90 million to refurbish Brian Lara Stadium

konartis

Re: 90 million to refurbish Brian Lara Stadium

Postby konartis » January 20th, 2016, 3:00 pm

Redman wrote:I was told it was actually much less.
The plan is Lara and co bringing t20 there...
If so the should let the private co fund the refurbishment

Who told u that?

Postby Habit7 » January 20th, 2016, 3:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:Sando Paediatric Unit 52% used
Wendy Fitzwilliam Paediatric Hospital 70% used
POS Paediatric Unit <100% used

http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/DEYA ... &smobile=y

Priority is supporting the underutilized paediatric units in the country. No child is being deprived of proper health care. The hospital can be finished while Tarouba Stadium is as well. No reason why we can't walk and whistle.

What is the real benefit of the Brian Lara Stadium??

The QPO is underutilized
The UWI Frank Worrell Field underutilized
Guaracara Park underutilized
That's our three first class grounds outside of the Cricket Centre in Balmain.

Given our time zone we would never get big international tournaments outside of an ICC mandated one. There is no potential to have the BLS earn any significant sums of money.

But I guess since it's a PNM idea it is sound and rational.
You all are comparing apples with oranges. No child is being deprived health care by not having the Couva Children Hospital.

Wrt to the stadium, QPO is not owned by the govt, all the rest don't have any comparable capacity. I don't have the percentage of utilisation, if you have it quote it. But we can't talk about diversification and when an effort of sports tourism is being implemented and the govt is saving money by utilising an infrastructure development, le beat up.

This the same brood of naysayers who were against the highway under PNM, but under UNC approve the highway with no financing, now the treasury empty, contractor bankrupt and OAS executives arrested for corruption. Same naysayers that say no to smelter, but put no alternative industry and we ars left high and dry in low oil and gas prices. The same naysayers who cuss the waterfront and govt campus, but move parliament and all the ministries to the waterfront while leaving the Red House and govt campus in abeyance.

Sometimes I wonder if you need drag Trinis into development. UNC spent 3years trying to find nurses and doctors for the new hospital and failed, but ppl want the hospital opened and be run by droids or something. The chess champion has to go to St. Clair to get brain surgery because we only have a bunch of foreign quacks in public hospitals. But we want to multiply that and rush and open a new hospital full of them.

The hospital, stadia, govt campus, UWI Debe, highway, etc will all finish. Priority will always have to be place on the ones that would most readily make/save money esp. in these times.

Postby 16 cycles » January 20th, 2016, 3:43 pm

If the policy is to develop sports tourism...there are other finished stadia to utilize in aid of it....

The issue is not so much the money could have gone to the couva hospital but more a question of better use of the 90m....

There are pros and cons to any initiative....it just seems that there are more cons to this one given the present environment etc...

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2016, 3:48 pm

Yet another chead where Habit7 is getting beating like bobbolee.

Postby Habit7 » January 20th, 2016, 4:24 pm

Oh no ZR reach, expect his post to be no different than any of his last 10 postings and nothing higher than a Std 2 reading level.

Postby 1UZFE » January 20th, 2016, 4:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:Oh no ZR reach, expect his post to be no different than any of his last 10 postings and nothing higher than a Std 2 reading level.

And yet he makes pnmites look chupid.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 20th, 2016, 5:41 pm

1UZFE wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Oh no ZR reach, expect his post to be no different than any of his last 10 postings and nothing higher than a Std 2 reading level.

Whoaaa gardddd

pinks

Postby pinks » January 20th, 2016, 5:47 pm

All this talk about stadium and couva hospital..what about the national oncology center in mt hope?started under the pnm and still incomplete..i believe they should look into completing that center before any stadium.

Postby cinco » January 20th, 2016, 5:53 pm

pinks wrote:All this talk about stadium and couva hospital..what about the national oncology center in mt hope?started under the pnm and still incomplete..i believe they should look into completing that center before any stadium.

