Trinispougla wrote:We cannot compete with any of market for technology. India, China and Korea virtually have a monopoly of the manufacture of motherboards because their labor is mindbogglingly cheap. China, India and Latin America, specifically Brazil, has control of the smartphone market among developing countries. Most of the phones in places like paraguay, bolivia, ecuador, guatemala, honduras, el salvador and nicaragua are from BLU. China has a monopoly on phones, not just smart phones in Africa and south-east asia(Cambodia, Laos). Those markets are simply not open to us. Software development and Finance could be an avenue though. Singapore was one of the world's least developed countries before Lee Kuan Yew, it was a fishing port. Yet in 2015, they are now a leader in IT and technical education and we can take a page out of their book
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:desifemlove wrote:Trinispougla wrote:Actually ZR, $14 is not as bad as you think. E.G in 1984, the price of oil dropped to $9. That equates to 22 dollars in our time. The reason is that the two wars we have fought in this millennium have fundamentally changed the way we price oil. And off course the arab spring and the wars that subsequently followed sent the price sky high
1990s was different to today. No China importing oil, no shale gas.
That said, Dr. R. should be encouraging manufacturing, offering grants to make software/ICT products. No reason why we cannot export motherboards, or smartphones, or get a Foxconn-esque deal here. ICT won't decline in importance, and would gain far more FOREX.
his plan is 6/10 for me. some good points, more could have been/be done.
Software products?
Export motherboards?
Have you seen how cheaply them Indians does work for on Freelance websites? you feel we could compete with that? actually I work cheaper than Indians for software development and I am close to start offering mobile app development service in 2016. And the pay is really low overall, I survive because I live rent free.
I have a video game in the works in Unreal Engine 4 that I expect to launch in 2017 on Steam all done in C++ coding. I do it all myself if Vladimir Romanyuk could make "space engine" by himself then I too can make a decent game myself. And even then I am expecting to make no more than $500 US a month. Especially after the 30% steam cut.
Dude we cannot compete with Asia in exporting ICT products be it software or hardware. Hardware companies are struggling all around the world just to stay in business. You know how hard it is to make motherboards? and when you do how do you compete against well known companies like ASUS and Samsung? This country only has 1.3 million or so people. Besides that our culture is all about fete wine and jam all year round.
Nobody here wants to build motherboards or software, these would be people passionate and dedicate their lives to this field. Even Engineering and computer science majors in UWI does fete and drink rum. Soon as they graduate they looking for ah government wuk first thing or ah teaching wuk so they can get paid for the summer while they relax. Do you know what it takes to succeed in this field of exporting ICT products that the world actually wants and willing to pay reasonable money for? I go give you a hint if there is any such person here capable of this, he or she is not staying in any 3rd world country, they will have much better opportunities than anything Rowley could offer them.
desifemlove wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:desifemlove wrote:Trinispougla wrote:Actually ZR, $14 is not as bad as you think. E.G in 1984, the price of oil dropped to $9. That equates to 22 dollars in our time. The reason is that the two wars we have fought in this millennium have fundamentally changed the way we price oil. And off course the arab spring and the wars that subsequently followed sent the price sky high
That said, Dr. R. should be encouraging manufacturing, offering grants to make software/ICT products. No reason why we cannot export motherboards, or smartphones, or get a Foxconn-esque deal here. ICT won't decline in importance, and would gain far more FOREX.
Software products?
Export motherboards?
Have you seen how cheaply them Indians does work for on Freelance websites? you feel we could compete with that? actually I work cheaper than Indians for software development and I am close to start offering mobile app development service in 2016. And the pay is really low overall, I survive because I live rent free.
I have a video game in the works in Unreal Engine 4 that I expect to launch in 2017 on Steam all done in C++ coding. I do it all myself if Vladimir Romanyuk could make "space engine" by himself then I too can make a decent game myself. And even then I am expecting to make no more than $500 US a month. Especially after the 30% steam cut.
