90 million to refurbish Brian Lara Stadium

Re: 90 million to refurbish Brian Lara Stadium

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 19th, 2016, 10:18 pm

Wait, what going on with that new state of the art licensing office in Caroni?

Shouldn't that be a much bigger priority than this Brian Lara stadium?

Postby j.o.e » January 19th, 2016, 10:23 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Wait, what going on with that new state of the art licensing office in Caroni?

That was discussed in amputee presentation .... The Caroni licensing office was supposed to be one of many satellite sites to implement new Motor Vehicle Authority . Entire budget was used on the Caroni building

Postby DVSTT » January 19th, 2016, 10:24 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Wait, what going on with that new state of the art licensing office in Caroni?

Didn't they need to pass some legislation for that?

Postby Dizzy28 » January 19th, 2016, 10:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Awaits Habit7 to defend another bag ah PNM chit

So the stadium must not be finished and made possibly the largest sports revenue earner for the govt?

For the first time in a long time I on ZR here....why did this stadium go from 200m to 1 billion all under your beloved PM as line minister for Udecott??

With regard to cost, it seemed clear that the original estimate given in February 2005 in the sum of $272m was unrepresentative of the building which subsequently came to be designed and put out to tender. As noted in Section 23 below, the likely overall costs will have escalated some 2½ times. Part of this is accounted for by events and circumstances which were not foreseen at the date of the original estimate; however, a major part of the cost escalation must be attributed to the development of the design of the Stadium. While this was, from the outset, to be designated as "world class", the early decision to bring in internationally renowned designers seems to have been taken as an indication that there would be no constraint on the design. The roof design eventually adopted was needlessly costly, inappropriate and should not have been approved. An additional element of excessive cost arose from the needless overdesign of the steel structure in the absence of proper design information. In retrospect there is no good reason why a much more simple and cost effective design could not have been adopted, similar to that used for the existing stadia at Manny Ramjohn, Larry Gomes and Dwight Yorke Stadium at Bacelot, Tobago. UDeCOTT
should have drawn this to the attention of the Government at a time when a review of the design was still feasible.

http://www.jcc.org.tt/uffreport.pdf

Basically Cabinet then went to sleep and allowed a billion dollar mistake??

BRZ

Postby BRZ » January 20th, 2016, 7:24 am

Habit7 wrote:

So the stadium must not be finished and made possibly the largest sports revenue earner for the govt?

For the first time in a long time I on ZR here....why did this stadium go from 200m to 1 billion all under your beloved PM as line minister for Udecott??

With regard to cost, it seemed clear that the original estimate given in February 2005 in the sum of $272m was unrepresentative of the building which subsequently came to be designed and put out to tender. As noted in Section 23 below, the likely overall costs will have escalated some 2½ times. Part of this is accounted for by events and circumstances which were not foreseen at the date of the original estimate; however, a major part of the cost escalation must be attributed to the development of the design of the Stadium. While this was, from the outset, to be designated as "world class", the early decision to bring in internationally renowned designers seems to have been taken as an indication that there would be no constraint on the design. The roof design eventually adopted was needlessly costly, inappropriate and should not have been approved. An additional element of excessive cost arose from the needless overdesign of the steel structure in the absence of proper design information. In retrospect there is no good reason why a much more simple and cost effective design could not have been adopted, similar to that used for the existing stadia at Manny Ramjohn, Larry Gomes and Dwight Yorke Stadium at Bacelot, Tobago. UDeCOTT
should have drawn this to the attention of the Government at a time when a review of the design was still feasible.

Or maybe all of them received a $30K, to hush they stink mouth and turn a blind eye?

All OUR politicians we currently have are cut from the same cloth, same thieves, just different colors and textures.................

BRZ

Postby BRZ » January 20th, 2016, 7:26 am

Habit7 wrote:

Or maybe all of them received a $30K, to hush they stink mouth and turn a blind eye?