What about a working mri instead of giving millions to medical associates for mris yearly

buckredan

Postby buckredan » January 20th, 2016, 6:53 pm

pnm say it will cost 90 million pp say it would cost 300 million ,a billion dollars is way way to much to pay for a building.
as for the children hospital ,test building,motor vehicle authority buildings according to my friend who work in these building under the pp government,they are only 3/4 finish do not let the front fool all your.
right now they are awaiting salaries over a year an a half now own to them by the pp government
unless they do not get paid the building will not be turn over to to relevant ministry thanks kamla

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 20th, 2016, 7:05 pm

buckredan wrote:. . .test building . . .

:| MTest building in Chaguanas cost what? $166M? And up until now they can't open the building because they don't have the necessary design approvals? Building "finished" in UNC language, yet the design of the building has not been approved by the Designs Branch of the MOWT? What if the Designs Branch determines that it is not designed to withstand the anticipated loads? What next?

Postby shogun » January 20th, 2016, 7:08 pm

Design branch is deemed a PNM sleeper cell?

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2016, 7:11 pm

Another bag ah chit chead.

Meanwhile Tax on books is an insult on this population.

It's like we are told not to read and have to pay for to read.

Slavery start again with PNM

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 20th, 2016, 7:56 pm

zoom rader wrote:Another bag ah chit chead.

We doh read much anyway

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2016, 8:19 pm

racedriverpro wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Another bag ah chit chead.

We doh read much anyway

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Well it's true this is not a reading nation.

It's a fete nation and that's why carnival is responsible for that.

All our ills stem from carnival

Postby nervewrecker » January 20th, 2016, 8:22 pm

zoom rader wrote:Yet another chead where Habit7 is getting beating like bobbolee.

Not a PNM-ite but Habit7 does raise some interesting points and help show things from a different perspective.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 20th, 2016, 8:33 pm

worked as a contractor on this project when it was being built ... epic waste of money ... kickback contract , real people going to " benefit " from this project ...

Postby Team Loco » January 20th, 2016, 9:14 pm

matix wrote:Because of poorly done work. A lot of failed inspections, no functioning safety systems,faulty electrical, vandalism, theft.

you as a former pnm senator, I am surprised at your response

Postby 1UZFE » January 20th, 2016, 9:15 pm

Team Loco wrote:
matix wrote:Because of poorly done work. A lot of failed inspections, no functioning safety systems,faulty electrical, vandalism, theft.

1453339166863.jpg
1453339166863.jpg (15.06 KiB) Viewed 1800 times

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 20th, 2016, 9:18 pm

Team Loco wrote:

they have to support the bad work , so it could be re-evaluated and more must be spent ... $99m to fix a stadium that was never even used for 1 cricket event epic aint it :lol:

Postby Team Loco » January 20th, 2016, 9:34 pm

it was downhill from the start. but I disagree with unc allowing it to be left to rot. however that refurbishment price seems quite cheap. no one discussing the fact that main structural weld joints failed during testing. if it must be refurbished properly, some serious money must be spent.

as for the couva hospital, I don't think the pnm will ever use it

10-01

Postby 10-01 » January 20th, 2016, 9:38 pm

Team Loco wrote:it was downhill from the start. but I disagree with unc allowing it to be left to rot. however that refurbishment price seems quite cheap. no one discussing the fact that main structural weld joints failed during testing. if it must be refurbished properly, some serious money must be spent.

as for the couva hospital, I don't think the pnm will ever use it

as u clearly said the PNM will never use the $B hospital .. and if or when the UNC comes in power same cycle as the stadium ... epic waste but money for contractors

sweet T&T boi ...

Postby Dizzy28 » January 20th, 2016, 9:43 pm

PariaMan wrote:
cinco wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Sando Paediatric Unit 52% used
Wendy Fitzwilliam Paediatric Hospital 70% used
POS Paediatric Unit <100% used

http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/DEYA ... &smobile=y

Priority is supporting the underutilized paediatric units in the country. No child is being deprived of proper health care. The hospital can be finished while Tarouba Stadium is as well. No reason why we can't walk and whistle.

What's tell percentage usage of all the other stadiums in the country

How do you calculate the % use of a stadium to say that it is underutilised .

Regional cricket is being played Tobago , QPO, UWI Spec and National Cricket Centre.