Dude we cannot compete with Asia in exporting ICT products be it software or hardware. Hardware companies are struggling all around the world just to stay in business. You know how hard it is to make motherboards? and when you do how do you compete against well known companies like ASUS and Samsung? This country only has 1.3 million or so people. Besides that our culture is all about fete wine and jam all year round.
Nobody here wants to build motherboards or software, these would be people passionate and dedicate their lives to this field. Even Engineering and computer science majors in UWI does fete and drink rum. Soon as they graduate they looking for ah government wuk first thing or ah teaching wuk so they can get paid for the summer while they relax. Do you know what it takes to succeed in this field of exporting ICT products that the world actually wants and willing to pay reasonable money for? I go give you a hint if there is any such person here capable of this, he or she is not staying in any 3rd world country, they will have much better opportunities than anything Rowley could offer them.
ask ASUS or AMD or whoever to come here...and why not? i have close family who in rich countries were senior managers in computer assembly firms. to say trini too poor or we too richer than china is bull. i'd also say those uwi fellas/misses too dotish...
DVSTT wrote:Colm is saying that they want to increase housing construction and get the private sector more involved, in order to provide more jobs for persons. My question is, is it a wise endeavor to encourage persons to take loans when their jobs aren't secured? Also, is it wise to encourage housing construction, given the exorbitant cost of building that we already endure?
Trinispougla wrote:DVSTT wrote:Colm is saying that they want to increase housing construction and get the private sector more involved, in order to provide more jobs for persons. My question is, is it a wise endeavor to encourage persons to take loans when their jobs aren't secured? Also, is it wise to encourage housing construction, given the exorbitant cost of building that we already endure?
The price of land and building materials always decreases significantly during a recession. If you look at the 1980s, many people built their homes during this period. Land in what is now considered prime real estate and I'm not speaking squatters in places like Carenage and Diego Martin could be afforded by public servants
Daran wrote:Our highly educated workforce leaves trinidad due to lack of decent paying jobs. UWI offers a mere pittance to these scholars for research without realizing how much value they can add to our country.
Trinispougla wrote:desifemlove wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:desifemlove wrote:Trinispougla wrote:Actually ZR, $14 is not as bad as you think. E.G in 1984, the price of oil dropped to $9. That equates to 22 dollars in our time. The reason is that the two wars we have fought in this millennium have fundamentally changed the way we price oil. And off course the arab spring and the wars that subsequently followed sent the price sky high
Software products?
Export motherboards?
ask ASUS or AMD or whoever to come here...and why not? i have close family who in rich countries were senior managers in computer assembly firms. to say trini too poor or we too richer than china is bull. i'd also say those uwi fellas/misses too dotish...
It has nothing to do with wealth or the lack thereof. It has to do with the market being dominated by countries with huge populations and the easy availability of labour. Let me give you an example. I had a friend who was a computer scientist. He made a programme for blind persons which caused him to be published in IEEE journals and a scholarship to a research conference of elite computer scientists in Sweeden. Within four or five months of his attending the conference, guys from all over were making designs similar to his programme and making a killing on it. Trinidad is a small country in a capitalist world where size and and finances mean everything. It is not like if the price of oil is going to stay low forever and we are running out of current supply, there are still fields in the gulf waiting to be tapped, we just don't have the money as yet to facilitate serious exploration
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Daran wrote:Our highly educated workforce leaves trinidad due to lack of decent paying jobs. UWI offers a mere pittance to these scholars for research without realizing how much value they can add to our country.
This is not entirely true, our highly educated workforce leaves Trinidad simply because they CAN since Trinidad is infact a 3rd world country and most don't work in research simply because the pay stinks almost anywhere in the world. My uncle who is now retired and is 76 years old has a PHD in Physics from University of Oxford aswell as an MSc in Computer Science from somewhere in Canada dunno where, never asked about that one. He worked for many years in Canada and the US aswell as in research. He was one of the first local Physics professors at UWI in Trinidad a really long time ago aswell.
