T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

scotty_buttons

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby scotty_buttons » January 19th, 2016, 2:44 pm

cinco wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
cinco wrote:I wish we got manual cars new

Isn't the Suzuki Swift Sport still sold with a manual transmission option? And isn't it over $10k cheaper than the automatic transmission version?

I refuse to put premium in a car that doesn't even make 150whp

Since when swift does use premium?! :?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 19th, 2016, 3:15 pm

Swift sport 1.6l uses premium
The regular 1.5l uses super

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 20th, 2016, 7:35 pm

Saw the new elantra on the road probably coming out of the port.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 20th, 2016, 9:04 pm

[quote="nick639"]Anyone here went for a test drive or own the VW Amarok yet???[/quote

Might make a spin sometime this week or next. Will post my findings

icemantt

Postby icemantt » January 22nd, 2016, 9:48 am

Hi and good day everyone .
Looking at getting a SUV. I've narrowed it down to the Qashqia J11 , Hr-v, Vezel (Hr-v)Hybrid and the Rav4 .Will look at the Sportage when it come out next month. Can any owners share their experience with these vehicles and the service experience from the dealers.

Thanks .
Last edited by icemantt on January 22nd, 2016, 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » January 22nd, 2016, 10:04 am

icemantt wrote:Hi and good day everyone .
Looking at getting a SUV. I've narrowed it down to the Qashqia J11 , Hr-v, Vezel Hybrid and the Rav4 .Will look at the Sportage when it come out next month. Can any owners share their experience with these vehicles and the service experience from the dealers.

Thanks .

What's a vezel hybrid?

icemantt

Postby icemantt » January 22nd, 2016, 10:18 am

Vezel is the name used for the Hr-v in japan by Honda.The Vezel Hybrid is the japan model Hr-v sold by Mint motors in Trinidad.

Postby DVSTT » January 22nd, 2016, 10:38 am

icemantt wrote:Vezel is the name used for the Hr-v in japan by Honda.The Vezel Hybrid is the japan model Hr-v sold by Mint motors in Trinidad.

Cool, didn't know the HRV was avaible outside the dealer. Thanks.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 22nd, 2016, 4:53 pm

Mint Motors had the HR-V in stock before Ansa

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 22nd, 2016, 9:07 pm

Yea and theirs is JDM spec! interior lights are all LED's and has a newer 1.5 direct injection engine.

Whats the price of the hybrid? The hybrid has a dual clutch transmission with a built in electric motor, was problematic in the beginning, dunno if honda sorted it out.

Postby DVSTT » January 22nd, 2016, 9:41 pm

drchaos wrote:Yea and theirs is JDM spec! interior lights are all LED's and has a newer 1.5 direct injection engine.

Whats the price of the hybrid? The hybrid has a dual clutch transmission with a built in electric motor, was problematic in the beginning, dunno if honda sorted it out.

About 255k according to their fb page.

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » January 23rd, 2016, 1:26 am

245k for 2015 model according to their in stock section on website

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » January 23rd, 2016, 6:03 am

Kenjo wrote:Is there any evidence that the rise of these vehicles like Kian and Hyundai that flaws are being found in them? In the 90s it's was an insult to say you driving one of those

Yip.
New model Kia Rio bought in 2012.

Clockspring failure at approximately 77,000 km before the 3 year warranty expired. ( Airbag light on)

Water from the air conditioning lines leaking into the driver side compartment by the pedal assembly.

Rubbers around door frames began to become brittle.

First and last Korean vehicle for me.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » January 23rd, 2016, 6:14 am

Kenjo wrote:Is there any evidence that the rise of these vehicles like Kian and Hyundai that flaws are being found in them? In the 90s it's was an insult to say you driving one of those

Yip.
New model Kia Rio bought in 2012.

Clockspring failure at approximately 77,000 km before the 3 year warranty expired. ( Airbag light on)

Water from the air conditioning lines leaking into the driver side compartment by the pedal assembly.

Rubbers around door frames began to become brittle.

First and last Korean vehicle for me.