And who pays for this?? Regional cricket is always in the red. For the first Nagico Super50 tournament the QPO had to wait months for the Ministry of Trade yes Trade and not Sport disburse monies to pay for venue rental.

By underutilized I refer to being rented at market rates by an entity capable of paying. Regional cricket at Shaw Park is subsidized by the THA, at Balmain by the TTCB and the QPO has always indicated they can make more money during Carnival renting for fetes than for cricket.

Habit keeps talking down agriculture as a means of replacing income however Sports Tourism will be no better at maintaining our standards of living as agriculture.

Postby De Dragon » January 21st, 2016, 1:24 am

Habit7 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Awaits Habit7 to defend another bag ah PNM chit

So the stadium must not be finished and made possibly the largest sports revenue earner for the govt?

You really delusional yes. Tell us exactly how a purpose built cricket stadium is ever going to be the largest sports revenue earner.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 21st, 2016, 4:42 am

i aint even going to post my 2c

Daran

Postby Daran » January 21st, 2016, 7:19 am

from facebook.

The initial cost (2006) of the stadium was $500 million TT dollars however, this amount increased significantly to over $1 Billion dollars without the stadium being completed. The project was awarded without tender by the then pnm government under Udecott to Hafeez Karamath Construction. Now the pnm want to spend a couple hundred million dollars more to finish this tsunami shelter to try and cover up their tracks of corruption, mismanagement, incompetence and vulgar theft. So people keep telling me that they voted out the last government to get rid of corruption, which wouldn't have been shocking, except that they put back the same set of crooks from before. Duh?
Brian Lara Stadium project at Tarouba “is effectively condemned”, according to a report into the Udecott project prepared by Gerry McCaffrey, the construction expert hired by the Uff Commission of Inquiry whose future participation in the inquiry has now been cast in doubt.
According to McCaffrey’s initial report into the project dated February 20, the main contractor for the project, Hafeez Karamath Limited (HKL) ignored 300 “stop orders” for work on the project. McCaffrey concluded that issues of “quality control” and of the inability of Udecott to enforce the terms of the contract for the project have contributed to delays on the project.
“I am advised that HKL have received hundreds of stop-orders for defective work,” McCaffrey wrote. “For example, I am advised that HKL ignore stop-orders to the extent that, as at January 2009, the structural steelwork (which was progressed in the face of around 300 stop-orders) is effectively condemned.”

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2016, 7:23 am

zoom rader wrote:Yet another chead where Habit7 is getting beating like bobbolee.

Not a PNM-ite but Habit7 does raise some interesting points and help show things from a different perspective.

His points only benefit the PNM Financiers as he's been Paid to do so.

This is the guy that got an HDC house through the back door from PNM

Postby S_2NR » January 21st, 2016, 9:56 am

1UZFE wrote:

Hahahahah

Postby sMASH » January 21st, 2016, 12:06 pm

That is what I wanted to get at, there was significant structural imperfections which rendered unsafe even to house prisoners during the SoE.

$90m... pay the people their back pay, keep the art of reading alive, finish the highway, create In the current hospitals, staff them competently.

A lot of other things that money could spend on besides raising the dead.

Btw, how often does a match have to be played to pay back for the stadium? If that stadium has 10k seats, then that's over $100k per seat. If u make a profit of $100 on every ticket sold, u still have to sell out the stadium 1000 times to make back the money. If u sell out the stadium every two months, u still would not make a profit in 40 years.

How often does a cricket match sell out?

Selling it to Casper to use for MK promotions making more sense than trying to wright that derelict

Postby Habit7 » January 21st, 2016, 2:20 pm

^^^ You fail to factor in sponsorships, TV rights, concessions and other spin off activities from the hoteliers to taxi drivers. Well over a million dollars a day.

Buy hey, everybody turn economist now. Ppl want a diversified economy but don't want the govt to spend any money, they don't want to carry their kids to Sando, Mt Hope and POS paediatric wards, they want the "new brand" one in Couva. And they want $7b in backpay, UWI Debe, all stadia, MVA bldg and all other PP project finished. In spite the fact PP couldn't finish all PNM projects when oil was 300% more than it is today.

But doh hut yuh head, poke-a-poke the govt will finish everybody projects and at least start their own.