In his own words the pay in research stinks both in USA and Canada so your view of UWI paying a tiny amount of money for research field does not hold up since its the same and this is coming from a man who has actually done this. Research is not seen as a job which should be highly paid it never has been. It is seen as a job for people with a passion for science to better mankind. The fact that your friends have complained about the fact that they would love to work in research but pay is too small simply means that they do not have the desire to become very useful in research. They are simply just not unique enough.
Trinis doing something not for money but to better mankind? yeah, nah.
desifemlove wrote:better marketing. ict is huge, it's about finding niches and building the infrastructure. so if PNM or UNC even got a firm here to build network cabling or switches or servers, and offered to train trinis for a wuk dey, you would still say "trini too small"?
desifemlove wrote:Trinispougla wrote:desifemlove wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:desifemlove wrote:Trinispougla wrote:Actually ZR, $14 is not as bad as you think. E.G in 1984, the price of oil dropped to $9. That equates to 22 dollars in our time. The reason is that the two wars we have fought in this millennium have fundamentally changed the way we price oil. And off course the arab spring and the wars that subsequently followed sent the price sky high
Software products?
Export motherboards?
It has nothing to do with wealth or the lack thereof. It has to do with the market being dominated by countries with huge populations and the easy availability of labour. Let me give you an example. I had a friend who was a computer scientist. He made a programme for blind persons which caused him to be published in IEEE journals and a scholarship to a research conference of elite computer scientists in Sweeden. Within four or five months of his attending the conference, guys from all over were making designs similar to his programme and making a killing on it. Trinidad is a small country in a capitalist world where size and and finances mean everything. It is not like if the price of oil is going to stay low forever and we are running out of current supply, there are still fields in the gulf waiting to be tapped, we just don't have the money as yet to facilitate serious exploration
better marketing. ict is huge, it's about finding niches and building the infrastructure. so if PNM or UNC even got a firm here to build network cabling or switches or servers, and offered to train trinis for a wuk dey, you would still say "trini too small"?
Trinispougla wrote:Exactly, ED. Reaserchers things are either copied or outrightly taken from.them by Big rich cooperations. Many people feel Steve Jobs was the brains behind Apple. Steve Jobs wasn't even an engineer or technician. Steve Wozniaki was the brain. He designed the circuitry and the interface. And to add to that, he left apple totally disgusted with Jobs because he had given a copy of the program to Bill Gates who proceeded to make an altogether inferior copy but much more cos effective. Nikola Tesla is the father of induction motors yet he died virtually penniless and slightly insane while Thomas Edison died a very wealthy man with Tesla's work. U tink any Trini willing to go and be starving like Marvin in a lab whole day chief. My friend got only recognition out of that trip, he still had to come back here and work
I can't say I agree. They have been attempts to diversify, it is just that it wasn't continued across admins.Redman wrote:The single truth is that over the last 20 years...the greatest impediment to diversification has been the GOVERNMENT.
Regardless of party.
Every government has unwittingly prevented great ideas and industries from germinating and maturing here in TnT.
So the GORTT does not and should not be THE Catylyst.....they need to be an early stage enabler.
Thus far they have been a negative influence on innovation and entrepreneurship.
GORTT just needs to get the fack out of the way
Looking ahead: 2016
Rapheal John-Lall
Published: Thursday, December 31, 2015
Look to smelter: Viable source of forex
The Government has to find new ways to earn revenue in 2016 to survive the collapse of oil prices, says Karen Tesheira, who served as finance minister between 2007 and 2010 under the Patrick Manning administration.
“The Government has a hard task ahead of it. It will be a difficult year. They have put forward some of the revenue generating measures they will attempt to put in place like increasing taxation, setting up the Revenue Authority, re-establishing the property tax and so on. I know the Prime Minster will be apprising us of the seriousness of the situation and people will know that we are going through a period of austerity. This is the time to tighten our belts,” she told the Business Guardian on Tuesday morning in a telephone interview.
