visham Babwah is warning that millions of dollars more in foreign exchange will be spent as a result of the new foreign used vehicle policy which lowers the age limit for importation of gasolene vehicles to four years.
“Common sense would dictate that a six-year-old car is cheaper to buy than a four-year-old vehicle,” he told the T&T Guardian.
“A dealer will have to cough up between US$2,000 to US$5,000 to buy a four-year-old car. This in effect means that the used car industry will require more than 50 per cent more foreign exchange than we used last year.”
Babwah, who said changes were made to the policy without consultation with industry stakeholders, described the new measures as draconian. According to the TTADA, registered foreign used car dealers have an annual quota of 13,500 vehicles and are not responsible for most of the 40,000 cars that are licensed in the country every year.
“The fact is that used car dealers pay less than new car dealers and also import a lot fewer motor vehicles than new car dealers,” the group said in an emailed statement.
“It is evident that the used car importers cannot create any significant impact on usage of foreign exchange.
“Moreover the decrease in the permissible age of importation will now mean that we will be purchasing a more expensive vehicle that would require the usage of even more foreign exchange.”
The group is calling for imposition of a quota system on the new car industry who they contend are the largest importers of vehicles in T&T.
Last Friday, Trade and Industry Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon announced a new policy for the foreign used industry which bars the importation of gasoline-powered vehicles more than four years old and restricts buyers importing cars for personal use to doing so every four years instead of every three years.
The minister also said a comprehensive review and audit of the existing policy is in progress. The review, which includes discussions with relevant stakeholders, will be concluded by March 31.

Postby A172 » January 21st, 2016, 12:00 pm

not feeling sorry for the dealers

Sent from my E6883 using Tapatalk

Postby K74T » January 21st, 2016, 12:14 pm

Wey 17

recklessone

Postby recklessone » January 21st, 2016, 12:19 pm

K74T wrote:Wey 17

Postby A172 » January 21st, 2016, 12:25 pm

iymc

Postby K74T » January 21st, 2016, 12:44 pm

dun know

Postby S_2NR » January 21st, 2016, 1:21 pm

A172 wrote:iymc

Postby Trini Hookah » January 21st, 2016, 2:11 pm

A172 wrote:Image

not feeling sorry for the dealers

Furthest right looks good.

Sent from my SM-N900 using Tapatalk

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » January 21st, 2016, 5:47 pm

which one mileage roll back the most you think?
my bet is on d tiida

As for the 'R' grade rating in japan my bet on d white axio

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » January 21st, 2016, 10:24 pm

why u an hush yuh posing MC

Sent from my Neo4_5 using Tapatalk

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 22nd, 2016, 8:29 am

smart fella....he buy 4 car for 300k. Had it been new bran it woulda be over 800k.

Postby mero » January 22nd, 2016, 8:46 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:why u an hush yuh posing MC

Sent from my Neo4_5 using Tapatalk

Ok Akeem. I hope A172 paying you yuh $300 for all this dickriding

love my beast

Postby love my beast » May 17th, 2017, 11:11 am

Hi.. Im searching to find the best way to import a suv from england. The movt and duties Calculation escapes me.. So i am requesting some assistance on that as well.. YEAR: 2017... ENGINE: 2976 cc... Price before shipping: 47,590.00 gbp... A breakdown of your equations would be very appreciated.. Thanking you guys in advance.. Nice to know you can always count on trinituner..