All OUR politicians we currently have are cut from the same cloth, same thieves, just different colors and textures.................

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 20th, 2016, 7:46 am

So daz why deh taxing we MC so..

Postby 1UZFE » January 20th, 2016, 8:06 am

Kwame is pleased.

Postby Spitfir3 » January 20th, 2016, 9:18 am

nice to see our priorities in order
have fun sleeping on the hospital floor gents

forgeniebob

Postby forgeniebob » January 20th, 2016, 9:22 am

Just break thst thing down. 90 million and you know there will be cost over runs. Give the people their back pay

Postby Habit7 » January 20th, 2016, 9:45 am

Spitfir3 wrote:nice to see our priorities in order
have fun sleeping on the hospital floor gents
Priorities are the 50 extra beds just added to Mt Hope and satisfying the current staff/equipment/drug shortages at all existing hospitals before we spend millions opening another one to repeat the same problem.

forgeniebob wrote:Just break thst thing down. 90 million and you know there will be cost over runs. Give the people their back pay
$90m is just 1% of the $7b owed to workers. Don't hold your breath.

Postby j.o.e » January 20th, 2016, 9:56 am

Brian Lara Stadium should've been completed BEFORE National Tennis Centre, Cycling Velodrome, Aquatic Centre....that's not a political statement. I just think as a country we will struggle to utilize those last three.
I am hopeful though that we can attract some international athletes/teams to train at the facilities

antlind

Postby antlind » January 20th, 2016, 10:07 am

j.o.e wrote:Brian Lara Stadium should've been completed BEFORE National Tennis Centre, Cycling Velodrome, Aquatic Centre....that's not a political statement. I just think as a country we will struggle to utilize those last three.
I am hopeful though that we can attract some international athletes/teams to train at the facilities

We have a bunch of politicians who want to play on the world stage by building these grand facilities without factoring in the ongoing maintenance costs. While as citizens we have to live with substandard hospitals, schools, roads etc. And this is not a PNM UNC statement because they are both the same.....different idiots same confused and misguided agendas.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » January 20th, 2016, 10:10 am

antlind wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Brian Lara Stadium should've been completed BEFORE National Tennis Centre, Cycling Velodrome, Aquatic Centre....that's not a political statement. I just think as a country we will struggle to utilize those last three.

We have a bunch of politicians who want to play on the world stage by building these grand facilities without factoring in the ongoing maintenance costs. While as citizens we have to live with substandard hospitals, schools, roads etc. And this is not a PNM UNC statement because they are both the same.....different idiots same confused and misguided agendas.

That couples with the Fact that in order to host international events we also are short on Hotel rooms and Proper Transportation to such venues.
As usual BOTH governments always putting the KART before the fr1gging donkey.
Same thing with Highway CAMERAS, they installed them yet there is NOT proper Legislation to govern them and you cannot be charged.

Postby Les Bain » January 20th, 2016, 10:20 am

All these accomplishments being attended to by the last 2 governments of gum bumpers yet jaywalking, littering and noise pollution via music pirates is STILL an issue in the capital city.

Postby sMASH » January 20th, 2016, 10:22 am

Why wasn't that stadium put to use after being built?

matix

Postby matix » January 20th, 2016, 10:37 am

Because of poorly done work. A lot of failed inspections, no functioning safety systems,faulty electrical, vandalism, theft.

Postby Rovin » January 20th, 2016, 11:00 am

economy slowing down badly , ppl getting laid off , regular mthly govt workers being told d previous govt tief out all $ so we eh have to pay allyuh , population being told to tighten u belt & eat cassava , a million other urgent problems + we in d middle of recession [that they finally admit] , cut this\that & d next , everything being scaled back or cancelled but it suddenly have 90 mil available & is a urgent priority to fix a stadium that gonna get use once in a while ... how cud any logical thinking person justify this BS ? .... :|

coming up soon\next - rapid rail

where all d pressure groups & lobbyist who use to be in news every wk - all dem in hibernation or they got bought out or they approve all d crap that going on so they quiet now ......