Tesheira said oil and gas natural prices are not going to recover anytime soon.
“The United States is now a large oil producer. They have cut their imports by half. They no longer import from Nigeria. The OPEC countries like Saudi Arabia have indicated they have no intention of reducing their supply. Iran will be increasing its oil production. When you put those factors together one cannot expect the oil and gas prices to rebound in the short to medium term,” she said.
To combat this scenario, she suggested that T&T increase oil exploration as advanced technology allows for quicker finds in a shorter period.
She said T&T needs to diversify its economy urgently to move out of the economic slump it now finds itself in.
She added that there was some diversification in the past in the energy sector and pointed to the Point Lisas industrial complex built in the 1970s and the more recent Atlantic liquefied natural gas (LNG) trains.
“These were all a brainchild of the PNM. This is the time for the Keynesian model of economics to take place.The Government will have to take the lead and find mechanisms for generation of foreign exchange.”
She expanded this by saying that the Government should take the lead in the economic recovery.
When asked about the possible impact it may have on inflation, Tesheira said there is a “risk” in everything.
“I am not saying the Government should just build more roads, I am speaking about new industrial plants—like the aluminium smelter plants—and other industrial projects. We just cannot take austerity measures. We have to take strong measures to earn other sources of revenues.”
Manning era projects
Tesheira referred to plans during her tenure when that government was considering the setting up of the controversial aluminium smelter plant which was carded to be built in La Brea.
“Had that plant been built we would not have been in the situation we are in today. The prices of aluminium have not depressed. I think what Dr Rowley is going to do is follow through on some of the initiatives started under Patrick Manning. The aluminium smelter plant might be back on the table. The polypropylene and polyethylene and the plastic industry, we have to go up the value chain and look at those. We have to set up those production streams.”
According to the Economic Intelligence Unit of the Economist Magazine, forecasts for July 2015 showed that in 2013, aluminium was US $1,846.7 a tonne, in 2014 it was US $1,867.4, while in 2015 it dropped slightly to $1,779.8 a tonne. In 2016, it is expected to go back up to $ 1,912.5 a tonne.
She also said this government should continue the work to turn T&T into an international financial centre (IFC).
“We are flushed with liquidity. The Central Bank has had to issue treasury bills to mop up over $4 billion of excess liquidity. We have banks bursting at the seams with money ready to invest. It was under the PNM administration that the IFC was set up. This is another stream for diversification.”
Tesheira said T&T also has a highly educated population which will form the base for a strong industrialised economy.
“When you look at countries like Japan and Malaysia they had no resources but they used their people. We have the College of Science, Technology and Applied Arts (COSTATT), University of T&T (UTT) and other institutions.”
She said there are major differences between NAR-era recession during the late 1980s and the situation now.
“For one, we do not have $142 million in foreign exchange reserves as was the case in the 1980s. Now, we have over US$10 billion in reserves and that is 11 and a half months of import cover. Look at Barbados, they have only 16 weeks of import cover. Also, our unemployment is like Greece. We have been through that deep recession and we survived.”
She also said this Government has its new Economic Advisory Board made up of professionals with economic and finance backgrounds who will provide sound advice.
When asked if she believes the new Government will be forced to return to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) she pointed to recent statements by the Prime Minister who said he has no intention of doing that.
“There are so many differences between what we experienced during the 1980s and now,” she said.
She hopes that many Patrick Manning era plans that were discarded will be revived.
“One of the reasons why Standard and Poor’s and Moody’s downgraded us was our failure to implement. The last PP Government failed to do that. We can now implement many of the projects which are going to allow for us to earn foreign exchange.”
http://m.guardian.co.tt/business-guardi ... ahead-2016
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Trinispougla wrote:DVSTT wrote:Colm is saying that they want to increase housing construction and get the private sector more involved, in order to provide more jobs for persons. My question is, is it a wise endeavor to encourage persons to take loans when their jobs aren't secured? Also, is it wise to encourage housing construction, given the exorbitant cost of building that we already endure?