Postby S_2NR » January 23rd, 2016, 1:58 pm

2014 elantra. Now hitting 30k miles. Had a small coolant leak with a hose. I noticed it. Massy fixed. Other than regular service no major problems. But they wash the car really halfway after a service. I does have to remind them after they buss my pocket they better wash it good. They used to have to wash it twice but now they detail the car good every time I pass thru. :lol:

Tint fade fast. But that's not really a car problem. They just Tint by a sheit place. Had Tint redone because sun too dam hot.

Also have a low idle with a/c right now. Will make them service throttle body and iacv next time.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 23rd, 2016, 3:30 pm

I find massy car wash service does real put swirls on your car, after the second service I put a stop to that.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » January 23rd, 2016, 4:09 pm

2015 Kia Rio hatchback fully loaded on 14300km, car was bought 6 months ago (proper driving) no problems as yet (fingers crossed) very fun little car to drive. Selling as soon as it reaches a year tho. Sales rep told me not to keep it for more than 3years tho [FLUSHED FACE] (after I paid)

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 23rd, 2016, 9:45 pm

They refreshed the RAV 4 already???

konartis

Postby konartis » January 23rd, 2016, 10:03 pm

drchaos wrote:They refreshed the RAV 4 already???

Yea, a co worker of mines is pissed..lol

konartis

Postby konartis » January 23rd, 2016, 10:04 pm

drchaos wrote:They refreshed the RAV 4 already???

Yea, a co worker of mines is pissed..lol

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 23rd, 2016, 10:19 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:2015 Kia Rio hatchback fully loaded on 14300km, car was bought 6 months ago (proper driving) no problems as yet (fingers crossed) very fun little car to drive. Selling as soon as it reaches a year tho. Sales rep told me not to keep it for more than 3years tho [FLUSHED FACE] (after I paid)

You asked him why??

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » January 23rd, 2016, 10:25 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
tropi_flakes wrote:2015 Kia Rio hatchback fully loaded on 14300km, car was bought 6 months ago (proper driving) no problems as yet (fingers crossed) very fun little car to drive. Selling as soon as it reaches a year tho. Sales rep told me not to keep it for more than 3years tho [FLUSHED FACE] (after I paid)

You asked him why??

Resale value

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 23rd, 2016, 11:34 pm

ruffrider27 wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:

You asked him why??

Resale value

Well besides the obvious. I was thinking something like problems Start to arise around that time. Don't think anyone would buy a Kia not expecting poor resale...

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » January 24th, 2016, 8:47 am

scotty_buttons wrote:

You asked him why??

Apparently when the warranty period is up that's when stuff starts to go bad. On the day I went to collect it had a guy who just sold his 2013 optima and bought a 2015 lol, he said he likes the car but don't trust the brand.

scotty_buttons

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby scotty_buttons » January 24th, 2016, 2:18 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:

You asked him why??

Apparently when the warranty period is up that's when stuff starts to go bad. On the day I went to collect it had a guy who just sold his 2013 optima and bought a 2015 lol, he said he likes the car but don't trust the brand.

Yeah that's what I figured. Hope potential buyers don't read this thread then! For your sake!

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » January 24th, 2016, 5:42 pm

I think there are about three different variants of the Kia Rio on the road right now.

That Push Start feature I would be concerned about though.
A buddy of mines had failure with it in a Kia Sportage.

Postby j.o.e » January 24th, 2016, 6:47 pm

Friend of mine has a PCX Kia Rio ... So far clock spring failure (airbag light) and premature wearing of brake shoes on the drum brakes (in my opinion), she's not an aggressive driver and they were done before 30,000kms.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » January 24th, 2016, 9:44 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
tropi_flakes wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:

You asked him why??

Yeah that's what I figured. Hope potential buyers don't read this thread then! For your sake!

Not really worried, the car is in tip top condition. And if not well will bite the bullet and trade it in with the company. I have my eye on the 2016 sportage.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » January 25th, 2016, 11:27 am

Just went and checked out the new Vitara and the Trax not impressed with either the high ent vitara has a 1.6l engine and the Trax is 1.4 boosted though

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 25th, 2016, 4:16 pm

Dem Japanese car makers stickin on them turbo's big time boy ...

Life is better when its turbo charged!