BRZ

Postby BRZ » January 20th, 2016, 11:20 am

People NEED to PUT aside political Alliance and ROOTS type behaviors and STAND UP for their COUNTRY And whats BEST for OUR future.

Only then can we put pressure on whichever government is in power.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 20th, 2016, 11:25 am

Rain doh like international cricket in Trinidad so waste of time and 1% of we back pay.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Advent

Postby Advent » January 20th, 2016, 11:27 am

As it stands the stadium is like the F35 program, best to finish and done, even though it costs an arm and leg

Postby Habit7 » January 20th, 2016, 11:49 am

It's called stimulating the economy by construction. USA did it in their recession in 2008. We did it 2011-2012 and we going to do it this year. Deal with it.

Postby sMASH » January 20th, 2016, 12:11 pm

Stimulate it by finishing the highway, and staffing the new hospital, and paying the back pay allowing more money to circulate in the local economy.

If that stadium gets a big gig once a month, where would that revenue go? It would allow some people to have an income such as grounds men, electrical, security, doubles men nuts men. But compared to staffing a hospital and significantly shortening commuting times from pt. Fortain to sando, u get more bang for the buck.

But, that highway was we highway now, the hospital was we hospital now, and the stadium and the rapid tram are red and ready.

I can appreciate theft, not stupidity.

Postby X2 » January 20th, 2016, 12:14 pm

It will 'cost' more than 90mm to finish/refurb that stadium.... but WHY ?

Just give it to motorsport and DONE !

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 20th, 2016, 12:16 pm

Habit7 wrote:It's called stimulating the economy by construction. USA did it in their recession in 2008. We did it 2011-2012 and we going to do it this year. Deal with it.

But isn't this going against what the government wanted with respect to letting the private sector stimulate the construction sector rather than the state? Perhaps they should have considered a modified Build, Own, Operate, Transfer model to get the stadium completed.

BoxEater

Postby BoxEater » January 20th, 2016, 1:21 pm

pnm priorities in order.... bun children hospital

that stadium is being built for pnm supporters.... when pnm ppl sick they normally go on the road and take a sweat.... whether it be football, unprotected sex in a shack or running from police....

when pnm children sick, the parents would take them to the stadium and because of its magnitude and sophistication, the children will be instantly cured....

Postby Habit7 » January 20th, 2016, 1:49 pm

Sando Paediatric Unit 52% used
Wendy Fitzwilliam Paediatric Hospital 70% used
POS Paediatric Unit <100% used

http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/DEYA ... &smobile=y

Priority is supporting the underutilized paediatric units in the country. No child is being deprived of proper health care. The hospital can be finished while Tarouba Stadium is as well. No reason why we can't walk and whistle.

Postby cinco » January 20th, 2016, 2:21 pm

Habit7 wrote:Sando Paediatric Unit 52% used

Priority is supporting the underutilized paediatric units in the country. No child is being deprived of proper health care. The hospital can be finished while Tarouba Stadium is as well. No reason why we can't walk and whistle.

What's tell percentage usage of all the other stadiums in the country

Postby Dizzy28 » January 20th, 2016, 2:24 pm

What is the real benefit of the Brian Lara Stadium??

The QPO is underutilized
The UWI Frank Worrell Field underutilized
Guaracara Park underutilized
That's our three first class grounds outside of the Cricket Centre in Balmain.

Given our time zone we would never get big international tournaments outside of an ICC mandated one. There is no potential to have the BLS earn any significant sums of money.

But I guess since it's a PNM idea it is sound and rational.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 20th, 2016, 2:28 pm

cinco wrote:

What's tell percentage usage of all the other stadiums in the country

How do you calculate the % use of a stadium to say that it is underutilised .

Regional cricket is being played Tobago , QPO, UWI Spec and National Cricket Centre.