The price of land and building materials always decreases significantly during a recession. If you look at the 1980s, many people built their homes during this period. Land in what is now considered prime real estate and I'm not speaking squatters in places like Carenage and Diego Martin could be afforded by public servants
yes price of land and building materials decreased....but can you say for sure if you would be keeping your job? unless you employed in teaching or within national security then you can be considered "safe"
Habit7 wrote:I can't say I agree. They have been attempts to diversify, it is just that it wasn't continued across admins.Redman wrote:The single truth is that over the last 20 years...the greatest impediment to diversification has been the GOVERNMENT.
Regardless of party.
Every government has unwittingly prevented great ideas and industries from germinating and maturing here in TnT.
So the GORTT does not and should not be THE Catylyst.....they need to be an early stage enabler.
Thus far they have been a negative influence on innovation and entrepreneurship.
GORTT just needs to get the fack out of the wayLooking ahead: 2016
Rapheal John-Lall
Published: Thursday, December 31, 2015
Look to smelter: Viable source of forex
The Government has to find new ways to earn revenue in 2016 to survive the collapse of oil prices, says Karen Tesheira, who served as finance minister between 2007 and 2010 under the Patrick Manning administration.
“The Government has a hard task ahead of it. It will be a difficult year. They have put forward some of the revenue generating measures they will attempt to put in place like increasing taxation, setting up the Revenue Authority, re-establishing the property tax and so on. I know the Prime Minster will be apprising us of the seriousness of the situation and people will know that we are going through a period of austerity. This is the time to tighten our belts,” she told the Business Guardian on Tuesday morning in a telephone interview.
Tesheira said oil and gas natural prices are not going to recover anytime soon.
“The United States is now a large oil producer. They have cut their imports by half. They no longer import from Nigeria. The OPEC countries like Saudi Arabia have indicated they have no intention of reducing their supply. Iran will be increasing its oil production. When you put those factors together one cannot expect the oil and gas prices to rebound in the short to medium term,” she said.
To combat this scenario, she suggested that T&T increase oil exploration as advanced technology allows for quicker finds in a shorter period.
She said T&T needs to diversify its economy urgently to move out of the economic slump it now finds itself in.
She added that there was some diversification in the past in the energy sector and pointed to the Point Lisas industrial complex built in the 1970s and the more recent Atlantic liquefied natural gas (LNG) trains.
“These were all a brainchild of the PNM. This is the time for the Keynesian model of economics to take place.The Government will have to take the lead and find mechanisms for generation of foreign exchange.”
She expanded this by saying that the Government should take the lead in the economic recovery.
When asked about the possible impact it may have on inflation, Tesheira said there is a “risk” in everything.
“I am not saying the Government should just build more roads, I am speaking about new industrial plants—like the aluminium smelter plants—and other industrial projects. We just cannot take austerity measures. We have to take strong measures to earn other sources of revenues.”
Manning era projects
Tesheira referred to plans during her tenure when that government was considering the setting up of the controversial aluminium smelter plant which was carded to be built in La Brea.
“Had that plant been built we would not have been in the situation we are in today. The prices of aluminium have not depressed. I think what Dr Rowley is going to do is follow through on some of the initiatives started under Patrick Manning. The aluminium smelter plant might be back on the table. The polypropylene and polyethylene and the plastic industry, we have to go up the value chain and look at those. We have to set up those production streams.”
According to the Economic Intelligence Unit of the Economist Magazine, forecasts for July 2015 showed that in 2013, aluminium was US $1,846.7 a tonne, in 2014 it was US $1,867.4, while in 2015 it dropped slightly to $1,779.8 a tonne. In 2016, it is expected to go back up to $ 1,912.5 a tonne.
She also said this government should continue the work to turn T&T into an international financial centre (IFC).
“We are flushed with liquidity. The Central Bank has had to issue treasury bills to mop up over $4 billion of excess liquidity. We have banks bursting at the seams with money ready to invest. It was under the PNM administration that the IFC was set up. This is another stream for diversification.”
Tesheira said T&T also has a highly educated population which will form the base for a strong industrialised economy.
“When you look at countries like Japan and Malaysia they had no resources but they used their people. We have the College of Science, Technology and Applied Arts (COSTATT), University of T&T (UTT) and other institutions.”
She said there are major differences between NAR-era recession during the late 1980s and the situation now.
“For one, we do not have $142 million in foreign exchange reserves as was the case in the 1980s. Now, we have over US$10 billion in reserves and that is 11 and a half months of import cover. Look at Barbados, they have only 16 weeks of import cover. Also, our unemployment is like Greece. We have been through that deep recession and we survived.”
She also said this Government has its new Economic Advisory Board made up of professionals with economic and finance backgrounds who will provide sound advice.
When asked if she believes the new Government will be forced to return to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) she pointed to recent statements by the Prime Minister who said he has no intention of doing that.
“There are so many differences between what we experienced during the 1980s and now,” she said.
She hopes that many Patrick Manning era plans that were discarded will be revived.
“One of the reasons why Standard and Poor’s and Moody’s downgraded us was our failure to implement. The last PP Government failed to do that. We can now implement many of the projects which are going to allow for us to earn foreign exchange.”
http://m.guardian.co.tt/business-guardi ... ahead-2016
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:desifemlove wrote:better marketing. ict is huge, it's about finding niches and building the infrastructure. so if PNM or UNC even got a firm here to build network cabling or switches or servers, and offered to train trinis for a wuk dey, you would still say "trini too small"?
We cannot build network cables, switches or servers from here for export. It all comes from China, and we cannot compete with China's 40 cents an hour wage and huge competent workforce. We can only build it for ourselves to make any kind of sense. This is not the same as export, after our $2.50 wage an hour, and you add shipping cost you are in a problem this is why VOLVO and Mercedes Benz have manufacturing plants in Brazil.
There are also companies building servers down here aswell. Its not hard to assemble a server and install an OS on it. so yes Trini is too small and our minimum wage is too high.
Did you know some US companies are pulling out of China now because they find 40 cents an hour is too much to pay a Chinese worker? they are going where its cheaper, like Vietnam etc for 30 cents etc
desifemlove wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:desifemlove wrote:better marketing. ict is huge, it's about finding niches and building the infrastructure. so if PNM or UNC even got a firm here to build network cabling or switches or servers, and offered to train trinis for a wuk dey, you would still say "trini too small"?
We cannot build network cables, switches or servers from here for export. It all comes from China, and we cannot compete with China's 40 cents an hour wage and huge competent workforce. We can only build it for ourselves to make any kind of sense. This is not the same as export, after our $2.50 wage an hour, and you add shipping cost you are in a problem this is why VOLVO and Mercedes Benz have manufacturing plants in Brazil.
There are also companies building servers down here aswell. Its not hard to assemble a server and install an OS on it. so yes Trini is too small and our minimum wage is too high.
Did you know some US companies are pulling out of China now because they find 40 cents an hour is too much to pay a Chinese worker? they are going where its cheaper, like Vietnam etc for 30 cents etc
Creativity...niches.....there are many small and big firms that make ict goods in rich countries, because they found a niche. this is how firms enter industries. again, trini wont get anywhere. you all mentioned china and singapore, they found their niche...T&T must too.
I can't say I agree. They have been attempts to diversify, it is just that it wasn't continued across admins.
DVSTT wrote:Do you all believe we'd see a change of system in our lifetimes? I for one don't think we will, not as long as the sheep willing to follow.